Life Cycle of a Butterfly
Upcoming SlideShare
Loading in...5

Like this? Share it with your network

  • Full Name Full Name Comment goes here.
    Are you sure you want to
    Your message goes here
    Be the first to comment
No Downloads


Total Views
On Slideshare
From Embeds
Number of Embeds



Embeds 312 304 4 3 1

Report content

Flagged as inappropriate Flag as inappropriate
Flag as inappropriate

Select your reason for flagging this presentation as inappropriate.

    No notes for slide


  • 1. The Life Cycle of a Butterfly
    Gabby Hamilton
    EDU 290
  • 2. What is a Butterfly?
    Butterflies are insects.
    They have four wings and six legs.
    Butterflies have three body parts.
    Their bodies are covered in tiny hairs.
  • 3. What is a Life Cycle?
    A life cycle goes through each stage of development.
    The butterfly has four main stages:
    One: Egg
    Two: Caterpillar
    Three: Chrysalis
    Four: Butterfly
  • 4. Stage One: Eggs
    The butterfly’s eggs are always small.
    They can be oval or circular.
    Sometimes eggs have ridges or indents on them.
  • 5. Stage One: Eggs
    The butterfly’s eggs are laid on a leaf.
    Eggs are always by food so the caterpillar can eat after it has hatched.
    If you look closely sometimes you can see the caterpillar growing inside of the egg.
  • 6. Stage Two: Caterpillar
    Caterpillar’s hatch from the butterfly’s eggs.
    They spend most of their time eating.
    The caterpillar needs to eat so it can grow.
  • 7. Stage Two: Caterpillar
    This stage is where the most growing takes place.
    As they grow bigger caterpillars shed their skin.
    All caterpillars do not look the same and do not eat the same leaves.
  • 8. Stage Three: Chrysalis
    When caterpillars are fully grown they make a button of silk that helps them stick to a leaf or twig.
    The caterpillar sheds it skin for the last time.
    Under the old skin is a hard skin called a chrysalis.
  • 9. Stage Three: Chrysalis
    The chrysalis is usually brown or green.
    They blend into the background because they do not want to be bothered.
    When the caterpillar is in the chrysalis it is changing.
  • 10. Stage Three: Chrysalis
    The caterpillar’s organs and other body parts dissolve while in the chrysalis.
    Their body parts then re-grow into the organs, tissues, limbs, and wings of the butterfly.
  • 11. Stage Four: Butterfly
    After the caterpillar is done growing inside the chrysalis a butterfly will come out.
    When it first hatches the butterfly will not be able to use it’s wings.
    The wings will be soft and folded against the butterfly’s body.
  • 12. Stage Four: Butterfly
    Blood will pumped through the butterfly’s wings to make them big and strong enough to fly.
    The butterfly will learn to fly 3-4 hours after it comes out of the chrysalis.
    The butterfly is finally an adult.
  • 13. Fun Facts
    Butterflies can see red, green, and yellow.
    Butterflies can not fly if their body temperature is less than 86 degrees.
    The average lifespan for a butterfly is about one month.
    Butterflies eat water, nectar, and liquids from different fruits.
  • 14. Do Butterflies Look The Same On Both Sides?
  • 15. Works Citied
    Butterfly and moth life cycle . (2000). Retrieved October 6, 2010, from Pacific Science Center website:
    Butterfly Life Cycle . (n.d.). Retrieved October 6, 2010, from website:
    Fun Butterfly Facts . (n.d.). Retrieved October 3, 2010, from
    Opler, P. A. (n.d.). The Children's Butterfly Site . Retrieved October 6, 2010, from Montana State University website
    Pupa. (2010, October 2). Retrieved October 6, 2010, from