2. IF YOU READ ONLY 1 SLIDE...
WE TEACH ENGLISH ONLINE
Live online lessons + practice on
an app - using a unique scripted
curriculum - for under $1 per
student per lesson
Over 2,000 students taking
>4,000 lessons per month
Further innovation on delivery
to lower price opens up a 500M
student market
£14k/$19k MRR - £170k/$250k ARR
& U/E positive
Aim to double rev by Q4, improve
u/e
and aim to reach 500M students across Asia
3. 96% cannot speak English fluently
80% can't at all
THE PROBLEM
96% IN ASIA CANNOT SPEAK FLUENT ENGLISH
leading to lower earnings & employment opportunities
Only 4% can speak
language of opportunity
But English is essential for
education and job progress
(raises salary 4-5x)
No affordable, quality
provision
Live online provision too expensive
App only is ineffective
Local in person is low quality
Covid-19 created a mass
market for online learning
Pandemic led to permanent
shift to online learning (but
not app only)
Internet + smart phones
increasingly ubiquitous
4. VTT software uses scripts to give live
speaking feedback - allowing more
blended learning (more convenient,
lower cost)
High unemployment, especially among
women, means our teacher cost is 40%
less than competitors
Scripts mean high quality lessons
everytime, & easier ops & training
Any English speaker can be a
teacher
Standardised lesson quality
using proven learning science
App can give live feedback on
speaking
We secured exclusive pan Asia
rights to the world's foremost
scripted English curriculum
It's 3+ years for competition to
recreate (which is why they
partner)
OUR UNIQUE SELLING POINT
Curriculum: Research driven IP
scripted curriculum lets us be high quality & affordable
1 =
=
=
2
3
5. Prices the 96% can afford
ONLY INTERNATIONAL PRODUCT
FOCUSED ON MASS MARKET
Asynchronous speaking
practice
COMPETITION
Local providers
Ineffective &
poor brand
perception
Too
expensive for
the 96%
Less
personal,
lower quality
High quality live lessons
Positioning vs QE
Tier 1 platforms
Mass
market
apps
Affordable,
personalised,
high quality
6. Teacher= £2/hr
Platform cost = £0.15/hr
£2.15/6 = £0.36
CAC £40 in digital
marketing/channel fees,
+ free trials, sales calls)
£40 to acquire
the customer
£36 to deliver
100 lessons
U/E POSITIVE SINCE LESSON 1
Charged for reporting & VTT
retrieval requests
cost = £0.2 per month
Lower CAC
(brand, partnerships,
word of mouth -
estimate is to lower to
£35 )
Teacher reduces to £1.50 or
less, platform as low as £0.05
- down to £1.55/6 = £0.26
Lower app cost
(bespoke deal on VTT
requests, comms - estimate is
£0.1 per month,
£0.6 for 100 lessons)
£1.2 for app
practice & comms
Customer pays £100
for 100 lessons
₹
Significantly lower
costs at scale
but margins increase as we scale
=
UNIT ECONOMICS
7. $100 for 100 lessons
10% of TAM* can afford
TAM: 65 Million students
$15 for 100 lessons
+20% of TAM* can afford
TAM: 130 Million
students
Video/Broadcast lessons
1:100+ app learning
$5 for 100 lessons
+50% of TAM* can afford
TAM: 320 Million
students
Group lessons with QE's
teachers
Schools, colleges use QE app
to teach 1:30 in person
We are on a constant mission to lower costs & improve access,
to increase our addressable market
*ASIA has 1.3BN people aged 5 to 25. ~25M speak fluent English, leaving 625M. We're assuming here that only half want to improve their English - likely an underestimate
THE LOWER WE GET PRICES,
THE BIGGER TAM GETS
500MM STUDENTS
WE AIM TO HELP 500M STUDENTS
8. WE HAVE ALREADY BUILT THE TEAM
SOELEEN KAUR
Head of Teacher Training
SANDEEP MALLAREDDY
Chief Operating Officer
JAMIE MARTIN
Chief Executive Officer
CHARLOTTE McCORMICK
Chief Learning Officer
MADHUMITA SUBRAMANIAN
Head of Student Learning & Experience
RAVI SINGRAMAN
CTO
with local & international experience to seize this opportunity long term
THE TEAM
9. OUR LESSONS CHANGE LIVES
FOR OUR STUDENTS & TEACHERS
First generation to get the chance to speak English
Salary is 5x with English; opportunities exponential
50:50 gender split - safe environment for girls to learn
Our students
(India today 2x men vs women speak English)
Over 90% female
Need to work at home for cultural, family reasons
Secure way to earn income during Covid-19
Our teachers
CHANGE LIVES
11. 1
2
3
5
Channel leads
Digital leads
We market a free seminar, lesson, or
test of English to get sign ups
Partners on 20-35% rev share who
advertise to their student base
Video message
Our team send the lead a video to
explain our courses & the offer for a
free trial (& raise attendance)
Free trial with
teacher
4
Whatsapp reports,
videos & calls for
retention
Student takes a 1hr trial class with a
QE teacher, with follow up report and
discussion with the teacher
Student buys 30
or 100 classes
Student commits to a batch of lessons
at regular times for either 10 weeks or
6 months
Weekly report on performance,
monthly assessment with full report,
regular teacher:parent conferences
OUR G2M.
partnership & online ads to get leads; high touch service (via tech) to convert, renew
APPENDIX
12. Male Female . Male Female . Male Female
50
40
30
20
10
0
Average hourly adjusted Indian wages by level of English
Rs
per
hour
10 6
19
23
42
33
No English Some English Fluent English
Source: Ideas for India, 'Does it pay
to speak English in India' ?
EARNINGS.
by English level in India
APPENDIX