Startup4Chinese: Inspire, empower and connect entrepreneur minds.
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And our meetup group: http://meetup.com/Startup-4-Chinese-GTA/.
The video of this presentation:
part 1- https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AFLaARQ6ktk
part 2 - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=o_SM4n89f6M
Companies a lot of times fail because they overlooked the basics of running a business. Startups, too, often fail to execute the basics and create pitfalls later on.
Accounting is your business doctor - it tracks how your business’s been doing lately, finds out root causes and plans a path for you to get well. No companies can grow and be viable in the long run without proper accounting management. It reveals everything from sales - such as customer adoption rate, operations - such as operating inefficiencies, to strategic issues - such as positioning and branding.
This presentation will touch important accounting basics and classic business failure cases studies. It’ll also give out useful tips for business owners.
很多时候公司的失败是由于未做到管理生意的基本面而造成的。未作这些基本点的初创公司在创业初期不会感觉到有什么问题,但是没多久就会造成事后的悲催。
财务是你生意上的医生 —— 它统计着你生意的近况,诊断出问题的根源并且设计出一条改善你“健康”的道路。现今没有任何公司可以不使用现代财务管理工具而可以长期健康的生长。财务工具能帮你扯去公司运营表面现象的面纱,暴露一切问题:从销售的客户获取率,运营的效率,到战略上的问题比如定位和品牌。
这次的交流内容会涉及财务基础(针对非财务专业),现实生活中经典的公司案例(北美地区公司案例),然后会给初创公司的创业者们有用的tips.
Speaker: Jason Lu
Experience:
10+ years experience in business development (North America and the Asia Pacific), project valuation & acquisition, product costing, corporate finance consulting. Currently working as a consultant to help turnaround medium-sized and small businesses.
经验:
10多年经验——北美和亚太地区业务拓展(曾拓展超出两亿美金的年销售额),项目估值和并购(超过2,000万美金价值的项目并购),财务成本,公司财务顾问。目前作为顾问帮助挽转GTA地区的中小公司。
Education:
MBA 14’ – Schulich School of Business, York University
Chartered Professional Accountant (CPA): 2016 – present
B.Eng. - Hefei University of Technology, China
教育背景:
MBA 14’ – Schulich School of Business, York University
Chartered Professional Accountant (CPA): 2016 – present
B.Eng. – Hefei University of Technology, China
2. Introduction – Jason Lu
Finance (4+ years)
Solar energy M&A
Financial Planning & Analysis
Product costing
Business Development (6+ years)
PVD coating
Automotive
Current: Chief Consultant at Rebound Finance Accounting
Education
Schulich School of Business, York University – MBA
CPA – 2016 to present
Hefei University of Technology (合肥工业大学)- B.Eng.
3. Objectives
Get to know important accounting skills for running a business
Understand why financials are so important to business owners
4. Agenda
Why accounting?
Accounting 101
Case in point - two extremes
1. Case 1: Only passion. Don’t care about the fundamentals
2. Case 2: Greed overtook “core” – what made you success
5. Agenda
Why accounting?
Accounting 101
Case in point - two extremes
1. Case 1: Only passion. Don’t care about the fundamentals
2. Case 2: Greed overtook “core” – what made you success
7. Source: CB Insights (Feb. 2018)
https://www.cbinsights.com/research/startup-failure-reasons-top/
29%
18%
47%
+
=
Why do you care?
8. Agenda
Why accounting?
Accounting 101
Case in point - two extremes
1. Case 1: Only passion. Don’t care about the fundamentals
2. Case 2: Greed overtook “core” – what made you success
15. Agenda
Accounting 101
Case in point - two extremes
1. Case 1: Only passion. Don’t care about the fundamentals
2. Case 2: Greed overtook “core” – what made you success
17. Case in point
Cause: Family type 2 diabetes history
Vision: Better performance and health
Ways to achieve his vision:
Mostly accessible to everyone
Delivery whole foods in a bottle
100% natural
No added sugar and additives
Product size: small bottles & jugs
Distribution: retail sale in a gym + off-site events
18. Symptoms
Good news:
34 months into business
Customer loved the product and the owner!
Sales were going up in general
Bad news:
Operating in loss for 97% of the time
Thousands of dollars of net cash outflow monthly and no sign of narrowing the gap
Owner is not happy with employees
Employees are not happy
What’s the issue?
19. Issues
Financial records: Only first 25 months’ data available
Bookkeeper
Income Statements:
Cash based
Cash Flow Statements:
What is that?
Lacks the basic understanding of the importance of financials
20. Income Statements
Net Sales 78,577.09 100%
EXPENSE
Cost of Goods Sold
Total Cost of Goods Sold 51,017.46 65%
Gross Profit 27,559.63 35%
Operating Expense
Wages & Salaries 41,918.29 53%
EI Expense 1,022.56 1%
CPP Expense 1,192.50 2%
Others 1,098.50 Note: combined
Total Operating expense 45,231.85 58%
General & Administrative Expenses
Office Supplies & other equipment 4,853.40 6%
Miscellaneous Expenses 5,927.18 8%
Rent 8,250.00
Others 10,057.26 Note: combined
Total General & Admin. Expenses 29,087.84 37%
TOTAL EXPENSE 125,337.15 160%
NET INCOME -46,760.06
64% payroll!
65% Raw Material*
129% Sales!
* Accounting record error
Sorry
confi
denti
al
21. Cost
Cost behavior Product A
Cost driver units 500
Raw Material
Base variable cost 1.100
Additional ingredients variable cost NA
Bottle variable cost 0.300
Cap variable cost 0.500
Label variable cost 0.040
1.940
Direct Labor variable cost
Rate 15.000
Hrs/week 24.000
360.000
Output in ml 56,000
3.21
MOH fixed cost
Pre-determined rate 0.002
Cost driver amounts 500
MOH allocation 64%
0.653
COGS 5.81
Non-mfg OH fixed cost 20.643
Non-mfg OH allocation 16%
3.32
Operating cost 9.13
Sorry
confi
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22. Contribution Margin example
Variable cost:
1. Ingredients: $1
2. Bottle + cap + label: $0.5
3. Direct labor: $1
Total VC= $2.5
Fixed cost:
1. Owner’s salary: $4,000/month
2. Store manager’s salary: $3,000/month
3. Rent: $2,000/month
Total FC = $8,000/month
Contribution margin:
Price: $5
Less: Total variable cost $2.5
Contribution margin = $2.5
Break-even:
Total FC/Contribution margin
= $8,000/$2.5
= 3,200 units
24. Lessons learned
Pay attention to your fundamentals!
You need to make money to survive
Contribution Margin must be > $0 in order to continue your business
At the minimum – price your product based on cost
25. Agenda
Accounting 101
Business operations from finance and accounting perspective
Case in point - two extremes
1. Case 1: Only passion. Don’t care about the fundamentals
2. Case 2: Greed overtook “core” – what made you success
42. Re-cap & Lessons Learned
End of 2012
First Wind Vivint Solar
$11.7B debt$6.9B debt
Bankrupt
43. Key take-aways & Tips
Do a good bookkeeping from day 1
Wave Accounting
QuickBooks
Hire a good bookkeeper at the minimum
Pricing based on cost and market
Don’t start a business with loans
Cash is king!
Watch how you spend cash
Watch how you collect cash
Have a good accountant working with you