Successfully reported this slideshow.
We use your LinkedIn profile and activity data to personalize ads and to show you more relevant ads. You can change your ad preferences anytime.

Berkeley Business Plan Competition

930 views

Published on

  • Get access to 16,000 woodworking plans, Download 50 FREE Plans... ◆◆◆ http://ishbv.com/tedsplans/pdf
       Reply 
    Are you sure you want to  Yes  No
    Your message goes here
  • Want to preview some of our plans? You can get 50 Woodworking Plans and a 440-Page "The Art of Woodworking" Book... Absolutely FREE ♣♣♣ http://ishbv.com/tedsplans/pdf
       Reply 
    Are you sure you want to  Yes  No
    Your message goes here
  • Get access to 16,000 woodworking plans, Download 50 FREE Plans... ■■■ http://tinyurl.com/y3hc8gpw
       Reply 
    Are you sure you want to  Yes  No
    Your message goes here
  • The #1 Woodworking Resource With Over 16,000 Plans, Download 50 FREE Plans... ★★★ http://tinyurl.com/y3hc8gpw
       Reply 
    Are you sure you want to  Yes  No
    Your message goes here
  • Be the first to like this

Berkeley Business Plan Competition

  1. 1. 2010/11 Information Session<br />
  2. 2. Competition Overview<br />“The Marquee Entrepreneurship Event At Berkeley”<br />History and Mission:<br /> Student-run organization founded in 1999. The competition provides entrepreneurs with the best possible resources to help convert ideas into reality.<br />Support:<br />Entirely funded by the generosity of Corporate Donors and Venture Capitalists<br />Judging:<br /> Three rounds of judging performed by a panel of venture capital firms and select professionals.<br /><ul><li>Executive Summary Round – January, 2011
  3. 3. Semi-Final Round (Private in tracks) – Late April, 2011
  4. 4. Final Round (Public), Late April, 2011</li></ul>Prizes:<br /><ul><li>3 track runners-up (semis) - $1,000 each
  5. 5. 3 track winners (semis) - $5,000 each
  6. 6. Grand Prize Winner (finals) - $20,000
  7. 7. People’s Choice Award (finals) - $5,000
  8. 8. 1-MinuteElevator pitch Award (finals) - $1,000</li></li></ul><li>2010 Competition Highlights<br /><ul><li>Grand Prize: Orpheus Medical
  9. 9. IT & Web Track Winner: Bidwave
  10. 10. Life Sciences Track Winner: Orpheus Medical
  11. 11. Products and Services Track Winner: BrightSense
  12. 12. People’s Choice Award: BrightSense
  13. 13. Elevator Pitch Winner: Emiscape</li></li></ul><li>2009/10 was the most competitive year on record for the BPlan competition<br />
  14. 14. 2010 Sponsors<br />
  15. 15. 2010 Executive Committee<br />
  16. 16. BPlan Committees<br />Co-Chairs<br />The co-chairs oversee the executive committee and are the public and voice face of the competition.<br />Responsibilities<br /><ul><li> Establish the vision for the competition
  17. 17. Plan agenda and run weekly Executive Committee meetings
  18. 18. Set team milestones and ensure we are tracking against plan
  19. 19. Host and lead presentations at mixers, judging events and public finals
  20. 20. Coordinate with Lester Center and other student organizations (EA, GSVC, etc.)
  21. 21. Moderate and introduce speakers at “Entrepreneurial Best Practices Series”
  22. 22. As a member of the executive team, this is a year-long commitment. </li></ul>Parkin Kent: parkin_kent@mba.berkeley.edu<br />Richard Kenny: richard_kenny@mba.berkeley.edu<br />
  23. 23. BPlan Committees<br />Judging & Sponsorship<br />The judging and sponsorship committee works with venture capital and professional communities to raise money to fund and judge the competition. <br />Responsibilities<br /><ul><li>Manage existing relationships with past sponsors and cultivate new sponsors.
  24. 24. Raise $80,000+ to fund operations of competition and prize money, i.e. sales.
  25. 25. Recruit judges for all phases of the competition and other related events.
  26. 26. Coordinate logistics with the all judges during the semi-final and final judging rounds, working closely with the Lester Center.
  27. 27. Great exposure to the VC and professional communities in the Bay Area
  28. 28. As a member of the executive team, this is a year-long and significant commitment. </li></ul>Steve Neebe: steven_neebe@mba.berkeley.edu<br />Justin Owen: justin_owen@mba.berkeley.edu<br />Brooks Kincaid: brooks_kincaid@mba.berkeley.edu<br />David Carlson: david_carlson@mba.berkeley.edu<br />
  29. 29. BPlan Committees<br />Mentorship & Events<br />The Mentorship and Events committee’s primary responsibility is to enhance the entrepreneurial learning experience for entrants.  <br />Responsibilities:<br /><ul><li>Recruit successful entrepreneurs from around the Bay Area to serve as mentors for the competition’s semifinalist teams
  30. 30. Organize and run workshops and mixers for entrants
  31. 31. Collaborate with EA Pitch Lab to develop opportunities to help participants hone their pitches
  32. 32. As a member of the executive team, this is a year-long commitment </li></ul>Laura Unger: laura_unger@mba.berkeley.edu<br />Dan Parker: dan_parker@mba.berkeley.edu<br />Guillaume Fallou: guillaume_fallou@mba.berkeley.edu<br />
  33. 33. BPlan Committees<br />Marketing & Outreach<br />Responsible for positioning the competition to maximize the number and quality of our entrants, and garnering external press to elevate the profile of BPlan<br />Responsibilities:<br /><ul><li> Develop and execute against year-long marketing plan
  34. 34. Reach out to the UC Berkeley and UCSF communities and schools
  35. 35. Increase awareness of Competition within Haas, the UC Berkeley campus,</li></ul> and the Bay Area via Creatives (e-mails, flyers, videos, etc…)<br /><ul><li>Engage with PR community
  36. 36. Manage the business plan website and online competition platform
  37. 37. As a member of the executive team, this is a year-long commitment. </li></ul>Kandra Chan: kandra_chan@mba.berkeley.edu<br />Sarah Cooper: sarah_cooper@mba.berkeley.edu<br />Everett Leonidas: everett_leonidas@mba.berkeley.edu<br />
  38. 38. Example marcom initiatives<br />
  39. 39. BPlan Committee Applications<br />Process:<br />Join the Bplan community on younoodle<br />Submit 1 page applications by Monday, September 20 at 9AM<br /><ul><li> Applications should include a 1 page Statement of Purposeper person (or group) and a Haas resume for each person
  40. 40. Applications should be submitted to bplan@haas.berkeley.edu
  41. 41. Please highlight whether you wish to be considered for other committees if you are not successful and your order of preference</li></ul>Interviews will be held over the following week<br />The 2010 Executive Committee will be announced on late in the week of 9/20<br />Please contact any of us with questions!<br />Good luck!<br />
  42. 42. Where to find more information<br />UC Berkeley Business Plan Competition Website: bplan.berkeley.edu<br />Bplan community: http://younoodle.com/groups/berkeley_bplan<br />Lester Center: Kirsten Berzon: berzon@haas.berkeley.edu<br />These slides will be posted to younoodle (see above)<br />
  43. 43. Good luck!<br />

×