INTRODUCTION
TO GOOGLE
ADWORDS
Frederic Chanut
Managing Director In Marketing We Trust
SLIDES
AVAILABLE
http://www.inmarketingwetrust.com.au/google-adwords-course/
YES
INTRO TO GOOGLE ADWORDS
‣ Key advantages
‣ AdWords terminology
‣ How Adwords actually works
‣ Which keywords should you pick
‣ Methods to create effective ad copy
‣ Landing page fundamentals
‣ Walkthrough setup
‣ Advanced bidding and ad options (if enough time)
‣ Tools & tips (if enough time)
‣ Freebies (if enough time)
3
Source
HOW TO GET RICH WITH GOOGLE IN 10 MIN.
1. Open a free Google AdWords account
2. Enter your credit card details.
3. Find what users would type in to Google to find you
4. Select these “keywords” in the AdWords console and set a bid price.
5. Write an attractive ad that you would like to be seen by prospects.
6. Decide on a maximum daily budget.
7. Turn campaign live
Get Traffic> Pay Google> Make Sales > RETIRE
5
THE BIG SECRET IS…
SEARCH MARKETING SUCCESS 6
Link
NO SPOON. NO SHORTCUT. JFDI
#1 SOURCE USED IN PURCHASE DECISIONS 7
90%
74%
39% 38% 38% 35%
Search engines Brand sites Professional
organization sites
Peer-generated
onlinereviews
Professional
networking sites
Trade magazine
sites
Source: Google & Compete, B2B Customer Study, 2012
ADWORDS AS INVESTMENT MODEL 8
94%
6%
Google Others
SEARCH ENGINES IN AUSTRALIA 9
SEM VS SEO 10
SEO vs SEM
Organic
Adwords
TRAFFIC BREAKDOWN 11
Don’t leave
Adwords
to IT!!!
ADWORDS IS A MARKETING INITIATIVE 12
KEY
ADVANTAGES
“So is that internet marketing another fad?!”
GM of a Very large NPO in Aus. Nov-12
INTRODUCTION TO GOOGLE ADWORDS
Source
15
‣ Source
SOURCE
Source
MEASURABILITY
source
AGILITY 18
ADWORDS BEST USED FOR
‣Testing
‣Early Stage
‣Fast deployment
‣Buried pages (difficult for SEO)
‣Focus on Conversion
‣Great for Bottom of the funnel action
19
ADWORDS
TERMINOLOGY
"$ CTR > CPM via QS inc. on [] kwd and test {} to boost M.Share for SEM
to boost ROI "
Winner of Search Marketing Industry Bingo 2013
INTRODUCTION TO GOOGLE ADWORDS
Display network: Websites, forums, or blogs that aren't owned by Google, but
have Google AdWords ads (also known as Adsense ads) on them.
Search network: The online network people go to when searching for a
solution to a problem they're having.
Ad position: The placement of an ad on the Google search results pages.
Position #1 is at the top of the first page.
Impression: The display of an ad on a web page.
Call to action: Directions within an ad for the reader to take an action
CTR (click-through rate): The number of clicks an ad receives divided by the
number of impressions. The higher the CTR, the more effective Google
considers the ad.
GOOGLE ADWORDS TERMINOLOGY 21
Landing page: The first webpage shown after an ad is clicked. The page is
constructed to appeal to the same desire as the ad.
Traffic: The number of visitors to your website.
Conversion: A desirable action by a website visitor, including joining a mailing
list, buying a product, calling a phone number, or downloading a file.
Bid price: The maximum amount of money an advertiser is willing to pay for a
click from a given keyword.
Quality Score: Quality Score is the basis for measuring the quality of the
keyword you chosen and ad and determining your cost-per-clicks (CPCs).
CPC (cost per click): The amount an advertiser is charged for a single click.
Different keywords cost different amounts, depending on competition.
GOOGLE ADWORDS TERMINOLOGY 22
HOW ADWORDS
ACTUALLY
WORKS
… and how to stop wasting your mullah
(not Omar, the other one)
INTRODUCTION TO GOOGLE ADWORDS
NUTS AND BOLTS MY FAVOURITE BREAKFAST
24
ADWORDS 101 VIDEO BY GOOGLE
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ka4tCkYXHiE
25
STARTS WITH A SEARCH QUERY 26
BIDDING AUCTION 27
UNDERSTANDING ADRANK 28
Source
DETERMINE WHAT YOU PAY 29
Account
Campaign
#1
Ad Group
#1-1
Keyword #1-1-1
Keyword #1-1-2
Keyword #1-1-3
Keyword #1-1-4
Ad Copy #1-1-1
Ad Copy #1-1-2
Ad Group
#1-2
Keyword #1-2-1
Keyword #1-2-2
Keyword #1-2-3
Keyword #1-2-4
Ad Copy #1-2-1
Ad Copy #1-2-2
Campaign
#2
Ad Group
#2-1
Keyword #2-1-1
Keyword #2-1-2
Keyword #2-1-3
Keyword #2-1-4
Ad Copy #2-1-1
Ad Copy #2-1-2
Ad Group
#2-2
Keyword #2-2-1
Keyword #2-2-2
Keyword #2-2-3
Keyword #2-2-4
Ad Copy #2-2-1
Ad Copy #2-2-2
ADWORDS ACCOUNT STRUCTURE 30
Keep kwds
in Adgroup
as tight as
possible
WHICH
KEYWORD TO
PICK
I really think “Stuffed kangaroo balls bottle opener” is the perfect
keyword for our tourists market…
INTRODUCTION TO GOOGLE ADWORDS
Search Marketing transform your customer pain points into
their
spoken/written language
You need to understand
their
Search Intent
Your worst enemies:
Jargon Corporate Speak Creative Description
CUSTOMER PROBLEM 32
KEYWORD MAPPING PURCHASE FUNNEL 33
KEYWORD POPULARITY 34
ProductSubcategoryCategoryHomepage
Online Shoes
Women shoes
Online
Women boots
online
Black Knee
high boot
online
Stilettos online
Classic
Louboutin
stilettos online
Men shoes
Online
Boat shoes
brown boat
shoes for men
KEYWORD MAPPING ECOMMERCE 35
Too
Broad
Too
Narrow
Cabramatta
knee high-
boots with
rubber soles
Black boat
shoes for men
size 13 in
Manly
Shopping
Shoes
KEYWORD PICKING 36
KEY OBJECTIVES
Your Teammate’s keyword
EXERCISE
AGENDA
Time 5 min 1. Teammate defines his audience
2. Teammate defines his audience pain point
3. Teammate pitches his product (30 secs)
4. Write the first 3 queries you would use to
find his product/his competitor
5. SwapDELIVERABLE
Top 3 keywords your audience
would use
RESOURCES
Your Neighbour, Pen/ Paper; Laptop; iPad/ Tablet
37
WALKTHROUGH – FIND KEYWORDS 38
KEYWORD TYPES 39
MATCH TYPES 40
KEY OBJECTIVES
Your Top keyword
EXERCISE
AGENDA
Time 7 min 1. Use Previous exercises
2. Enter best term in Ubersuggest
3. Add term in Adwords (don’t forget negatives)
4. Select Broad, Exact, include CPC
5. Download CSVs and combine data
6. Save docDELIVERABLE
Top keywords for your audience
would use
RESOURCES
Internet connection, Ubersuggest, Adwords External Keywords
Tool,
41
SURPRISE
MATHS
Bastard!!! I knew something was brewing. Never trust a Frenchman…
INTRODUCTION TO GOOGLE ADWORDS
MOST EXPENSIVE KEYWORD
IN ADWORDS?
QUIZZ 43
[Mesothelioma
settlement]
$142.67
Link
THE RIGHT METRIC 44
Interactiveaccounting.com.au
Sells $400/mth package
Max spend per cust. $ 500
Assume: Sydney accountant
Search volume: 9,900/Mo
3% of Search clicks ads
3% x 9,900 searches = 297
Cost per $3,53 x 297 = $1,048
3% of clicks generate enquiry
3% x 297 searches = 9
Cost per lead =$116
20% of enquiry Convert
20% x 6 leads = 2
Cost per cust =$524
SALES & PROFITABILITY FUNNEL
Search
Click
Enquire
Convert
PRACTICAL EXAMPLE
45
Interactiveaccounting.com.au
Sells $400/mth package
Max spend per cust. $ 500
Assume: Sydney accountant
Search volume: 9,900/Mo
3% of Search clicks ads
3% x 9,900 searches = 297
Cost per $3,53 x 297 = $1,048
5% of clicks generate enquiry
5% x 297 searches = 15
Cost per lead =$70
20% of enquiry Convert
20% x 15 leads = 3
Cost per cust =$349
SALES & PROFITABILITY FUNNEL
Search
Click
Enquire
Convert
CONVERSION MATTERS
46
IMPROVE YOUR FUNNEL
Keywords
‣ More of the right keywords
‣ Pause less relevant keywords
‣ Better match type
‣ More Negative keywords
Ads
‣ More relevant Ad Copy
‣ Better Call to Action
Settings
‣ Improved Bidding
‣ Improved Geo targeting
‣ Tweak campaign settings
Landing Page
‣ Improved landing pages
‣ Improve Call to Action (on-site)
‣ Remarketing (95% didn’t convert)
47
THIS NEED
TO BE
EXCITING
FOR YOU
ADWORDS = SPREADSHEETS 48
7 STEPS ADWORDS SUCCESS LOOP 49
CREATING
EFFECTIVE AD
COPY
“Hey Target Audience, buy this".
- iinet bus ad
INTRODUCTION TO GOOGLE ADWORDS
AD COPY BASICS
- Headline grabs users’ attention and make them aware of your offering.
- Description line 1 should spark users’ interest in your offering.
- Description line 2 should develop a desire to obtain your product.
- And finally, the Display URL consolidate a user’s decision to take action.
51
This Title Is max length! 25
www.mattsfruitstand.com/titlelimits 35
This Line Is Okay To Use. Max limit 35
This Line Is Okay To Use. Max limit 35
9 TIPS TO WRITE GOOD AD COPY
1. Be Specific
2. Highlight your Unique Selling Proposition
3. Don’t forget your keywords
4. Include A Call to Action
5. Stand Out from your Competitors
6. Get Right To the Point
7. Ad Formatting is Important
8. Display URL is a part of your Ad Copy
9. Test…Test & Test
52
KEY OBJECTIVES
Write effective Ad Copy
EXERCISE
AGENDA
Time 5 min 1. Use Template
2. Create 3 copies for 1 Adgroup in bottom
campaign
3. Save doc
DELIVERABLE
Ad variation for your ad group
RESOURCES
Internet connection, Ubersuggest, Adwords External Keywords
Tool,
53
LANDING PAGE
“Where the f*ck am I?!!”
First time Yahoo user.
INTRODUCTION TO GOOGLE ADWORDS
LEAD GENERATION
ECOMMERCE
CONTACT REGISTER
DOWNLOAD / USE / TAKE ACTION
WHY DOES YOUR WEBSITE EXIST 55
At least for the armed & dangerous
ones
LANDING PAGE SHOULD WORK FOR THOSE 3 56
BEST
EXAMPLE
57
BASIC LANDING QUALITY TEST
1. The 3-second test => Engaging visuals
2. The ID test => Clear brand indent
3. The accessibility test => Clear contact, trackable
4. The "so what?" test => Value Prop, Powerful headline
5. The "yeah, right!" test => Awards, Certification
6. The serenity test => Testimonials
7. The “Now what?” => Clear Call to Action
8. More info => Quality Score + SEO
9. Just frickin sign-up!!! => No navigation, no distraction
58
KEY OBJECTIVES
Your Teammate’s content
EXERCISE
AGENDA
Time 10 min 1. Using previous top keywords
2. Write the 7 things you would expect to find
to answer your query
3. Compare against current current page
4. Swap
DELIVERABLE
Top 3 keywords your audience
would use
RESOURCES
Your Neighbour, Pen/ Paper; Laptop; iPad/ Tablet
59
60
Shut up
and take
my money
WALK-
THROUGH 1ST
CAMPAIGN
T’was about time!!
INTRODUCTION TO GOOGLE ADWORDS
WALKTHROUGH – FIRST SCREEN 62
WALKTHROUGH – SETUP ANALYTICS 63
WALKTHROUGH – SETUP ANALYTICS 64
WALKTHROUGH – SETUP ANALYTICS 65
More info
WALKTHROUGH – FIRST CAMPAIGN 66
WALKTHROUGH – FIRST CAMPAIGN 67
WALKTHROUGH – FIRST CAMPAIGN 68
WALKTHROUGH – FIRST CAMPAIGN 69
WALKTHROUGH ADWORDS IN ANALYTICS 70
WALKTHROUGH ADWORDS IN ANALYTICS 71
WALKTHROUGH ADWORDS IN ANALYTICS 72
ADVANCED
BIDDING AND
AD OPTIONS
“It’s relatively simple”
- Albert E.
INTRODUCTION TO GOOGLE ADWORDS
74
Link
DISPLAY NETWORK 75
76
REMARKETING BENCHMARK 77
Average CTR
.15%-.3%
Cost
• Should average less than
$5CPM
Conversions
•Click through – can average 3X of PPC
•View through conversion can average
10:1 of click through
http://www.chango.com/blog/search-retargeting-guide-part-2
Optimal imp. per Person
•15-20
•3 month saturation
TOOLS & TIPS
“Lost my inspiration, so nothing to say on this slide”
– Sad isn’t it
INTRODUCTION TO GOOGLE ADWORDS
ADWORDS KEYWORD TOOL 79
Tight Grouping
In your research.
Include negatives to
remove keyword ideas
.
Keep your kwd group
tight to get better
results from Ideas
GOOGLE SUGGEST 80
Wildcard Search
Use Wildcard (*) and
tilda (~) to search
variations of your
search query or
synonyms
SOOVLE.COM 81
Bookmark
it
UBERSUGGEST 82
Bookmark
it
KEY OBJECTIVES
Define your negative keywords
EXERCISE
AGENDA
Time 5 min 1. Using Google Suggest or Ubersuggest
2. List all non relevant keywords
3. Save list in Excel Doc
DELIVERABLE
Negatives keyword list
RESOURCES
Internet, Adwords Keywords tool, Ubersuggest, Excel
Spreadsheet
83
ADWORDS EDITOR 84
Free
Download
GOOGLE TRENDS 85
Bookmark
it
SEM + COMPETITORS KWDS 86
KEYWORDSPY 87
Not cheap
Good for
bigger
budgets &
Campaigns
WORDSTREAM 88
FREEBIES
Candy from strangers taste so much better cause it’s FREE…
Understanding Multi-channel
CUSTOMER PATH & MULTI CHANNEL 90
89%
of the visits to the advertiser’s site
from search ad clicks were incremental
http://research.google.com/pubs/pub37731.html
CANNIBALISATION? 91
‣ A – Acquisition – users come to the site from various channels
‣ A – Activation – users enjoys first visit – “happy” user experience
‣ R – Retention – users come back, visit multiple times
‣ R – Referral – users like the product enough to refer others
‣ R – Revenue – users conduct some monetization behaviour
By Dave McClure – 500 startups
THE PIRATE METHOD 92
Top Keywords => SEM – Get volume + Visibility for Validation
Long Tail Keywords => SEO + Social Media via Content Marketing
Key Metrics => Cost of Customer Acquisition
=> Minimise CPA for Adwords
=> Increase # of keywords
EARLY STAGE
A – ACQUISITION 93
All Keywords => A SEM field play
=> Test & learn
=> Chat Ads
Key Metrics => Conversion Rate
VALIDATION
A – ACTIVATION 94
Mid-funnel => SEO + Social Media via Content Marketing
Signed users => ReMarketing (focus on free trial users)
=> Email Ads
Key Metrics => % of return visitors
=> Page/visit
VALIDATION
R – RETENTION 95
All keywords => SEO + Social Media via Content Marketing
Users => ReMarketing (non stalky, make you look bigger)
=> Special offers
=> Ads with social
Key Metrics => % of return visitors
=> Page/visit
SCALE
R – REFERRAL 96
Top Keywords => SEO
Dynamic Keywords => SEM
Key Metrics => Cust. Acquisition Cost
=> Rev. Per Visitor
=> Margin Per Visitor
ESTABLISHED PRODUCT
R – REVENUE 97
Frederic Chanut
Managing Director, In Marketing We Trust
m. 04 3837 1981
e. frederic@inmarketingwetrust.com.au
www.inmarketingwetrust.com.au
Connect with us
THANK YOU! 98
Keep
in touch if you
want feedback
on your own
strategy

Introduction to google adwords

  • 1.
  • 2.
  • 3.
    INTRO TO GOOGLEADWORDS ‣ Key advantages ‣ AdWords terminology ‣ How Adwords actually works ‣ Which keywords should you pick ‣ Methods to create effective ad copy ‣ Landing page fundamentals ‣ Walkthrough setup ‣ Advanced bidding and ad options (if enough time) ‣ Tools & tips (if enough time) ‣ Freebies (if enough time) 3
  • 4.
  • 5.
    HOW TO GETRICH WITH GOOGLE IN 10 MIN. 1. Open a free Google AdWords account 2. Enter your credit card details. 3. Find what users would type in to Google to find you 4. Select these “keywords” in the AdWords console and set a bid price. 5. Write an attractive ad that you would like to be seen by prospects. 6. Decide on a maximum daily budget. 7. Turn campaign live Get Traffic> Pay Google> Make Sales > RETIRE 5
  • 6.
    THE BIG SECRETIS… SEARCH MARKETING SUCCESS 6 Link NO SPOON. NO SHORTCUT. JFDI
  • 7.
    #1 SOURCE USEDIN PURCHASE DECISIONS 7 90% 74% 39% 38% 38% 35% Search engines Brand sites Professional organization sites Peer-generated onlinereviews Professional networking sites Trade magazine sites Source: Google & Compete, B2B Customer Study, 2012
  • 8.
  • 9.
  • 10.
  • 11.
  • 12.
    Don’t leave Adwords to IT!!! ADWORDSIS A MARKETING INITIATIVE 12
  • 13.
    KEY ADVANTAGES “So is thatinternet marketing another fad?!” GM of a Very large NPO in Aus. Nov-12 INTRODUCTION TO GOOGLE ADWORDS
  • 14.
  • 15.
  • 16.
  • 17.
  • 18.
  • 19.
    ADWORDS BEST USEDFOR ‣Testing ‣Early Stage ‣Fast deployment ‣Buried pages (difficult for SEO) ‣Focus on Conversion ‣Great for Bottom of the funnel action 19
  • 20.
    ADWORDS TERMINOLOGY "$ CTR >CPM via QS inc. on [] kwd and test {} to boost M.Share for SEM to boost ROI " Winner of Search Marketing Industry Bingo 2013 INTRODUCTION TO GOOGLE ADWORDS
  • 21.
    Display network: Websites,forums, or blogs that aren't owned by Google, but have Google AdWords ads (also known as Adsense ads) on them. Search network: The online network people go to when searching for a solution to a problem they're having. Ad position: The placement of an ad on the Google search results pages. Position #1 is at the top of the first page. Impression: The display of an ad on a web page. Call to action: Directions within an ad for the reader to take an action CTR (click-through rate): The number of clicks an ad receives divided by the number of impressions. The higher the CTR, the more effective Google considers the ad. GOOGLE ADWORDS TERMINOLOGY 21
  • 22.
    Landing page: Thefirst webpage shown after an ad is clicked. The page is constructed to appeal to the same desire as the ad. Traffic: The number of visitors to your website. Conversion: A desirable action by a website visitor, including joining a mailing list, buying a product, calling a phone number, or downloading a file. Bid price: The maximum amount of money an advertiser is willing to pay for a click from a given keyword. Quality Score: Quality Score is the basis for measuring the quality of the keyword you chosen and ad and determining your cost-per-clicks (CPCs). CPC (cost per click): The amount an advertiser is charged for a single click. Different keywords cost different amounts, depending on competition. GOOGLE ADWORDS TERMINOLOGY 22
  • 23.
    HOW ADWORDS ACTUALLY WORKS … andhow to stop wasting your mullah (not Omar, the other one) INTRODUCTION TO GOOGLE ADWORDS
  • 24.
    NUTS AND BOLTSMY FAVOURITE BREAKFAST 24
  • 25.
    ADWORDS 101 VIDEOBY GOOGLE http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ka4tCkYXHiE 25
  • 26.
    STARTS WITH ASEARCH QUERY 26
  • 27.
  • 28.
  • 29.
  • 30.
    Account Campaign #1 Ad Group #1-1 Keyword #1-1-1 Keyword#1-1-2 Keyword #1-1-3 Keyword #1-1-4 Ad Copy #1-1-1 Ad Copy #1-1-2 Ad Group #1-2 Keyword #1-2-1 Keyword #1-2-2 Keyword #1-2-3 Keyword #1-2-4 Ad Copy #1-2-1 Ad Copy #1-2-2 Campaign #2 Ad Group #2-1 Keyword #2-1-1 Keyword #2-1-2 Keyword #2-1-3 Keyword #2-1-4 Ad Copy #2-1-1 Ad Copy #2-1-2 Ad Group #2-2 Keyword #2-2-1 Keyword #2-2-2 Keyword #2-2-3 Keyword #2-2-4 Ad Copy #2-2-1 Ad Copy #2-2-2 ADWORDS ACCOUNT STRUCTURE 30 Keep kwds in Adgroup as tight as possible
  • 31.
    WHICH KEYWORD TO PICK I reallythink “Stuffed kangaroo balls bottle opener” is the perfect keyword for our tourists market… INTRODUCTION TO GOOGLE ADWORDS
  • 32.
    Search Marketing transformyour customer pain points into their spoken/written language You need to understand their Search Intent Your worst enemies: Jargon Corporate Speak Creative Description CUSTOMER PROBLEM 32
  • 33.
  • 34.
  • 35.
    ProductSubcategoryCategoryHomepage Online Shoes Women shoes Online Womenboots online Black Knee high boot online Stilettos online Classic Louboutin stilettos online Men shoes Online Boat shoes brown boat shoes for men KEYWORD MAPPING ECOMMERCE 35
  • 36.
    Too Broad Too Narrow Cabramatta knee high- boots with rubbersoles Black boat shoes for men size 13 in Manly Shopping Shoes KEYWORD PICKING 36
  • 37.
    KEY OBJECTIVES Your Teammate’skeyword EXERCISE AGENDA Time 5 min 1. Teammate defines his audience 2. Teammate defines his audience pain point 3. Teammate pitches his product (30 secs) 4. Write the first 3 queries you would use to find his product/his competitor 5. SwapDELIVERABLE Top 3 keywords your audience would use RESOURCES Your Neighbour, Pen/ Paper; Laptop; iPad/ Tablet 37
  • 38.
  • 39.
  • 40.
  • 41.
    KEY OBJECTIVES Your Topkeyword EXERCISE AGENDA Time 7 min 1. Use Previous exercises 2. Enter best term in Ubersuggest 3. Add term in Adwords (don’t forget negatives) 4. Select Broad, Exact, include CPC 5. Download CSVs and combine data 6. Save docDELIVERABLE Top keywords for your audience would use RESOURCES Internet connection, Ubersuggest, Adwords External Keywords Tool, 41
  • 42.
    SURPRISE MATHS Bastard!!! I knewsomething was brewing. Never trust a Frenchman… INTRODUCTION TO GOOGLE ADWORDS
  • 43.
    MOST EXPENSIVE KEYWORD INADWORDS? QUIZZ 43 [Mesothelioma settlement] $142.67
  • 44.
  • 45.
    Interactiveaccounting.com.au Sells $400/mth package Maxspend per cust. $ 500 Assume: Sydney accountant Search volume: 9,900/Mo 3% of Search clicks ads 3% x 9,900 searches = 297 Cost per $3,53 x 297 = $1,048 3% of clicks generate enquiry 3% x 297 searches = 9 Cost per lead =$116 20% of enquiry Convert 20% x 6 leads = 2 Cost per cust =$524 SALES & PROFITABILITY FUNNEL Search Click Enquire Convert PRACTICAL EXAMPLE 45
  • 46.
    Interactiveaccounting.com.au Sells $400/mth package Maxspend per cust. $ 500 Assume: Sydney accountant Search volume: 9,900/Mo 3% of Search clicks ads 3% x 9,900 searches = 297 Cost per $3,53 x 297 = $1,048 5% of clicks generate enquiry 5% x 297 searches = 15 Cost per lead =$70 20% of enquiry Convert 20% x 15 leads = 3 Cost per cust =$349 SALES & PROFITABILITY FUNNEL Search Click Enquire Convert CONVERSION MATTERS 46
  • 47.
    IMPROVE YOUR FUNNEL Keywords ‣More of the right keywords ‣ Pause less relevant keywords ‣ Better match type ‣ More Negative keywords Ads ‣ More relevant Ad Copy ‣ Better Call to Action Settings ‣ Improved Bidding ‣ Improved Geo targeting ‣ Tweak campaign settings Landing Page ‣ Improved landing pages ‣ Improve Call to Action (on-site) ‣ Remarketing (95% didn’t convert) 47
  • 48.
    THIS NEED TO BE EXCITING FORYOU ADWORDS = SPREADSHEETS 48
  • 49.
    7 STEPS ADWORDSSUCCESS LOOP 49
  • 50.
    CREATING EFFECTIVE AD COPY “Hey TargetAudience, buy this". - iinet bus ad INTRODUCTION TO GOOGLE ADWORDS
  • 51.
    AD COPY BASICS -Headline grabs users’ attention and make them aware of your offering. - Description line 1 should spark users’ interest in your offering. - Description line 2 should develop a desire to obtain your product. - And finally, the Display URL consolidate a user’s decision to take action. 51 This Title Is max length! 25 www.mattsfruitstand.com/titlelimits 35 This Line Is Okay To Use. Max limit 35 This Line Is Okay To Use. Max limit 35
  • 52.
    9 TIPS TOWRITE GOOD AD COPY 1. Be Specific 2. Highlight your Unique Selling Proposition 3. Don’t forget your keywords 4. Include A Call to Action 5. Stand Out from your Competitors 6. Get Right To the Point 7. Ad Formatting is Important 8. Display URL is a part of your Ad Copy 9. Test…Test & Test 52
  • 53.
    KEY OBJECTIVES Write effectiveAd Copy EXERCISE AGENDA Time 5 min 1. Use Template 2. Create 3 copies for 1 Adgroup in bottom campaign 3. Save doc DELIVERABLE Ad variation for your ad group RESOURCES Internet connection, Ubersuggest, Adwords External Keywords Tool, 53
  • 54.
    LANDING PAGE “Where thef*ck am I?!!” First time Yahoo user. INTRODUCTION TO GOOGLE ADWORDS
  • 55.
    LEAD GENERATION ECOMMERCE CONTACT REGISTER DOWNLOAD/ USE / TAKE ACTION WHY DOES YOUR WEBSITE EXIST 55
  • 56.
    At least forthe armed & dangerous ones LANDING PAGE SHOULD WORK FOR THOSE 3 56
  • 57.
  • 58.
    BASIC LANDING QUALITYTEST 1. The 3-second test => Engaging visuals 2. The ID test => Clear brand indent 3. The accessibility test => Clear contact, trackable 4. The "so what?" test => Value Prop, Powerful headline 5. The "yeah, right!" test => Awards, Certification 6. The serenity test => Testimonials 7. The “Now what?” => Clear Call to Action 8. More info => Quality Score + SEO 9. Just frickin sign-up!!! => No navigation, no distraction 58
  • 59.
    KEY OBJECTIVES Your Teammate’scontent EXERCISE AGENDA Time 10 min 1. Using previous top keywords 2. Write the 7 things you would expect to find to answer your query 3. Compare against current current page 4. Swap DELIVERABLE Top 3 keywords your audience would use RESOURCES Your Neighbour, Pen/ Paper; Laptop; iPad/ Tablet 59
  • 60.
  • 61.
    WALK- THROUGH 1ST CAMPAIGN T’was abouttime!! INTRODUCTION TO GOOGLE ADWORDS
  • 62.
  • 63.
  • 64.
  • 65.
    WALKTHROUGH – SETUPANALYTICS 65 More info
  • 66.
  • 67.
  • 68.
  • 69.
  • 70.
  • 71.
  • 72.
  • 73.
    ADVANCED BIDDING AND AD OPTIONS “It’srelatively simple” - Albert E. INTRODUCTION TO GOOGLE ADWORDS
  • 74.
  • 75.
  • 76.
  • 77.
    REMARKETING BENCHMARK 77 AverageCTR .15%-.3% Cost • Should average less than $5CPM Conversions •Click through – can average 3X of PPC •View through conversion can average 10:1 of click through http://www.chango.com/blog/search-retargeting-guide-part-2 Optimal imp. per Person •15-20 •3 month saturation
  • 78.
    TOOLS & TIPS “Lostmy inspiration, so nothing to say on this slide” – Sad isn’t it INTRODUCTION TO GOOGLE ADWORDS
  • 79.
    ADWORDS KEYWORD TOOL79 Tight Grouping In your research. Include negatives to remove keyword ideas . Keep your kwd group tight to get better results from Ideas
  • 80.
    GOOGLE SUGGEST 80 WildcardSearch Use Wildcard (*) and tilda (~) to search variations of your search query or synonyms
  • 81.
  • 82.
  • 83.
    KEY OBJECTIVES Define yournegative keywords EXERCISE AGENDA Time 5 min 1. Using Google Suggest or Ubersuggest 2. List all non relevant keywords 3. Save list in Excel Doc DELIVERABLE Negatives keyword list RESOURCES Internet, Adwords Keywords tool, Ubersuggest, Excel Spreadsheet 83
  • 84.
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    Not cheap Good for bigger budgets& Campaigns WORDSTREAM 88
  • 89.
    FREEBIES Candy from strangerstaste so much better cause it’s FREE…
  • 90.
  • 91.
    89% of the visitsto the advertiser’s site from search ad clicks were incremental http://research.google.com/pubs/pub37731.html CANNIBALISATION? 91
  • 92.
    ‣ A –Acquisition – users come to the site from various channels ‣ A – Activation – users enjoys first visit – “happy” user experience ‣ R – Retention – users come back, visit multiple times ‣ R – Referral – users like the product enough to refer others ‣ R – Revenue – users conduct some monetization behaviour By Dave McClure – 500 startups THE PIRATE METHOD 92
  • 93.
    Top Keywords =>SEM – Get volume + Visibility for Validation Long Tail Keywords => SEO + Social Media via Content Marketing Key Metrics => Cost of Customer Acquisition => Minimise CPA for Adwords => Increase # of keywords EARLY STAGE A – ACQUISITION 93
  • 94.
    All Keywords =>A SEM field play => Test & learn => Chat Ads Key Metrics => Conversion Rate VALIDATION A – ACTIVATION 94
  • 95.
    Mid-funnel => SEO+ Social Media via Content Marketing Signed users => ReMarketing (focus on free trial users) => Email Ads Key Metrics => % of return visitors => Page/visit VALIDATION R – RETENTION 95
  • 96.
    All keywords =>SEO + Social Media via Content Marketing Users => ReMarketing (non stalky, make you look bigger) => Special offers => Ads with social Key Metrics => % of return visitors => Page/visit SCALE R – REFERRAL 96
  • 97.
    Top Keywords =>SEO Dynamic Keywords => SEM Key Metrics => Cust. Acquisition Cost => Rev. Per Visitor => Margin Per Visitor ESTABLISHED PRODUCT R – REVENUE 97
  • 98.
    Frederic Chanut Managing Director,In Marketing We Trust m. 04 3837 1981 e. frederic@inmarketingwetrust.com.au www.inmarketingwetrust.com.au Connect with us THANK YOU! 98 Keep in touch if you want feedback on your own strategy

Editor's Notes

  • #29 Once you entered in an auction,Google looks at 2 key factors to determine where your ad ranks
  • #30 You always pay the minimum amount you can pay for the position you win if your ads are clicked onNotice how Advertiser 1 can pay less than the rest due to its high quality scoreIt directly affects your… –Ad rank (Ad Positioning) –minimum first page bid and actual CPC –Impression share –Ability to appear above the organic search results •It indirectly affects your.. –Conversion rate –Bidding / Reporting strategies •Improving your AdWords Quality Score is one of the most important campaign metrics to focus on improving!
  • #34 Similar to AIDAAwarenessInformationDecisionAction
  • #59 1. The 3-second test(Do I get the gist of this page after looking at it for 3 seconds, and without scrolling?)2. The ID test(Is it obvious whose site this is, and where the owners are located?)3. The accessibility test(Can everyone get the essential information regardless of their ability, computer, modem, browser or preferences?)4. The "so what?" test(Are you talking to me? Why should I care? And is it obvious what I'm supposed to do next?)5. The "yeah, right!" test(Can I trust you? How smart are you? How old is this information?)6. The serenity test(Does the page look spacious, calm and orderly? Does its very appearance make me feel confident and calm?)7. The found-in-space test(Can I find this page by using a common search engine or directory?)