Everything you need to know before you launch your next book, from how to optimize your Amazon page and select the right categories and keywords, to running a price promotion and advertising it through Facebook, AMS and Bookbub ads.
Self-publishing vs Traditional Publishing, and the Options in BetweenRicardo Fayet
If you've written a book and are unsure whether to self-publish it or seek a publisher, this presentation is for you! I go over the main benefits and drawbacks of self-publishing and traditional publishing. I also explain how to make the most of each route, and go over a few alternative and hybrid options.
Made by https://reedsy.com
Amazon Kindle Publishing for Fame and FortuneChinedum Azuh
Amazon Kindle Publishing for Fame and Fortune
The Fastest Way To Publish Your Books and Sell To Millions Globally
Attention Friends,
Are you weighed down by internet business because you just can’t seem to “break through” to that next height? Does it seem like fabulous income online is reserved for only a select group of marketers who know something that you do not? Well this is not the time to give up...instead:
In This Wealth Creation Manual You Will Learn:
How to Publish Your Books on Amazon Kindle in Less Than 30 Minutes
How to Shamelessly Promote Your Book
Making Money From Your Book Without Selling a Single Copy
How to Make Money from Your Books on Amazon with without Selling a Single Copy
Learn the secrets and Tricks to make the most from Your Time and to Really Make a Fantastic Living from the Internet
5 Simple Ways to Determine Your Book Title
The Kind of E-books That Will Always Sell
5 Simple Ways to Become a Bestselling Author Without Writing a Single Word
5 Simple Ways to Determine Your Book Title
And May More!
Description: Introducing Amazon Bestseller Genie — Conjure up Some Magic and Skyrocket Your Book Sales! Inside this eBook, You will discover the topics about how to quickly and easily skyrocket Your book onto the Amazon bestseller lists for maximum exposure, how to use social media to build a loyal following of buyers who will buy every book you put out, the built-in marketing methods Amazon makes available to everyone, but almost no one knows about, the real secrets to getting people to review Your book, and why reviews can make or break Your book before You even get started and so much more!
There are 35 Million Amazon Product Listings. Make Yours stand out. Amazon Top Sellers are always one step ahead with an artificial intelligence. Amazon Best Sellers don't leave listing optimization to chance and assumptions. Amazon Top Sellers Quickly and easily improve their listings for increased profits and
generate hundreds of thousands of dollars, if not millions in extra revenue. Smart sellers Amazon get ahead by adopting an optimization strategy as early as possible. Get ahead of your competition...Right here, Right Now...
Building Amazing Author Websites:The Absolute Necessities by Deborah CarneyDeborah Carney
Authors need a website in addition to a social presence as a home base to build their platform.
What are the absolute necessities to building an amazing author website that attracts readers?
Amazon or other booksellers have hundreds of thousands of books – how can you be found?
Home Base – all your social points to home
Search Engine Optimization – Give the search engines a way to find you
Talk directly to your fans and potential fans
Your website needs to represent you as if you were standing in a bookstore selling your books, doing a reading from your books or were at a book signing.
Self-publishing vs Traditional Publishing, and the Options in BetweenRicardo Fayet
If you've written a book and are unsure whether to self-publish it or seek a publisher, this presentation is for you! I go over the main benefits and drawbacks of self-publishing and traditional publishing. I also explain how to make the most of each route, and go over a few alternative and hybrid options.
Made by https://reedsy.com
Amazon Kindle Publishing for Fame and FortuneChinedum Azuh
Amazon Kindle Publishing for Fame and Fortune
The Fastest Way To Publish Your Books and Sell To Millions Globally
Attention Friends,
Are you weighed down by internet business because you just can’t seem to “break through” to that next height? Does it seem like fabulous income online is reserved for only a select group of marketers who know something that you do not? Well this is not the time to give up...instead:
In This Wealth Creation Manual You Will Learn:
How to Publish Your Books on Amazon Kindle in Less Than 30 Minutes
How to Shamelessly Promote Your Book
Making Money From Your Book Without Selling a Single Copy
How to Make Money from Your Books on Amazon with without Selling a Single Copy
Learn the secrets and Tricks to make the most from Your Time and to Really Make a Fantastic Living from the Internet
5 Simple Ways to Determine Your Book Title
The Kind of E-books That Will Always Sell
5 Simple Ways to Become a Bestselling Author Without Writing a Single Word
5 Simple Ways to Determine Your Book Title
And May More!
Description: Introducing Amazon Bestseller Genie — Conjure up Some Magic and Skyrocket Your Book Sales! Inside this eBook, You will discover the topics about how to quickly and easily skyrocket Your book onto the Amazon bestseller lists for maximum exposure, how to use social media to build a loyal following of buyers who will buy every book you put out, the built-in marketing methods Amazon makes available to everyone, but almost no one knows about, the real secrets to getting people to review Your book, and why reviews can make or break Your book before You even get started and so much more!
There are 35 Million Amazon Product Listings. Make Yours stand out. Amazon Top Sellers are always one step ahead with an artificial intelligence. Amazon Best Sellers don't leave listing optimization to chance and assumptions. Amazon Top Sellers Quickly and easily improve their listings for increased profits and
generate hundreds of thousands of dollars, if not millions in extra revenue. Smart sellers Amazon get ahead by adopting an optimization strategy as early as possible. Get ahead of your competition...Right here, Right Now...
Building Amazing Author Websites:The Absolute Necessities by Deborah CarneyDeborah Carney
Authors need a website in addition to a social presence as a home base to build their platform.
What are the absolute necessities to building an amazing author website that attracts readers?
Amazon or other booksellers have hundreds of thousands of books – how can you be found?
Home Base – all your social points to home
Search Engine Optimization – Give the search engines a way to find you
Talk directly to your fans and potential fans
Your website needs to represent you as if you were standing in a bookstore selling your books, doing a reading from your books or were at a book signing.
Book Publishing Success Strategies | Learn how to succeed on major book publi...Albert Griesmayr
Book Publishing Success Strategies | Learn how to succeed on major book publishing platforms. Featuring platforms like Wattpad, Goodreads, Smashwords, Amazon and many more.
Crafting marketing plans based on a few simple frameworks.
Examples and student feedback on outreach pitches.
Week 2 assignment: Writing a marketing plan
Internet Book Marketing for Authors -- Links and Tips, All New and Updated as...Lorilyn Roberts
Hundreds of links and tips in an easy-to-use Power Point Presentation. Over 50 pages. Please check out my website at http://Lorilynroberts.com - if you use this, I would love to add you to my email list for future updates.
This step by step guide reveals how to write a book for your target audience and how much money you can make from selling your book.
You'll also discover how to self publish your book along with all of the pros and cons of self publishing on Amazon.
Publicize, promote and market your book with little or no marketing budgetTom Corson-Knowles
Most authors are so exhausted by the time they’ve finished their books – and often so strapped for cash – that they don’t know where to start a publicity and marketing campaign, especially with little or no budget. You don’t need a $20,000 publicist. Or a $5,000 assistant. If you have more time than money, you can do most of the publicity and marketing work yourself like a professional if you know what to do.
TPAS2020 How To Build a Successful Travel Blog After COVID-19: Tips for Creat...Travelpayouts
Watch the workshops and lectures from TPAS2020: https://tp.click/1sF
Somto Ugwueze — digital marketer, content strategist, and founder of Somtoseeks.com. Founded in 2017, the blog has received nearly 1 million visitors to date. Somto talked about the key components of great content that appeals to travelers and the mistakes that bloggers make. She also shared tools and strategies to research content ideas.
SOCIAL / LINKS
➡ Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/travelpayouts.official
➡ LinkedIn: https://www.linkedin.com/company/travelpayouts
➡ Twitter: https://twitter.com/travelpayouts
➡ Support: support@travelpayouts.com
SEO Tips, Tactics & Strategies for Outdoor Writers, Authors and BloggersPaul Krupin
SEO Tips, Tactics and Strategies for Outdoor Writers is a presentation given to the Northwest Outdoor Writers Association on May 2, 2014 by Paul J. Krupin, Search Word Pro. It covers the current collective knowledge of the art and science of using SEO on websites, and the integration with PR and social media, with numerous relevant examples. The outdoor writer focus is also relevant to authors, publishers, bloggers and business entrepreneurs of all types. The evolution of the search engine algorithms is discussed and the ever increasing role of quality content and content management is described. Topics include keyword research, keyword targeting, metatags, link strategies, good SEO, bad SEO, content selection, content quality, content management, targeted PR, and social media outreach and integration.
You've written your book. Now What? It's not too late. Secrets of Marketing Your Book gives tips that you can use to get your book out there and get noticed. It covers book reviews, blog tours, social media, websites, blogging, and more. Ideally, you don't want to wait until your book is published. If you start developing your audience now, you will have buyers waiting for it. This book will show you how.
Becoming a bestseller is hard work. Keep selling books is even harder. Let's share some of the free hacks you can do before pushing marketing dollars promoting your book.
This presentation was prepared for a self-publishing meetup at 92Y in NYC, stay tuned for the next meetups too!
Book Publishing Success Strategies | Learn how to succeed on major book publi...Albert Griesmayr
Book Publishing Success Strategies | Learn how to succeed on major book publishing platforms. Featuring platforms like Wattpad, Goodreads, Smashwords, Amazon and many more.
Crafting marketing plans based on a few simple frameworks.
Examples and student feedback on outreach pitches.
Week 2 assignment: Writing a marketing plan
Internet Book Marketing for Authors -- Links and Tips, All New and Updated as...Lorilyn Roberts
Hundreds of links and tips in an easy-to-use Power Point Presentation. Over 50 pages. Please check out my website at http://Lorilynroberts.com - if you use this, I would love to add you to my email list for future updates.
This step by step guide reveals how to write a book for your target audience and how much money you can make from selling your book.
You'll also discover how to self publish your book along with all of the pros and cons of self publishing on Amazon.
Publicize, promote and market your book with little or no marketing budgetTom Corson-Knowles
Most authors are so exhausted by the time they’ve finished their books – and often so strapped for cash – that they don’t know where to start a publicity and marketing campaign, especially with little or no budget. You don’t need a $20,000 publicist. Or a $5,000 assistant. If you have more time than money, you can do most of the publicity and marketing work yourself like a professional if you know what to do.
TPAS2020 How To Build a Successful Travel Blog After COVID-19: Tips for Creat...Travelpayouts
Watch the workshops and lectures from TPAS2020: https://tp.click/1sF
Somto Ugwueze — digital marketer, content strategist, and founder of Somtoseeks.com. Founded in 2017, the blog has received nearly 1 million visitors to date. Somto talked about the key components of great content that appeals to travelers and the mistakes that bloggers make. She also shared tools and strategies to research content ideas.
SOCIAL / LINKS
➡ Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/travelpayouts.official
➡ LinkedIn: https://www.linkedin.com/company/travelpayouts
➡ Twitter: https://twitter.com/travelpayouts
➡ Support: support@travelpayouts.com
SEO Tips, Tactics & Strategies for Outdoor Writers, Authors and BloggersPaul Krupin
SEO Tips, Tactics and Strategies for Outdoor Writers is a presentation given to the Northwest Outdoor Writers Association on May 2, 2014 by Paul J. Krupin, Search Word Pro. It covers the current collective knowledge of the art and science of using SEO on websites, and the integration with PR and social media, with numerous relevant examples. The outdoor writer focus is also relevant to authors, publishers, bloggers and business entrepreneurs of all types. The evolution of the search engine algorithms is discussed and the ever increasing role of quality content and content management is described. Topics include keyword research, keyword targeting, metatags, link strategies, good SEO, bad SEO, content selection, content quality, content management, targeted PR, and social media outreach and integration.
You've written your book. Now What? It's not too late. Secrets of Marketing Your Book gives tips that you can use to get your book out there and get noticed. It covers book reviews, blog tours, social media, websites, blogging, and more. Ideally, you don't want to wait until your book is published. If you start developing your audience now, you will have buyers waiting for it. This book will show you how.
Becoming a bestseller is hard work. Keep selling books is even harder. Let's share some of the free hacks you can do before pushing marketing dollars promoting your book.
This presentation was prepared for a self-publishing meetup at 92Y in NYC, stay tuned for the next meetups too!
How to Self-Publish Books to Grow Your Audience - Marcus KusiLeslie Samuel
Are you looking to self-publish a book to grow your audience? In this presentation, Marcus Kusi shares his experience doing so and gives actionable tips to help you do it.
You’re #1: Strategically Grow Your Audience with eBooks and Hit the Bestselle...INscribeDigital
In the world of publishing, getting a bestseller is the golden ticket. So how do you make that happen? Join Elizabeth Turnbull of Light Messages Publishing and Kelly Peterson of Independent Publishers Group (IPG) as they walk you through some of the very best ways to set new titles up for bestseller lists using ebooks.
Business Strategy Plan for Authors & PublishersiGO eBooks®
Following iGO eBooks plenary presentation on the subject of things to consider in such a Plan this is an actual production template to tangibly demonstrate the content that should be considered for inclusion in such a Business Strategy Plan for Authors & Publishers including those who choose to become a Social Enterprise. It takes into consideration the following subject headings and laid out contextually for cohesive presentation to readers, authors, publishers, sponsors, and other stakeholders.
Writing / Before Publishing - Producing for an Audience / Creating for yourself? - Publishing Path & Road Map? / Writing & Vision - Traditional business strategy plans have components - Vital Plan / Selling Book - What Makes your book so Special? - Who will want to buy your work? - Competition - Format(s) of your Book - How do you plan to promote your product (Book/eBook) - Marketing Strategies? – Budgets/Projections- Timetable for writing, editing, book production, marketing etc?
How to Leverage the Worlds Largest E-Commerce Marketplace
You can actually partner with Amazon, leveraging their incredible power to build your own business without having to compete against a giant like Amazon.
In this e-book, you’re going to learn about some of the key things you can do to promote your book on Amazon and increase sales. You’ll learn about reviews, mailing lists, social marketing, and much more.
In this guide, you’re going to learn about some of the key things you can do to
promote your book on Amazon and increase sales. You’ll learn about reviews,
mailing lists, social marketing and much more.
The digital marketing industry is changing faster than ever and those who don’t adapt with the times are losing market share. Where should marketers be focusing their efforts? What strategies are the experts seeing get the best results? Get up-to-speed with the latest industry insights, trends and predictions for the future in this panel discussion with some leading digital marketing experts.
Digital Commerce Lecture for Advanced Digital & Social Media Strategy at UCLA...Valters Lauzums
E-commerce in 2024 is characterized by a dynamic blend of opportunities and significant challenges. Supply chain disruptions and inventory shortages are critical issues, leading to increased shipping delays and rising costs, which impact timely delivery and squeeze profit margins. Efficient logistics management is essential, yet it is often hampered by these external factors. Payment processing, while needing to ensure security and user convenience, grapples with preventing fraud and integrating diverse payment methods, adding another layer of complexity. Furthermore, fulfillment operations require a streamlined approach to handle volume spikes and maintain accuracy in order picking, packing, and shipping, all while meeting customers' heightened expectations for faster delivery times.
Amid these operational challenges, customer data has emerged as an important strategy. By focusing on personalization and enhancing customer experience from historical behavior, businesses can deliver improved website and brand experienced, better product recommendations, optimal promotions, and content to meet individual preferences. Better data analytics can also help in effectively creating marketing campaigns, improving customer retention, and driving product development and inventory management.
Innovative formats such as social commerce and live shopping are beginning to impact the digital commerce landscape, offering new ways to engage with customers and drive sales, and may provide opportunity for brands that have been priced out or seen a downturn with post-pandemic shopping behavior. Social commerce integrates shopping experiences directly into social media platforms, tapping into the massive user bases of these networks to increase reach and engagement. Live shopping, on the other hand, combines entertainment and real-time interaction, providing a dynamic platform for showcasing products and encouraging immediate purchases. These innovations not only enhance customer engagement but also provide valuable data for businesses to refine their strategies and deliver superior shopping experiences.
The e-commerce sector is evolving rapidly, and businesses that effectively manage operational challenges and implement innovative strategies are best positioned for long-term success.
AI-Powered Personalization: Principles, Use Cases, and Its Impact on CROVWO
In today’s era of AI, personalization is more than just a trend—it’s a fundamental strategy that unlocks numerous opportunities.
When done effectively, personalization builds trust, loyalty, and satisfaction among your users—key factors for business success. However, relying solely on AI capabilities isn’t enough. You need to anchor your approach in solid principles, understand your users’ context, and master the art of persuasion.
Join us as Sarjak Patel and Naitry Saggu from 3rd Eye Consulting unveil a transformative framework. This approach seamlessly integrates your unique context, consumer insights, and conversion goals, paving the way for unparalleled success in personalization.
The digital marketing industry is changing faster than ever and those who don’t adapt with the times are losing market share. Where should marketers be focusing their efforts? What strategies are the experts seeing get the best results? Get up-to-speed with the latest industry insights, trends and predictions for the future in this panel discussion with some leading digital marketing experts.
5 big bets to drive growth in 2024 without one additional marketing dollar AND how to adapt to the biggest shifting eCommerce trend- AI.
1) Romance Your Customers - Retention
2) ‘Alternative’ Lead Gen - Advocacy
3) The Beautiful Basics - Conversion Rate Optimization
4) Land that Bottom Line - Profitability
5) Roll the Dice - New Business Models
Digital marketing is the art and science of promoting products or services using digital channels to reach and engage with potential customers. It encompasses a wide range of online tactics and strategies aimed at increasing brand visibility, driving website traffic, generating leads, and ultimately, converting those leads into customers.
https://nidmindia.com/
Search Engine Marketing - Competitor and Keyword researchETMARK ACADEMY
Over 2 Trillion searches are made per day in Google search, which means there are more than 2 Trillion visits happening across the websites of the world wide web.
People search various questions, phrases or words. But some words and phrases are searched
more often than others.
For example, the words, ‘running shoes’ are searched more often than ‘best road running
shoes for men’
These words or phrases which people use to search on Google are called Keywords.
Some keywords are searched more often than others. Number of times a keyword is searched
for in a month is called keyword volume.
Some keywords have more relevant results than others. For the phrase “running shoes” we
get more than 80M relevant results, whereas for “best road running shoes for men” we get
only 8.
The former keyword ‘running shoes’ has way more competition from popular websites to
new and small blogs, whereas the latter keyword doesn’t have that much competition. This
search competition for a keyword is called search difficulty of a keyword or keyword
difficulty.
In other words, if the keyword difficulty is ‘low’ or ‘easy’, there won’t be any competition
and if you target such keywords on your site, you can easily rank on the front page of Google.
Some keywords are searched for, just to know or to learn some information about something,
that’s their search intention. For example, “What shoe size should I choose?” or “How to pick
the right shoe size?”
These keywords which are searched just to know about stuff are called informational
keywords. Typically people who are searching this type of keywords are top of a Conversion
funnel.
Conversion funnel is the journey that search visitors go through on their way to an email
subscription or a premium subscription to the services you offer or a purchase of products
you sell or recommend using your referral link.
For some buyers, research is the most important part when they have to buy a product.
Depending on that, their journey either widens or narrows down. These types of buyers are
Researchers and they spend more time with informational keywords.
Conversion is the action you want from your search visitors. Number of conversions that you
get for every 100 search visitors is called Conversion rate.
People who are at different stages of a conversion funnel use different types of keywords.
It's another new era of digital and marketers are faced with making big bets on their digital strategy. If you are looking at modernizing your tech stack to support your digital evolution, there are a few can't miss (often overlooked) areas that should be part of every conversation. We'll cover setting your vision, avoiding siloes, adding a democratized approach to data strategy, localization, creating critical governance requirements and more. Attendees will walk away with actions they can take into initiatives they are running today and consider for the future.
The What, Why & How of 3D and AR in Digital CommercePushON Ltd
Vladimir Mulhem has over 20 years of experience in commercialising cutting edge creative technology across construction, marketing and retail.
Previously the founder and Tech and Innovation Director of Creative Content Works working with the likes of Next, John Lewis and JD Sport, he now helps retailers, brands and agencies solve challenges of applying the emerging technologies 3D, AR, VR and Gen AI to real-world problems.
In this webinar, Vladimir will be covering the following topics:
Applications of 3D and AR in Digital Commerce,
Benefits of 3D and AR,
Tools to create, manage and publish 3D and AR in Digital Commerce.
In this presentation, Danny Leibrandt explains the impact of AI on SEO and what Google has been doing about it. Learn how to take your SEO game to the next level and win over Google with his new strategy anyone can use. Get actionable steps to rank your name, your business, and your clients on Google - the right way.
Key Takeaways:
1. Real content is king
2. Find ways to show EEAT
3. Repurpose across all platforms
Top 3 Ways to Align Sales and Marketing Teams for Rapid GrowthDemandbase
In this session, Demandbase’s Stephanie Quinn, Sr. Director of Integrated and Digital Marketing, Devin Rosenberg, Director of Sales, and Kevin Rooney, Senior Director of Sales Development will share how sales and marketing shapes their day-to-day and what key areas are needed for true alignment.
How to Run Landing Page Tests On and Off Paid Social PlatformsVWO
Join us for an exclusive webinar featuring Mariate, Alexandra and Nima where we will unveil a comprehensive blueprint for crafting a successful paid media strategy focused on landing page testing.With escalating costs in paid advertising, understanding how to maximize each visitor’s experience is crucial for retention and conversion.
This session will dive into the methodologies for executing and analyzing landing page tests within paid social channels, offering a blend of theoretical knowledge and practical insights.
The Pearmill team will guide you through the nuances of setting up and managing landing page experiments on paid social platforms. You will learn about the critical rules to follow, the structure of effective tests, optimal conversion duration and budget allocation.
The session will also cover data analysis techniques and criteria for graduating landing pages.
In the second part of the webinar, Pearmill will explore the use of A/B testing platforms. Discover common pitfalls to avoid in A/B testing and gain insights into analyzing A/B tests results effectively.
In this presentation, Danny Leibrandt explains the impact of AI on SEO and what Google has been doing about it. Learn how to take your SEO game to the next level and win over Google with his new strategy anyone can use. Get actionable steps to rank your name, your business, and your clients on Google - the right way.
Key Takeaways:
1. Real content is king
2. Find ways to show EEAT
3. Repurpose across all platforms
For too many years marketing and sales have operated in silos...while in some forward thinking companies, the two organizations work together to drive new opportunity development and revenue. This session will explore the lessons learned in that beautiful dance that can occur when marketing and sales work together...to drive new opportunity development, account expansion and customer satisfaction.
No, this is not a conversation about MQLs and SQLs. Instead we will focus on a framework that allows the two organizations to drive company success together.
Come learn how YOU can Animate and Illuminate the World with Generative AI's Explosive Power. Come sit in the driver's seat and learn to harness this great technology.
3. Clear branding
Simple CTA
Lead magnet
Links to all the
retailers
Mailchimp/Mailerlite
Segmented lists
Automated sequences
Link to it from your
website & books
Right categories
Right keywords
Strong blurb
Author page
Reviews
Define your
audience and
channels*
Pre-launch strategy
Post-launch strategy
*ARCs (Bookfunnel), crowdfunding, Facebook ads, promotions, giveaways, PR, blog tours, social, content/SEO
4. APRIL 2018 @REEDSYHQ
Why a marketing plan?
“I spent far too long being completely unfocused, and it was only
when I wrote a marketing plan with very specific aims and objectives
that things started to happen. Suddenly people noticed my book —
the tactics were working. And then it got to number 1 in the Kindle
chart and stayed there for four weeks.”
— Rachel Abbott, former #1 author on Amazon.co.uk
5. APRIL 2018 @REEDSYHQ
What should you include in your launch plan?
● Amazon Page Metadata: categories, keywords, blurb, cover.
● Securing reviews: street team, blogger outreach.
● Admin: updating backlist, website, mailing list automations.
● Price promotion: when, where, why.
● Advertising: Facebook, AMS, Bookbub.
7. APRIL 2018 @REEDSYHQ
Amazon Page Metadata
● Categories: 2 categories for any ebook. 1 for print.
● Keywords: 7 keywords.
● Blurb: what readers read before they purchase.
● Cover: the thing readers judge a book by, even though they shouldn’t.
● Amazon look-inside: the second thing readers read before they
purchase.
8. APRIL 2018 @REEDSYHQ
How to pick the right Amazon categories
1. Stop thinking about the book as your labor of love.
2. Start thinking about the book as a retail product.
3. Start thinking from a reader perspective.
4. Start using data rather than hunches to make decisions.
9. APRIL 2018 @REEDSYHQ
How to find a full list of Amazon Categories
Go to amazon.com/kindle-ebooks and scroll down
10. APRIL 2018 @REEDSYHQ
How to analyse Amazon Categories
What to look for when “judging” an Amazon category:
Question
Is the category big enough?
Do I stand a chance to reach
#1?
Do I stand a chance to be in
the first 6?
What is the predominance
of the top 3?
Metric
How are the top 10 books
selling?
How many copies does book
#1 sell?
How are the top 10 books
selling?
How are the top 3 books
selling compared to 4-6?
Method
ABSR of top 10
Ranking of book #1
ABSR of top 6
ABSR top 3 / ABSR top 6
12. APRIL 2018 @REEDSYHQ
Case study: Ruthless
If I believe I can sell max 100 copies a day at launch, I could go for:
● YA > Historical > Medieval
● YA > Historical > Europe
● YA > Romance > Historical
● History > Europe > Italy
● History > Europe > medieval
14. APRIL 2018 @REEDSYHQ
Keyword research? It’s the same thing
Amazon Searches: KDP Rocket
estimate based on Google data and
Amazon auto-complete.
Average Earning: Average of
sales*price for top books ranking for
the keyword.
Competitors: Number of books in
the search results for the keyword.
Competition Grade: estimate based
on ABSR of top books ranking for
the keyword.
Earning/Competition: what you
should filter your results by.
17. APRIL 2018 @REEDSYHQ
Secret tip: categories with keyword requirements
Click on the image to go to that KDP page
18. APRIL 2018 @REEDSYHQ
The blurb: where writing meets copywriting
● Step 1: Introduce your main
character(s)
● Step 2: Set the stage for your
primary conflict
● Step 3: Establish the stakes
● Step 4: Show the reader why
this book is for them
Read and analyze the blurbs of all the bestselling books in your genre!
23. APRIL 2018 @REEDSYHQ
How to build your street team
“As a self-published author, your street team is a group of people who can
provide feedback and get the ball rolling with word-of-mouth. At a very basic
level, this usually means writing reviews of your book.”
24. APRIL 2018 @REEDSYHQ
Where to find your first gangers
● Friends and family (who read books in your genre)
● Facebook communities of readers in your genre
● Writer feedback forums: Absolute Write, Scribophile.
● Amazon & Goodreads reviewers in your genre.
● Other indie (or trad pubbed) authors in your genre.
27. APRIL 2018 @REEDSYHQ
Engaging with your street team
● The street team goes in a separate, dedicated mailing list.
● Your street team gets exclusives (cover reveals) and bonus content
(e.g. deleted scenes).
● Your street team receives free Advance Review Copies at least a
month before launch.
○ Invite them to let you know about any remaining typos;
○ Set a special price at launch so they can buy your book;
○ Send them an email at launch so they buy and post a review.
28. APRIL 2018 @REEDSYHQ
Using Bookfunnel to deliver your ARCs
Upload EPUB, MOBI & PDF files
to Bookfunnel.
Bookfunnel generates a
“download page” for your book.
Send your readers to the
download page.
Readers indicate their device
and receive the right file and
instructions for uploading it.
32. APRIL 2018 @REEDSYHQ
Tips to simplify your admin life
● Use Draft2Digital’s “automated back-matter tool”.
● Have your website on a CMS and learn how to use it (don’t rely on
your website designer).
● Keep your mailing list automations in folders and use templates which
you can update across all your automations.
● If you publish several books a year and earn a good living from writing,
consider hiring a virtual assistant (VA).
34. APRIL 2018 @REEDSYHQ
Double case-study: Ruthless & Love Me Not
● Standalone
● Kindle Unlimited
● Historical Fiction
● No mailing list
● Trilogy
● Kindle Unlimited
● Romance / Magical
Realism
● No mailing list
We’re going to assume that:
● both books/series have an optimal Amazon presence (metadata)
● both authors have gathered a street team of 30+ readers.
36. APRIL 2018 @REEDSYHQ
Step 1: Set up a mailing list
● Have the newsletter sign up form front
and center on your website;
● Add a link to your website or sign up
form on all your social media bios, and on
your Amazon Author Central page.
● Add links to your sign up form in the first
page of the back matter of all your
ebooks;
● Add the same link in your front matter as
well, to capture “Look inside” browsers.
37. APRIL 2018 @REEDSYHQ
Step 2: Create a “reader magnet” (optional)
“Reader Magnets are something of value that you give to your readers
in exchange for an email address.” — Nick Stephenson
● A free ebook (novel, novella, short story)
● Bonus fictional content (deleted scenes)
● Illustrations or designs
● Paperback(s) giveaway
38. APRIL 2018 @REEDSYHQ
Step 3: Build a “welcome automation”
Example of welcome automation for Ruthless:
When? Email Objective
Immediately “Get your freebie” (Bookfunnel) Deliver the freebie
2 days after “Fun facts I discovered doing research for this book” Engage the readers
3 days after “Did you know I’ve also written these other books?” Get them to buy
3 days after Reader poll: “Am I a new-to-you author, or are we old
friends?”
Segment your list
39. APRIL 2018 @REEDSYHQ
Step 4: Schedule a price promotion
“In a nutshell, running a price promotion is dropping your book to a
discount price and spreading it around the web at that price. ” — Chloe
Kizer, Written Word Media
● You want traffic on Amazon at launch
● Price promotions are the best way to get traffic
● Your street team will be able to purchase at a discount
● You want to revive sales across your series
● All the more important if you’re in KU
40. APRIL 2018 @REEDSYHQ
Step 4: Schedule a price promotion
Example of scheduled price promo for Love Me Not:
$0.99 for 5 days $1.99 for 7 days Pre-order at $8.99
41. APRIL 2018 @REEDSYHQ
Step 5: Promote your price promotion
https://blog.reedsy.com/book-promotion-services
42. APRIL 2018 @REEDSYHQ
Step 5: Promote your price promotion
$0.99 for 5 days $1.99 for 7 days Pre-order at $8.99
Bookbub ads
Facebook ads
AMS ads
Bargainbooksy
E-Reader News Today
Bookbub ads
Facebook carousel ads
AMS ads
Kindle Nation Daily
Robin Reads
Book Barbarian
The Fussy Librarian
Facebook carousel ads
45. APRIL 2018 @REEDSYHQ
Facebook ads: some ground rules
● Ad image: use as little text as possible. Ad images not featuring your
cover can sometimes work better (not for carousel ads).
● Keep your headline short and powerful. Use the “text” field to put the
blurb about your book.
● Plot-focused blurbs tend to work better for male audiences. Character
ones work better for female audiences.
● Put all your big name comps in one audience, and use it to run A/B tests
on your ad image and copy until you find the perfect combination.
47. APRIL 2018 @REEDSYHQ
AMS Sponsored Product ads: some ground rules
● Creatives: the only think you can play with is the ad copy. Set up a few
ads with different copy so you can quickly determine a winner.
● Keyword targeting: it’s very hard to spend money on AMS. So plug in
200+ keywords to start with and review on a weekly basis.
● Reporting: Amazon attributes sales after 7 days. So wait 2 weeks before
killing a campaign/keyword.
● AMS reporting doesn’t include audio sales, KU reads or sales resulting
from a ranking boost.
49. APRIL 2018 @REEDSYHQ
AMS Reporting and ACoS calculation
How to calculate your ROI:
● If your book is > $2.99, an
ACoS < 70% means you’re
making money;
● If your book is < $2.99, an
ACoS > 35% means you’re
probably money.
BUT, there are other factors to
consider:
● Read-through;
● Impressions (branding);
● Kindle Unlimited.
50. APRIL 2018 @REEDSYHQ
Step 8: Test Bookbub CPM ads
These are not the typical Bookbub
Featured Deals that are almost
impossible to get nowadays.
These are self-serve ads which you
can target at any competing authors
and Bookbub categories.
They tend to be more flexible than
Facebook and AMS ads and easier to
get results with.
51. APRIL 2018 @REEDSYHQ
Testing Bookbub CPM ads: some ground rules
● Creatives: Don’t use Bookbub’s tool. Ask your designer or try your hand
creating something on Canva. Display your cover, the deal, and a clear
CTA.
● Targeting: Stick with Amazon US for testing purposes. Add in authors and
categories until you reach a “Defined” audience.
● Bid: Testing is all about serving fast and getting quick results. Put in a bid
that easily exceeds the higher end of the range BookBub is suggesting.
● Budget: put an end date in of tomorrow (to force yourself to check in and
adapt). As for the budget, $10 or $15 will suffice to run a good test.
52. APRIL 2018 @REEDSYHQ
Side note: have you thought about read-through?
First book: $0.99
Second book: $2.99
Amazon AMS ad yields you an ACoS of 50%.
Are you making money or losing money?
…
53. APRIL 2018 @REEDSYHQ
For all your ads: Don’t forget read-through!!!
First book: $0.99
Second book: $2.99
Amazon AMS ad yields you an ACoS of 50%.
If we suppose that even just 10% of the readers who buy book 1 will
buy book 2, you’re actually making money.
…
cost/sale = $0.50
earnings/sale = $0.35 + 10%*70%*$2.99 = $0.64
54. APRIL 2018 @REEDSYHQ
How to calculate read-through
The read through (RT) of book 2 in a series is the ratio between the readers
who read book 1 and the readers who read book 1 and 2.
RT of book 2 = sales book 2 / sales book 1
RT of book 3 = sales book 3 / sales book 1
RT of book 4 = sales book 3 / sales book 1
etc.
● RT is generally expressed as a percentage
● When estimating RT, make sure you use a significant data set
● A good read-through for a series is anything over 65%
55. APRIL 2018 @REEDSYHQ
How to calculate your reader’s LTV
LTV = Life Time Value (of a customer) = the total profit a reader makes you
as they make their way through your series.
LTV = E1 + E2*RT2 + E3*RT3 + … + En*RTn
Where:
● En are your earnings on each sale of book #n in your series (i.e. price of
book #n multiplied royalty rate)
● RTn is the read-through between book #1 and book #n
56. APRIL 2018 @REEDSYHQ
Factoring in Kindle Unlimited sales
If you’re in Kindle Unlimited, your ads might trigger “reads” rather
than sales. So the previous formula doesn’t work: You need to
account for KU reads in your ROI calculations.
LTV = LTVsales + LTVreads
The question is: how likely is it that your ads are going to trigger a
read vs a sale? You can actually determine that…
57. APRIL 2018 @REEDSYHQ
Factoring in Kindle Unlimited sales
The idea is to analyse your ratio between KU reads and sales. For
this, you need to estimate the number of total “KU full reads” you’re
getting on each book.
KU full reads = Total Pages Read / KNPC Value
You then use this value to calculate a ratio between sales and full
reads.
KU/sales ratio = KU full reads / Sales
58. APRIL 2018 @REEDSYHQ
Factoring in Kindle Unlimited sales
To keep this simple, I recommend you calculate your KU/sales ratio
for all books in your series, and then take the average. You finally
have all the tools to calculate the real LTV of a reader:
LTVsales+KU = LTVsales + LTVsales * KU/Sales ratio
This is the value you should use to determine whether a give an is
making or costing you money.
LTVsales+KU = LTVsales + LTVKU
59. APRIL 2018 @REEDSYHQ
Step 9: Putting it all together to plan the launch
$0.99 for 5 days $1.99 for 7 days Pre-order at $8.99
Bookbub ads
Facebook ads
AMS ads
Bargainbooksy
E-Reader News Today
Bookbub ads
Facebook carousel ads
AMS ads
Kindle Nation Daily
Robin Reads
Book Barbarian
The Fussy Librarian
Facebook carousel ads
60. APRIL 2018 @REEDSYHQ
Step 9: Putting it all together to plan the launch
I know I need ~100 sales a day at launch to reach and stick to #1 in
my category. So I plan my launch accordingly.
Day 1 Day 2 Day 3 Day 4 Day 5 Day 6 Day 7
Street team:
30
Mailing list: 50 Robin Reads:
30
Newsletter
swap: 50
Facebook: 60 Newsletter
swap: 20
Facebook: 60
Kindle Nation
Daily: 50
Book Gorilla:
20
Facebook: 25 The Fussy
Librarian: 25
AMS: 20 Facebook: 50 AMS: 20
Facebook: 15 Facebook: 15 AMS: 15 Facebook: 15 Bookbub: 20 AMS: 20 Bookbub: 20
AMS: 5 AMS: 15 Bookbub: 15 AMS: 10 Bookbub: 10
Cost: $200 Cost: $200 Cost: $250 Cost: $150 Cost: $400 Cost: $200 Cost: $300
61. APRIL 2018 @REEDSYHQ
Step 9: Putting it all together to plan the launch
● I will spend $1,700 on promoting my launch of book 2;
● I expect to make $1000 back through sales of book 2;
● Assuming my KU/Sales ratio is 1, I can expect to get 700 KU full
reads, which I estimate will make me $700;
● I can reasonably expect to sell an additional 500 copies as a result of
my rank boost, which will earn me $700;
● Assuming a read-through of 30% between books 2 and 3, I can
expect to earn $2,300 at launch of book 3.
After launch of book 3, this promotion will have earned me $3,000.
62. APRIL 2018 @REEDSYHQ
Further resources on book marketing
Amazon Decoded, by
David Gaughran
Help! My Facebook
Ads Suck! by
Michael Cooper
Mark Dawson’s Ads
for Authors course
63. Reedsy Learning: 35 free courses waiting for you
35 free courses. 30,000 students enrolled. 5 minutes a day.
https://blog.reedsy.com/learningAPRIL 2018 @REEDSYHQ