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STV Product Knowledge Sessions
A Guide to Digital Advertising
Version 1: Last updated: 01 September 2014
TABLE OF CONTENTS
• The Digital Process
• Insertion Order Form Guide
• Digital Offerings Overview
• Understanding VoD
• Successful Campaign Planning
• Campaign Targeting
• Platform/Product Overview
• Share of Voice Calculator
• STV Digital Pricing Model
• Digital Jargon Buster
• Portfolio Splits
Section 1: The Digital Process
Every Digital booking travels through the workflow below in order to appear across the STV sites.
It is important Ad Ops/Sales and Finance follow the process and liaise closely throughout to ensure the best possible digitalexperience
for the client 
1. Account Manager checks Inventory with ad ops team
2. Account Manager completes relevant Sales Order Form (Deals details tab)
Always use the Master ‘Sales Order Form’ to ensure formula is correctly updated forFinance
3. Account Manager PDFs Digital Insertion Order tab and sends to client for ‘I CONFIRM’ sign off.
4. Account Manager receives Confirmation e-mail from client and forwards to adops@stv.tv
! Sales Order Form and PDF of Digital Insertion Order are required at this stage
5. Account Manager should liaise with Creative Team/Client for creative copy, and send approved digital files to adops@stv.tv for
upload.
! If VoD activity the Account Manager must send :
• Clock Number for direct copy
• Video File / 3rd party tag
• Destination URL / required tracking tags
See Section 4 ‘Understanding VoD’ for more info on Assets required
----------------------------------
6. AdOps saves both documents in Account Management Folder>Agency>Client>Year>Month; and renames each Invoicing tab
according to the monthly splits and applies revenue to Sales sheet
7. AdOps Process the booking – LIVE!
8. At the beginning of each new month Ad Ops visits each line insert (from Database) and keys the number of actual impressions
delivered across each ad unit.
Section 2: Insertion Order Form Guide
It’s vital to ensure all Insertion Order Forms are completed correct....
Questions:
• Do you currently overwrite previously completed forms?
• Do you know the correct way to complete a Takeover/Wallpaper line insert?
• Did you know that everything in Orange MUST be completed before being sent to adops@stv.tv?
Each of the above can cause delays to campaign start dates, incorrect scheduling and invoicing issues, and so it
is important sales/adops and finance all work towards the same goal of completing...
THE PERFECT I.O !
And so here is how we do it....
HINTS & TIPS
• ORANGE = GO!
• GREEN = NO!
• USE DROP DOWN MENUS WHERE AVAILABLE
• NOTES SECTION SHOULD BE USED FOR TARGETING INSTRUCTIONS
• CPM & IMPRESSIONS MUST ALWAYS BE KEYED OTHERWISE NO PRICE WILL BE CALCULATED FOR BOOKING
• CPM for WALLPAPER/TAKEOVER = FLAT RATE FEE
• IMPRESSIONS for WALLPAPER/TAKEOVER = 1000
• ALWAYS REVIEW! – CHECK DETAILS PRIOR TO SENDING TO CLIENT FOR SIGN OFF
Section 3: Digital Offerings Overview
Online Display Advertising
As our range of online advertising platforms and websites grow, the number of advertising units across Display will also grow....
For STV Display advertising currently takes 5 forms:
Leaderboard
The Leaderboard measures 728x90 pixels and runs at the top of every page across STV sites (excluding Main HP and Player HP)
MPU
A Media Player Unit measures 300x250 pixels and runs in the middle of all pages across STV sites (excluding Main HP)
HPU
A Half Page Unit measures 300x600 pixels and is positioned within the content of article pages only across STV sites
Billboard
The Billboard measures 970x250 pixels and runs at the top of every page across STV sites (excluding
Player/Competitions/Weather/Shows)
Note: Main Homepage Billboard size for Takeover is 970x180 pixels
Wallpaper
Wallpaper measures 1920x1000 pixels and runs on the side panels of every page across the STV site (excluding
Player/Competitions/Weather as each reserved for Sponsorship)
Mobile Advertising
With the rise of mobile advertising, it is important we stay at the forefront of new technologies across mobile advertising.
Mobile CTR is continually higher than that of standard display, and features such as ‘click to call’ function can allow advertisers direct
contact with their target audience
Mobile Banner
The traditional Mobile Banner measures 320x50 pixels and runs along the bottom of all mobile app pages, and both top and bottom of
all mobile web pages.
For STV, mobile advertising in available across:
STV News App:
• Serving similar content to desktop version across:
Ents/Shows/News/Sport/Weather
• Serving 1 ad unit:
Mobile Banner 320x50
• And can be accessed via:
STV News App for Smartphone devices – via Apple store
STV News App for Android devices – via Google Play store
Mobile Web – the device will recognise you are not in the app environment and redirect to mobile web version m.stv.tv
City Apps:
• Serving 4 Areas :
Glasgow/Edinburgh/Aberdeen/Dundee
• Serving 2 ad units:
Mobile Banner 320x50
Mobile Interstitial (Full Page Ad) 2 sizes for landscape and 2 for portrait required
• And can be accessed via:
City App for Smartphone devices – via Apple store
City App for Android devices – via Google Play store
VoD Advertising
Pre/Mid/Post roll
Video on Demand campaigns run before, during and after all video content across STV sites and STV Player across all platform
(See Section 4 ‘Understanding VoD’)
Ad Operations and Web Development work together to integrate new products/platforms in order to increase audience reach and
therefore increase overall inventory available to sell
(See Section 7 for further information on Product/Platform Overview)
All advertising specifications and CPM rates can be found on the STV Commercial Website.
Clients should be encouraged to visit the site for Case Studies, Innovations and Contact information in relation to Digital advertising.
http://stvcommercial.tv/advertising_specifications
Section 4: Understanding VoD
Video on Demand (VoD) which includes the ‘Catch Up TV’ service, STV Player, is one of the fastest growing areas of online advertising.
It differs from Broadcast due to the fact we do not schedule by time (Spots) and instead we schedule by Ad Unit (Slots)
Please note:
• We cannot serve the same advertiser more than once in the same break allocation
• This means the max booking per advertiser is 400,000 impressions
We have 3 ad units available – pre/mid/post – to run before/during/after the content, and we can flex what is known as ‘ad policy’ to
increase how many pre/mid/post rolls are served per programme.
For example – some publishers may consider increasing mid roll policy to allow more ads to be delivered, as the viewer has already
invested time in viewing programme content.
The table below shows the current ad policy and user experience across desktop version of the STV player, which we can demonstrate
in a live environment just now.
Orange = Content
Pre Mid Post
Pause Adverts – a new ad format allowing adverts to be scheduled across the STV player, and shown to a user upon ‘Pausing’ content.
It has proven successful with many advertisers, as it requires user interaction to close the ad, and resume content., generating brand
awareness.
VoD Plus - emerging ad format, used to drive engagement and traffic to advertisers social media properties and encourage extended
interaction with brand content. VoD+ also provides the tools to allow the video campaign to be measured by the advertiser in more
detail. This is due to the type of ad presented to the user having specific elements included, created by a 3rd party.
STV currently work with Innovid and Brainient to deliver this type of ad format, with support from STV Creative.
VoD – A Creative Copy guide for Advertisers/Agencies
There are 3 routes a client can take when sending copy to adops:
1: Direct Copy plus standard url
Adops control the copy rotation
! If the advertiser wishes to run multiple video files then a copy rotation instruction is required from the advertiser
Adops will record activity and so if the advertiser requires visibility of activity they should request throughout the booking and adops will run a
report.
2. Direct copy plus impression tracking and click tracking tags
Adops control the copy rotation
! If the advertiser wishes to run multiple video files then a copy rotation instruction is required from the advertiser
Adops and the client record activity and STV will bill based on the 3rd party figures, allowing a 10% deficit as being acceptable discrepancy.
3. 3rd party tags
The advertiser will have full control of copy, via the 3rd party tag
Activity will be recorded via the 3rd party tag and so the advertiser will have visibility of activity at all times.
Adops will also record activity however STV will bill based on 3rd party figures
The preferred option for inventory purposes will always be Direct Copy (Option 1 or 2)
This is more time consuming for ad ops in terms of managing copy rotations, however it will allow us to manage inventory more effectively and
means we can take more direct bookings, increasing overall revenue achieved in month.
A client can still track activity providing they use Option 2 by supplying tracking tags, and so this is the best option for both STV and the Client.
Any questions please email adops@stv.tv
Section 5: Successful Campaign Planning
Whether new business or repeat business, small booking or large – all campaigns should be planned with the same goal in mind:
Best possible chance of online success, whilst reaching desired target audience
There are many ways of doing this based on the array of digital options available (See Section 3) combined with new ad serving
technologies/practices to make it all happen!
THREE is KEY!
1: Target Audience:
Did you know advertisers can:
• Target by Day of the Week/Hour of Day - to hit the target audience & potentially increase CTR
• Target by device/exclude device if required
• Separate copy and URL at device level - crucial for mobile app bookings
• Run competitive targeting - avoids same industry sector ads appearing on the same page
• Set a Freq Cap – avoids the ad from appearing to the same user too many times
2: Optimisation:
It is best to open up the targeting as much as possible for the initial phase of the booking. This then allows ad ops to run ‘mid campaign’
analysis where we can review any targeting options, and advise best action to encourage a higher CTR. This is the measured success of a
digital booking in terms of click through versus impressions.
3: Ad Format:
Which ad unit would work best for the type of campaign.
For example:
• Brand Awareness – Homepage Wallpaper & Takeover, with added Display
• Generate clicks to website – VoD delivers higher CTRs in comparison to Display
(click exclusions apply across certain Platforms, for example YouView)
• Call to Action – Mobile advertising allows a ‘click to call’ function for advertisers
Section 6. Campaign Targeting – Successful Management of your Online Booking
Digital bookings offer a variety of targeting options. It’s important to understand the options in order to build the best possible
campaign for your client. However always remember, the stricter the targeting, the less inventory available.
Consider 2 main areas:
Demographic:
This level of targeting is standard across most publishers and allows advertisers to refine audience by age, gender, ethnicity,
household income and education.
For STV, this is applicable to VoD only where we can target the campaign to specific programming based on Consumer Insights Data of
Demographic with a high audience share.
Geography:
Online campaigns have the ability to serve messages to a refined geography. Options include targeting ‘UK only’ and ‘Scotland Wide’
as well as ‘Overseas’
This type of targeting relies on accurate IP address allocation via Service Providers and so is not always recommended – however it is
important to some advertisers in order to reduce waste and increase efficiency.
For STV we can target News Areas of the site with the aim of reaching the advertisers desired audience.
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
It is recommended to keep targeting options as open as possible for the initial stage of the booking, and if requested, ad ops can run
a mid campaign analysis to show performance across several areas including, but not limited to:
Page Delivery Information
Creative Delivery Information
Day of Week/Hour of Day
This will allow optimisation across higher CTR areas and also offers a bespoke service to advertisers for the duration of the booking.
We can also:
Run competitive targeting - avoids same industry sector ads appearing on the same page
Set a Freq Cap – avoids the ad from appearing to many times to the same user
Please ask ad ops if you wish to discuss the best type of targeting options for your client 
SEE TARGETING TERM SHEET IN HANDOUT
Section 7: Platform/Product Overview
STV aim to be at the forefront of digital innovation, ensuring we make all of services available to a wider audience and therefore
increasing overall reach:
FACT: stv.tv - 3.7million browsers in June 2014 – best to date!
FACT: STV player - 1.3million streams in June 2014 – best to date!
FACT: City Apps – downloaded over 100,000 times since launch in October 2013 – landmark!
FACT: More users watched the STV Player on a Tablet than a Desktop PC in January 2014!
FACT: STV Player app has now reached 1m downloads!
The launch of new platforms and products, managed by the Web Development Team and supported by Ad Ops, has contributed to
the above success across STV digital services.
STV are now live across 8 platforms, plus our new live streaming service Simulcast.
1. Desktop
2. Mobile Web
3. iOS
4. Android
5. Kindle Fire
6. YouView
7. Windows8
8. Samsung
NEW! Simulcast
Advertisers like to know they can reach a wider audience, and so if they know STV are committed to keeping across technical
innovations to help them achieve this – they will be more likely to choose us over a competitor.
Section 9: Share of Voice Calculator
Share of Voice is a term used to define the percentage of impressions against that of the overall inventory
available.
For example, if there are 4 advertisers on a website, equally sharing all of the available impressions, each will
receive 25% Share of Voice.
It becomes slightly more complicated in an online sales environment like STV, where different impression values
are booked per advertiser, rather than a traditional tenancy approach where all advertisers will simply share the
pot of impressions over a specified date range.
We have created a Share of Voice Calculator to use as a guide for campaign planning.
Simply key the number of impressions, target area and days live to generate SOV%
The file can be accessed via the Online Advertising folder:
X:GlasgowBroadcastingOnline AdvertisingShare of Voice2014
Section 10: STV Digital Pricing Model
STV use a CPM Pricing Model. This means the cost to advertisers is based on a cost per thousand impressions
booked, with the relative CPM to chosen ad unit.
Formula:
Booked Impressions / 1000 x CPM
For example:
100,000 leaderboard impressions / 1000 x 8.00 = £800
Rate Card information can be found in the Online Advertising folder:
X:GlasgowBroadcastingOnline AdvertisingRate Cards
And you can also make use of the Campaign Cost Calculator tool on the STV Commercial website - great for quick
calculations!
http://stvcommercial.tv/display_advertising
Section 11: Digital Jargon Buster
Ad Creative
The design and content of an advert.
Ad Inventory
The total number of ad impressions that a web site can sell over time (usually specified per month).
Ad Rotation
When advertisements are changed on a website for different user sessions. This may be in response to ad targeting or simply
displaying different advertisements from those on a list.
Ad Serving
Delivery of online adverts to an end user’s computer by an ad management system.
The system allows different online adverts to be served in order to target different audience groups and can serve adverts across
multiple sites. Ad Technology providers each have their own proprietary models for this.
Ad Tracking
The method for recording campaign delivery metrics between adservers. Third party adserving tags or 1x1 tracking pixels are
commonly used to facilitate the capturing of such data.
Ad Unit
Any defined advertising vehicle that can appear in an ad space inside of a website.
Behavioural Retargeting
Online ads are displayed elsewhere on a site or other sites in an ad network after a customer has interacted with the initial ad
related content.
Click-through
When a user interacts with an advertisement and clicks through to the advertiser’s website.
Click-through rate (CTR)
Frequency of click-throughs as a percentage of impressions served. Used as a measure of advertising effectiveness.
Click-through rate (%) = Clicks/ Impressions x 100
Expandable MPU
Fixed online advertising placements that expand over the page in the response to user action eg: mouseover. See also Rich Media.
Flash
Web design software that creates animation and interactive elements which are quick to download.
Frequency cap
Restriction on the amount of times a specific visitor is shown a particular advertisement.
Impressions
The metric used to measure views of a webpage and its elements- including the advertising embedded within it. Ad impressions is
the basis on which most online advertising is sold and the cost is quoted in terms of the cost per thousand impressions (CPM).
Interruptive formats
Online advertising formats that appear on users' screens on top of web content (and sometimes before web page appears) and
range from static, one-page splash screens to full-motion animated advertisements.
IAB
Internet Advertising Bureau is the trade association for online and mobile advertising
Landing page
The page or view to which a user is directed when they click on an active link embedded in a banner, web page, email or other view.
Media Player Unit (MPU)
A square online advert usually found embedded in a web page in a fixed placement. Sometimes referred to as ‘multiple purpose’ as
it is a flexible shaped blank ‘canvas’ in which you can serve flat or more interactive content as desired.
Pre/Mid/Post Roll
The name given to ad units served before/during and after online content.
Publisher
Also referred to as an Affiliate, Associate, Partner, Reseller or Content Site.
An independent party, or website, that promotes the products or services of an advertiser in exchange for a commission.
Real time
Information delivered with no delay in the processing of requests, other than the time necessary for the data to travel over the
Internet.
Rich media
The collective name for online advertising formats that use advanced technology to harnesses broadband to build brands. Rich
media uses interactive and audio-visual elements to give richer content and a richer experience for the user when interacting with
the advert.
Run of site (ROS)
An ad buying option in which ad placements may appear on any pages of the target site.
Sponsorship
Advertiser sponsorships of targeted content areas (e.g. entire website, site area or an event) for promotional purposes.
Uniform resource locator (URL)
Technical term that is used to refer to the web address of a particular website.
For example http://www.stv.tv/
Video On Demand (VOD)
Allows users to watch what they want, when they want. This can be either ‘pay per view’ or a free service usually funded by
advertising
Section 12: Portfolio Splits
Each Account Manager has been allocated their very own ‘buddy’ who handles all aspects of their digital bookings across Display/Mobile
and VoD.
This is an effective way to ensure Ad Ops can build strong working relations with Account Managers/Clients and Agencies.
Due to workload and changing priorities, we will modify as and when required, however Account Managers will always be informed and a
full handover provided to your new buddy.
(See handout for Portfolio splits)

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Power Point Presentation

  • 1. STV Product Knowledge Sessions A Guide to Digital Advertising Version 1: Last updated: 01 September 2014
  • 2. TABLE OF CONTENTS • The Digital Process • Insertion Order Form Guide • Digital Offerings Overview • Understanding VoD • Successful Campaign Planning • Campaign Targeting • Platform/Product Overview • Share of Voice Calculator • STV Digital Pricing Model • Digital Jargon Buster • Portfolio Splits
  • 3. Section 1: The Digital Process Every Digital booking travels through the workflow below in order to appear across the STV sites. It is important Ad Ops/Sales and Finance follow the process and liaise closely throughout to ensure the best possible digitalexperience for the client  1. Account Manager checks Inventory with ad ops team 2. Account Manager completes relevant Sales Order Form (Deals details tab) Always use the Master ‘Sales Order Form’ to ensure formula is correctly updated forFinance 3. Account Manager PDFs Digital Insertion Order tab and sends to client for ‘I CONFIRM’ sign off. 4. Account Manager receives Confirmation e-mail from client and forwards to adops@stv.tv ! Sales Order Form and PDF of Digital Insertion Order are required at this stage 5. Account Manager should liaise with Creative Team/Client for creative copy, and send approved digital files to adops@stv.tv for upload. ! If VoD activity the Account Manager must send : • Clock Number for direct copy • Video File / 3rd party tag • Destination URL / required tracking tags See Section 4 ‘Understanding VoD’ for more info on Assets required ---------------------------------- 6. AdOps saves both documents in Account Management Folder>Agency>Client>Year>Month; and renames each Invoicing tab according to the monthly splits and applies revenue to Sales sheet 7. AdOps Process the booking – LIVE! 8. At the beginning of each new month Ad Ops visits each line insert (from Database) and keys the number of actual impressions delivered across each ad unit.
  • 4. Section 2: Insertion Order Form Guide It’s vital to ensure all Insertion Order Forms are completed correct.... Questions: • Do you currently overwrite previously completed forms? • Do you know the correct way to complete a Takeover/Wallpaper line insert? • Did you know that everything in Orange MUST be completed before being sent to adops@stv.tv? Each of the above can cause delays to campaign start dates, incorrect scheduling and invoicing issues, and so it is important sales/adops and finance all work towards the same goal of completing... THE PERFECT I.O ! And so here is how we do it.... HINTS & TIPS • ORANGE = GO! • GREEN = NO! • USE DROP DOWN MENUS WHERE AVAILABLE • NOTES SECTION SHOULD BE USED FOR TARGETING INSTRUCTIONS • CPM & IMPRESSIONS MUST ALWAYS BE KEYED OTHERWISE NO PRICE WILL BE CALCULATED FOR BOOKING • CPM for WALLPAPER/TAKEOVER = FLAT RATE FEE • IMPRESSIONS for WALLPAPER/TAKEOVER = 1000 • ALWAYS REVIEW! – CHECK DETAILS PRIOR TO SENDING TO CLIENT FOR SIGN OFF
  • 5. Section 3: Digital Offerings Overview Online Display Advertising As our range of online advertising platforms and websites grow, the number of advertising units across Display will also grow.... For STV Display advertising currently takes 5 forms: Leaderboard The Leaderboard measures 728x90 pixels and runs at the top of every page across STV sites (excluding Main HP and Player HP) MPU A Media Player Unit measures 300x250 pixels and runs in the middle of all pages across STV sites (excluding Main HP) HPU A Half Page Unit measures 300x600 pixels and is positioned within the content of article pages only across STV sites Billboard The Billboard measures 970x250 pixels and runs at the top of every page across STV sites (excluding Player/Competitions/Weather/Shows) Note: Main Homepage Billboard size for Takeover is 970x180 pixels Wallpaper Wallpaper measures 1920x1000 pixels and runs on the side panels of every page across the STV site (excluding Player/Competitions/Weather as each reserved for Sponsorship)
  • 6. Mobile Advertising With the rise of mobile advertising, it is important we stay at the forefront of new technologies across mobile advertising. Mobile CTR is continually higher than that of standard display, and features such as ‘click to call’ function can allow advertisers direct contact with their target audience Mobile Banner The traditional Mobile Banner measures 320x50 pixels and runs along the bottom of all mobile app pages, and both top and bottom of all mobile web pages. For STV, mobile advertising in available across: STV News App: • Serving similar content to desktop version across: Ents/Shows/News/Sport/Weather • Serving 1 ad unit: Mobile Banner 320x50 • And can be accessed via: STV News App for Smartphone devices – via Apple store STV News App for Android devices – via Google Play store Mobile Web – the device will recognise you are not in the app environment and redirect to mobile web version m.stv.tv City Apps: • Serving 4 Areas : Glasgow/Edinburgh/Aberdeen/Dundee • Serving 2 ad units: Mobile Banner 320x50 Mobile Interstitial (Full Page Ad) 2 sizes for landscape and 2 for portrait required • And can be accessed via: City App for Smartphone devices – via Apple store City App for Android devices – via Google Play store
  • 7. VoD Advertising Pre/Mid/Post roll Video on Demand campaigns run before, during and after all video content across STV sites and STV Player across all platform (See Section 4 ‘Understanding VoD’) Ad Operations and Web Development work together to integrate new products/platforms in order to increase audience reach and therefore increase overall inventory available to sell (See Section 7 for further information on Product/Platform Overview) All advertising specifications and CPM rates can be found on the STV Commercial Website. Clients should be encouraged to visit the site for Case Studies, Innovations and Contact information in relation to Digital advertising. http://stvcommercial.tv/advertising_specifications
  • 8. Section 4: Understanding VoD Video on Demand (VoD) which includes the ‘Catch Up TV’ service, STV Player, is one of the fastest growing areas of online advertising. It differs from Broadcast due to the fact we do not schedule by time (Spots) and instead we schedule by Ad Unit (Slots) Please note: • We cannot serve the same advertiser more than once in the same break allocation • This means the max booking per advertiser is 400,000 impressions We have 3 ad units available – pre/mid/post – to run before/during/after the content, and we can flex what is known as ‘ad policy’ to increase how many pre/mid/post rolls are served per programme. For example – some publishers may consider increasing mid roll policy to allow more ads to be delivered, as the viewer has already invested time in viewing programme content. The table below shows the current ad policy and user experience across desktop version of the STV player, which we can demonstrate in a live environment just now. Orange = Content Pre Mid Post Pause Adverts – a new ad format allowing adverts to be scheduled across the STV player, and shown to a user upon ‘Pausing’ content. It has proven successful with many advertisers, as it requires user interaction to close the ad, and resume content., generating brand awareness. VoD Plus - emerging ad format, used to drive engagement and traffic to advertisers social media properties and encourage extended interaction with brand content. VoD+ also provides the tools to allow the video campaign to be measured by the advertiser in more detail. This is due to the type of ad presented to the user having specific elements included, created by a 3rd party. STV currently work with Innovid and Brainient to deliver this type of ad format, with support from STV Creative.
  • 9. VoD – A Creative Copy guide for Advertisers/Agencies There are 3 routes a client can take when sending copy to adops: 1: Direct Copy plus standard url Adops control the copy rotation ! If the advertiser wishes to run multiple video files then a copy rotation instruction is required from the advertiser Adops will record activity and so if the advertiser requires visibility of activity they should request throughout the booking and adops will run a report. 2. Direct copy plus impression tracking and click tracking tags Adops control the copy rotation ! If the advertiser wishes to run multiple video files then a copy rotation instruction is required from the advertiser Adops and the client record activity and STV will bill based on the 3rd party figures, allowing a 10% deficit as being acceptable discrepancy. 3. 3rd party tags The advertiser will have full control of copy, via the 3rd party tag Activity will be recorded via the 3rd party tag and so the advertiser will have visibility of activity at all times. Adops will also record activity however STV will bill based on 3rd party figures The preferred option for inventory purposes will always be Direct Copy (Option 1 or 2) This is more time consuming for ad ops in terms of managing copy rotations, however it will allow us to manage inventory more effectively and means we can take more direct bookings, increasing overall revenue achieved in month. A client can still track activity providing they use Option 2 by supplying tracking tags, and so this is the best option for both STV and the Client. Any questions please email adops@stv.tv
  • 10. Section 5: Successful Campaign Planning Whether new business or repeat business, small booking or large – all campaigns should be planned with the same goal in mind: Best possible chance of online success, whilst reaching desired target audience There are many ways of doing this based on the array of digital options available (See Section 3) combined with new ad serving technologies/practices to make it all happen! THREE is KEY! 1: Target Audience: Did you know advertisers can: • Target by Day of the Week/Hour of Day - to hit the target audience & potentially increase CTR • Target by device/exclude device if required • Separate copy and URL at device level - crucial for mobile app bookings • Run competitive targeting - avoids same industry sector ads appearing on the same page • Set a Freq Cap – avoids the ad from appearing to the same user too many times 2: Optimisation: It is best to open up the targeting as much as possible for the initial phase of the booking. This then allows ad ops to run ‘mid campaign’ analysis where we can review any targeting options, and advise best action to encourage a higher CTR. This is the measured success of a digital booking in terms of click through versus impressions. 3: Ad Format: Which ad unit would work best for the type of campaign. For example: • Brand Awareness – Homepage Wallpaper & Takeover, with added Display • Generate clicks to website – VoD delivers higher CTRs in comparison to Display (click exclusions apply across certain Platforms, for example YouView) • Call to Action – Mobile advertising allows a ‘click to call’ function for advertisers
  • 11. Section 6. Campaign Targeting – Successful Management of your Online Booking Digital bookings offer a variety of targeting options. It’s important to understand the options in order to build the best possible campaign for your client. However always remember, the stricter the targeting, the less inventory available. Consider 2 main areas: Demographic: This level of targeting is standard across most publishers and allows advertisers to refine audience by age, gender, ethnicity, household income and education. For STV, this is applicable to VoD only where we can target the campaign to specific programming based on Consumer Insights Data of Demographic with a high audience share. Geography: Online campaigns have the ability to serve messages to a refined geography. Options include targeting ‘UK only’ and ‘Scotland Wide’ as well as ‘Overseas’ This type of targeting relies on accurate IP address allocation via Service Providers and so is not always recommended – however it is important to some advertisers in order to reduce waste and increase efficiency. For STV we can target News Areas of the site with the aim of reaching the advertisers desired audience. --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- It is recommended to keep targeting options as open as possible for the initial stage of the booking, and if requested, ad ops can run a mid campaign analysis to show performance across several areas including, but not limited to: Page Delivery Information Creative Delivery Information Day of Week/Hour of Day This will allow optimisation across higher CTR areas and also offers a bespoke service to advertisers for the duration of the booking.
  • 12. We can also: Run competitive targeting - avoids same industry sector ads appearing on the same page Set a Freq Cap – avoids the ad from appearing to many times to the same user Please ask ad ops if you wish to discuss the best type of targeting options for your client  SEE TARGETING TERM SHEET IN HANDOUT
  • 13. Section 7: Platform/Product Overview STV aim to be at the forefront of digital innovation, ensuring we make all of services available to a wider audience and therefore increasing overall reach: FACT: stv.tv - 3.7million browsers in June 2014 – best to date! FACT: STV player - 1.3million streams in June 2014 – best to date! FACT: City Apps – downloaded over 100,000 times since launch in October 2013 – landmark! FACT: More users watched the STV Player on a Tablet than a Desktop PC in January 2014! FACT: STV Player app has now reached 1m downloads! The launch of new platforms and products, managed by the Web Development Team and supported by Ad Ops, has contributed to the above success across STV digital services. STV are now live across 8 platforms, plus our new live streaming service Simulcast. 1. Desktop 2. Mobile Web 3. iOS 4. Android 5. Kindle Fire 6. YouView 7. Windows8 8. Samsung NEW! Simulcast Advertisers like to know they can reach a wider audience, and so if they know STV are committed to keeping across technical innovations to help them achieve this – they will be more likely to choose us over a competitor.
  • 14. Section 9: Share of Voice Calculator Share of Voice is a term used to define the percentage of impressions against that of the overall inventory available. For example, if there are 4 advertisers on a website, equally sharing all of the available impressions, each will receive 25% Share of Voice. It becomes slightly more complicated in an online sales environment like STV, where different impression values are booked per advertiser, rather than a traditional tenancy approach where all advertisers will simply share the pot of impressions over a specified date range. We have created a Share of Voice Calculator to use as a guide for campaign planning. Simply key the number of impressions, target area and days live to generate SOV% The file can be accessed via the Online Advertising folder: X:GlasgowBroadcastingOnline AdvertisingShare of Voice2014
  • 15. Section 10: STV Digital Pricing Model STV use a CPM Pricing Model. This means the cost to advertisers is based on a cost per thousand impressions booked, with the relative CPM to chosen ad unit. Formula: Booked Impressions / 1000 x CPM For example: 100,000 leaderboard impressions / 1000 x 8.00 = £800 Rate Card information can be found in the Online Advertising folder: X:GlasgowBroadcastingOnline AdvertisingRate Cards And you can also make use of the Campaign Cost Calculator tool on the STV Commercial website - great for quick calculations! http://stvcommercial.tv/display_advertising
  • 16. Section 11: Digital Jargon Buster Ad Creative The design and content of an advert. Ad Inventory The total number of ad impressions that a web site can sell over time (usually specified per month). Ad Rotation When advertisements are changed on a website for different user sessions. This may be in response to ad targeting or simply displaying different advertisements from those on a list. Ad Serving Delivery of online adverts to an end user’s computer by an ad management system. The system allows different online adverts to be served in order to target different audience groups and can serve adverts across multiple sites. Ad Technology providers each have their own proprietary models for this. Ad Tracking The method for recording campaign delivery metrics between adservers. Third party adserving tags or 1x1 tracking pixels are commonly used to facilitate the capturing of such data. Ad Unit Any defined advertising vehicle that can appear in an ad space inside of a website. Behavioural Retargeting Online ads are displayed elsewhere on a site or other sites in an ad network after a customer has interacted with the initial ad related content. Click-through When a user interacts with an advertisement and clicks through to the advertiser’s website. Click-through rate (CTR) Frequency of click-throughs as a percentage of impressions served. Used as a measure of advertising effectiveness. Click-through rate (%) = Clicks/ Impressions x 100
  • 17. Expandable MPU Fixed online advertising placements that expand over the page in the response to user action eg: mouseover. See also Rich Media. Flash Web design software that creates animation and interactive elements which are quick to download. Frequency cap Restriction on the amount of times a specific visitor is shown a particular advertisement. Impressions The metric used to measure views of a webpage and its elements- including the advertising embedded within it. Ad impressions is the basis on which most online advertising is sold and the cost is quoted in terms of the cost per thousand impressions (CPM). Interruptive formats Online advertising formats that appear on users' screens on top of web content (and sometimes before web page appears) and range from static, one-page splash screens to full-motion animated advertisements. IAB Internet Advertising Bureau is the trade association for online and mobile advertising Landing page The page or view to which a user is directed when they click on an active link embedded in a banner, web page, email or other view. Media Player Unit (MPU) A square online advert usually found embedded in a web page in a fixed placement. Sometimes referred to as ‘multiple purpose’ as it is a flexible shaped blank ‘canvas’ in which you can serve flat or more interactive content as desired. Pre/Mid/Post Roll The name given to ad units served before/during and after online content. Publisher Also referred to as an Affiliate, Associate, Partner, Reseller or Content Site. An independent party, or website, that promotes the products or services of an advertiser in exchange for a commission.
  • 18. Real time Information delivered with no delay in the processing of requests, other than the time necessary for the data to travel over the Internet. Rich media The collective name for online advertising formats that use advanced technology to harnesses broadband to build brands. Rich media uses interactive and audio-visual elements to give richer content and a richer experience for the user when interacting with the advert. Run of site (ROS) An ad buying option in which ad placements may appear on any pages of the target site. Sponsorship Advertiser sponsorships of targeted content areas (e.g. entire website, site area or an event) for promotional purposes. Uniform resource locator (URL) Technical term that is used to refer to the web address of a particular website. For example http://www.stv.tv/ Video On Demand (VOD) Allows users to watch what they want, when they want. This can be either ‘pay per view’ or a free service usually funded by advertising
  • 19. Section 12: Portfolio Splits Each Account Manager has been allocated their very own ‘buddy’ who handles all aspects of their digital bookings across Display/Mobile and VoD. This is an effective way to ensure Ad Ops can build strong working relations with Account Managers/Clients and Agencies. Due to workload and changing priorities, we will modify as and when required, however Account Managers will always be informed and a full handover provided to your new buddy. (See handout for Portfolio splits)