SlideShare a Scribd company logo
1 of 8
Download to read offline
KPIs every travel
business should be
monitoring
When helping our clients design and build management reporting
decks, we always recommend identifying and focussing on a small
number of relevant KPIs. Tracking them by brand or sales channel
and benchmarking against competitors will also provide the most
useful insights. Doing this will help you understand what is driving
your business and performance at a granular level.
Scroll down for five common KPIs used by travel companies.
This will tell you how much you're spending on marketing to generate each booking.
In its simplest form this is calculated as:
Customer Acquisition Cost (CAC) or Cost Per
Acquisition (CPA) (in £)
1
For some channels this is easier to directly calculate than others. For example, with Pay Per Click (PPC) you can track how
many clicks converted into bookings. With media advertising, or events driven campaigns, it can be more difficult to
identify which bookings are attributable (though dynamic phone numbers and unique offer codes can help). But by
tracking total CPA per month, you'll be able to see where there are spikes and if a specific campaign had the desired effect
and generated a proportionate boost in sales.
Example: If you spent £4,000 last month on marketing and you generated 50
bookings, your CAC or CPA is £80.
Marketing costs
Number of bookings
Gross profit
Marketing costs
Return on marketing spend
(ratio)
2As well as understanding how much you're spending on marketing per booking (CPA or CAC), you'll also want to
understand how much gross profit you're generating for that spend to ensure it’s profitable and money well spent.
This is generally calculated as a ratio i.e:
Looking at this channel by channel will help you to understand where you can generate the most amount of gross profit
or contribution for the marketing budget. An increase in this over time would show that you're deploying your marketing
budget more effectively and generating more gross profit per £ of marketing spend.
Continuing the example on the previous page, if the £4,000 of
marketing spend generated £12,000 of gross profit, your return on
marketing spend is 3:1.
Tracking repeat rates will help you understand how loyal your customers are.
Typically, the cost of retaining a customer, for example through a loyalty scheme or repeat booking discount, is cheaper than the costs of
acquiring a new one, so improving this ratio can be a key driver in increasing profitability.
In its simplest form you can calculate this as:
Repeat booking
rates (%)
3
Total number of customers last year
The number of customers booking this year that had also booked last year
There are several different ways to calculate repeat booking rates and often companies will use three- or five-year periods to calculate
repeat booking rates so be careful when making comparisons to others.
Example: If you had 200 bookings last year,
and 20 of those have booked again for this
year, your repeat booking rate would be 10%.
Your repeat booking rate will also vary depending on the type of holiday you offer - repeat booking rates for bespoke, once in a lifetime
holidays may be very different to those that offer a wide range of destinations for more of an annual summer holiday.
More established businesses will also calculate an estimated ‘Life-time value of a customer’ based on repeat booking rates
and the average value of a booking. This may support accepting a higher initial cost per acquisition if retention metrics are
strong.
Conversion
rate (%)
4 This will help you understand how effective your website, app, store and/or call centre is at turning
lookers into bookings.
Again, this would ideally be calculated by each channel using the formula:
x 100
Number of bookings
Number of website sessions, app or store visits or calls to the call centre
To improve this conversion, you should start by looking at the
customer journey and understand what’s stopping customers from
booking, for example how long it takes to run a search or how
many steps there are between clicking on the search button and
the customer payment page.
Example: If you had 10,000 visits to the
website last month and there were 100
bookings, your conversion would be 1%.
5
It's really important to understand your level of customer satisfaction. Higher satisfaction levels can drive higher repeat booking
rates which in turn lowers CPA. One popular way of measuring this is calculating your NPS.
NPS is calculated by carrying out a survey of your customers asking the question: 'On a scale of 0 to 10, how likely is it that you
would recommend our organisation to a friend or colleague?'
Respondents are then classified as follows: Score 0-6: Detractors; Score 7-8: Passives; Score 9-10: Promoters.
The net promoter score is then calculated using the formula:
Net Promoter Score
(NPS)
Example: If you asked 120 customers and they
responded with scores of:
1-6: 25 people
7-8: 55 people
9-10: 40 people
Your NPS would be (40 - 25) / 120 x 100 = 12.5
A score of 70-100 is excellent, 30-70 is great and
0-30 is good. The less said about scores below
zero the better.
(Number of promoters – Number of detractors)
x 100
(Total number of respondents)
thettc.co.uk
info@thettc.co.uk
If you have any questions
about the above or would
like to talk to us about
helping you set up,
benchmark and track the
right KPIs for your business,
please get in touch.

More Related Content

What's hot

Google Ads Bidding Strategy by eLama
Google Ads Bidding Strategy by eLamaGoogle Ads Bidding Strategy by eLama
Google Ads Bidding Strategy by eLamaEthanFoster13
 
How marketing optimization works?
How marketing optimization works?How marketing optimization works?
How marketing optimization works?stuartdrose
 
Using the Marketing Measuring Tape
Using the Marketing Measuring TapeUsing the Marketing Measuring Tape
Using the Marketing Measuring TapeWerkshop Marketing
 
Introducing Sales Campaigns by Freshsales
Introducing Sales Campaigns by Freshsales Introducing Sales Campaigns by Freshsales
Introducing Sales Campaigns by Freshsales Freshsales
 
Optimize & Expand your PPC Campaigns for Profit
Optimize & Expand your PPC Campaigns for ProfitOptimize & Expand your PPC Campaigns for Profit
Optimize & Expand your PPC Campaigns for ProfitAnton Shulke
 
Hotel's Revenue Management Process #6 Session by Dino Leonandri
Hotel's Revenue Management Process #6 Session by Dino LeonandriHotel's Revenue Management Process #6 Session by Dino Leonandri
Hotel's Revenue Management Process #6 Session by Dino LeonandriDINOLEONANDRI
 
Customer Acquisition Cost and Lifetime Value (CAC & LTV)
Customer Acquisition Cost and Lifetime Value (CAC & LTV)Customer Acquisition Cost and Lifetime Value (CAC & LTV)
Customer Acquisition Cost and Lifetime Value (CAC & LTV)Sarah Wilz, M.Ed
 
Paid Search Considerations & Strategies
Paid Search Considerations & StrategiesPaid Search Considerations & Strategies
Paid Search Considerations & StrategiesTanya Ferrell
 
5 tips to boost your PPC results on Google
5 tips to boost your PPC results on Google5 tips to boost your PPC results on Google
5 tips to boost your PPC results on Googlejordensmommy6105
 
LOCALOGY ENGAGE 19: SMBs and KPIs - Sharing Data that Drives Success
LOCALOGY ENGAGE 19: SMBs and KPIs - Sharing Data that Drives SuccessLOCALOGY ENGAGE 19: SMBs and KPIs - Sharing Data that Drives Success
LOCALOGY ENGAGE 19: SMBs and KPIs - Sharing Data that Drives SuccessLocalogy
 
Customer aquisitionandretentionstrategy v3
Customer aquisitionandretentionstrategy v3Customer aquisitionandretentionstrategy v3
Customer aquisitionandretentionstrategy v3Andy Lammers
 
Are You Making These Costly Mistakes in PPC Advertising?
Are You Making These Costly Mistakes in PPC Advertising?Are You Making These Costly Mistakes in PPC Advertising?
Are You Making These Costly Mistakes in PPC Advertising?ProfitInfo.Com
 
LOCALOGY ENGAGE 19: SMBuy-in - Better Onboarding and Engagement - AWeber
LOCALOGY ENGAGE 19: SMBuy-in - Better Onboarding and Engagement - AWeberLOCALOGY ENGAGE 19: SMBuy-in - Better Onboarding and Engagement - AWeber
LOCALOGY ENGAGE 19: SMBuy-in - Better Onboarding and Engagement - AWeberLocalogy
 
15 tactics to acquire customers
15 tactics to acquire customers15 tactics to acquire customers
15 tactics to acquire customersRicardas Montvila
 

What's hot (19)

Google Ads Bidding Strategy by eLama
Google Ads Bidding Strategy by eLamaGoogle Ads Bidding Strategy by eLama
Google Ads Bidding Strategy by eLama
 
How marketing optimization works?
How marketing optimization works?How marketing optimization works?
How marketing optimization works?
 
Using the Marketing Measuring Tape
Using the Marketing Measuring TapeUsing the Marketing Measuring Tape
Using the Marketing Measuring Tape
 
Introducing Sales Campaigns by Freshsales
Introducing Sales Campaigns by Freshsales Introducing Sales Campaigns by Freshsales
Introducing Sales Campaigns by Freshsales
 
Optimize & Expand your PPC Campaigns for Profit
Optimize & Expand your PPC Campaigns for ProfitOptimize & Expand your PPC Campaigns for Profit
Optimize & Expand your PPC Campaigns for Profit
 
Hotel's Revenue Management Process #6 Session by Dino Leonandri
Hotel's Revenue Management Process #6 Session by Dino LeonandriHotel's Revenue Management Process #6 Session by Dino Leonandri
Hotel's Revenue Management Process #6 Session by Dino Leonandri
 
Customer Acquisition Cost and Lifetime Value (CAC & LTV)
Customer Acquisition Cost and Lifetime Value (CAC & LTV)Customer Acquisition Cost and Lifetime Value (CAC & LTV)
Customer Acquisition Cost and Lifetime Value (CAC & LTV)
 
CAC, LTV and more
CAC, LTV and moreCAC, LTV and more
CAC, LTV and more
 
Beating AdWords Bidding [Webinar]
Beating AdWords Bidding [Webinar]Beating AdWords Bidding [Webinar]
Beating AdWords Bidding [Webinar]
 
Paid Search Considerations & Strategies
Paid Search Considerations & StrategiesPaid Search Considerations & Strategies
Paid Search Considerations & Strategies
 
5 tips to boost your PPC results on Google
5 tips to boost your PPC results on Google5 tips to boost your PPC results on Google
5 tips to boost your PPC results on Google
 
LOCALOGY ENGAGE 19: SMBs and KPIs - Sharing Data that Drives Success
LOCALOGY ENGAGE 19: SMBs and KPIs - Sharing Data that Drives SuccessLOCALOGY ENGAGE 19: SMBs and KPIs - Sharing Data that Drives Success
LOCALOGY ENGAGE 19: SMBs and KPIs - Sharing Data that Drives Success
 
Keyword research strategy & tactics for SEM
Keyword research strategy & tactics for SEMKeyword research strategy & tactics for SEM
Keyword research strategy & tactics for SEM
 
Analyzing your key metrics 7 areas final-co
Analyzing your key metrics 7 areas final-coAnalyzing your key metrics 7 areas final-co
Analyzing your key metrics 7 areas final-co
 
"Campaign Attribution Model” by Umair Mohsin, Media Idee
"Campaign Attribution Model” by Umair Mohsin, Media Idee"Campaign Attribution Model” by Umair Mohsin, Media Idee
"Campaign Attribution Model” by Umair Mohsin, Media Idee
 
Customer aquisitionandretentionstrategy v3
Customer aquisitionandretentionstrategy v3Customer aquisitionandretentionstrategy v3
Customer aquisitionandretentionstrategy v3
 
Are You Making These Costly Mistakes in PPC Advertising?
Are You Making These Costly Mistakes in PPC Advertising?Are You Making These Costly Mistakes in PPC Advertising?
Are You Making These Costly Mistakes in PPC Advertising?
 
LOCALOGY ENGAGE 19: SMBuy-in - Better Onboarding and Engagement - AWeber
LOCALOGY ENGAGE 19: SMBuy-in - Better Onboarding and Engagement - AWeberLOCALOGY ENGAGE 19: SMBuy-in - Better Onboarding and Engagement - AWeber
LOCALOGY ENGAGE 19: SMBuy-in - Better Onboarding and Engagement - AWeber
 
15 tactics to acquire customers
15 tactics to acquire customers15 tactics to acquire customers
15 tactics to acquire customers
 

Similar to 5 kp is every travel business should be monitoring

7 aftel- customer success development strategy
7 aftel- customer success development strategy7 aftel- customer success development strategy
7 aftel- customer success development strategyNizamuddine Muslih
 
8 Top Digital Marketing Metrics To Track
8 Top Digital Marketing Metrics To Track8 Top Digital Marketing Metrics To Track
8 Top Digital Marketing Metrics To TrackBMN Infotech
 
Thirty two performance metrics used by startups (KPIs)
Thirty two performance metrics used by startups (KPIs)Thirty two performance metrics used by startups (KPIs)
Thirty two performance metrics used by startups (KPIs)Pranav Joshi
 
11 Game-Changing Sales Metrics & How/When to Use Them
11 Game-Changing Sales Metrics & How/When to Use Them 11 Game-Changing Sales Metrics & How/When to Use Them
11 Game-Changing Sales Metrics & How/When to Use Them QuekelsBaro
 
5 metrics to strengthen your multichannel sales strategy
5 metrics to strengthen your multichannel sales strategy5 metrics to strengthen your multichannel sales strategy
5 metrics to strengthen your multichannel sales strategydevin simon
 
10 important marketing metrics by eLama
10 important marketing metrics by eLama10 important marketing metrics by eLama
10 important marketing metrics by eLamaEthanFoster13
 
Key performance indicators in retail
Key performance indicators in retailKey performance indicators in retail
Key performance indicators in retailNiraj Patel
 
Top metrics to drive customer experience for your cannabis business
Top metrics to drive customer experience for your cannabis businessTop metrics to drive customer experience for your cannabis business
Top metrics to drive customer experience for your cannabis businessNetworkON
 
Introducing Smart Targets - SMX London 2020
Introducing Smart Targets - SMX London 2020Introducing Smart Targets - SMX London 2020
Introducing Smart Targets - SMX London 2020Wijnand Meijer
 
The essential equations every marketer needs to know
The essential equations every marketer needs to knowThe essential equations every marketer needs to know
The essential equations every marketer needs to knowemfluence
 
The 6 Marketing Metrics Your Boss Actually Cares About
The 6 Marketing Metrics Your Boss Actually Cares AboutThe 6 Marketing Metrics Your Boss Actually Cares About
The 6 Marketing Metrics Your Boss Actually Cares AboutClearPivot
 
15 Key Metrics Every E-commerce Business Should Track
15 Key Metrics Every E-commerce Business Should Track15 Key Metrics Every E-commerce Business Should Track
15 Key Metrics Every E-commerce Business Should TrackPromptCloud
 
A Simple Guide to Marketing ROI
A Simple Guide to Marketing ROIA Simple Guide to Marketing ROI
A Simple Guide to Marketing ROILeilani Price
 
How to use LTV predictions in Marketing Campaigns?
How to use LTV predictions in Marketing Campaigns?How to use LTV predictions in Marketing Campaigns?
How to use LTV predictions in Marketing Campaigns?Addepto
 
Decoding the KPI Kaleidoscope with Sandfox Advisors
Decoding the KPI Kaleidoscope with Sandfox AdvisorsDecoding the KPI Kaleidoscope with Sandfox Advisors
Decoding the KPI Kaleidoscope with Sandfox Advisorssaastr
 
ROI for Optimal Lead Quality for B2B Demand Gen
ROI for Optimal Lead Quality for B2B Demand GenROI for Optimal Lead Quality for B2B Demand Gen
ROI for Optimal Lead Quality for B2B Demand GenAsad Haroon
 

Similar to 5 kp is every travel business should be monitoring (20)

7 aftel- customer success development strategy
7 aftel- customer success development strategy7 aftel- customer success development strategy
7 aftel- customer success development strategy
 
8 Top Digital Marketing Metrics To Track
8 Top Digital Marketing Metrics To Track8 Top Digital Marketing Metrics To Track
8 Top Digital Marketing Metrics To Track
 
Thirty two performance metrics used by startups (KPIs)
Thirty two performance metrics used by startups (KPIs)Thirty two performance metrics used by startups (KPIs)
Thirty two performance metrics used by startups (KPIs)
 
11 Game-Changing Sales Metrics & How/When to Use Them
11 Game-Changing Sales Metrics & How/When to Use Them 11 Game-Changing Sales Metrics & How/When to Use Them
11 Game-Changing Sales Metrics & How/When to Use Them
 
5 metrics to strengthen your multichannel sales strategy
5 metrics to strengthen your multichannel sales strategy5 metrics to strengthen your multichannel sales strategy
5 metrics to strengthen your multichannel sales strategy
 
Proving ROI on Customer Experience | McorpCX
Proving ROI on Customer Experience | McorpCXProving ROI on Customer Experience | McorpCX
Proving ROI on Customer Experience | McorpCX
 
10 important marketing metrics by eLama
10 important marketing metrics by eLama10 important marketing metrics by eLama
10 important marketing metrics by eLama
 
Key performance indicators in retail
Key performance indicators in retailKey performance indicators in retail
Key performance indicators in retail
 
mordern marketing metrics.pptx
mordern marketing metrics.pptxmordern marketing metrics.pptx
mordern marketing metrics.pptx
 
Top metrics to drive customer experience for your cannabis business
Top metrics to drive customer experience for your cannabis businessTop metrics to drive customer experience for your cannabis business
Top metrics to drive customer experience for your cannabis business
 
Introducing Smart Targets - SMX London 2020
Introducing Smart Targets - SMX London 2020Introducing Smart Targets - SMX London 2020
Introducing Smart Targets - SMX London 2020
 
The essential equations every marketer needs to know
The essential equations every marketer needs to knowThe essential equations every marketer needs to know
The essential equations every marketer needs to know
 
The 6 Marketing Metrics Your Boss Actually Cares About
The 6 Marketing Metrics Your Boss Actually Cares AboutThe 6 Marketing Metrics Your Boss Actually Cares About
The 6 Marketing Metrics Your Boss Actually Cares About
 
Marketing dictionary
Marketing dictionaryMarketing dictionary
Marketing dictionary
 
15 Key Metrics Every E-commerce Business Should Track
15 Key Metrics Every E-commerce Business Should Track15 Key Metrics Every E-commerce Business Should Track
15 Key Metrics Every E-commerce Business Should Track
 
A Simple Guide to Marketing ROI
A Simple Guide to Marketing ROIA Simple Guide to Marketing ROI
A Simple Guide to Marketing ROI
 
How to use LTV predictions in Marketing Campaigns?
How to use LTV predictions in Marketing Campaigns?How to use LTV predictions in Marketing Campaigns?
How to use LTV predictions in Marketing Campaigns?
 
Decoding the KPI Kaleidoscope with Sandfox Advisors
Decoding the KPI Kaleidoscope with Sandfox AdvisorsDecoding the KPI Kaleidoscope with Sandfox Advisors
Decoding the KPI Kaleidoscope with Sandfox Advisors
 
ROI for Optimal Lead Quality for B2B Demand Gen
ROI for Optimal Lead Quality for B2B Demand GenROI for Optimal Lead Quality for B2B Demand Gen
ROI for Optimal Lead Quality for B2B Demand Gen
 
How to optimise your conversation rate?
How to optimise your conversation rate?How to optimise your conversation rate?
How to optimise your conversation rate?
 

More from TTC

5 emerging opportunities for travel businesses
5 emerging opportunities for travel businesses5 emerging opportunities for travel businesses
5 emerging opportunities for travel businessesTTC
 
5 considerations for working with travel agents
5 considerations for working with travel agents5 considerations for working with travel agents
5 considerations for working with travel agentsTTC
 
5 KPIs is every travel business should be monitoring
5 KPIs is every travel business should be monitoring  5 KPIs is every travel business should be monitoring
5 KPIs is every travel business should be monitoring TTC
 
ABTA Travel Matters June 2021
ABTA Travel Matters June 2021ABTA Travel Matters June 2021
ABTA Travel Matters June 2021TTC
 
ABTA Travel Matters
ABTA Travel Matters ABTA Travel Matters
ABTA Travel Matters TTC
 
4 key learnings from the March ATOL renewals
4 key learnings from the March ATOL renewals4 key learnings from the March ATOL renewals
4 key learnings from the March ATOL renewalsTTC
 
30.04.21 refund credit notes updated deadline
30.04.21  refund credit notes updated deadline30.04.21  refund credit notes updated deadline
30.04.21 refund credit notes updated deadlineTTC
 
4 key learnings from the march ATOL renewals
4 key learnings from the march ATOL renewals4 key learnings from the march ATOL renewals
4 key learnings from the march ATOL renewalsTTC
 
4 key learnings from the march atol renewals
4 key learnings from the march atol renewals4 key learnings from the march atol renewals
4 key learnings from the march atol renewalsTTC
 
Analysing the travel landscape in 2021
Analysing the travel landscape in 2021Analysing the travel landscape in 2021
Analysing the travel landscape in 2021TTC
 
Analysing the travel landscape in 2021
Analysing the travel landscape in 2021 Analysing the travel landscape in 2021
Analysing the travel landscape in 2021 TTC
 
ABTA Travel Finance Conference
ABTA Travel Finance ConferenceABTA Travel Finance Conference
ABTA Travel Finance ConferenceTTC
 
Refund Credit Notes
Refund Credit NotesRefund Credit Notes
Refund Credit NotesTTC
 
Refund Credit Notes
Refund Credit NotesRefund Credit Notes
Refund Credit NotesTTC
 
Refund Credit Notes
Refund Credit NotesRefund Credit Notes
Refund Credit NotesTTC
 
Refund Credit Notes
Refund Credit NotesRefund Credit Notes
Refund Credit NotesTTC
 
Observations from the September ATOL renewals
Observations from the September ATOL renewalsObservations from the September ATOL renewals
Observations from the September ATOL renewalsTTC
 
Observations from the September ATOL renewals
Observations from the September ATOL renewals Observations from the September ATOL renewals
Observations from the September ATOL renewals TTC
 
Observations from the September ATOL renewals
Observations from the September ATOL renewals Observations from the September ATOL renewals
Observations from the September ATOL renewals TTC
 
Observations from the September ATOL renewals
Observations from the September ATOL renewalsObservations from the September ATOL renewals
Observations from the September ATOL renewalsTTC
 

More from TTC (20)

5 emerging opportunities for travel businesses
5 emerging opportunities for travel businesses5 emerging opportunities for travel businesses
5 emerging opportunities for travel businesses
 
5 considerations for working with travel agents
5 considerations for working with travel agents5 considerations for working with travel agents
5 considerations for working with travel agents
 
5 KPIs is every travel business should be monitoring
5 KPIs is every travel business should be monitoring  5 KPIs is every travel business should be monitoring
5 KPIs is every travel business should be monitoring
 
ABTA Travel Matters June 2021
ABTA Travel Matters June 2021ABTA Travel Matters June 2021
ABTA Travel Matters June 2021
 
ABTA Travel Matters
ABTA Travel Matters ABTA Travel Matters
ABTA Travel Matters
 
4 key learnings from the March ATOL renewals
4 key learnings from the March ATOL renewals4 key learnings from the March ATOL renewals
4 key learnings from the March ATOL renewals
 
30.04.21 refund credit notes updated deadline
30.04.21  refund credit notes updated deadline30.04.21  refund credit notes updated deadline
30.04.21 refund credit notes updated deadline
 
4 key learnings from the march ATOL renewals
4 key learnings from the march ATOL renewals4 key learnings from the march ATOL renewals
4 key learnings from the march ATOL renewals
 
4 key learnings from the march atol renewals
4 key learnings from the march atol renewals4 key learnings from the march atol renewals
4 key learnings from the march atol renewals
 
Analysing the travel landscape in 2021
Analysing the travel landscape in 2021Analysing the travel landscape in 2021
Analysing the travel landscape in 2021
 
Analysing the travel landscape in 2021
Analysing the travel landscape in 2021 Analysing the travel landscape in 2021
Analysing the travel landscape in 2021
 
ABTA Travel Finance Conference
ABTA Travel Finance ConferenceABTA Travel Finance Conference
ABTA Travel Finance Conference
 
Refund Credit Notes
Refund Credit NotesRefund Credit Notes
Refund Credit Notes
 
Refund Credit Notes
Refund Credit NotesRefund Credit Notes
Refund Credit Notes
 
Refund Credit Notes
Refund Credit NotesRefund Credit Notes
Refund Credit Notes
 
Refund Credit Notes
Refund Credit NotesRefund Credit Notes
Refund Credit Notes
 
Observations from the September ATOL renewals
Observations from the September ATOL renewalsObservations from the September ATOL renewals
Observations from the September ATOL renewals
 
Observations from the September ATOL renewals
Observations from the September ATOL renewals Observations from the September ATOL renewals
Observations from the September ATOL renewals
 
Observations from the September ATOL renewals
Observations from the September ATOL renewals Observations from the September ATOL renewals
Observations from the September ATOL renewals
 
Observations from the September ATOL renewals
Observations from the September ATOL renewalsObservations from the September ATOL renewals
Observations from the September ATOL renewals
 

Recently uploaded

Italia Lucca 1 Un tesoro nascosto tra le sue mura
Italia Lucca 1 Un tesoro nascosto tra le sue muraItalia Lucca 1 Un tesoro nascosto tra le sue mura
Italia Lucca 1 Un tesoro nascosto tra le sue murasandamichaela *
 
Inspirational Quotes About Italy and Food
Inspirational Quotes About Italy and FoodInspirational Quotes About Italy and Food
Inspirational Quotes About Italy and FoodKasia Chojecki
 
Apply Indian E-Visa Process Online (Evisa)
Apply Indian E-Visa Process Online (Evisa)Apply Indian E-Visa Process Online (Evisa)
Apply Indian E-Visa Process Online (Evisa)RanjeetKumar108130
 
VIP Call Girls in Noida 9711199012 Escorts in Greater Noida,Ms
VIP Call Girls in Noida 9711199012 Escorts in Greater Noida,MsVIP Call Girls in Noida 9711199012 Escorts in Greater Noida,Ms
VIP Call Girls in Noida 9711199012 Escorts in Greater Noida,Msankitnayak356677
 
5S - House keeping (Seiri, Seiton, Seiso, Seiketsu, Shitsuke)
5S - House keeping (Seiri, Seiton, Seiso, Seiketsu, Shitsuke)5S - House keeping (Seiri, Seiton, Seiso, Seiketsu, Shitsuke)
5S - House keeping (Seiri, Seiton, Seiso, Seiketsu, Shitsuke)Mazie Garcia
 
Exploring Sicily Your Comprehensive Ebook Travel Guide
Exploring Sicily Your Comprehensive Ebook Travel GuideExploring Sicily Your Comprehensive Ebook Travel Guide
Exploring Sicily Your Comprehensive Ebook Travel GuideTime for Sicily
 
69 Girls ✠ 9599264170 ✠ Call Girls In East Of Kailash (VIP)
69 Girls ✠ 9599264170 ✠ Call Girls In East Of Kailash (VIP)69 Girls ✠ 9599264170 ✠ Call Girls In East Of Kailash (VIP)
69 Girls ✠ 9599264170 ✠ Call Girls In East Of Kailash (VIP)Escort Service
 
"Fly with Ease: Booking Your Flights with Air Europa"
"Fly with Ease: Booking Your Flights with Air Europa""Fly with Ease: Booking Your Flights with Air Europa"
"Fly with Ease: Booking Your Flights with Air Europa"flyn goo
 
Hoi An Ancient Town, Vietnam (越南 會安古鎮).ppsx
Hoi An Ancient Town, Vietnam (越南 會安古鎮).ppsxHoi An Ancient Town, Vietnam (越南 會安古鎮).ppsx
Hoi An Ancient Town, Vietnam (越南 會安古鎮).ppsxChung Yen Chang
 
Haitian culture and stuff and places and food and travel.pptx
Haitian culture and stuff and places and food and travel.pptxHaitian culture and stuff and places and food and travel.pptx
Haitian culture and stuff and places and food and travel.pptxhxhlixia
 
Aeromexico Airlines Flight Name Change Policy
Aeromexico Airlines Flight Name Change PolicyAeromexico Airlines Flight Name Change Policy
Aeromexico Airlines Flight Name Change PolicyFlyFairTravels
 
(8264348440) 🔝 Call Girls In Nand Nagri 🔝 Delhi NCR
(8264348440) 🔝 Call Girls In Nand Nagri 🔝 Delhi NCR(8264348440) 🔝 Call Girls In Nand Nagri 🔝 Delhi NCR
(8264348440) 🔝 Call Girls In Nand Nagri 🔝 Delhi NCRsoniya singh
 
Dubai Call Girls O528786472 Call Girls Dubai Big Juicy
Dubai Call Girls O528786472 Call Girls Dubai Big JuicyDubai Call Girls O528786472 Call Girls Dubai Big Juicy
Dubai Call Girls O528786472 Call Girls Dubai Big Juicyhf8803863
 
Louisville Bourbon Tour Packages
Louisville    Bourbon    Tour    PackagesLouisville    Bourbon    Tour    Packages
Louisville Bourbon Tour Packagestrailntrackus
 
Call Girls In Panjim Mariott Resort ₰8588052666₰ North ...
Call Girls In Panjim Mariott Resort ₰8588052666₰ North ...Call Girls In Panjim Mariott Resort ₰8588052666₰ North ...
Call Girls In Panjim Mariott Resort ₰8588052666₰ North ...nishakur201
 
Revolutionalizing Travel: A VacAI Update
Revolutionalizing Travel: A VacAI UpdateRevolutionalizing Travel: A VacAI Update
Revolutionalizing Travel: A VacAI Updatejoymorrison10
 
question 2: airplane vocabulary presentation
question 2: airplane vocabulary presentationquestion 2: airplane vocabulary presentation
question 2: airplane vocabulary presentationcaminantesdaauga
 
How Safe Is It To Witness Whales In Maui’s Waters
How Safe Is It To Witness Whales In Maui’s WatersHow Safe Is It To Witness Whales In Maui’s Waters
How Safe Is It To Witness Whales In Maui’s WatersMakena Coast Charters
 

Recently uploaded (20)

Italia Lucca 1 Un tesoro nascosto tra le sue mura
Italia Lucca 1 Un tesoro nascosto tra le sue muraItalia Lucca 1 Un tesoro nascosto tra le sue mura
Italia Lucca 1 Un tesoro nascosto tra le sue mura
 
Inspirational Quotes About Italy and Food
Inspirational Quotes About Italy and FoodInspirational Quotes About Italy and Food
Inspirational Quotes About Italy and Food
 
Enjoy ➥8448380779▻ Call Girls In Sector 62 Noida Escorts Delhi NCR
Enjoy ➥8448380779▻ Call Girls In Sector 62 Noida Escorts Delhi NCREnjoy ➥8448380779▻ Call Girls In Sector 62 Noida Escorts Delhi NCR
Enjoy ➥8448380779▻ Call Girls In Sector 62 Noida Escorts Delhi NCR
 
Apply Indian E-Visa Process Online (Evisa)
Apply Indian E-Visa Process Online (Evisa)Apply Indian E-Visa Process Online (Evisa)
Apply Indian E-Visa Process Online (Evisa)
 
VIP Call Girls in Noida 9711199012 Escorts in Greater Noida,Ms
VIP Call Girls in Noida 9711199012 Escorts in Greater Noida,MsVIP Call Girls in Noida 9711199012 Escorts in Greater Noida,Ms
VIP Call Girls in Noida 9711199012 Escorts in Greater Noida,Ms
 
5S - House keeping (Seiri, Seiton, Seiso, Seiketsu, Shitsuke)
5S - House keeping (Seiri, Seiton, Seiso, Seiketsu, Shitsuke)5S - House keeping (Seiri, Seiton, Seiso, Seiketsu, Shitsuke)
5S - House keeping (Seiri, Seiton, Seiso, Seiketsu, Shitsuke)
 
Exploring Sicily Your Comprehensive Ebook Travel Guide
Exploring Sicily Your Comprehensive Ebook Travel GuideExploring Sicily Your Comprehensive Ebook Travel Guide
Exploring Sicily Your Comprehensive Ebook Travel Guide
 
69 Girls ✠ 9599264170 ✠ Call Girls In East Of Kailash (VIP)
69 Girls ✠ 9599264170 ✠ Call Girls In East Of Kailash (VIP)69 Girls ✠ 9599264170 ✠ Call Girls In East Of Kailash (VIP)
69 Girls ✠ 9599264170 ✠ Call Girls In East Of Kailash (VIP)
 
"Fly with Ease: Booking Your Flights with Air Europa"
"Fly with Ease: Booking Your Flights with Air Europa""Fly with Ease: Booking Your Flights with Air Europa"
"Fly with Ease: Booking Your Flights with Air Europa"
 
Hoi An Ancient Town, Vietnam (越南 會安古鎮).ppsx
Hoi An Ancient Town, Vietnam (越南 會安古鎮).ppsxHoi An Ancient Town, Vietnam (越南 會安古鎮).ppsx
Hoi An Ancient Town, Vietnam (越南 會安古鎮).ppsx
 
Haitian culture and stuff and places and food and travel.pptx
Haitian culture and stuff and places and food and travel.pptxHaitian culture and stuff and places and food and travel.pptx
Haitian culture and stuff and places and food and travel.pptx
 
Aeromexico Airlines Flight Name Change Policy
Aeromexico Airlines Flight Name Change PolicyAeromexico Airlines Flight Name Change Policy
Aeromexico Airlines Flight Name Change Policy
 
(8264348440) 🔝 Call Girls In Nand Nagri 🔝 Delhi NCR
(8264348440) 🔝 Call Girls In Nand Nagri 🔝 Delhi NCR(8264348440) 🔝 Call Girls In Nand Nagri 🔝 Delhi NCR
(8264348440) 🔝 Call Girls In Nand Nagri 🔝 Delhi NCR
 
Dubai Call Girls O528786472 Call Girls Dubai Big Juicy
Dubai Call Girls O528786472 Call Girls Dubai Big JuicyDubai Call Girls O528786472 Call Girls Dubai Big Juicy
Dubai Call Girls O528786472 Call Girls Dubai Big Juicy
 
Enjoy ➥8448380779▻ Call Girls In Sector 74 Noida Escorts Delhi NCR
Enjoy ➥8448380779▻ Call Girls In Sector 74 Noida Escorts Delhi NCREnjoy ➥8448380779▻ Call Girls In Sector 74 Noida Escorts Delhi NCR
Enjoy ➥8448380779▻ Call Girls In Sector 74 Noida Escorts Delhi NCR
 
Louisville Bourbon Tour Packages
Louisville    Bourbon    Tour    PackagesLouisville    Bourbon    Tour    Packages
Louisville Bourbon Tour Packages
 
Call Girls In Panjim Mariott Resort ₰8588052666₰ North ...
Call Girls In Panjim Mariott Resort ₰8588052666₰ North ...Call Girls In Panjim Mariott Resort ₰8588052666₰ North ...
Call Girls In Panjim Mariott Resort ₰8588052666₰ North ...
 
Revolutionalizing Travel: A VacAI Update
Revolutionalizing Travel: A VacAI UpdateRevolutionalizing Travel: A VacAI Update
Revolutionalizing Travel: A VacAI Update
 
question 2: airplane vocabulary presentation
question 2: airplane vocabulary presentationquestion 2: airplane vocabulary presentation
question 2: airplane vocabulary presentation
 
How Safe Is It To Witness Whales In Maui’s Waters
How Safe Is It To Witness Whales In Maui’s WatersHow Safe Is It To Witness Whales In Maui’s Waters
How Safe Is It To Witness Whales In Maui’s Waters
 

5 kp is every travel business should be monitoring

  • 1. KPIs every travel business should be monitoring
  • 2. When helping our clients design and build management reporting decks, we always recommend identifying and focussing on a small number of relevant KPIs. Tracking them by brand or sales channel and benchmarking against competitors will also provide the most useful insights. Doing this will help you understand what is driving your business and performance at a granular level. Scroll down for five common KPIs used by travel companies.
  • 3. This will tell you how much you're spending on marketing to generate each booking. In its simplest form this is calculated as: Customer Acquisition Cost (CAC) or Cost Per Acquisition (CPA) (in £) 1 For some channels this is easier to directly calculate than others. For example, with Pay Per Click (PPC) you can track how many clicks converted into bookings. With media advertising, or events driven campaigns, it can be more difficult to identify which bookings are attributable (though dynamic phone numbers and unique offer codes can help). But by tracking total CPA per month, you'll be able to see where there are spikes and if a specific campaign had the desired effect and generated a proportionate boost in sales. Example: If you spent £4,000 last month on marketing and you generated 50 bookings, your CAC or CPA is £80. Marketing costs Number of bookings
  • 4. Gross profit Marketing costs Return on marketing spend (ratio) 2As well as understanding how much you're spending on marketing per booking (CPA or CAC), you'll also want to understand how much gross profit you're generating for that spend to ensure it’s profitable and money well spent. This is generally calculated as a ratio i.e: Looking at this channel by channel will help you to understand where you can generate the most amount of gross profit or contribution for the marketing budget. An increase in this over time would show that you're deploying your marketing budget more effectively and generating more gross profit per £ of marketing spend. Continuing the example on the previous page, if the £4,000 of marketing spend generated £12,000 of gross profit, your return on marketing spend is 3:1.
  • 5. Tracking repeat rates will help you understand how loyal your customers are. Typically, the cost of retaining a customer, for example through a loyalty scheme or repeat booking discount, is cheaper than the costs of acquiring a new one, so improving this ratio can be a key driver in increasing profitability. In its simplest form you can calculate this as: Repeat booking rates (%) 3 Total number of customers last year The number of customers booking this year that had also booked last year There are several different ways to calculate repeat booking rates and often companies will use three- or five-year periods to calculate repeat booking rates so be careful when making comparisons to others. Example: If you had 200 bookings last year, and 20 of those have booked again for this year, your repeat booking rate would be 10%. Your repeat booking rate will also vary depending on the type of holiday you offer - repeat booking rates for bespoke, once in a lifetime holidays may be very different to those that offer a wide range of destinations for more of an annual summer holiday. More established businesses will also calculate an estimated ‘Life-time value of a customer’ based on repeat booking rates and the average value of a booking. This may support accepting a higher initial cost per acquisition if retention metrics are strong.
  • 6. Conversion rate (%) 4 This will help you understand how effective your website, app, store and/or call centre is at turning lookers into bookings. Again, this would ideally be calculated by each channel using the formula: x 100 Number of bookings Number of website sessions, app or store visits or calls to the call centre To improve this conversion, you should start by looking at the customer journey and understand what’s stopping customers from booking, for example how long it takes to run a search or how many steps there are between clicking on the search button and the customer payment page. Example: If you had 10,000 visits to the website last month and there were 100 bookings, your conversion would be 1%.
  • 7. 5 It's really important to understand your level of customer satisfaction. Higher satisfaction levels can drive higher repeat booking rates which in turn lowers CPA. One popular way of measuring this is calculating your NPS. NPS is calculated by carrying out a survey of your customers asking the question: 'On a scale of 0 to 10, how likely is it that you would recommend our organisation to a friend or colleague?' Respondents are then classified as follows: Score 0-6: Detractors; Score 7-8: Passives; Score 9-10: Promoters. The net promoter score is then calculated using the formula: Net Promoter Score (NPS) Example: If you asked 120 customers and they responded with scores of: 1-6: 25 people 7-8: 55 people 9-10: 40 people Your NPS would be (40 - 25) / 120 x 100 = 12.5 A score of 70-100 is excellent, 30-70 is great and 0-30 is good. The less said about scores below zero the better. (Number of promoters – Number of detractors) x 100 (Total number of respondents)
  • 8. thettc.co.uk info@thettc.co.uk If you have any questions about the above or would like to talk to us about helping you set up, benchmark and track the right KPIs for your business, please get in touch.