Teachertechtraining

420 views
380 views

Published on

Published in: Education, Technology
0 Comments
1 Like
Statistics
Notes
  • Be the first to comment

No Downloads
Views
Total views
420
On SlideShare
0
From Embeds
0
Number of Embeds
6
Actions
Shares
0
Downloads
2
Comments
0
Likes
1
Embeds 0
No embeds

No notes for slide

Teachertechtraining

  1. 1. Hillel Computer Network…. What you need to know
  2. 2. What’s New? <ul><li>New Server </li></ul><ul><ul><li>Increased speed </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>Increased application hosting </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>Middle school student access </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>Increased Printer management </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>Increased color resolution </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>Improved connectivity </li></ul></ul><ul><li>New Computer Lab </li></ul><ul><ul><li>Increased number of computers </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>Can accommodate an entire class </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>Smartboard enhanced teaching opportunities </li></ul></ul><ul><li>Email </li></ul><ul><li>Tech support request procedure </li></ul><ul><li>Research protocol </li></ul>
  3. 3. New Server <ul><li>Terminal Server - All work is done on the server. Client computers only show images of what is happening on server. </li></ul><ul><li>Advantages </li></ul><ul><ul><li>Enables the use of inexpensive computers </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>Allows centralized management and security </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>Allows remote access </li></ul></ul><ul><li>Disadvantages </li></ul><ul><ul><li>May be slower than individual computers </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>May be confusing for people who are not familiar with terminal services </li></ul></ul>
  4. 4. Using Terminal Services From Home <ul><li>Windows XP users (Skip to step 2) </li></ul><ul><li>Download and install the remote desktop client from www.hillelschool.com/support </li></ul><ul><li>Go to Start->Programs/All Programs->Accessories-> Communications->Remote Desktop Connection </li></ul><ul><li>In “Computer” window type hillelschool.dyndns.org click connect </li></ul>
  5. 5. Using Terminal Services From School School computers should have remote desktop connection marked Hillel Connect if not, fill out tech request at www.hillelschool.com/support School remote desktop client should point towards Jerusalem
  6. 6. Using Terminal Services Teachers log on using password “password” after logging on you must change your password by clicking on Start->Windows Security->Change Password Returning teachers should find their documents. If any documents are missing, file a support request at www.hillelschool.com/support
  7. 7. Email All teachers have a Hillel Email address. It is your last name@hillelschool.com It can be reached by clicking on Hillel Mail on Terminal Service Desktop or by Directing Browser to mail.hillelschool.com Once there, type entire email address for username and “password” for password. Then Change Password. Forwarding is available.
  8. 8. There will be problems with new systems!!! To report problems go to www.hillelschool.com/support
  9. 9. Research Hierarchy Children’s Search Engines-Yahooligans-ajkids SIRS Teacher assigned Web Page Search Engine
  10. 10. New teachers <ul><li>New Teacher Accounts: </li></ul><ul><li>Lisa Cohen-lcohen/hillel </li></ul><ul><li>Barbara Schwartz Aravelo-bschwartz/hillel </li></ul><ul><li>Alicia Flasher-aflasher/hillel </li></ul><ul><li>Lisa Beth Caine – lcaine/hillel </li></ul><ul><li>Rebekah Lauter-rlauter/hillel </li></ul><ul><li>Merav Schlesinger –mschlesinger/hillel </li></ul><ul><li>Jackie Permuth-jpermuth/hillel </li></ul>

×