Akshay Mehndiratta Summer Special Light Meal Ideas From Across India.pptx
Google Travel Labs - what’s new in it for hoteliers
1. Google Travel Labs
Ecaterina Paun
Head of User Experience
protel hotelsoftware
new Google services for the travel industry
2.
3.
4. “Personally, I don't think we're in control of
anything, except our attitude to what
comes our way.”
Bruce Lawson
Opera Web browser Opera.com
Revenue management & hospitality e-commerce conference
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8 APRIL 2014
Google Travel Labs
protel hotelsoftware GmbH
4
7. Google Search link distribution
"above the fold”
7
HTTP://BLUMENTHALS.COM
GOOGLE’S LOCAL CAROUSEL – TRAPPED IN GOOGLE’S WORLD?
Revenue management & hospitality e-commerce conference
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Google Travel Labs
protel hotelsoftware GmbH
8. 8
“Findability is the new Black.”
Liz Strauss
CEO & Founder, SOBCon
Revenue management & hospitality e-commerce conference
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Google Travel Labs
protel hotelsoftware GmbH
11. 11
I. Google New Services for the hotel industry
Google cards (Google Knowledge Graph & Google Now cards)
Google Knowledge Graph Carousel, now with Hotel Bookings
Google Hotel View interior 360 Imagery
Google Hotel Finder: Get your hotel listed
Google AdWords Enhanced Campaigns
Email any Google+ connection
Revenue management & hospitality e-commerce conference
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8 APRIL 2014
Google Travel Labs
protel hotelsoftware GmbH
12. Revenue management & hospitality e-commerce conference
BUDAPEST, HUNGARY, 7-
8 APRIL 2014
Google Travel Labs
protel hotelsoftware GmbH
12
Google Knowledge Graph Information Cards
13. 13
Google Knowledge Graph Information Cards
Google Map
Google + Business
Google + Business
Google + Business
Google Hotel
Finder
Google Places
for Business
Competition
Google + Business
Google Places
for Business
Revenue management & hospitality e-commerce conference
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8 APRIL 2014
Google Travel Labs
protel hotelsoftware GmbH
Google Map
14. 14
Google cards
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Google Travel Labs
protel hotelsoftware GmbH
15. 15
Google Now cards
Revenue management & hospitality e-commerce conference
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Google Travel Labs
protel hotelsoftware GmbH
16. 16
Google cards
Google + Business
Google Hotel
Finder
Google Places for
Business
Google Map
+
Google Places for Business
Google Hotel
Finder
Revenue management & hospitality e-commerce conference
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Google Travel Labs
protel hotelsoftware GmbH
17. Google Travel Labs
protel hotelsoftware GmbH
17
Google Knowledge Graph Carousel
now with Hotel Bookings
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18. Google Travel Labs
protel hotelsoftware GmbH
18
Google Knowledge Graph Carousel
now with Hotel Bookings
Revenue management & hospitality e-commerce conference
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8 APRIL 2014
19. Google Travel Labs
protel hotelsoftware GmbH
19
Google Knowledge Graph Carousel
now with Hotel Bookings
• Not yet available in Europe
Revenue management & hospitality e-commerce conference
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8 APRIL 2014
20. Google Travel Labs
protel hotelsoftware GmbH
20
Google Knowledge Graph Carousel Sightings
Image via http://searchengineland.com
Google Knowledge Graph Carousel Sightings Becoming More Frequent Within A Wider Variety Of Searches
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21. Google Travel Labs
protel hotelsoftware GmbH
21
Google Knowledge Graph Carousel -heatmap
Image via http://searchengineland.com
Study: Google Local Carousel Results Win 48% Of Clicks, While Only 14.5% Of Clicks Were On The Map
48% Clicks
14.5% Clicks
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22. Google Travel Labs
protel hotelsoftware GmbH
22
Google Hotel View interior 360 Imagery
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23. Google Travel Labs
protel hotelsoftware GmbH
23
Google Hotel View interior 360 Imagery
Not spotted in Europe for hotels, yet.
But spotted for our Italian partners, Serinissima.
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8 APRIL 2014
24. Google Travel Labs
protel hotelsoftware GmbH
24
Google Hotel Finder
Get your hotel listed
How can I have my hotel listed on Google Hotel Finder?
Independent hotels: check with your PMS provider if they are one of the Google selected
partners
Major hotel brands: direct implementation (from Central Reservation System to Google )
OTA listing – is your hotel already listed on Booking.com, Expedia.com or another major OTA?
Revenue management & hospitality e-commerce conference
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8 APRIL 2014
25. Google Travel Labs
protel hotelsoftware GmbH
25
• Powerful advertising tools for the multi-
device world
• Smarter ads optimized for varying user
contexts
• Advanced reports to measure new
conversion types
Google AdWords Enhanced Campaigns
Bing Ads states that using location extensions on your ad
can boost average CTR by as much as 33%.
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8 APRIL 2014
26. Google Travel Labs
protel hotelsoftware GmbH
26
Email any Google+ connection
January 9th
, 2014
"Your email address isn't visible to
a Google+ connection unless you
send that person an email, and
likewise, that person's email
address isn't visible to you unless
they send you an email.“
• Good news for the aggressive
marketer
• Use it now, as it probably will be
abused and removed
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28. Google Travel Labs
protel hotelsoftware GmbH
28
II. Google Travel Labs
Improve your website’s visibility on Google (search)
Improve your business’s visibility on Google
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8 APRIL 2014
29. Google Travel Labs
protel hotelsoftware GmbH
29
• Google AdWords
• Google Plus (including Places & Maps)
• YouTube - telling stories
• Google Hotel Finder
Gabriele Schulze
Entrepreneur
Marketing4results.de Berlin
• Google Hotel Finder
• Google Places for Business
Ingo Dignas
Managing Director
protel hotelsoftware GmbH
• Google Hotel Finder
• YouTube
Manfred Osthues
Managing Director
protel hotelsoftware GmbH
• Google Analytics
• Google AdWords
anonymous
SEO specialist
Booking.com
• Google Hotel Finder
• Google Plus
anonymous
Industry expert
Google Travel
• Google Hotel Finder
• Google Places for Business
anonymous
SEO specialist
Expedia
The top 2 most important Google services for hoteliers:
Revenue management & hospitality e-commerce conference
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8 APRIL 2014
30. Google Travel Labs
protel hotelsoftware GmbH
30
Improve your website’s visibility Improve your business’s visibility on Google
Entertain & Tell stories: confidence & popularity
Direct bookings & easier rate comparison
Get your business on Google
Get your business on Google –social componentDetailed reports about your pages' visibility
Measure & track your marketing efforts
Advertise to boost website traffic and sales
Entertain & Tell stories: drive traffic to your website
Connect with customers & drive traffic to your website
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31. Google Travel Labs
protel hotelsoftware GmbH
31
CONTENT
Social Media
Multi-devices presence
Google + REVIEWS
IMAGES
GOOGLE HOTEL FINDER
Improve your website’s visibility Improve your business’s visibility on Google
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8 APRIL 2014
32. Google Travel Labs
protel hotelsoftware GmbH
32
II. Google Travel Labs
Google Hotel Finder
Google + Business & Google Places for Business
YouTube - A Traveler's Constant Companion
Billboard: 1 picture = 100 words
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33. Google Travel Labs
protel hotelsoftware GmbH
33
Revenue management & hospitality e-commerce conference
BUDAPEST, HUNGARY, 7-
8 APRIL 2014
34. Google Travel Labs
protel hotelsoftware GmbH
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Revenue management & hospitality e-commerce conference
BUDAPEST, HUNGARY, 7-
8 APRIL 2014
35. Google Travel Labs
protel hotelsoftware GmbH
35
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36. Number and quality of reviews
Pricing
Presence on Google+ Business
Quality Pictures
Proximity to City Center
Top 5 Hotel Finder Ranking Factors
Google Hotel Finder
Google Travel Labs
protel hotelsoftware GmbH
36
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37. Google Travel Labs
protel hotelsoftware GmbH
37
1. Number and quality of reviews
Sources:
Google + users’ reviews
Zagat reviews
Get more reviews
Ask your fans from other
social networks (Facebook,
Twitter, emailing)
Ask at the desk
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38. Google Travel Labs
protel hotelsoftware GmbH
38
2. Pricing
Google tends to show a variety of prices at first, but changing it based on user’s behavior
Google Hotel Finder also ranks hotels that are not overcharging customers
Price model: CPC (cost-per-click) lead generation program
There are two bidding options:
Pay a flat rate per night (example $1 per night)
Pay a percentage of total price * # of nights
CPC= (x) * (Total price) * (# of nights).
CPC= 0.2% * 120 * 2 = 0.48 Euro
The most important thing to remember is that the advertiser can only outbid those who
are offering the same price
Revenue management & hospitality e-commerce conference
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8 APRIL 2014
39. Google Travel Labs
protel hotelsoftware GmbH
39
3. Presence on Google+ Business
Hotels without Google + Pages?
Verified listings are favorites
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8 APRIL 2014
40. Google Travel Labs
protel hotelsoftware GmbH
40
4. Quality pictures
Pictures associated with hotel’s Google + Business & Google Places for Business
“Pictures are worth 1000 words”
Google+ Local photo and video guidelines
https://support.google.com/plus/answer/2689731?hl=en&ref_topic=2624941
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8 APRIL 2014
41. Google Travel Labs
protel hotelsoftware GmbH
41
4. Quality pictures
Sources of images
Hotel’s Google + Business
Google + users
Other Google image services (ex: panoramio)
VFM Leonardo –travel & hospitality tech company
Coming soon to Europe: Google Hotel View interior 360 Imagery
Revenue management & hospitality e-commerce conference
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8 APRIL 2014
42. Google Travel Labs
protel hotelsoftware GmbH
42
5. Proximity to City Center
Google Hotel finder shows first results from the city center
The results are slowly spiraled out from there.
Revenue management & hospitality e-commerce conference
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8 APRIL 2014
43. Google Travel Labs
protel hotelsoftware GmbH
43
How can I have my hotel listed on Google Hotel Finder?
Independent hotels: check with your PMS provider if is one of the Google selected partners
Major hotel brands: direct implementation (hotel’s Central Reservation System to
Google)
OTA listing – are your hotel already listed on Booking.com, Expedia.com or another major OTA?
Revenue management & hospitality e-commerce conference
BUDAPEST, HUNGARY, 7-
8 APRIL 2014
44. Google Travel Labs
protel hotelsoftware GmbH
44
Losers
OTAs
already branded OTAs lose traffic
Expedia claims that 40% of their traffic
reserches hotels on Expedia but then visits
and books on hotel branded websites
Meta search sites
Kayak.com, SkyScanner.com, Trivago.com, etc ,
as Google Hotel Finder is itself a meta search
site.
Winners
OTAs
dominate the Google Hotel Finder pricing menu
Hotels
pushing real-time availability & prices through Google API
(once implemented by the PMS provider)
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8 APRIL 2014
46. Google Travel Labs
protel hotelsoftware GmbH
46
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8 APRIL 2014
47. “Google Places for Business gives you
access to free tools that help your business
get online, be found on Google Search and
Maps and get closer to your customers. ”
FREE
Dashboard
15 min
http://www.google.com/business/placesforbusiness/
“Your Google+ page helps you build a loyal
fan base. Your customers can show their
appreciation with ratings and reviews, use
the +1 button to endorse your content, and
re-share your posts across the web.”
FREE
Social component
Forever
http://www.google.com/+/business/
Google Travel Labs
protel hotelsoftware GmbH
47
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8 APRIL 2014
48. Google Travel Labs
protel hotelsoftware GmbH
48
Address+ Phone
Email address + Website
Description (add keywords, where possible)
Categories
Information:
Service Areas and Location Settings
Hours of operations
Payment options
Photos
Additional Details
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49. Google Travel Labs
protel hotelsoftware GmbH
49
Be found on Google Search and Maps
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50. Google Travel Labs
protel hotelsoftware GmbH
50
Revenue management & hospitality e-commerce conference
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8 APRIL 2014
51. Google Travel Labs
protel hotelsoftware GmbH
51
Local
listing
Unverified local Google+
Page
Verified local Google+
Page
Displays on Google Maps
Has Posts and Videos tab
Customers can leave
reviews
Verified checkmark next to
name
Which category of Google+ page should I select?
Select the “Local Business or Place” category if you have a physical storefront or provide services or goods within a local
geographic area. This is the only category of Google+ pages that is eligible to show up on Google Maps.
Do I need a Google+ page if I already have a website?
A Google+ page complements your existing website by giving your business a public identity and presence on Google.
If you choose the “Local Business or Place” category, the information you provide on your Google+ page can also appear
in Google search results and on Google Maps.
Revenue management & hospitality e-commerce conference
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52. Google Travel Labs
protel hotelsoftware GmbH
52
Revenue management & hospitality e-commerce conference
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8 APRIL 2014
53. 53
Google Knowledge Graph Information Cards
Google Map
Google + Business
Google + Business
Google + Business
Google Hotel
Finder
Google Places
for Business
Competition
Google + Business
Google Places
for Business
Revenue management & hospitality e-commerce conference
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8 APRIL 2014
Google Travel Labs
protel hotelsoftware GmbH
Google Map
55. Google Travel Labs
protel hotelsoftware GmbH
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YouTube - A Traveler's Constant Companion
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8 APRIL 2014
56. Google Travel Labs
protel hotelsoftware GmbH
56
"188.2 million Americans watched 52.4 billion...videos in December [2013],
while the number of video ad views totaled 35.2 billion.“*
comScore.com
We are living in a “more” society:
we have more cars
more personal belongings
more rooms/person
we are watching more TV
we have more free time
we are watching more TV
we want more, complex web experiences
Revenue management & hospitality e-commerce conference
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57. Google Travel Labs
protel hotelsoftware GmbH
57
Revenue management & hospitality e-commerce conference
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8 APRIL 2014
58. Google Travel Labs
protel hotelsoftware GmbH
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Revenue management & hospitality e-commerce conference
BUDAPEST, HUNGARY, 7-
8 APRIL 2014
59. Google Travel Labs
protel hotelsoftware GmbH
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Revenue management & hospitality e-commerce conference
BUDAPEST, HUNGARY, 7-
8 APRIL 2014
60. Google Travel Labs
protel hotelsoftware GmbH
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Revenue management & hospitality e-commerce conference
BUDAPEST, HUNGARY, 7-
8 APRIL 2014
61. Google Travel Labs
protel hotelsoftware GmbH
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Revenue management & hospitality e-commerce conference
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8 APRIL 2014
64. Billboard: 1 picture=100 words
Quality pictures for Google cards
Google Travel Labs
protel hotelsoftware GmbH
64
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8 APRIL 2014
65. Google Travel Labs
protel hotelsoftware GmbH
65
Marketing 101
“If you live in any major city you see 800 ads /day
You’re so used to this that you not even notice it.
But your body does
Your heart rate increases
Your pupils dilate
You breathe faster
You became more alert
You’ve been trapped”
Billboard: 1 picture=100 words
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8 APRIL 2014
66. Billboard: 1 picture=100 words
Google Travel Labs
protel hotelsoftware GmbH
66
Quality pictures for Google cards
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67. Google Travel Labs
protel hotelsoftware GmbH
67
Hotel’s Google + Business & Hotel’s Google Places for Business
Google + users
Other Google image services (ex: panoramio)
VFM Leonardo –travel & hospitality tech company
Coming soon in Europe: Google Hotel View interior 360 Imagery
Billboard: 1 picture=100 words
Sources of images
Revenue management & hospitality e-commerce conference
BUDAPEST, HUNGARY, 7-
8 APRIL 2014
68. Google Travel Labs
protel hotelsoftware GmbH
68
Billboard: 1 picture=100 words
Revenue management & hospitality e-commerce conference
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8 APRIL 2014
69. Google Travel Labs
protel hotelsoftware GmbH
69
Billboard: 1 picture=100 words
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8 APRIL 2014
70. Google Travel Labs
protel hotelsoftware GmbH
70
Billboard: 1 picture=100 words
Revenue management & hospitality e-commerce conference
BUDAPEST, HUNGARY, 7-
8 APRIL 2014
71. Google Travel Labs
protel hotelsoftware GmbH
71
Billboard: 1 picture=100 words
Revenue management & hospitality e-commerce conference
BUDAPEST, HUNGARY, 7-
8 APRIL 2014
72. Google Travel Labs
protel hotelsoftware GmbH
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Billboard: 1 picture=100 words
Revenue management & hospitality e-commerce conference
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8 APRIL 2014
73. Google Travel Labs
protel hotelsoftware GmbH
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Billboard: 1 picture=100 words
Sources of images
Revenue management & hospitality e-commerce conference
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8 APRIL 2014
74. Google Travel Labs
protel hotelsoftware GmbH
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Billboard: 1 picture=100 words
Revenue management & hospitality e-commerce conference
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75. Google Travel Labs
protel hotelsoftware GmbH
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OTA: 15% better conversion for hotels with more images listed on hotel description: to be
at least 17 images/hotel
“Don’t make me think” web usability 1st
rule
People fall in love with images
Speed-read technique : Skimming & Scanning behavior
Google Knowledge Graph Carousel: lower ranked search results can get more “click
throughs” due to carousel
Billboard: 1 picture=100 words
Why images are so important?
Revenue management & hospitality e-commerce conference
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77. • HOW GOOGLE PLANS TO DOMINATE THE TRAVEL SPHERE
http://fredericgonzalo.com/en/2013/01/20/how-google-plans-to-dominate-the-travel-sphere/
• Google Think Insights
http://www.google.com/think/industries/travel-tourism.html
• Google is developing a Street View-like feature to showcase hotel interiors
http://www.foxnews.com/travel/2014/01/08/google-is-developing-street-view-like-feature-to-showcase-hotel-interiors/
• Google Officially Launches Knowledge Graph Carousel For Local Search
http://searchengineland.com/google-officially-launches-knowledge-graph-carousel-for-local-search-163809
• Google Knowledge Graph Carousel Sightings Becoming More Frequent Within A Wider Variety Of Searches
http://searchengineland.com/google-knowledge-graph-carousel-sightings-becoming-more-frequent-within-a-wider-variety-of-searches-163562
• Google Showing Date Selector In Knowledge Graph Carousel For Hotels
http://searchengineland.com/google-showing-date-selector-knowledge-graph-carousel-hotels-182756
• Google Hotel Finder & The War for Hotel SERP Listings
http://www.searchenginejournal.com/google-hotel-finder-war-hotel-serp-listings/67152/
• Google Hotel Finder Finally Gets Ability To Book Reservations From Your Phone
http://www.webpronews.com/google-hotel-finder-finally-gets-ability-to-book-reservations-from-your-phone-2013-11
• GOOGLE HOTEL FINDER, FRIEND OR FOE?
http://www.wihphotels.com/publication/google-hotel-finder-friend-or-foe/
• Google for Hotels: Q+A with David Zammitt, Google Travel Industry Manager
http://reknown.com/2013/06/google-for-hotels-qa-with-david-zammitt-google-travel-industry-manager/
• An Optimized Google+Local Listing
https://www.searchenginenews.com/se-news/content/7-online-assets-your-local-business-needs-to-survive-the-coming-years
• GOOGLE’S LOCAL CAROUSEL – TRAPPED IN GOOGLE’S WORLD?
http://blumenthals.com/blog/2013/06/25/googles-local-carousel-trapped-in-googles-world/
• Google Places for Business vs. Google+ Local
http://searchenginewatch.com/article/2293053/Google-Places-for-Business-vs.-Google-Local
• Google Officially Launches Local Results Carousel
http://searchenginewatch.com/article/2276176/Google-Officially-Launches-Local-Results-Carousel
Credits
Google Travel Labs
protel hotelsoftware GmbH
77
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78. • What is Google+ Local?
https://support.google.com/plus/answer/2531255?hl=en
• Types of local pages in Google+
https://support.google.com/plus/answer/2659170?hl=en&ref_topic=2566084
• Score ratings for local places
https://support.google.com/plus/answer/1723748
• The Google Hotel Finder: A Game Changing Event, a “Greed is Good” Defining Moment, or a Natural Move to Serve Better Search Results?
http://cdn.hebsdigital.com/cms/pressroom/11_hotelsmag_google_hotel_finder.pdf
• Google Hotel Price Ads (HPA)
http://www.impaqt.com/insights/Google_HPA.cfm
• Google Hotel Finder & The War for Hotel SERP Listings
http://www.searchenginejournal.com/google-hotel-finder-war-hotel-serp-listings/67152/
• Google Hotel Finder: How To Get Most Of It
http://blog.inndesk.com/post/41186280928/google-hotel-finder
• Google Support
https://support.google.com/plus/answer/2659170?hl=en&ref_topic=2566084
http://www.google.com/business/placesforbusiness/
http://www.google.com/+/business/faq.html
Google Hotel View interior 360 Imagery
http://www.foxnews.com/travel/2014/01/08/google-is-developing-street-view-like-feature-to-showcase-hotel-interiors
Google Preps “Hotel View” Interior 360 Imagery
http://searchengineland.com/google-preps-hotel-view-to-boost-travel-wallet-offerings-181398
• Study: Google Local Carousel Results Win 48% Of Clicks, While Only 14.5% Of Clicks Were On The Map
http://searchengineland.com/study-google-local-carousel-results-win-48-of-clicks-while-map-only-earned-14-5-of-clicks-164925
Google Places for Business vs. Google+ Local
http://searchenginewatch.com/article/2293053/Google-Places-for-Business-vs.-Google-Local
Credits
Google Travel Labs
protel hotelsoftware GmbH
78
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US Only
The carousel content appears to be an abbreviated info card on each business.It's manifesting itself as an image representative of the businesses, along with the business name and other information Google deems important for that type of business.For the categories we've seen this includes:
Total review numbers
Price range
Address
Zagat rating
Expect additional categories to be quickly added as we've already been surprised by some of the long tail terms that conjure the carousel.
Googler Jade W:
While we can't guarantee inclusion in search results, we can say that the carousel will show results from listings in Google Maps using categories. Just as in regular ranking, Google's algorithms take into account many factors to select the places and results that are most relevant to the user. This algorithm based approach is also used to decide which businesses are in the carousel.
When it will be available in Europe?
When European locations will be available for G Knowledge Graph Carousel?
When it will be available in other languages?
This HUGE focus on images means you NEED to be sure you've got solid images that draw people to your business. As mentioned above, these images are mostly pulled from your Google listing so manage them there.
The thing to remember now is that People handle images FAR differently than they do text and don't mind scrolling. This change in the search results is BIGGER than it seems at first. Don't be surprised when lower ranked search results get more click throughs due to the carousel.
Filters available by date and user reviews
Anatomy of an entry:
Google + Business - Image
Google + Business - User reviews
Google Hotel Finder - Prices
US Only
Not able to reproduce it
I have seen it here in Europe
search marketer Matthew Hunt conducted this study
search term ‘Chicago Restaurants,’
Hunt asked 83 searchers to click on the area of the Google search results page that was of most interest to them.
According to the Associated Press (via Fox), Google is photographing hotel interiors as part of an effort to enhance its travel content.
Radisson and Best Western are the only two participating chains explicitly mentioned in the article
The program is being run through Google Maps (not Wallet) and it is part of the interior photography program Google has been doing for a couple of years.
Protel is now
Enhanced campaigns can save time and improve your AdWords results with features including:
Powerful advertising tools for the multi-device world: Ability to manage your bids across devices, locations and time (e.g. bidding higher when showing your ad on mobile devices or to users who are within a half-kilometer of your store)
Smarter ads optimized for varying user contexts: Ability to show the right creative, sitelink, app or extension based on the context of your prospective customers and the devices they’re using
Advanced reports to measure new conversion types: Ability to track new conversion types, such as calls, digital downloads, and conversions across devices
Now you can now email any Google+ user you want as long as you have a Gmail account.
Maybe you've always wanted to share your business ideas with someone and have never had a chance to land directly in their inbox before this?!
If that's the case then it would be better to move sooner rather than later before it's abused by too many people or the feature is removed completely due to attacks by consumer privacy groups. Consumer Watchdog filed a complaint with the Federal Trade Commission claiming that this new feature violates the "Buzz" Consent Agreement. Consumer Watchdog advocates write, "This is an obvious invasion of a person's privacy and a delight for potential stalkers."
But not only: now present in Search results, on map and even on Google +
Ranking Factor: 1
One of the main factors that Google uses to rank hotels is their reviews. It’s hard to find any hotel with less that 4 out of 5 stars in the top results. When there is some disparity, it usually comes down to either the number of reviews or the number of logged-in reviewers.
It’s no surprise that Google gives more weight to reviews done by logged in Google+ users than to anonymous ones. In fact, it looks like the number of Zagat user reviews has almost no impact on hotel rankings.
Ranking Factor: 2
First, Google tends to show a variety of prices at first. However, pricing results will change over time to adjust to your behavior. In other words, if you are looking for a hotel in different regions of San Francisco and you’re constantly clicking on cheap hotels, the results will prioritize cheaper hotels.
On the other hand, Google Hotel Finder also ranks hotels that are not overcharging customers. This feature could add accountability to hotels that are overcharging their customers during weekends.
The pricing model of HPA is the same as regular search campaigns and runs on a cost-per-click basis. If the advertiser's price within the drop down menu is not clicked, they don't pay for the viewing of that price.
X can be any percentage and can be changed to increase your bid for better positioning within the drop down menu.
The most important thing to remember is that the advertiser can only outbid those who are offering the same price. If the advertiser rate is $105 and a competitor's rate is $103, the advertiser cannot out bid them. The advertiser would have to decrease their rate to $103 to outbid them.
Hotel prices for up to 180 days of room availability & 1-14 nights of stay
Default: cache of Google is 90 days of room availability and 1-7 nights of stay for each property
Ranking Factor: 3
However, Google does tend to prioritize hotels that have taken ownership of their Google+ pages
Ranking Factor: 4
Surprisingly enough, there are a handful of hotels in every city that do not have any pictures associated with their account. In this case, Evergreen Motel does actually have a few pictures on OTAs but none on their Google+ Local profile, which is the main source of pictures for Hotel Finder and VFM Leonardo, a travel & hospitality tech company.
Source of the images to be discussed later
Ranking Factor: 4
Verify your business
GO
There are several fields to fill out when creating or editing and some of them may not seem like they are really necessary. Google wants to give users the best experience possible; in most circumstances the user will have a better experience if there is more information present on the Places page. This means not only filling out the required text fields but also the optional ones:
97% of consumers search for local businesses online. Your local Google+ page connects you with customers on Search, Maps and Google+, no matter what device they are using.
Studies show that we are ready to pay the price for more entertainment: people seem not to be bothered by losing time while multimedia is loading. Also, the studies shows people will likely buy after being part of more multimedia experiences.
Eye-catcher
Looking at a billboard supposed to be love at first sight
´How Google judge pictures as quality
–travel & hospitality tech company
You would not like your hotel to show up like this
You would not like your hotel to show up like this
This HUGE focus on images means you NEED to be sure you've got solid images that draw people to your business. As mentioned above, these images are mostly pulled from your Google listing so manage them there.
The thing to remember now is that People handle images FAR differently than they do text and don't mind scrolling. This change in the search results is BIGGER than it seems at first. Don't be surprised when lower ranked search results get more click throughs due to the carousel.