This document provides an overview of setting smart targets for paid search campaigns to maximize profitability. It discusses moving from fixed budget mindsets to focusing on return on ad spend (ROAS) or cost per acquisition (CPA) targets based on relevant business inputs. These inputs include profit margin, percentage of margin willing to invest in acquisition, and lead-to-sale conversion rates. The document also provides guidance on calculating smart targets, health checking targets and CPCs, integrating advertising data with CRM systems, and using smart bidding to explore efficiency and volume tradeoffs. The goal is to set targets grounded in an understanding of actual business metrics and profitability.
Learn how to create a powerful search engine marketing strategy using paid search (pay-per-click advertising) with vendors such as Google AdWords, Bing AdCenter and Facebook Ads. Presented by SEM Expert Steve Wiideman via http://www.creativesearchstrategies.com/
Digital Marketing Channels PowerPoint Presentation SlidesSlideTeam
Presenting this set of slides with name - Digital Marketing Channels PowerPoint Presentation Slides. This complete deck is oriented to make sure you do not lag in your presentations. Our creatively crafted slides come with apt research and planning. This exclusive deck with sixty two slides is here to help you to strategize, plan, analyse, or segment the topic with clear understanding and apprehension. Utilize ready to use presentation slides on Digital Marketing Channels Powerpoint Presentation Slides with all sorts of editable templates, charts and graphs, overviews, analysis templates. It is usable for marking important decisions and covering critical issues. Display and present all possible kinds of underlying nuances, progress factors for an all inclusive presentation for the teams. This presentation deck can be used by all professionals, managers, individuals, internal external teams involved in any company organization.
Digital marketing presentation - Overview, myths and factssaranshjain50
This presentation covers the overview of myths and facts about digital marketing. It covers the concept of PPC, ADWORDS, SEO, SEM, AFFILIATE MARKETING, EMAIL MARKETING ETC.
It also covers the trend of digital marketing in 2020 and 2021.
Register on the Best freelancing website
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Get the best digital marketing services from
www.ainitosh.com
Learn how to create a powerful search engine marketing strategy using paid search (pay-per-click advertising) with vendors such as Google AdWords, Bing AdCenter and Facebook Ads. Presented by SEM Expert Steve Wiideman via http://www.creativesearchstrategies.com/
Digital Marketing Channels PowerPoint Presentation SlidesSlideTeam
Presenting this set of slides with name - Digital Marketing Channels PowerPoint Presentation Slides. This complete deck is oriented to make sure you do not lag in your presentations. Our creatively crafted slides come with apt research and planning. This exclusive deck with sixty two slides is here to help you to strategize, plan, analyse, or segment the topic with clear understanding and apprehension. Utilize ready to use presentation slides on Digital Marketing Channels Powerpoint Presentation Slides with all sorts of editable templates, charts and graphs, overviews, analysis templates. It is usable for marking important decisions and covering critical issues. Display and present all possible kinds of underlying nuances, progress factors for an all inclusive presentation for the teams. This presentation deck can be used by all professionals, managers, individuals, internal external teams involved in any company organization.
Digital marketing presentation - Overview, myths and factssaranshjain50
This presentation covers the overview of myths and facts about digital marketing. It covers the concept of PPC, ADWORDS, SEO, SEM, AFFILIATE MARKETING, EMAIL MARKETING ETC.
It also covers the trend of digital marketing in 2020 and 2021.
Register on the Best freelancing website
www.freelancemantra.com
Get the best digital marketing services from
www.ainitosh.com
Definition of Search Engine Marketing, Search Engine Results Pages (SERP), Pay-Per-Click (PPC), SEM Platforms, Types of SEM Keywords, SEM Targeting, SEM Account Structure, SEM Ad Auction, Ad Rank, Max CPC Bid, Quality Score, CPC
In this presentation, an attempt has been made to simplify the significance of digital marketing in terms of how beneficial actually it is in boosting the business community. Let us proceed to understand further.
We are living in the Digital Age. Digital Marketing is replacing by Digital marketing. Facebook is the largest social media platform on the planet and it is very crucial for Digital marketing. In this slide, you will know about Facebook ads.
For many years, marketers have trusted the digital marketing funnel as their go-to strategy for acquiring new customers. The digital landscape is shifting, and while a lot of people still believe in the funnel, there is a new alternative available now.
Golden Unicon is the No.1 Digital Marketing Company in Bangalore with advanced Digital Marketing techniques and also provides other Digital Marketing services.
A look at what performance based marketing is all about and how real estate giants can leverage digital going forward. Here's Aji Issac Mathew's, CEO of TechShu, presentation from Digital Success for Real Estate event in Kolkata.
Are you a startup looking to grow your business? 🚀 Consider Performance Marketing! 💰 This results-driven approach can help you reach your target audience and maximize your ROI. 💸 Learn more about how Performance Marketing can benefit your startup today! #startupgrowth #performancemarketing #digitalmarketing
Google AdWords is an advertising service by Google for businesses wanting to display ads on Google and its advertising network.
The AdWords program enables businesses to set a budget for advertising and only pay when people click the ads. The ad service is largely focused on keywords.
Affiliate Marketing, Affiliates, How to be a merchant/ affiliate? How to choose a product? Earn money from affiliate marketing. Become Affiliate Marketing.
Amazon Ads are Amazon’s equivalent to Google Ads and since launching in 2012 have become a real traffic-driving contender. So where to start? In this guide to Amazon Ads, we will answer all of your Amazon Advertising questions and take you through everything you need to know about how Amazon PPC works, how you can get started, the benefits of using this growing advertising platform and a few optimization hacks.
Growth Marketing has changed the way that marketers think about driving demand and creating successful customers, instead of only focusing on the top of the funnel. We take a look at the role of growth marketing and how growth will change SaaS businesses (for the better), including quotes from former HubSpot CMO Mike Volpe, Wealthfront VP of Growth Andy Johns, Social Capital CEO Chamath Palihapitaya and others.
The slides used by Matthew Sauer from iProspect at the E-commerce Meetup organized jointly with Neto, Hubspot and SEMrush: https://www.semrush.com/webinars/e-commerce-meetup/?language=en
When it comes to online advertising, it isn't about how much you spend, it's about how you spend it.
Should you be spending more on Facebook or Google?
What is the best budget for your industry?
When should you stop putting money behind a poor-performing campaign?
For these answers and more, join our live webinar with our in-house pay-per-click expert.
You'll learn:
- How to use 2018's results to set the best budget for your business in 2019
- What processes you can set up now to keep wasted spend in check all year long
- How to quickly determine which ad types are actually worth putting your budget behind
- What signs you should be looking for when managing your bids
Definition of Search Engine Marketing, Search Engine Results Pages (SERP), Pay-Per-Click (PPC), SEM Platforms, Types of SEM Keywords, SEM Targeting, SEM Account Structure, SEM Ad Auction, Ad Rank, Max CPC Bid, Quality Score, CPC
In this presentation, an attempt has been made to simplify the significance of digital marketing in terms of how beneficial actually it is in boosting the business community. Let us proceed to understand further.
We are living in the Digital Age. Digital Marketing is replacing by Digital marketing. Facebook is the largest social media platform on the planet and it is very crucial for Digital marketing. In this slide, you will know about Facebook ads.
For many years, marketers have trusted the digital marketing funnel as their go-to strategy for acquiring new customers. The digital landscape is shifting, and while a lot of people still believe in the funnel, there is a new alternative available now.
Golden Unicon is the No.1 Digital Marketing Company in Bangalore with advanced Digital Marketing techniques and also provides other Digital Marketing services.
A look at what performance based marketing is all about and how real estate giants can leverage digital going forward. Here's Aji Issac Mathew's, CEO of TechShu, presentation from Digital Success for Real Estate event in Kolkata.
Are you a startup looking to grow your business? 🚀 Consider Performance Marketing! 💰 This results-driven approach can help you reach your target audience and maximize your ROI. 💸 Learn more about how Performance Marketing can benefit your startup today! #startupgrowth #performancemarketing #digitalmarketing
Google AdWords is an advertising service by Google for businesses wanting to display ads on Google and its advertising network.
The AdWords program enables businesses to set a budget for advertising and only pay when people click the ads. The ad service is largely focused on keywords.
Affiliate Marketing, Affiliates, How to be a merchant/ affiliate? How to choose a product? Earn money from affiliate marketing. Become Affiliate Marketing.
Amazon Ads are Amazon’s equivalent to Google Ads and since launching in 2012 have become a real traffic-driving contender. So where to start? In this guide to Amazon Ads, we will answer all of your Amazon Advertising questions and take you through everything you need to know about how Amazon PPC works, how you can get started, the benefits of using this growing advertising platform and a few optimization hacks.
Growth Marketing has changed the way that marketers think about driving demand and creating successful customers, instead of only focusing on the top of the funnel. We take a look at the role of growth marketing and how growth will change SaaS businesses (for the better), including quotes from former HubSpot CMO Mike Volpe, Wealthfront VP of Growth Andy Johns, Social Capital CEO Chamath Palihapitaya and others.
The slides used by Matthew Sauer from iProspect at the E-commerce Meetup organized jointly with Neto, Hubspot and SEMrush: https://www.semrush.com/webinars/e-commerce-meetup/?language=en
When it comes to online advertising, it isn't about how much you spend, it's about how you spend it.
Should you be spending more on Facebook or Google?
What is the best budget for your industry?
When should you stop putting money behind a poor-performing campaign?
For these answers and more, join our live webinar with our in-house pay-per-click expert.
You'll learn:
- How to use 2018's results to set the best budget for your business in 2019
- What processes you can set up now to keep wasted spend in check all year long
- How to quickly determine which ad types are actually worth putting your budget behind
- What signs you should be looking for when managing your bids
When it comes to online advertising, it isn't about how much you spend, it's about how you spend it.
Should you be spending more on Facebook or Google? What is the best budget for your industry? When should you stop putting money behind a poor-performing campaign?
For these answers and more, join our live webinar with our in-house pay-per-click expert.
You'll learn:
- How to use 2018's results to set the best budget for your business in 2019
- What processes you can set up now to keep wasted spend in check all year long
- How to quickly determine which ad types are actually worth putting your budget behind
- What signs you should be looking for when managing your bids
Hero Conf London 2016 - The Definitive Framework for Bidding in AdWordsWijnand Meijer
When it comes to setting bids in AdWords, you have more options than you may realize: manual CPC, enhanced CPC, automated rules, AdWords scripts, bid simulator, bid adjustments, smart bidding with target CPA or target ROAS and of course automated bidding with 3rd party solutions.
So the question arises: when should and shouldn’t you use each of these bidding methods? In this presentation, you'll discover:
- Why great bids can’t fix a lousy campaign
- What it means to be truly profit-driven when it comes to bidding (less than 10% of advertisers work this way)
- When it’s best to use each of the mentioned bidding options, based on a new framework for bidding in AdWords
How to Make a Better Search Network Campaign?PPCexpo
How to Make a Better Search Network Campaign?
Campaign planning is far from easy. That being said, when you take the time and effort to explore the vital aspects of PPC advertising, namely your audience, competitors, keywords, and budget, you give yourself a better chance of success.
With user intent and laser-focused targeting in mind, you’re sure to create some winning campaigns.
For many organizations, key performance indicators (KPIs) are "basic" in name only and are tracked to meet compliance regulations or provide retrospective analysis. There is a need for smarter KPIs, says Michael Schrage, a visiting researcher at the MIT Initiative on the Digital Economy (IDE).
5 metrics to strengthen your multichannel sales strategydevin simon
For many eCommerce companies, measuring multichannel sales performance is a challenge. And as your organisation expands to new sales channels like marketplaces, your own brand web stores, and social commerce channels, the complexity for measuring their performance increases.
So, you may end up being confused on which KPIs to track, or end up tracking every known KPI out there. To avoid this, we have listed some of the most prominent KPIs that can help you critically analyse your multichannel sales strategy:
ReTargeting and the Future Of Display Advertising Arjun Dev Arora
This deck walks through the basics of display advertising including metrics, optimization levers, targeting methodologies and touches on new cutting edge technologies to help marketers reach audiences at the right time and place.
ROI for Optimal Lead Quality for B2B Demand GenAsad Haroon
How do your leads measure up? Knowing the answer to that question is key to getting the best results. Judging any lead source without using the appropriate metrics can be very counterproductive.
Awesome Reporting for Winning at PPC #HeroConfKoozai
Whether you are a seasoned PPC pro or you are just getting started, you need to be reporting like a rockstar. Understanding the data you are presented with is paramount when it comes to paid search; the decisions you make need to be informed and backed with stats. There really is no need for the guessing game with all the tools available to us. You'll learn:
- How to report findings in an actionable, specific way to each type of audience (colleague, boss, client, potential client).
- Ways to use Google AdWords, Google Analytics and Excel in partnership to get the most out of your data.
- Why it's beneficial to use audit checklists.
Measuring ROI in Digital Marketing_ Metrics That Matter.pdfFirstDigiAdd3
In Digital Marketing, ROI is determined by combining quantitative and qualitative measurements. By gaining insight into the success of their online marketing initiatives, these indicators assist organizations in improving their strategy and more effectively allocating their resources.
The Secret to Engaging Modern Consumers: Journey Mapping and Personalization
In today's digital landscape, understanding the customer's journey and delivering personalized experiences are paramount. This masterclass delves into the art of consumer journey mapping, a powerful technique that visualizes the entire customer experience across touchpoints. Attendees will learn how to create detailed journey maps, identify pain points, and uncover opportunities for optimization. The presentation also explores personalization strategies that leverage data and technology to tailor content, products, and experiences to individual customers. From real-time personalization to predictive analytics, attendees will gain insights into cutting-edge approaches that drive engagement and loyalty.
Key Takeaways:
Current consumer landscape; Steps to mapping an effective consumer journey; Understanding the value of personalization; Integrating mapping and personalization for success; Brands that are getting It right!; Best Practices; Future Trends
A.I. (artificial intelligence) platforms are popping up all the time, and many of them can and should be used to help grow your brand, increase your sales and decrease your marketing costs.In this presentation:We will review some of the best AI platforms that are available for you to use.We will interact with some of the platforms in real-time, so attendees can see how they work.We will also look at some current brands that are using AI to help them create marketing messages, saving them time and money in the process. Lastly, we will discuss the pros and cons of using AI in marketing & branding and have a lively conversation that includes comments from the audience.
Key Takeaways:
Attendees will learn about LLM platforms, like ChatGPT, and how they work, with preset examples and real time interactions with the platform. Attendees will learn about other AI platforms that are creating graphic design elements at the push of a button...pre-set examples and real-time interactions.Attendees will discuss the pros & cons of AI in marketing + branding and share their perspectives with one another. Attendees will learn about the cost savings and the time savings associated with using AI, should they choose to.
When most people in the industry talk about online or digital reputation management, what they're really saying is Google search and PPC. And it's usually reactive, left dealing with the aftermath of negative information published somewhere online. That's outdated. It leaves executives, organizations and other high-profile individuals at a high risk of a digital reputation attack that spans channels and tactics. But the tools needed to safeguard against an attack are more cybersecurity-oriented than most marketing and communications professionals can manage. Business leaders Leaders grasp the importance; 83% of executives place reputation in their top five areas of risk, yet only 23% are confident in their ability to address it. To succeed in 2024 and beyond, you need to turn online reputation on its axis and think like an attacker.
Key Takeaways:
- New framework for examining and safeguarding an online reputation
- Tools and techniques to keep you a step ahead
- Practical examples that demonstrate when to act, how to act and how to recover
First Things First: Building and Effective Marketing Strategy
Too many companies (and marketers) jump straight into activation planning without formalizing a marketing strategy. It may seem tedious, but analyzing the mindset of your targeted audiences and identifying the messaging points most likely to resonate with them is time well spent. That process is also a great opportunity for marketers to collaborate with sales leaders and account managers on a galvanized go-to-market approach. I’ll walk you through the methods and tools we use with our clients to ensure campaign success.
Key Takeaways:
-Recognize the critical role of strategy in marketing
-Learn our approach for building an actionable, effective marketing strategy
-Receive templates and guides for developing a marketing strategy
The digital marketing industry is changing faster than ever and those who don’t adapt with the times are losing market share. Where should marketers be focusing their efforts? What strategies are the experts seeing get the best results? Get up-to-speed with the latest industry insights, trends and predictions for the future in this panel discussion with some leading digital marketing experts.
Core Web Vitals SEO Workshop - improve your performance [pdf]Peter Mead
Core Web Vitals to improve your website performance for better SEO results with CWV.
CWV Topics include:
- Understanding the latest Core Web Vitals including the significance of LCP, INP and CLS + their impact on SEO
- Optimisation techniques from our experts on how to improve your CWV on platforms like WordPress and WP Engine
- The impact of user experience and SEO
SMM Cheap - No. 1 SMM panel in the worldsmmpanel567
Boost your social media marketing with our SMM Panel services offering SMM Cheap services! Get cost-effective services for your business and increase followers, likes, and engagement across all social media platforms. Get affordable services perfect for businesses and influencers looking to increase their social proof. See how cheap SMM strategies can help improve your social media presence and be a pro at the social media game.
Top 3 Ways to Align Sales and Marketing Teams for Rapid GrowthDemandbase
In this session, Demandbase’s Stephanie Quinn, Sr. Director of Integrated and Digital Marketing, Devin Rosenberg, Director of Sales, and Kevin Rooney, Senior Director of Sales Development will share how sales and marketing shapes their day-to-day and what key areas are needed for true alignment.
When most people in the industry talk about online or digital reputation management, what they're really saying is Google search and PPC. And it's usually reactive, left dealing with the aftermath of negative information published somewhere online. That's outdated. It leaves executives, organizations and other high-profile individuals at a high risk of a digital reputation attack that spans channels and tactics. But the tools needed to safeguard against an attack are more cybersecurity-oriented than most marketing and communications professionals can manage. Business leaders Leaders grasp the importance; 83% of executives place reputation in their top five areas of risk, yet only 23% are confident in their ability to address it. To succeed in 2024 and beyond, you need to turn online reputation on its axis and think like an attacker.\
Key Takeaways:
- New framework for examining and safeguarding an online reputation
- Tools and techniques to keep you a step ahead
- Practical examples that demonstrate when to act, how to act and how to recover
10 Video Ideas Any Business Can Make RIGHT NOW!
You'll never draw a blank again on what kind of video to make for your business. Go beyond the basic categories and truly reimagine a brand new advanced way to brainstorm video content creation. During this masterclass you'll be challenged to think creatively and outside of the box and view your videos through lenses you may have never thought of previously. It's guaranteed that you'll leave with more than 10 video ideas, but I like to under-promise and over-deliver. Don't miss this session.
Key Takeaways:
How to use the Video Matrix
How to use additional "Lenses"
Where to source original video ideas
The session includes a brief history of the evolution of search before diving into the roles technology, content, and links play in developing a powerful SEO strategy in a world of Generative AI and social search. Discover how to optimize for TikTok searches, Google's Gemini, and Search Generative Experience while developing a powerful arsenal of tools and templates to help maximize the effectiveness of your SEO initiatives.
Key Takeaways:
Understand how search engines work
Be able to find out where your users search
Know what is required for each discipline of SEO
Feel confident creating an SEO Plan
Confidently measure SEO performance
Mastering Multi-Touchpoint Content Strategy: Navigate Fragmented User JourneysSearch Engine Journal
Digital platforms are constantly multiplying, and with that, user engagement is becoming more intricate and fragmented.
So how do you effectively navigate distributing and tailoring your content across these various touchpoints?
Watch this webinar as we dive into the evolving landscape of content strategy tailored for today's fragmented user journeys. Understanding how to deliver your content to your users is more crucial than ever, and we’ll provide actionable tips for navigating these intricate challenges.
You’ll learn:
- How today’s users engage with content across various channels and devices.
- The latest methodologies for identifying and addressing content gaps to keep your content strategy proactive and relevant.
- What digital shelf space is and how your content strategy needs to pivot.
With Wayne Cichanski, we’ll explore innovative strategies to map out and meet the diverse needs of your audience, ensuring every piece of content resonates and connects, regardless of where or how it is consumed.
How to Use AI to Write a High-Quality Article that Ranksminatamang0021
In the world of content creation, many AI bloggers have drifted away from their original vision, resulting in low-quality articles that search engines overlook. Don't let that happen to you! Join us to discover how to leverage AI tools effectively to craft high-quality content that not only captures your audience's attention but also ranks well on search engines.
Disclaimer: Some of the prompts mentioned here are the examples of Matt Diggity. Please use it as reference and make your own custom prompts.
2. @wijnandmeijer
Today’s Topics
• Goal-setting maturity stages
• ROI vs ROAS
• Business inputs for Smart Targets
• How to calculate Smart Targets
• How to health check your targets and CPC’s
• Next steps
3. @wijnandmeijer
Goal-setting maturity stages (mindsets): 1.0
1.0 Fixed budget
2.0 Fixed efficiency
target (CPA/ROAS)
3.0 Maximize profit
Still working with a fixed budget? Please (let your client
or manager) read OverthrowTheTyranny Of Paid
Search Budgets
• “The decision to treat the ad spend as a cost of
revenue instead of part of the media budget is simply
an accounting choice.”
• Do you have a fixed budget for credit card fees? No?
Then don’t have a fixed budget for efficient paid
search.
Exceptions: branding campaigns and experiments
“The more divorced the goals are from profits the more
budgets make sense.”
4. @wijnandmeijer
Goal-setting maturity stages (mindsets): 2.0
1.0 Fixed budget
2.0 Fixed efficiency
target (CPA/ROAS)
3.0 Maximize profit
This is better than a fixed budget, so please don’t
combine it with a fixed budget target. Anyone who
does should read some more George Michie.
But how do you know the CPA or ROAS you’re trying
to achieve is the one that will maximize your profits?
A ROAS of 800% may sound nice, but you don’t put
percentages in the bank (or pay invoices with low
CPA’s).
In the end it’s about the real $, € or £ that you gain
from advertising.
5. @wijnandmeijer
Goal-setting maturity stages (mindsets): 3.0
1.0 Fixed budget
2.0 Fixed efficiency
target (CPA/ROAS)
3.0 Maximize profit
This is where you want to be.This where you test
which combination of efficiency (CPA/ROAS) and
volume (leads or revenue) maximizes your profit.
This may change over time because of market
conditions such as search volume and competition
and/or because of business reasons (e.g. better
margins thanks so efficiencies of scale).
This mindset starts with making sure your (starting)
CPA or ROAS is based on the right business inputs.
This presentation aims to help you with that.
6. @wijnandmeijer
ROI ROAS
Gain from investment − cost of investment
Cost of investment
x 100%
• Or even better: use annualized ROI to make it comparable
with other investments on a yearly basis.
• So whenever ROI > 0%, your investment is profitable.
• In the context of PPC, the question is: what goes into the
“cost of investment”? Ad spend and CoGS for sure, but
maybe more? Agency fees? Software fees? These are human
choices.
• This makes ROI hard to use on a daily basis for optimization
and bidding purposes.
ROI vs ROAS, it’s not the same thing
Revenue from advertising
Cost of advertising
x 100%
• With ROAS we only look at the ad spend and how much
revenue that ad spend generated. This makes it easy to track
and use and that’s why it’s also a column in Google Ads:
Conv. value / Cost
• A ROAS of > 0% (or even > 100%) however, does not mean
it’s a profitable campaign! Usually ROAS needs to be
significantly higher for profitability, depending on the
margin.
7. @wijnandmeijer
A profitable ROAS target is based on just two inputs:
A. Profit margin as a percentage of revenue
Don't include costs that don't change (much) when selling additional products.
B. Percentage of that margin you're willing to invest in acquisition
Between 50% and 70% is usually the profit-maximizing range. 100% means breaking even.
Based on these inputs, your ROAS target will be
𝟏
𝐀 × 𝐁
so with a margin of 40% and an acquisition
percentage of 60%, your ROAS target will be
1
40% × 60%
=
1
24%
= 4.17 or 417%
Business inputs for Smart Targets - ROAS
8. @wijnandmeijer
A profitable CPA target is based on three inputs:
A. Profit per customer in $, € or £ based on lifetime value
Especially if you're a B2B advertiser or if you sell subscriptions or financial products, you want to use the
total profit you make on a customer during their lifetime.
B. Percentage of that profit you're willing to invest in acquisition
Between 50% and 70% is usually the profit-maximizing range. 100% means breaking even.
C. Lead to sale conversion rate
This is the percentage of the leads from your website (the conversions you track) that become paying
customers. This can vary greatly by traffic source, so you need to import advertising data into your CRM.
Based on these inputs, your CPA target will be A × B × C
For example: £10,000 × 60% × 15% = £900
Business inputs for Smart Targets - CPA
9. @wijnandmeijer
Free and ungated Google Sheets for you to copy, adjust and share with your
clients, manager and colleagues!
go.trueclicks.com/smart-targets-dollars
go.trueclicks.com/smart-targets-eur
go.trueclicks.com/smart-targets-gbp
It contains two sheets: one for Ecommerce
(ROAS) and one for Lead-gen (CPA).
Smart Target Calculators & Health Checks
10. @wijnandmeijer
Ecommerce (ROAS)
• Your CPC should be
𝐶𝑜𝑛𝑣. 𝑣𝑎𝑙𝑢𝑒 / 𝑐𝑙𝑖𝑐𝑘
𝑇𝑎𝑟𝑔𝑒𝑡 𝑅𝑂𝐴𝑆
• If you know (or estimate) your conversion rate, average CPC and average order value, you
can calculate the corresponding ROAS. This would be the outside-in approach to health-check
the inside-out approach:
ROAS =
𝐴𝑣𝑒𝑟𝑎𝑔𝑒 𝑜𝑟𝑑𝑒𝑟 𝑣𝑎𝑙𝑢𝑒
1
𝑐𝑜𝑛𝑣𝑒𝑟𝑠𝑖𝑜𝑛 𝑟𝑎𝑡𝑒
× 𝐴𝑣𝑔. 𝐶𝑃𝐶
But you can also use the shared Google sheets that will do these calculations for you.
How to health check your targets and CPC’s
11. @wijnandmeijer
Lead-gen (CPA)
• Your CPC should be “Conversion rate × Target CPA”
• If you know (or estimate) your conversion rate and average CPC, you can calculate the
corresponding CPA. This would be the outside-in approach to health-check the inside-out
approach:
CPA =
1
𝐶𝑜𝑛𝑣𝑒𝑟𝑠𝑖𝑜𝑛 𝑟𝑎𝑡𝑒
× Avg. CPC
But you can also use the shared Google sheets that will do these calculations for you.
How to health check your targets and CPC’s
12. @wijnandmeijer
• Ask your client or manager for the inputs needed for a Smart Target as shared in this
presentation and discuss these:
• Is the margin healthy?
• Do you only include costs in your margin that grow (almost) linearly with the amount of products sold or the number
of customers?
• Are you making sure you’re focusing on incremental sales?
• Should advertising be very profitable or focused on increasing market share?
• For lead-gen: is the lead-to-sale conversion rate high enough to support ambitious acquisition goals?
• Does this discussion lead to a different CPA/ROAS target than you currently have? Great!
• Repeat this exercise at least once a year, as your target shouldn’t be fixed forever. But it also shouldn’t
change every month, as it’s hard to hit a moving target.
Next steps
13. @wijnandmeijer
If you’re using Smart Bidding, be sure to explore the Smart Bidding simulators.
Provided there’s enough historical data, this will give you a feel for the different
efficiency and volume combinations.
Discuss these scenarios, by asking questions like: would you rather have 100 conversions for a CPA
of £50 or 150 conversions for a CPA of £60?
Next steps
14. @wijnandmeijer
• For lead-gen accounts, you really want to make sure you import as much advertising data as possible into your
CRM, as the ‘lead-to-sale’ conversion rate can vary enormously by keyword, location, campaign type, etc. (and
so should their target CPA!).
Salesforce is built-in, for other CRM’s this can be more work to set up, but definitely worth it.
• For ecommerce accounts, set up profit tracking as described by Andrew Lolk, to enable steering on actual
profit.
• Bonus tip: you can use Target CPA Smart Bidding for ecommerce as well. Sometimes this works better,
especially with lower conversion volumes. This means the ‘machines’ will assume each conversion is equally
valuable, which may not be perfect, but it also won’t be thrown off by transactions with extreme order values.
Target CPA based on ROAS:
𝐴𝑣𝑒𝑟𝑎𝑔𝑒 𝑂𝑟𝑑𝑒𝑟 𝑉𝑎𝑙𝑢𝑒
𝑇𝑎𝑟𝑔𝑒𝑡 𝑅𝑂𝐴𝑆
Next steps