Hey! !
You should play this!!
“This is the most
 promiscuous app
   audience in the
history of mankind”!
             Bing Gordon!
          VC @ Kleiner Perkins!
      Ex-Chief Creative Officer / EA!




                (CC) Steve Lacey!
!"#$#%#&'$
!"#$#%#&'$
Trivial to try & switch.!
             !
    Gazillion games. !
             !
How do you stand out?!
             !
      Can you turn "
the enemy to a friend?!
Distribution!              App stores!
                    Social!
Advertising!                  Cross promo!

           Brand!         Press!

 Viral!
                              Organic!
Lots of traffic, scalable, predictable, doable!


    Distribution!                App stores!
                    Social!
Advertising!                     Cross promo!
Advertising"
           Pay upfront as long as cost < LTV!

.()/-$+,)-'$                !"()*!+,)-'$                  0,%,1#*$
@&<%!%()*&+,*!.6+.,<!       "#$#%&'!%()*&+,*!             E2%<.2)3&!%5&!:2/#,*!
7.<%!2<&)<!(-(#1(:1&!       "#$#%&'!#,-&,%.)/!
A%(:1&!                     0123%2(+,*!42(1#%/!           F(,#*(,<!
7.<%!&96&,<#-&!             ".%!35&(6&)!                  >'G()1.)!
                            7.)&!8&9#:1&!6)#3#,*;'&(1<!   0#B<2!

0(3&:..B!('<!              "#=&<%)&&%!7&'#(!              2%3#%45(6#*$
!                          >'7.:!
                                                          @(,,&'!.,!#EAH!>,').#'I!
>661&!C!D..*1&!<5.21'!     012))/!
                                                          ".J&)!42(1#%/!2<&)<!
$(B&!%5#<!(<!&(</!(<!0@!   >661#?&)!
                                                          A3(1(:1&!

                                                          K(6L./!
Distribution"
       No upfront risk, revenue share of LTV!

<(/-)(=>-8)/$                  78)-,9/:+9,;8)&/$             7>=9(/"#)/$
F.,R&9312<#-&!                 M9312<#-#%/!-()#&<!           K#$&'!;!=211!&9312<#-#%/!
N&-<5()&!.=!)&=&))&'!2<&)<!    N&-<5()&!.,!32))&,3/!         N&-<5()&!.,!&-&)/%5#,*!
F.!OG!%)(,<=&)!                F.!OG!%)(,<=&)!               OG!%)(,<=&)!T=211;1#$#%&'U!
O,3)&$&,%(1!)&-&,2&!           O,%&*)(%&'!2<&)!&96&)#&,3&!   V&-&1.6$&,%!=2,'#,*!TIU!
                               P2<%.$!'&-&1.6$&,%!           W0211!<&)-#3&X!
                               A.3#(1!<5()#,*!               P2<%.$!'&-&1.6$&,%!
                                                             !
>661#?&)!                      7.:(*&!                       YJ(-&<!
E6&,=&#,%!                     G(6(/(!                       N.3BZ.2!
>S1#(%&!,&%J.)B<!              Q.,*)&*(%&!                   P5#11#,*.[!G1(/?<5!;!M>!
Social"
    Free distribution through social network!

.,3#=88?@$A8819#B$            (CD$                            E%*)8(*$
A.3#(1!<5()#,*[!#,-#%&<!      D($&P&,%&)!c!<.3#(1!^Hd!        e5(%!<.3#(1I!cU!
#)(1#%/!#<!1#$#%&'!          @2%!#%b<!=)&&[!2<&!#%H!         !
QR=(3%.)!]!^H_!               !                               !
!                             E6&,=&#,%!!                     E6&,=&#,%!
"#$#%&'!2<&=21,&<<!=.)!#EA!   0&(%2)&!1&('&)[!:#*!(2'#&,3&!   0&(%2)&!1&('&)[!*..'!<%()%!
C!>,').#'!`!&96&3%!%.!        "&-&)(*&!#%[!#%b<!=)&&H!        "&-&)(*&!#%[!#%b<!=)&&H!
#$6).-&!                                                      !
!
7(9#$#a&!#%H!O%b<!=)&&H!
!
App Stores"
                        If you win the lottery!

(CD$                          E%*)8(*$                    .,3#=88?@$A8819#B$
G2)&!(J&<.$&,&<<!%.!*&%!      G2)&!(J&<.$&,&<<!%.!*&%!    0@!B#11&'!%5&!(66!'#)&3%.)/!
=&(%2)&'H!P5(,3&<I!".2</H!    =&(%2)&'H!P5(,3&<I!@&g&)!   D..*1&h!i<!=2%2)&!2,31&()!
!                             !
A#$61&!KEG!1#<%!(1*.)#%5$!    @1(3B!:.9!KEG!1#<+,*<!
!  f<&!<3(1&(:1&!<.2)3&<!     7235!5()'&)!%.!W*($&X!
   %.!*&%!%.!KEG!1#<%!!       !
M96&3%!>661&!%.!?9!%5#<!      N(6#'!#%&)(+.,!.,!!
!                             >,').#'!7()B&%!
D&,#2<I!                      !
                              !
Cross promotion"
Free distribution through sharing traffic!

  CF%$+8);89(8$                 G)8//$+)8&8$%#-F8)?$
  A26&):!&3.,.$#&<!.=!<3(1&!    O$6).-&'!&3.,.$#&<!
  f<&)!"K!c!"KT*($&U!j!F!     f<&)!61(/!.%5&)!*($&<!(,/J(/!
  P.<%<!c!P.<%T2<&)U!j!k!       F.!3.<%<!
  F&&'!$(,/!<233&<<=21!*($&<!   E,&!*($&!#<!&,.2*5!
  E,1/!=.)!:#**&<%!3.$6(,#&<!   >,/:.'/!3(,!2<&!#%!
  !                             O,3)&$&,%(1!%.!(11!.%5&)!2<&)!(342#<#+.,!
E*$+)(3#/$



 H(),9(-'$
  I(J$,%'K$
A#-$%#F$>/#)/$J8)$J)##$




 L#'@$'8>$9(?#$1,&#/M$
L8F$,=8>-$/8&#$&8)#N$
O8)?/$J8)$+>=9(/"#)/$
P/#)/$F,%-$1,&#/$
Average 6 games / month!
n!
Y!
d!
m!
_!
l!
k!
^!
         7.,%51/!     e&&B1/!
Younger = more games!
o!
n!
Y!
d!
m!                                                              7.,%51/!
_!                                                              e&&B1/!

l!
k!
^!
      f,'&)! ko!%.!lm! ld!%.!_m! _d!%.!mm! md!%.!dm! E-&)!dm!
     ko!/&()<! /&()<! /&()<! /&()<! /&()<! /&()<!
Old men with time to spare?!
o!
n!
Y!
d!
m!
                                                                                 7.,%51/!
_!                                                                               e&&B1/!
l!
k!
^!
      f,'&)! ko!%.!lm! ld!%.!_m! _d!%.!mm! md!%.!dm! E-&)!dm! 0&$(1&! 7(1&!dm!
     ko!/&()<! /&()<! /&()<! /&()<! /&()<! /&()<! .-&)!dm! /&()<!
More people try new games
            Thursday-Friday!
l^p!

kop!

kYp!

kmp!

klp!

k^p!

 op!

 Yp!

 mp!

 lp!

 ^p!
       7.,'(/!    K2&<'(/!   e&',&<'(/!   K52)<'(/!   0)#'(/!   A(%2)'(/!   A2,'(/!

   Note:   !% of new users per weekday of total new users over a week. "
      !    !Days are UTC.!
Tips for high performing ads!
      Clear value proposition!
              Brand!
              Faces!

              Colors!

           Unexpected!

            Freshness!
Genres with best ad CTR"
           (compared to average CTR)!

lH^!
kHo!
kHY!
kHm!
kHl!
kH^!
^Ho!
^HY!
^Hm!
^Hl!
^H^!
Most addictive genres"
              (average # of sessions per game in genre)                    !
k[l^^!

k[^^^!

 o^^!

 Y^^!

 m^^!

 l^^!

    ^!




     Note:   !# of sessions is internal metric, not directly same as game sessions
        !    !Data may be skewed due to certain games reloading pages often!
1. Metrics!

        Don’t fly blind!
Double down on best channels!
2. Diversity!

Don’t rely on one channel!
       Experiment!
3. Scalable!

   Put your resources "
into channels that scale!
     Play the lottery, "
 but don’t depend on it!
4. Own or outsource!

Either dedicate real resources"
       or get a publisher!
        It’s a marathon!
5. Think big!

Leverage success to new titles!
Build a portfolio or borrow one
     with cross-promotion!
Get new users for free!




      www.applifier.com!

Hey, you should play this!

  • 1.
    Hey! ! You shouldplay this!!
  • 2.
    “This is themost promiscuous app audience in the history of mankind”! Bing Gordon! VC @ Kleiner Perkins! Ex-Chief Creative Officer / EA! (CC) Steve Lacey!
  • 5.
  • 6.
  • 7.
    Trivial to try& switch.! ! Gazillion games. ! ! How do you stand out?! ! Can you turn " the enemy to a friend?!
  • 8.
    Distribution! App stores! Social! Advertising! Cross promo! Brand! Press! Viral! Organic!
  • 9.
    Lots of traffic,scalable, predictable, doable! Distribution! App stores! Social! Advertising! Cross promo!
  • 10.
    Advertising" Pay upfront as long as cost < LTV! .()/-$+,)-'$ !"()*!+,)-'$ 0,%,1#*$ @&<%!%()*&+,*!.6+.,<! "#$#%&'!%()*&+,*! E2%<.2)3&!%5&!:2/#,*! 7.<%!2<&)<!(-(#1(:1&! "#$#%&'!#,-&,%.)/! A%(:1&! 0123%2(+,*!42(1#%/! F(,#*(,<! 7.<%!&96&,<#-&! ".%!35&(6&)! >'G()1.)! 7.)&!8&9#:1&!6)#3#,*;'&(1<! 0#B<2! 0(3&:..B!('<! "#=&<%)&&%!7&'#(! 2%3#%45(6#*$ ! >'7.:! @(,,&'!.,!#EAH!>,').#'I! >661&!C!D..*1&!<5.21'! 012))/! ".J&)!42(1#%/!2<&)<! $(B&!%5#<!(<!&(</!(<!0@! >661#?&)! A3(1(:1&! K(6L./!
  • 11.
    Distribution" No upfront risk, revenue share of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
  • 12.
    Social" Free distribution through social network! .,3#=88?@$A8819#B$ (CD$ E%*)8(*$ A.3#(1!<5()#,*[!#,-#%&<! D($&P&,%&)!c!<.3#(1!^Hd! e5(%!<.3#(1I!cU! #)(1#%/!#<!1#$#%&'! @2%!#%b<!=)&&[!2<&!#%H! ! QR=(3%.)!]!^H_! ! ! ! E6&,=&#,%!! E6&,=&#,%! "#$#%&'!2<&=21,&<<!=.)!#EA! 0&(%2)&!1&('&)[!:#*!(2'#&,3&! 0&(%2)&!1&('&)[!*..'!<%()%! C!>,').#'!`!&96&3%!%.! "&-&)(*&!#%[!#%b<!=)&&H! "&-&)(*&!#%[!#%b<!=)&&H! #$6).-&! ! ! 7(9#$#a&!#%H!O%b<!=)&&H! !
  • 13.
    App Stores" If you win the lottery! (CD$ E%*)8(*$ .,3#=88?@$A8819#B$ G2)&!(J&<.$&,&<<!%.!*&%! G2)&!(J&<.$&,&<<!%.!*&%! 0@!B#11&'!%5&!(66!'#)&3%.)/! =&(%2)&'H!P5(,3&<I!".2</H! =&(%2)&'H!P5(,3&<I!@&g&)! D..*1&h!i<!=2%2)&!2,31&()! ! ! A#$61&!KEG!1#<%!(1*.)#%5$! @1(3B!:.9!KEG!1#<+,*<! !  f<&!<3(1&(:1&!<.2)3&<! 7235!5()'&)!%.!W*($&X! %.!*&%!%.!KEG!1#<%!! ! M96&3%!>661&!%.!?9!%5#<! N(6#'!#%&)(+.,!.,!! ! >,').#'!7()B&%! D&,#2<I! ! !
  • 14.
    Cross promotion" Free distributionthrough sharing traffic! CF%$+8);89(8$ G)8//$+)8&8$%#-F8)?$ A26&):!&3.,.$#&<!.=!<3(1&! O$6).-&'!&3.,.$#&<! f<&)!"K!c!"KT*($&U!j!F! f<&)!61(/!.%5&)!*($&<!(,/J(/! P.<%<!c!P.<%T2<&)U!j!k! F.!3.<%<! F&&'!$(,/!<233&<<=21!*($&<! E,&!*($&!#<!&,.2*5! E,1/!=.)!:#**&<%!3.$6(,#&<! >,/:.'/!3(,!2<&!#%! ! O,3)&$&,%(1!%.!(11!.%5&)!2<&)!(342#<#+.,!
  • 15.
  • 16.
  • 17.
  • 18.
  • 19.
    Average 6 games/ month! n! Y! d! m! _! l! k! ^! 7.,%51/! e&&B1/!
  • 20.
    Younger = moregames! o! n! Y! d! m! 7.,%51/! _! e&&B1/! l! k! ^! f,'&)! ko!%.!lm! ld!%.!_m! _d!%.!mm! md!%.!dm! E-&)!dm! ko!/&()<! /&()<! /&()<! /&()<! /&()<! /&()<!
  • 21.
    Old men withtime to spare?! o! n! Y! d! m! 7.,%51/! _! e&&B1/! l! k! ^! f,'&)! ko!%.!lm! ld!%.!_m! _d!%.!mm! md!%.!dm! E-&)!dm! 0&$(1&! 7(1&!dm! ko!/&()<! /&()<! /&()<! /&()<! /&()<! /&()<! .-&)!dm! /&()<!
  • 22.
    More people trynew games Thursday-Friday! l^p! kop! kYp! kmp! klp! k^p! op! Yp! mp! lp! ^p! 7.,'(/! K2&<'(/! e&',&<'(/! K52)<'(/! 0)#'(/! A(%2)'(/! A2,'(/! Note: !% of new users per weekday of total new users over a week. " ! !Days are UTC.!
  • 23.
    Tips for highperforming ads! Clear value proposition! Brand! Faces! Colors! Unexpected! Freshness!
  • 24.
    Genres with bestad CTR" (compared to average CTR)! lH^! kHo! kHY! kHm! kHl! kH^! ^Ho! ^HY! ^Hm! ^Hl! ^H^!
  • 25.
    Most addictive genres" (average # of sessions per game in genre) ! k[l^^! k[^^^! o^^! Y^^! m^^! l^^! ^! Note: !# of sessions is internal metric, not directly same as game sessions ! !Data may be skewed due to certain games reloading pages often!
  • 26.
    1. Metrics! Don’t fly blind! Double down on best channels!
  • 27.
    2. Diversity! Don’t relyon one channel! Experiment!
  • 28.
    3. Scalable! Put your resources " into channels that scale! Play the lottery, " but don’t depend on it!
  • 29.
    4. Own oroutsource! Either dedicate real resources" or get a publisher! It’s a marathon!
  • 30.
    5. Think big! Leveragesuccess to new titles! Build a portfolio or borrow one with cross-promotion!
  • 31.
    Get new usersfor free! www.applifier.com!