Berkeley Business Plan Competition
Upcoming SlideShare
Loading in...5
×
 

Berkeley Business Plan Competition

on

  • 672 views

 

Statistics

Views

Total Views
672
Views on SlideShare
672
Embed Views
0

Actions

Likes
0
Downloads
4
Comments
0

0 Embeds 0

No embeds

Accessibility

Categories

Upload Details

Uploaded via as Microsoft PowerPoint

Usage Rights

© All Rights Reserved

Report content

Flagged as inappropriate Flag as inappropriate
Flag as inappropriate

Select your reason for flagging this presentation as inappropriate.

Cancel
  • Full Name Full Name Comment goes here.
    Are you sure you want to
    Your message goes here
    Processing…
Post Comment
Edit your comment

Berkeley Business Plan Competition Berkeley Business Plan Competition Presentation Transcript

  • 2010/11 Information Session
  • Competition Overview
    “The Marquee Entrepreneurship Event At Berkeley”
    History and Mission:
    Student-run organization founded in 1999. The competition provides entrepreneurs with the best possible resources to help convert ideas into reality.
    Support:
    Entirely funded by the generosity of Corporate Donors and Venture Capitalists
    Judging:
    Three rounds of judging performed by a panel of venture capital firms and select professionals.
    • Executive Summary Round – January, 2011
    • Semi-Final Round (Private in tracks) – Late April, 2011
    • Final Round (Public), Late April, 2011
    Prizes:
    • 3 track runners-up (semis) - $1,000 each
    • 3 track winners (semis) - $5,000 each
    • Grand Prize Winner (finals) - $20,000
    • People’s Choice Award (finals) - $5,000
    • 1-MinuteElevator pitch Award (finals) - $1,000
  • 2010 Competition Highlights
    • Grand Prize: Orpheus Medical
    • IT & Web Track Winner: Bidwave
    • Life Sciences Track Winner: Orpheus Medical
    • Products and Services Track Winner: BrightSense
    • People’s Choice Award: BrightSense
    • Elevator Pitch Winner: Emiscape
  • 2009/10 was the most competitive year on record for the BPlan competition
  • 2010 Sponsors
  • 2010 Executive Committee
  • BPlan Committees
    Co-Chairs
    The co-chairs oversee the executive committee and are the public and voice face of the competition.
    Responsibilities
    • Establish the vision for the competition
    • Plan agenda and run weekly Executive Committee meetings
    • Set team milestones and ensure we are tracking against plan
    • Host and lead presentations at mixers, judging events and public finals
    • Coordinate with Lester Center and other student organizations (EA, GSVC, etc.)
    • Moderate and introduce speakers at “Entrepreneurial Best Practices Series”
    • As a member of the executive team, this is a year-long commitment.
    Parkin Kent: parkin_kent@mba.berkeley.edu
    Richard Kenny: richard_kenny@mba.berkeley.edu
  • BPlan Committees
    Judging & Sponsorship
    The judging and sponsorship committee works with venture capital and professional communities to raise money to fund and judge the competition.
    Responsibilities
    • Manage existing relationships with past sponsors and cultivate new sponsors.
    • Raise $80,000+ to fund operations of competition and prize money, i.e. sales.
    • Recruit judges for all phases of the competition and other related events.
    • Coordinate logistics with the all judges during the semi-final and final judging rounds, working closely with the Lester Center.
    • Great exposure to the VC and professional communities in the Bay Area
    • As a member of the executive team, this is a year-long and significant commitment.
    Steve Neebe: steven_neebe@mba.berkeley.edu
    Justin Owen: justin_owen@mba.berkeley.edu
    Brooks Kincaid: brooks_kincaid@mba.berkeley.edu
    David Carlson: david_carlson@mba.berkeley.edu
  • BPlan Committees
    Mentorship & Events
    The Mentorship and Events committee’s primary responsibility is to enhance the entrepreneurial learning experience for entrants. 
    Responsibilities:
    • Recruit successful entrepreneurs from around the Bay Area to serve as mentors for the competition’s semifinalist teams
    • Organize and run workshops and mixers for entrants
    • Collaborate with EA Pitch Lab to develop opportunities to help participants hone their pitches
    • As a member of the executive team, this is a year-long commitment
    Laura Unger: laura_unger@mba.berkeley.edu
    Dan Parker: dan_parker@mba.berkeley.edu
    Guillaume Fallou: guillaume_fallou@mba.berkeley.edu
  • BPlan Committees
    Marketing & Outreach
    Responsible for positioning the competition to maximize the number and quality of our entrants, and garnering external press to elevate the profile of BPlan
    Responsibilities:
    • Develop and execute against year-long marketing plan
    • Reach out to the UC Berkeley and UCSF communities and schools
    • Increase awareness of Competition within Haas, the UC Berkeley campus,
    and the Bay Area via Creatives (e-mails, flyers, videos, etc…)
    • Engage with PR community
    • Manage the business plan website and online competition platform
    • As a member of the executive team, this is a year-long commitment.
    Kandra Chan: kandra_chan@mba.berkeley.edu
    Sarah Cooper: sarah_cooper@mba.berkeley.edu
    Everett Leonidas: everett_leonidas@mba.berkeley.edu
  • Example marcom initiatives
  • BPlan Committee Applications
    Process:
    Join the Bplan community on younoodle
    Submit 1 page applications by Monday, September 20 at 9AM
    • Applications should include a 1 page Statement of Purposeper person (or group) and a Haas resume for each person
    • Applications should be submitted to bplan@haas.berkeley.edu
    • Please highlight whether you wish to be considered for other committees if you are not successful and your order of preference
    Interviews will be held over the following week
    The 2010 Executive Committee will be announced on late in the week of 9/20
    Please contact any of us with questions!
    Good luck!
  • Where to find more information
    UC Berkeley Business Plan Competition Website: bplan.berkeley.edu
    Bplan community: http://younoodle.com/groups/berkeley_bplan
    Lester Center: Kirsten Berzon: berzon@haas.berkeley.edu
    These slides will be posted to younoodle (see above)
  • Good luck!