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Intro to Digital Strategy
@capacityint
Market Smarter!
Capacity Interactive helps arts
organizations use interactive tools
to engage audiences, build
community, and
Many arts organizations are not
investing enough in digital
media or infrastructure
Time Spent with Medium
Source: eMarketer 2015
0:00
1:12
2:24
3:36
4:48
6:00
2011 2012 2013 2014 2015
Digital
TV
Print
Radio
Outdoor
Source: eMarketer
US Total Ad Spending by Medium
Estimated
source:   Accenture   Interactive   CMO  Study  for  AdWeek   July  1,  2014
56%of arts orgs spent
under 20% of ad
budget on digital
Capacity Interactive Digital Marketing Benchmark Study 2014
40%
spent under 15%
Time Spent with Medium
Source: eMarketer
64%
turn to the
Internet for arts
information
Google/Ipsos MediaCT, Ticketing Study, March 10–21, 2014.
75%
Users go to
the internet first
37%
Use the internet during
information gathering
Capacity Interactive Digital Marketing Benchmark Study 2014
52%
of tickets sold
online in 2014
up from 49% in 2013
Capacity Interactive Digital Marketing Benchmark Study 2015
56%
of arts organizations that say they DO NOT
have adequate budget to cover their website
maintenance needs
Time Spent with Medium
Source: eMarketer 2015
0:00
1:12
2:24
3:36
4:48
6:00
2011 2012 2013 2014 2015
Capacity Interactive Digital Marketing Benchmark Study 2014
You Must Become A Media
Company
Fundamental Shift
Strangers
Friends
Customers
Evangelists
Content
Leads / Permission
Permission Based
Communications/
Storytelling
Ticket Sale Delight
Lead Generation
The number of email addresses,
social followers and pixeled users,
has a direct impact on your
ability to communicate, cultivate
and drive actions from
constituents
The Cost of Anything Free
Should ALWAYS
Be An Email Address
Case Study: Ailey Onsale
How did Ailey attain 18% YOY Growth for their NYC On-Sale?
Media spend: under $5,000
Attributable on-line sales:
more than 10x
YOY sales growth: 18%
27,000 new email addresses
Social Media
Content
Digital Advertising
81%
of US Internet
Users are on Facebook
29%
Pinterest
36%
Twitter
34%
Instagram
2015 comscore Digital Future in Focus report
87%
18-29
73%
30-49
63%
50-64
MediaBistro, Pew
56%
65+
% of Internet Users on Facebook
1 million
Jacob’s Pillow
Facebook
Organic Reach
Last Week
2014 Pew Research report
680,000
New York Times
Weekday
Print Circulation
üYou Must Connect
üBeing Boring is a Sin
üVisualize Everything
Being Topical Increases
Relevance and Makes
Connections
Facebook advertising is a near perfect medium for
arts organizations
$3,000
Media Investment
$25,000
Ticket Sales
737%
ROI
Friends of Fans
Interest
Targeting
Lookalikes
Fans ,
Remarketing
&
CRM
Acquisition
Nearest & Dearest
Impressions
1.1 million
1.4 million
Clicks
2,000
.2% CTR
27,000
2% CTR
Conversions
65
$12,000 Revenue
128
$23,000 Revenue
-33%
ROI
360%
ROI
Cost
$18,000
$5,000
Plus with Facebook you get:
89,000 Likes, Comments, Shares
1,600 Page Likes
online
Display
Use data to target ticket buyers across the web and
across devices
$4,000
Media Investment
$33,000
Ticket Sales
725%
ROI
Search Engine
Marketing
Video
Case Study: Boston Ballet
60
days
Concept to Filming
75
days
Filming to Posting
Timeline
8.4k
New Facebook Fans
79.6k
Pixeled Users
Return was measured in permission-based leads
attributed to video
Then
100% Buy Media
Now
Create Content
Promote Content
Buy Media
Your Marketing Budget
89 million people in
the United States are going to
watch 1.2 billion
online videos today.
Source: Comscore
In a typical day, 98% of
18-to-34-year-olds
report using smartphones to
watch video.
Source: http://www.adweek.com/news/technology/65-facebooks-video-views-are-mobile-devices-162214
Performing Arts ticket buyers
watch 5 million
YouTube videos every
month.
Source: Google Internal
More than half of U.S.
users who visit Facebook daily
watch at least one video.
Source: http://www.adweek.com/news/technology/65-facebooks-video-views-are-mobile-devices-162214
More than half of
YouTube views and 2/3rds
of Facebook video views are on a
mobile device
Source: http://www.adweek.com/news/technology/65-facebooks-video-views-are-mobile-devices-162214
45%
Think more favorably
about a show
68%
Influences a purchase
Online Video Influences Behavior
Google/Ipsos MediaCT, Ticketing Study, 2014.
Source: Google
68%
Of YouTube users say it is a
place to celebrate creativity
$4,000
Media Investment
$31,000
Ticket Sales
637%
ROI
Put money behind your video to
boost reach…
$3,000
Media Investment
$25,000
Ticket Sales
737%
ROI
Already showed how this works
on Facebook
The content of your videos
should be as compelling as the
work you put on your stage
Inspire?
Does it
Entertain?
Does it
Educate?
Does it
If the answer to any is NO, don't produce it.
88%
Saw increase in
conversion when
video added to
product pages
50%
AOV is higher for
those that watch
videos
Video Drives Conversion and
Higher AOV
Source: Liveclicker Study
Taking the Fear Out of
Google Analytics
facebook.com/capacityinteractive
@capacityint
This Morning
• Where Are You Now?
– Common frustrations
– Focus is the way out
• Preparing for Your Journey
– How good is your data?
– Where do you access it?
– Hidden GA treasures
• Roadmap: Setup and Data Usage
– What can you do next week?
– What is possible in three months?
– What should you plan for your next fiscal year?
Capacity Interactive Digital Marketing Benchmark Study 2014
90%of arts organizations feel
like they aren’t using
Google Analytics to its
full potential
I don’t know what to ask or where to start.
How am I supposed to make sense of this?
Why can’t I see sales data?
Why are my ads performing so poorly?
Hey Girl –
Keep calm.
Grab some
peanut M&M’s.
I’ve got this.
How is your website
performing?
Reality check:
You have one primary
site objective
Drive ticket/admission
sales and revenue
Focus on Key Performance Indicators that measure
ticket sales and revenue.
KPIs
• Site sessions
• Ecommerce conversion rate
• Average order value (AOV)
• Tickets sold
• Bounce rate
Secondary Metrics
• Avg. ticket sales price
• Avg. tickets per order
• Event detail pageviews per visit
• Video view rate
• Tap to call
Use dashboards to monitor those KPIs in a
consistent and automated view.
You can also analyze KPIs for key segments.
% of Site Sessions
0%
10%
20%
30%
40%
50%
60%
70%
80%
90%
100%
Jan-12
Apr-12
Jul-12
Oct-12
Jan-13
Apr-13
Jul-13
Oct-13
Jan-14
Apr-14
Jul-14
Oct-14
Jan-15
Apr-15
Desktop Mobile Tablet
5.4%
0.6%
3.0%
0.0%
1.0%
2.0%
3.0%
4.0%
5.0%
6.0%
Conversion Rate
Desktop Mobile Tablet
How can you extract
more value out of
Google Analytics?
What do people do when
they get to the site?
How can I use GA
to market smarter?
We learn something
and take action.
Check yourself!
Ooooh! My bounce rate is so low. I’m amazing!
35%
5%
Why is my bounce rate so high? Am I that bad a
marketer?
www.blumenthalarts.org
Main Site
tix.carolinatix.org
Ticketing Site
77% “Bounce” Rate!
0% Campaign Conversion Rate!
And about that bounce rate…
Did you know that GA can provide key
demographics of your site visitors?
But first, turn it on.
You can also see traffic and conversions based on
users location.
We can use any of these fields (or others) to create
custom user segments.
Which ballets on my site are of most interest to
women who are new visitors?
Is your Grant Account dating your Analytics?
Let’s introduce them.
Okay. Trick it out.
There are four primary methods for tracking
behavior in Google Analytics
Pageview
Tracking
Tag
Ecommerce
Integration
Advertising
Campaign
UTMs
Event
Tracking
High Effort
High Value
Pageview Tracking Tag
Pageview
Tracking
Tag
Ecommerce
Integration
Campaign
UTMs
Event
Tracking
Ecommerce Integration
Pageview
Tracking
Tag
Ecommerce
Integration
Campaign
UTMs
Event
Tracking
What tactics and traffic are driving conversions?
For users that don’t convert, we have high level
behavioral metrics, but use these with caution.
What “other” outcomes are important to you?
Goal Creation: Step 1
Goal Creation: Step 2
Goal Creation: Step 3
Goal Creation: Step 4
Campaign Tracking UTMs
http://www.capacityinteractive.com/ut
m_source=facebook&utm_medium
=social&utm_content=sara-blog
&utm_campaign=bootcamp-promoted
Pageview
Tracking
Tag
Ecommerce
Integration
Campaign
UTMs
Event
Tracking
Source: facebook
Medium: social
Content: sara-blog
Campaign: bootcamp-promoted
Campaign Tracking Worksheet
Google
URL Builder
How do I really analyze my campaign data?
Use goals to analyze the appropriate KPI by
audience segment.
Event Tracking
Pageview
Tracking
Tag
Ecommerce
Integration
Campaign
UTMs
Event
Tracking
Is anyone clicking to watch the trailer on YouTube?
Are people watching your videos? How are the
videos performing?
Are mobile users calling to buy tickets or speak to
your patron office?
We have a carousel on the event detail page – are
users engaging with it?
Is anyone changing tabs to see additional content?
Data for 3.1.15 – 7.15.15
16%
Change Tabs
2%
6%
2%
10%
3%
Resources
Cast and Staff
Multimedia
Seating and Prices
About the Show
Is anyone expanding the accordions?
Page FoldPage Fold
Are users
seeing our
richer content?
Should we add
CTA to bottom
of page?
What are your users searching for, and are they
finding it?
Is anyone changing their screen orientation on a
mobile device?
You should define what to
track based on your needs.
Make your life easier
Yikes. How do I make sense of 24,805 page results?
Group your content!
Create a custom dashboard to monitor KPIs.
Triggered alerts will notify you when KPIs
shift drastically or exceed thresholds.
Annotations can help you remember when
you had that winter storm, or big on sale.
Ok great. Now what?
Roadmap
Next Week Next 3 Months Next Fiscal Year
• Dashboard
o Geography
o Traffic By
Device
o Sessions*
o Bounce Rate*
o Traffic Sources
o Top 10 Landing
Pages w/ Bounce
Rate
• Define interactions to
track (print & circle)
• Campaign UTMs
• Link AdWords &
Email
• Dashboard
o Goals
o Conversion Rate
• Content Groupings
• Demographics
• Define KPIs
• Goals
o Viewed Event
Detail Page
o Viewed Cart
o Order
Confirmation
o Proxy
Conversion
• Dashboard
o Ecommerce
Conversion Rate
o Revenue
o AOV
o Products Sold
o Donations
o Taps to Call
• Events
• Ecommerce
• Cross-Domain
Tracking
*Audit your data
How to use your data for
behavioral analysis
What is really happening on your homepage?
• How many users enter on the Homepage?
% of Entries = Homepage Entries / Total Entries
6,047 / 20,829 = 29% (71% enter elsewhere)
• How many users see the Homepage at any point?
% view Homepage = Homepage Unique Pageviews / Total Sessions
6,476 / 20,829 = 31% (69% never see it!)
• How many of the users that enter elsewhere will see the Homepage?
% Navigate to Homepage = Homepage Navigations / Non-Homepage Entries
(6,476 – 6,047) / (20,829 – 6,047) = 3% (it’s purely an entry page)
Your Homepage is not
as important to users as
it is to you.
What if all your branding,
inspirational, and
promotional content is only
on the homepage?
Final Thoughts.
Data is not just
for Big Business.
We’re marketers,
not statisticians.
This can happen in
your lifetime.
Thank You!
Yosaif Cohain |yosaif@capacityinteractive.com
Erik Gensler |erik@capacityinteractive.com
Christopher Williams| christopher@capacityinteractive.com
facebook.com/capacityinteractive
@capacityint

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