2. TV Buying
• Step 1: Request Avails
• Provide stations with a request for “avails” or available inventory
and pricing.
• Include timing, target audience, desired dayparts
• Set a deadline
• Example:
• Client: Whole Foods
• Campaign: Summer Grill Out
• Length: :30
• Timing: May 20 – June 30, 2013 (6 weeks)
• Target: Women 35 - 54
• Dayparts: EM, EN, PA, PT, LN
3. Dayparts
• Early Morning (EM) – 5am to 9am
• Daytime (DT) – 9am to 4:30pm
• Early Fringe (EF) – 4:30pm to 7pm
• Evening News (EN) – 5pm to 7pm
• Prime Access (PA) – 7pm to 8pm
• Primetime (PT) – 8pm to 11pm
• On Sundays, Primetime is 7pm to 11pm
• Late News (LN) – 11pm to 11:30pm
• Late Fringe (LF) – 11:30pm to 1am
• Overnight – 1am to 5am
4. Dayparts
• Early Morning (EM) – 5am to 9am
• Daytime (DT) – 9am to 4:30pm
• Early Fringe (EF) – 4:30pm to 7pm
Overlap
• Evening News (EN) – 5pm to 7pm
• Prime Access (PA) – 7pm to 8pm
• Primetime (PT) – 8pm to 11pm
• On Sundays, Primetime is 7pm to 11pm
• Late News (LN) – 11pm to 11:30pm
• Late Fringe (LF) – 11:30pm to 1am
• Overnight – 1am to 5am
5. TV Buying
• Step 2: Draft plan
• Set daypart GRP and budget goals
• Use overall budget range and estimated total GRPS
• $65,000 budget, 4 weeks, 600 GRPs
• EM – 20%, PA – 10%, EN – 20%, PT – 40%, LN – 10%
• EM Goal – $13,000 budget, 120 GRPs
• PA Goal - $6,500 budget, 60 GRPs
• Get plan as close to ideal
• Try to hit GRP goal first – cost can be negotiated
• Call back reps to negotiate
6. TV Buying
• Step 3: Negotiate
• Using CPP as comparison
• “I’m buying prime access around $50-$60 CPP. You are currently at $75
CPP. I need you to bring in the rate to be considered on the buy.”
• Ex. Access Hollywood, 4.5 rating, $340 cost
• $75.55 CPP – need to be under $60 CPP
• Adjust rate to $275 gets it to $61 CPP (cut $65 off rate or about 19%)
• Rate that will “clear”
• Get a rate that will not get kicked out by another advertiser
• Step 4: Contract / Reserve spots
7. Radio Buying
• Same as TV
• Request Avails
• Set Budget / GRP Goals
• Negotiate
• Place Buy
• Dayparts slightly different
• AM – Morning Drive 6am – 10am
• MD – Midday 10am – 3pm
• PM – Afternoon Drive 3pm – 6pm
• Evening – 7pm – 12mid
• Overnights – 12mid – 6am
• Rotators – all day, 6am-6pm
8. Radio Buying
• Same as TV
• Request Avails
• Set Budget / GRP Goals
• Negotiate
• Place Buy
• Dayparts slightly different
• AM – Morning Drive 6am – 10am Majority of buys
• MD – Midday 10am – 3pm purchased in
• PM – Afternoon Drive 3pm – 6pm these dayparts
• Evening – 7pm – 12mid
• Overnights – 12mid – 6am
• Rotators – all day, 6am-6pm
9. Digital Buying
• Typically based on impressions, although can be purchased on
a monthly basis.
• CPM rates – can be negotiated
• $10 CPM
• 50,000 impressions = $500 ($10 x 50 = $500)
• Rates vary based on ad type
• Share of Voice – SOV
• Based on site inventory, historical impression levels
• Ex. WRAL has an average 108 million monthly impressions
• 10% SOV is 10.8M impressions
• Focus on a page and try to have a good presence there
• Home Page
• News
• Weather
13. Digital Buying
• Pay Per Click
• Search advertising
• Set daily budgets
• Set cost per click
• Reporting
• CTR (click through ratio) – Used to measure engagement of the ad
• Impressions – Measurement of opportunity to see the ad / served
by ad server
• Analytics
• Specialize in analytics / tracking of digital advertising
14. Out-of-Home Buying
• Billboards
• Traditional (Static)
• Mobile
• Digital
• Tri-vision
• Transit (subway, bus, taxi)
• Guerilla outdoor
Based on availability
Long term contracts (3 month minimum)
Frequency medium
15. Out-of-Home Buying
• Request board availability
• Can be purchased individually or in terms of “showing”
• 50 showing = 50% reach of the market
• 25 showing = 25% reach of the market
• Production/Printing extra
• Measurements
• DEC – Daily Effective Circulation
• Used to compare boards for traffic numbers
• EOI – Eyes On Impressions
• Adopted in 2011, revised ratings system. Adjusts for different types of
outdoor.
16. Out-of-Home Buying
• Choosing boards
• Traffic patterns
• Visibility
• Cost
• Reporting
• Proof of performance (picture of board)
• Attribute direct URL to outdoor
• Creative
• Large impact
• Short messaging
• Some of the more creative advertising executions