How to make Paid Search (Google AdWords) work for your business. Learn how here, if you would like more information or for us to talk your through this presentation, just get in touch 01244 458 285
How to make paid search (google ad words) work for your business
1. 14 March, 2019
Thursday, 14 March 2019
How to make Paid Search
(Google AdWords) work
for your business.
1
2. 14 March, 2019 2
Chris Williams – Marketing Director
About Me
Tom Lilliston – PPC Account Director
3. Before you spend a penny
on Pay-Per-Click
• What is your Customer Lifetime value CLV?
• What are you willing to pay to land a new
customer?
• How many enquires/leads does it take to close a
sale?
• What is the max £ you have to pay for each
enquiry/lead?
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4. Before you spend a penny
on Pay-Per-Click
• What is your Customer Lifetime value CLV? £500
• What are you willing to pay to land a new
customer? £100
• How many enquires/leads does it take to close a
sale? 4
• What is the max £ you have to pay for
each enquiry/lead? £100 / 4 = £25
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5. What is Cost Per Acquisition?
(CPA)
CPA = Cost / Conversions
Ad spend = £500
Enquiries/Leads/Conversions = 20
CPA = £500/20 = £25
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6. Formula # 1:
Set CPC bid to hit your CPA target
Now we know the CPA what the maximum is we
are willing to pay for a click?
Cost Per Click (CPC) = Target CPA x Conversion Rate
Max Cost Per Click = Average Order Value x Conversion
Rate
N.B Be careful to add costs to produce and delivery
costs etc
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20. Choosing your Keywords
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• Keywords are what you pay for
• Understand the keywords your ideal prospects are typing into
Google
• Choose keywords relevant to your products/services
• Seemingly small difference in keywords can have a huge impact
• Just starting out? Specific, high purchase intent keywords (5-10)
• Two ways to generate keywords:
(1) Google Keyword Planner
(2) Competitor Spy Tools
21. (1) Google Keyword Planner
• Free to use
• Keyword identification and expansion
• Search volumes
• Broad indication of top of page 1 bid
• Work out ROI using benchmark
conversion rates
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25. Narrowing Down Keywords
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• Start to cull low quality/purchase intent keywords.
• Aim to be left with 10 high purchase intent
keywords per product/service.
• Keep an eye on search volumes, don’t want 10
keywords that are super relevant but have little/to
volume
27. Campaign, Ad Group, Keywords, Ads
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Campaign
Ad Group
Ads Ads
• Don’t just lump your keywords into a campaign and go
• Ensure keywords have the best chance of success
• Beginner structure is to organize by your website
• Group keywords by theme i.e. product type/brand
• Example shown - shoe retailer
• Help tailor your ad copy to your keyword
28. Keyword Match Types
• Assign a match type
• Determine search query ad
• 4 different match types
Tip - Exact and Broad Match
Modifier to begin with
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E
Phrase
Broad Matched Modified
Broad Matched
Targeting
Exact
Match
29. 14 March, 2019 29
MATCH TYPE SPECIAL SYMBOL
EXAMPLE
KEYWORD
ADS MAY SHOW ON
SEARCHES THAT
EXAMPLE
SEARCHES
Broad Match none women’s hats
includes misspelling,
synonyms, related searches,
and other relevant
variations
buy ladies hats
Broad Match
Modifier
+keyword
+women’s
+hat
contain the modified term
(or closer variations, but not
synonyms), in any order
hats for women
Phrase Match “keyword” “women’s hats”
are a phrase, and close
variations of that phrase
buy women’s hats
Exact Match [keyword] [women’s hat]
are an exact term and close
variations of that exact term
women’s hat
30. Negative keywords
• Words or phrases that you don’t want your
ads to show for
• Two ways to determine negative keywords.
• (1) Pre-live - Proactive
• (2) Post-live - Search query report
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32. Writing Effective Ads is Crucial
• Ad copy determines level of engagement.
• Best opportunity to sell your brands unique features, especially if
other companies sell the same product.
• A search ad consists of …
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33. Approach to Writing PPC Ads
3333
• Users have a need/desire/problem they need
solving.
• What information is most likely to engage the
user?
- A special offer?
- A unique way to solve their problem?
- A free report or download?
- Some other benefit you can offer?
34. Tips for Writing Effective PPC Ads
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• Know your goal, and ask users to take that action
• Include your keywords in your ad copy
• Ask a question rather than make a statement
• Let users know your local – cities, towns, local landmarks
etc.
• Be timely if possible – reference events, news etc.
• Use numbers to break up text if relevant i.e. Price from…
• Focus on 1 or 2 key benefits
• Tell the truth, click bait is a waste of budget
35. Importance of Ad Copy Testing
• Easily test ad copy variations
• Be crystal clear what messages your prospects respond
best to
• Test, compare, roll out. Repeat for significant
improvements in results
• Create the different ad versions - Google will test them
and report back
Tip – Common ad copy test structure
(A) Product/service benefits
(B) Specification and technical info
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Vs.
37. Ad Extensions
• Extra information that can be shown with your ads
• More room for you, less for your competition
• Site Links, Location and Call Extension
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38. Setting up a Sitelink Extension
Additional links that appear under your Ad
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39. Setting up a Call Extension
• Interested in getting prospects to call?
• Displays a phone number along with
your ad
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40. Setting up a Location Extension
Useful if you want to highlight your
location
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41. Importance of Quality Score
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10 Discount by 50.00%
9 Discount by 44.20%
8 Discount by 37.50%
7 Discount by 28.60%
6 Discount by 16.70%
5 Google Benchmark
4 Discount by 25.00%
3 Discount by 67.30%
2 Discount by 150.00%
1 Discount by 400.00%
{
}
Relevance
Landing
Page
Experience
Click Thru
Rate
Quality Score
• Include your keyword/s in both your ad copy and landing page as much as possible
• Set-up at least two ad extensions to improve your ads expected click through rate
• Ensure your landing page user experience is optimised on both mobile and desktop
You
Save
You
Pay
43. PPC Landing Page Tips
• Limit the number of actions on the landing
page i.e. Top navigation
• Match the expectation and need of the
visitor based on your keyword and ad copy
• Establish credibility and trust, quick
• Decrease page load times
• Experiment with offers/CTA’s and designs
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45. What can you track
• Lots of clicks and high click rates are great, but
it’s really about conversions
• Optimising based on conversions will improve
efficiency and the effectiveness of your PPC
account
• A conversion is a defined action, examples
include:
- Sale - Download
- Phone call - Store visit
- Form fill
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46. Install Tracking Code
• The easiest way to track conversions in
AdWords – Conversion tracking code.
• Can track a variety of actions such as a sale,
form fill, sign up etc.
• Here's how to set up conversion tracking in
your account:
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49. Check Impressions and Clicks
• Wait a few hours before checking, to ensure your
campaigns ads are running.
• If no impressions/clicks, check your campaign, ad
groups, ads are live and approved.
• Low numbers? Look at increasing your cost per click or
budget.
• Be realistic about how many clicks needed for a
conversion.
• Realtime dashboards
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