Google adwords is an effective strategy in bringing customers to your business. This excellent presentation by Rick Thompson from SEM:SME at the Northern Beaches Business Network event on 28 March 2017, shows how you can bring Google Adwords into your marketing mix, use it effectively to drive traffic to your business site and avoid common pitfalls so you do not burn your hard earned dollars.
2. SEM::SMESEM::SME
SEM::SME
Search Engine Marketing for SMEs
Boutique Agency
Google Partner since 2011 (Engage)
Google Partner requirements
Expertise
Best Practice
Manage Customer Spend
Google Account team
Agency Development
Account Strategist
11. SEM::SMESEM::SME
SEO
Pros
Building long term asset (if done correctly)
“Free” traffic
Good (but hard to measure) ROI
Cons
Typically long game (6-18 months)
Increasingly difficult
Algo changes etc.
Dependant on good/very good content
12. SEM::SMESEM::SME
AdWords
Pros
Moment they’re looking for
what you’re selling
Highly targeted
Fast setup
Quick validation
Measurable
Complementary to SEO
Cons
Can be expensive
No ad – no presence
Requires active optimization
13. SEM::SMESEM::SME
Most expensive keywords
USA
“best mesothelioma lawyer”
US$935.71 (AUD1,227)
UK
“play live blackjack”
£148.51 (AUD244)
Australia
“best mobile trading app”
$276.04
14. SEM::SMESEM::SME
Digital Ad Spending – Australia
2016
AUD7.40 billion
Paid media ad spend
2016 – 48.7%
2017 – 51.4% (est.)
Mobile (all ad spend)
2016 – 25.3%
2017 – 31.8% (est.)
Source
IAB
PwC
eMarketer
17. SEM::SMESEM::SME
Attribute values to conversions
Actual sales value
Custom value e.g. LCV
Calculating lead value
Leads from site = 20
Sales value from those leads = $4,000
Value / Leads = Goal value
$4,000 / 20 = $200 Goal value
Assign micro-conversion goal values e.g.
Enquiry - $100
Download - $20
Share - $2
18. SEM::SMESEM::SME
Assign target CPA & ROI values
Cost Per Acquisition (CPA)
$200 = break-even
$100 = 50% margin
$240 = Loss leader
19. SEM::SMESEM::SME
Traffic vs ROI
Increase traffic
Increase keyword depth
Increase keyword breadth
Broaden your match types
Increase budgets & bids
Increase network reach
Quality score?
Improve ROI
Use more specific match types
Refine bids & bid adjustments
Add more negative keywords
Landing page optimisation
Improve the ads
Improve quality score
21. SEM::SMESEM::SME
Ad Rank
Was
Bid received * QS = Ad Rank
$5.00 * 7 = 35
$3.50 * 9 = 31.5
$6.00 * 5 = 30
Now
(Bid received, quality score, stuff)
= Ad Rank
22. SEM::SMESEM::SME
Impact of Ad Rank
Advertiser A
Bid $4.50 * QS 7 = Ad Rank 31.5 = $4.10 CPC
What's the smallest Ad Rank needed
My Bid
Bid $3.80 * QS 9 = Ad Rank 34.2
So 31.6 Ad Rank needed to win
Necessary Ad Rank / QS = Actual CPC
31.6 / 9 = $3.51
24. SEM::SMESEM::SME
Bid Adjustments
How are they calculated?
Bid - $1.00
Mobile +50%
Sydney +20%
Sydney CBD +35%
Melbourne -50%
6pm to 9pm +15%
Click in Melbourne, 8pm
$1.00 * 1.15 * 0.5 = $0.57
Click in Sydney CBD 7pm
$1.00 * 1.15 * 1.35 = $1.55
25. SEM::SMESEM::SME
Ad position
Conversion rate doesn't vary (much) by position
Click-through (CTR) rate does vary (a lot) by position
Balance Positioning:Profit:CPA
High position
Higher bids
More clicks
More conversions
Higher CPA
Low position
Lower bids
Fewer clicks
Fewer conversions
Lower CPA
28. SEM::SMESEM::SME
AdWords – Why Bother?
Quick
Targeted
Measurable
Advertising to people who are searching for what
you’re selling, when they’re looking