SlideShare a Scribd company logo
1 of 33
Margaret Wallace, CEO margaret@playmatics.com Twitter: @MargaretWallace
1996
Making Free-to-Play Games Work for You
Successful Use of Virtual Goods Touch on Core Experiences Decorative  Items Consumables Social  Accelerators
Know What Motivates Your Audience Values & Belief Systems Are they loyal to any brands? How much disposable income do they have? What motivates them to come to your game?  Socializing? Being Creative? Zoning Out? Killing Time? Competition?
Type of Free-to-Play Game  Users Virtual Goods
Gear Weapons Functional Items Clothing Earth Eternal
50% Functional  50% Decorative Puzzle Pirates
Virtual Goods Make Up 85% Of Habbo Revenue -- $70M in 2008 Social, Decorative Items Consumables Habbo Hotel
60% -- 90% of revenues selling virtual goods ranging from digital farm buildings to poker chips. Predominantly Items  that Allow You to  Tend to Farm Farmville
Enhance Game Play Access New Levels Customize characters
Gifting & Flirting!
Integrating Virtual Goods Into Free-to-Play Game Experiences
In-Game / Functional
Social Status
Decorative Playfish sells around 20M items in Restaurant City every day - in either money- or time-based currencies. Source: “Building Social Games at Scale” Panel, Social Gaming Summit, June 23, 2009
Gifting Playfish titles are typically released with just 20% of their final features developed and implemented.  The rest is introduced over time in response to the demands of the community and success of the title. Source: “Building Social Games at Scale” Panel, Social Gaming Summit, June 23, 2009
Collectibles & Rare Items Limited number, niche appeal, unique appeal.
Setting Goals
Trading / Exchange
Rewarding Behavior
Conferring Status
Metrics Must have metrics in place!
Metrics & Reporting Sample metrics needed to track and have at your finger-tips anytime:
Measuring Active Users What percentage are returning players who do something significant in your game? For MMOs = Once every 30 days  For Social Games = Measured Daily
Average Revenue Per User (ARPU) Measuring Average Revenue Per User Allows You to Gauge the Success of Your Service.  Total Monthly Revenue / Active Users = ARPU € 2 Million /  150,000 = € 13 ARPU  € 2,000 / 150 = € 13 ARPU  Gaming the System!
Lifetime Value of User How Much a User is Valued Over Time ARPU x #/Months on Site = Lifetime Value € 13 x 6 months = € 78 Facebook game churn is around 8 weeks.
Average Revenue Per Paying User (ARPPU) How Much Paying Users Spend Monthly Revenue / Paying Users = ARPPU € 2 Million /  20,000 = € 100 ARPPU  NOTE: Factor in Cost Per Acquisition, which can cost up to .70 to 1.50 Euros Per User
What Does This Mean? Social Games ARPU =  .30 – 3 Euros ARPU for MMOs sometimes reported as higher,  but they may have far fewer players.
Common Mistakes
Common Mistakes Retrofitting virtual goods into an already-existing design – and making stupid design decisions to compensate for that.  Not preparing your community for changes. Not responding to community.  Not having a content plan once first set of goods released.
Common Mistakes Having a set price for purchasing virtual currency, independent of the payment method. Not designing enough “sinks” in the economy – i.e., selling back items @ 50%, having enough consumables.  Having bad metrics in place.
Questions? Contact: Margaret Wallace, CEO margaret@playmatics.com Twitter: @MargaretWallace

More Related Content

Similar to Inner Workings of Virtual Goods Economies

Simon Guild's Presentation
Simon Guild's PresentationSimon Guild's Presentation
Simon Guild's Presentation
Mediabistro
 
Wiem, że nic nie wiem - moja krótka analiza rynku gier na Łódź Game Summit 2014
Wiem, że nic nie wiem - moja krótka analiza rynku gier na Łódź Game Summit 2014Wiem, że nic nie wiem - moja krótka analiza rynku gier na Łódź Game Summit 2014
Wiem, że nic nie wiem - moja krótka analiza rynku gier na Łódź Game Summit 2014
Tomek Kreczmar
 

Similar to Inner Workings of Virtual Goods Economies (20)

Gamification - Let's Talk About Data
Gamification - Let's Talk About DataGamification - Let's Talk About Data
Gamification - Let's Talk About Data
 
Business Presentation.ppt
Business Presentation.pptBusiness Presentation.ppt
Business Presentation.ppt
 
SP_Pitch
SP_PitchSP_Pitch
SP_Pitch
 
Social game revenue potential, costs, and the keys to being successful in the...
Social game revenue potential, costs, and the keys to being successful in the...Social game revenue potential, costs, and the keys to being successful in the...
Social game revenue potential, costs, and the keys to being successful in the...
 
Monetization As Part Of Game Design
Monetization As Part Of Game DesignMonetization As Part Of Game Design
Monetization As Part Of Game Design
 
Hyper-casual 2.0. Is hyper-casual dead? What we can tell based on the data?
Hyper-casual 2.0. Is hyper-casual dead? What we can tell based on the data?Hyper-casual 2.0. Is hyper-casual dead? What we can tell based on the data?
Hyper-casual 2.0. Is hyper-casual dead? What we can tell based on the data?
 
FGS 2011: Keeping Yourself Honest in Game Design (SteamBirds)
FGS 2011: Keeping Yourself Honest in Game Design (SteamBirds)FGS 2011: Keeping Yourself Honest in Game Design (SteamBirds)
FGS 2011: Keeping Yourself Honest in Game Design (SteamBirds)
 
Simon Guild's Presentation
Simon Guild's PresentationSimon Guild's Presentation
Simon Guild's Presentation
 
The factors of social games success
The factors of social games successThe factors of social games success
The factors of social games success
 
Swain innovations in business and funding
Swain innovations in business and fundingSwain innovations in business and funding
Swain innovations in business and funding
 
Wiem, że nic nie wiem - moja krótka analiza rynku gier na Łódź Game Summit 2014
Wiem, że nic nie wiem - moja krótka analiza rynku gier na Łódź Game Summit 2014Wiem, że nic nie wiem - moja krótka analiza rynku gier na Łódź Game Summit 2014
Wiem, że nic nie wiem - moja krótka analiza rynku gier na Łódź Game Summit 2014
 
1521125845505.pdf
1521125845505.pdf1521125845505.pdf
1521125845505.pdf
 
Getting Into the Game Development Business in the Philippines (2010)
Getting Into the Game Development Business in the Philippines (2010)Getting Into the Game Development Business in the Philippines (2010)
Getting Into the Game Development Business in the Philippines (2010)
 
The rise of Hyper-casual & takeaways from Tap Tap Games
The rise of Hyper-casual & takeaways from Tap Tap GamesThe rise of Hyper-casual & takeaways from Tap Tap Games
The rise of Hyper-casual & takeaways from Tap Tap Games
 
Ian Hetherington Games Industry presentation How-Do Vision+Media AGM 2010
Ian Hetherington Games Industry presentation How-Do Vision+Media AGM 2010Ian Hetherington Games Industry presentation How-Do Vision+Media AGM 2010
Ian Hetherington Games Industry presentation How-Do Vision+Media AGM 2010
 
NetEase - Story of a Transformation
NetEase - Story of a TransformationNetEase - Story of a Transformation
NetEase - Story of a Transformation
 
Future of Monetizing Social Games
Future of Monetizing Social GamesFuture of Monetizing Social Games
Future of Monetizing Social Games
 
LAFS SVI Level 7 - Game Publishing
LAFS SVI Level 7 - Game PublishingLAFS SVI Level 7 - Game Publishing
LAFS SVI Level 7 - Game Publishing
 
Jago Studios Pitch Deck
Jago Studios Pitch DeckJago Studios Pitch Deck
Jago Studios Pitch Deck
 
Product Management Case Study : Farmville 2 country escape
Product Management Case Study : Farmville 2 country escapeProduct Management Case Study : Farmville 2 country escape
Product Management Case Study : Farmville 2 country escape
 

More from Margaret Wallace

More from Margaret Wallace (10)

How Games and Blockchain Combine to Drive Innovation and Opportunities
How Games and Blockchain Combine to Drive Innovation and OpportunitiesHow Games and Blockchain Combine to Drive Innovation and Opportunities
How Games and Blockchain Combine to Drive Innovation and Opportunities
 
Game Industry Today: Surviving & Thriving
Game Industry Today: Surviving & Thriving Game Industry Today: Surviving & Thriving
Game Industry Today: Surviving & Thriving
 
Getting Into Bed With an IP Licensor
Getting Into Bed With an IP Licensor Getting Into Bed With an IP Licensor
Getting Into Bed With an IP Licensor
 
State of the Video Game Industry
State of the Video Game IndustryState of the Video Game Industry
State of the Video Game Industry
 
Gaming in the Real World: How Reality-Based Games Are Transforming Our Unders...
Gaming in the Real World: How Reality-Based Games Are Transforming Our Unders...Gaming in the Real World: How Reality-Based Games Are Transforming Our Unders...
Gaming in the Real World: How Reality-Based Games Are Transforming Our Unders...
 
Adventures in Entrepreneurship
Adventures in EntrepreneurshipAdventures in Entrepreneurship
Adventures in Entrepreneurship
 
Rules of Engagement: How Gamification is Changing the World
Rules of Engagement: How Gamification is Changing the World Rules of Engagement: How Gamification is Changing the World
Rules of Engagement: How Gamification is Changing the World
 
10 Immutable Truths of Entrepreneurship (Updated Keynote)
10 Immutable Truths of Entrepreneurship (Updated Keynote)10 Immutable Truths of Entrepreneurship (Updated Keynote)
10 Immutable Truths of Entrepreneurship (Updated Keynote)
 
The Gamification of...Everything?
The Gamification of...Everything?The Gamification of...Everything?
The Gamification of...Everything?
 
Funding Your Game Company: The Good, The Bad and The Ugly
Funding Your Game Company: The Good, The Bad and The UglyFunding Your Game Company: The Good, The Bad and The Ugly
Funding Your Game Company: The Good, The Bad and The Ugly
 

Recently uploaded

Cloud Frontiers: A Deep Dive into Serverless Spatial Data and FME
Cloud Frontiers:  A Deep Dive into Serverless Spatial Data and FMECloud Frontiers:  A Deep Dive into Serverless Spatial Data and FME
Cloud Frontiers: A Deep Dive into Serverless Spatial Data and FME
Safe Software
 
+971581248768>> SAFE AND ORIGINAL ABORTION PILLS FOR SALE IN DUBAI AND ABUDHA...
+971581248768>> SAFE AND ORIGINAL ABORTION PILLS FOR SALE IN DUBAI AND ABUDHA...+971581248768>> SAFE AND ORIGINAL ABORTION PILLS FOR SALE IN DUBAI AND ABUDHA...
+971581248768>> SAFE AND ORIGINAL ABORTION PILLS FOR SALE IN DUBAI AND ABUDHA...
?#DUbAI#??##{{(☎️+971_581248768%)**%*]'#abortion pills for sale in dubai@
 
Cloud Frontiers: A Deep Dive into Serverless Spatial Data and FME
Cloud Frontiers:  A Deep Dive into Serverless Spatial Data and FMECloud Frontiers:  A Deep Dive into Serverless Spatial Data and FME
Cloud Frontiers: A Deep Dive into Serverless Spatial Data and FME
Safe Software
 
Finding Java's Hidden Performance Traps @ DevoxxUK 2024
Finding Java's Hidden Performance Traps @ DevoxxUK 2024Finding Java's Hidden Performance Traps @ DevoxxUK 2024
Finding Java's Hidden Performance Traps @ DevoxxUK 2024
Victor Rentea
 
Architecting Cloud Native Applications
Architecting Cloud Native ApplicationsArchitecting Cloud Native Applications
Architecting Cloud Native Applications
WSO2
 
Modular Monolith - a Practical Alternative to Microservices @ Devoxx UK 2024
Modular Monolith - a Practical Alternative to Microservices @ Devoxx UK 2024Modular Monolith - a Practical Alternative to Microservices @ Devoxx UK 2024
Modular Monolith - a Practical Alternative to Microservices @ Devoxx UK 2024
Victor Rentea
 

Recently uploaded (20)

Corporate and higher education May webinar.pptx
Corporate and higher education May webinar.pptxCorporate and higher education May webinar.pptx
Corporate and higher education May webinar.pptx
 
Spring Boot vs Quarkus the ultimate battle - DevoxxUK
Spring Boot vs Quarkus the ultimate battle - DevoxxUKSpring Boot vs Quarkus the ultimate battle - DevoxxUK
Spring Boot vs Quarkus the ultimate battle - DevoxxUK
 
ProductAnonymous-April2024-WinProductDiscovery-MelissaKlemke
ProductAnonymous-April2024-WinProductDiscovery-MelissaKlemkeProductAnonymous-April2024-WinProductDiscovery-MelissaKlemke
ProductAnonymous-April2024-WinProductDiscovery-MelissaKlemke
 
TrustArc Webinar - Unlock the Power of AI-Driven Data Discovery
TrustArc Webinar - Unlock the Power of AI-Driven Data DiscoveryTrustArc Webinar - Unlock the Power of AI-Driven Data Discovery
TrustArc Webinar - Unlock the Power of AI-Driven Data Discovery
 
Cloud Frontiers: A Deep Dive into Serverless Spatial Data and FME
Cloud Frontiers:  A Deep Dive into Serverless Spatial Data and FMECloud Frontiers:  A Deep Dive into Serverless Spatial Data and FME
Cloud Frontiers: A Deep Dive into Serverless Spatial Data and FME
 
Exploring Multimodal Embeddings with Milvus
Exploring Multimodal Embeddings with MilvusExploring Multimodal Embeddings with Milvus
Exploring Multimodal Embeddings with Milvus
 
Polkadot JAM Slides - Token2049 - By Dr. Gavin Wood
Polkadot JAM Slides - Token2049 - By Dr. Gavin WoodPolkadot JAM Slides - Token2049 - By Dr. Gavin Wood
Polkadot JAM Slides - Token2049 - By Dr. Gavin Wood
 
+971581248768>> SAFE AND ORIGINAL ABORTION PILLS FOR SALE IN DUBAI AND ABUDHA...
+971581248768>> SAFE AND ORIGINAL ABORTION PILLS FOR SALE IN DUBAI AND ABUDHA...+971581248768>> SAFE AND ORIGINAL ABORTION PILLS FOR SALE IN DUBAI AND ABUDHA...
+971581248768>> SAFE AND ORIGINAL ABORTION PILLS FOR SALE IN DUBAI AND ABUDHA...
 
Connector Corner: Accelerate revenue generation using UiPath API-centric busi...
Connector Corner: Accelerate revenue generation using UiPath API-centric busi...Connector Corner: Accelerate revenue generation using UiPath API-centric busi...
Connector Corner: Accelerate revenue generation using UiPath API-centric busi...
 
Cloud Frontiers: A Deep Dive into Serverless Spatial Data and FME
Cloud Frontiers:  A Deep Dive into Serverless Spatial Data and FMECloud Frontiers:  A Deep Dive into Serverless Spatial Data and FME
Cloud Frontiers: A Deep Dive into Serverless Spatial Data and FME
 
Exploring the Future Potential of AI-Enabled Smartphone Processors
Exploring the Future Potential of AI-Enabled Smartphone ProcessorsExploring the Future Potential of AI-Enabled Smartphone Processors
Exploring the Future Potential of AI-Enabled Smartphone Processors
 
AWS Community Day CPH - Three problems of Terraform
AWS Community Day CPH - Three problems of TerraformAWS Community Day CPH - Three problems of Terraform
AWS Community Day CPH - Three problems of Terraform
 
Web Form Automation for Bonterra Impact Management (fka Social Solutions Apri...
Web Form Automation for Bonterra Impact Management (fka Social Solutions Apri...Web Form Automation for Bonterra Impact Management (fka Social Solutions Apri...
Web Form Automation for Bonterra Impact Management (fka Social Solutions Apri...
 
Repurposing LNG terminals for Hydrogen Ammonia: Feasibility and Cost Saving
Repurposing LNG terminals for Hydrogen Ammonia: Feasibility and Cost SavingRepurposing LNG terminals for Hydrogen Ammonia: Feasibility and Cost Saving
Repurposing LNG terminals for Hydrogen Ammonia: Feasibility and Cost Saving
 
Finding Java's Hidden Performance Traps @ DevoxxUK 2024
Finding Java's Hidden Performance Traps @ DevoxxUK 2024Finding Java's Hidden Performance Traps @ DevoxxUK 2024
Finding Java's Hidden Performance Traps @ DevoxxUK 2024
 
CNIC Information System with Pakdata Cf In Pakistan
CNIC Information System with Pakdata Cf In PakistanCNIC Information System with Pakdata Cf In Pakistan
CNIC Information System with Pakdata Cf In Pakistan
 
Architecting Cloud Native Applications
Architecting Cloud Native ApplicationsArchitecting Cloud Native Applications
Architecting Cloud Native Applications
 
Manulife - Insurer Transformation Award 2024
Manulife - Insurer Transformation Award 2024Manulife - Insurer Transformation Award 2024
Manulife - Insurer Transformation Award 2024
 
[BuildWithAI] Introduction to Gemini.pdf
[BuildWithAI] Introduction to Gemini.pdf[BuildWithAI] Introduction to Gemini.pdf
[BuildWithAI] Introduction to Gemini.pdf
 
Modular Monolith - a Practical Alternative to Microservices @ Devoxx UK 2024
Modular Monolith - a Practical Alternative to Microservices @ Devoxx UK 2024Modular Monolith - a Practical Alternative to Microservices @ Devoxx UK 2024
Modular Monolith - a Practical Alternative to Microservices @ Devoxx UK 2024
 

Inner Workings of Virtual Goods Economies

  • 1. Margaret Wallace, CEO margaret@playmatics.com Twitter: @MargaretWallace
  • 4. Successful Use of Virtual Goods Touch on Core Experiences Decorative Items Consumables Social Accelerators
  • 5. Know What Motivates Your Audience Values & Belief Systems Are they loyal to any brands? How much disposable income do they have? What motivates them to come to your game? Socializing? Being Creative? Zoning Out? Killing Time? Competition?
  • 6. Type of Free-to-Play Game  Users Virtual Goods
  • 7. Gear Weapons Functional Items Clothing Earth Eternal
  • 8. 50% Functional 50% Decorative Puzzle Pirates
  • 9. Virtual Goods Make Up 85% Of Habbo Revenue -- $70M in 2008 Social, Decorative Items Consumables Habbo Hotel
  • 10. 60% -- 90% of revenues selling virtual goods ranging from digital farm buildings to poker chips. Predominantly Items that Allow You to Tend to Farm Farmville
  • 11. Enhance Game Play Access New Levels Customize characters
  • 13. Integrating Virtual Goods Into Free-to-Play Game Experiences
  • 16. Decorative Playfish sells around 20M items in Restaurant City every day - in either money- or time-based currencies. Source: “Building Social Games at Scale” Panel, Social Gaming Summit, June 23, 2009
  • 17. Gifting Playfish titles are typically released with just 20% of their final features developed and implemented. The rest is introduced over time in response to the demands of the community and success of the title. Source: “Building Social Games at Scale” Panel, Social Gaming Summit, June 23, 2009
  • 18. Collectibles & Rare Items Limited number, niche appeal, unique appeal.
  • 23. Metrics Must have metrics in place!
  • 24. Metrics & Reporting Sample metrics needed to track and have at your finger-tips anytime:
  • 25. Measuring Active Users What percentage are returning players who do something significant in your game? For MMOs = Once every 30 days For Social Games = Measured Daily
  • 26. Average Revenue Per User (ARPU) Measuring Average Revenue Per User Allows You to Gauge the Success of Your Service. Total Monthly Revenue / Active Users = ARPU € 2 Million / 150,000 = € 13 ARPU € 2,000 / 150 = € 13 ARPU Gaming the System!
  • 27. Lifetime Value of User How Much a User is Valued Over Time ARPU x #/Months on Site = Lifetime Value € 13 x 6 months = € 78 Facebook game churn is around 8 weeks.
  • 28. Average Revenue Per Paying User (ARPPU) How Much Paying Users Spend Monthly Revenue / Paying Users = ARPPU € 2 Million / 20,000 = € 100 ARPPU NOTE: Factor in Cost Per Acquisition, which can cost up to .70 to 1.50 Euros Per User
  • 29. What Does This Mean? Social Games ARPU = .30 – 3 Euros ARPU for MMOs sometimes reported as higher, but they may have far fewer players.
  • 31. Common Mistakes Retrofitting virtual goods into an already-existing design – and making stupid design decisions to compensate for that. Not preparing your community for changes. Not responding to community. Not having a content plan once first set of goods released.
  • 32. Common Mistakes Having a set price for purchasing virtual currency, independent of the payment method. Not designing enough “sinks” in the economy – i.e., selling back items @ 50%, having enough consumables. Having bad metrics in place.
  • 33. Questions? Contact: Margaret Wallace, CEO margaret@playmatics.com Twitter: @MargaretWallace