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AdWords
WHY BOTHER?
1
Assumed
 Defined objectives
 Structured your account
 Made each ad group relevant
 Always testing
2
ROI = (Revenue - Cost) /
Cost
 ($100 - $75) / $75 = +33%
 ($100 - $125) / $125 = -20%
3
Attribute values to
conversions
 Actual sales value
 Custom value e.g. LCV
 Calculating lead value
 Leads from site = 20
 Sales value from those leads = $4,000
 Value / Leads = Goal value
 $4,000 / 20 = $200 Goal value
 Assign goal values
 Enquiry
 $100
 Download
 $20
 Share
 $2
4
Assign target CPA & ROI
values
 CPA
 $200 = break-even
 $100 = 50% margin
 $240 = Loss leader
5
Traffic vs ROI
 Increase traffic
 Increase keyword depth
 Increase keyword breadth
 Broaden your match types
 Increase budgets & bids
 Increase network reach
 Quality score?
 Improve ROI
 Use more specific match types
 Refine bids & bid adjustments
 Add more negative keywords
 Landing page optimisation
 Improve the ads
 Improve quality score
6
Ad position
 Conversion rate doesn't vary (much) by position
 Balance Positioning:Profit:CPA
 High position
 Higher bids
 More clicks
 More conversions
 Higher CPA
 Low position
 Lower bids
 Fewer clicks
 Fewer conversions
 Lower CPA
7
Quality Score
 CTR
 Keyword, search query
 Historical and expected performance
 Relevance
 Search query
 Keyword
 Ad
 Landing page
 Landing Page
 Transparency
 Quality of content
8
Improving Quality Score
 Improving QS
 Keyword diagnosis
 Isolate problem keyword(s)
 Refine ad
 Consider refining match type
 Add negative keywords
Improves CTR
Improve ad relevance
 Improve the landing page
9
Ad Rank
 Was
 Bid received * QS = Ad Rank
 $5.00 * 7 = 35
 $3.50 * 9 = 31.5
 $6.00 * 5 = 30
 Now
 (Bid received,quality score, ad extensions)
= Ad Rank
10
Calculating Ad Rank
 Advertiser A
 Bid $4.50 * QS 7 = Ad Rank 31.5 = $4.10 CPC
 What's the smallest Ad Rank needed
 My Bid
 Bid $3.80 * QS 9 = Ad Rank 34.2
 So 31.6 Ad Rank needed to win
 Necessary Ad Rank / QS = Actual CPC
 31.6 / 9 = $3.51
11
ROI Levers
 Match types
 Broad
 Modified broad
 Phrase
 Exact
 Negative
 Broad
 Phrase
 Exact
 DKI: {KeyWord:Selected Keyword}
12
ROI Levers
 Location
 Target:
 People in, searching for or viewing pages about my targeted
location (recommended)
 People in my targeted location
 People searching for or viewing pages about my targeted location
 Exclude:
 People in, searching for or viewing pages about my excluded
location (recommended)
 People in my excluded location
 Location within location
 Australia 100%
 Sydney 110%
 Coogee 120%
13
ROI Levers
 Ad schedule
 Language
 Ad Extensions
 Sitelinks
 Locations
 Calls
 Apps
 Reviews
 Call-outs
14
ROI Levers
 Device targeting
 Mobile bid adjustment
 Device breakdown (Australia)
 Desktop 64%
 Tablet 12%
 Mobile 24%
 Customisations
 Countdowns
 Ad customisers
 Extracted keyword
 Price from
 Uploaded as spreadsheet
15
Bid Adjustments
 How are they calculated?
 6pm to 9pm +15%
 Mobile +50%
 Melbourne +20%
 Melbourne CBD +35%
 Sydney -50%
 Click in Sydney, 8pm
 $1.00 * 1.15 * 0.5 = $0.57
 Click in Melbourne CBD 7pm
 $1.00 * 1.15 * 1.35 = $1.55
16
Ad Split testing
 Ideas for ad tests
 Capitalisation
 www
 Questions
 Features vs benefits
 Price
 Sale/promotion
 Rotate evenly
 Automatic optimisation
17
Thank you
 Questions?
18

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How is AI changing journalism? (v. April 2024)
 

AdWords - why bother?

  • 2. Assumed  Defined objectives  Structured your account  Made each ad group relevant  Always testing 2
  • 3. ROI = (Revenue - Cost) / Cost  ($100 - $75) / $75 = +33%  ($100 - $125) / $125 = -20% 3
  • 4. Attribute values to conversions  Actual sales value  Custom value e.g. LCV  Calculating lead value  Leads from site = 20  Sales value from those leads = $4,000  Value / Leads = Goal value  $4,000 / 20 = $200 Goal value  Assign goal values  Enquiry  $100  Download  $20  Share  $2 4
  • 5. Assign target CPA & ROI values  CPA  $200 = break-even  $100 = 50% margin  $240 = Loss leader 5
  • 6. Traffic vs ROI  Increase traffic  Increase keyword depth  Increase keyword breadth  Broaden your match types  Increase budgets & bids  Increase network reach  Quality score?  Improve ROI  Use more specific match types  Refine bids & bid adjustments  Add more negative keywords  Landing page optimisation  Improve the ads  Improve quality score 6
  • 7. Ad position  Conversion rate doesn't vary (much) by position  Balance Positioning:Profit:CPA  High position  Higher bids  More clicks  More conversions  Higher CPA  Low position  Lower bids  Fewer clicks  Fewer conversions  Lower CPA 7
  • 8. Quality Score  CTR  Keyword, search query  Historical and expected performance  Relevance  Search query  Keyword  Ad  Landing page  Landing Page  Transparency  Quality of content 8
  • 9. Improving Quality Score  Improving QS  Keyword diagnosis  Isolate problem keyword(s)  Refine ad  Consider refining match type  Add negative keywords Improves CTR Improve ad relevance  Improve the landing page 9
  • 10. Ad Rank  Was  Bid received * QS = Ad Rank  $5.00 * 7 = 35  $3.50 * 9 = 31.5  $6.00 * 5 = 30  Now  (Bid received,quality score, ad extensions) = Ad Rank 10
  • 11. Calculating Ad Rank  Advertiser A  Bid $4.50 * QS 7 = Ad Rank 31.5 = $4.10 CPC  What's the smallest Ad Rank needed  My Bid  Bid $3.80 * QS 9 = Ad Rank 34.2  So 31.6 Ad Rank needed to win  Necessary Ad Rank / QS = Actual CPC  31.6 / 9 = $3.51 11
  • 12. ROI Levers  Match types  Broad  Modified broad  Phrase  Exact  Negative  Broad  Phrase  Exact  DKI: {KeyWord:Selected Keyword} 12
  • 13. ROI Levers  Location  Target:  People in, searching for or viewing pages about my targeted location (recommended)  People in my targeted location  People searching for or viewing pages about my targeted location  Exclude:  People in, searching for or viewing pages about my excluded location (recommended)  People in my excluded location  Location within location  Australia 100%  Sydney 110%  Coogee 120% 13
  • 14. ROI Levers  Ad schedule  Language  Ad Extensions  Sitelinks  Locations  Calls  Apps  Reviews  Call-outs 14
  • 15. ROI Levers  Device targeting  Mobile bid adjustment  Device breakdown (Australia)  Desktop 64%  Tablet 12%  Mobile 24%  Customisations  Countdowns  Ad customisers  Extracted keyword  Price from  Uploaded as spreadsheet 15
  • 16. Bid Adjustments  How are they calculated?  6pm to 9pm +15%  Mobile +50%  Melbourne +20%  Melbourne CBD +35%  Sydney -50%  Click in Sydney, 8pm  $1.00 * 1.15 * 0.5 = $0.57  Click in Melbourne CBD 7pm  $1.00 * 1.15 * 1.35 = $1.55 16
  • 17. Ad Split testing  Ideas for ad tests  Capitalisation  www  Questions  Features vs benefits  Price  Sale/promotion  Rotate evenly  Automatic optimisation 17