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Apple Search Ads: Preferred account
structure and performance tracking
Hanna Yurchuk
Account Executive, SplitMetrics
About SplitMetrics
boost your CVR in Apple
Store and Google Play with
your key A/B testing tool
https://splitmetrics.com/
get full control of ad performance and
leverage automation to grow ROI and
save time in Apple Search Ads
https://searchadshq.com/
What is Apple Search Ads? Why use Search Ads?
Account structure:
Semantics-based
Value-based
Performance tracking:
CPA
ROAS/ROI
Conversion Volume
Conversion Rate
CPT
Q&A
Agenda
Why A/B test?
(2 reasons)
What is Apple Search Ads?
Why A/B test?
(2 reasons)
What is Apple Search Ads?
Why A/B test?
(2 reasons)
What is Apple Search Ads?
Why A/B test?
(2 reasons)
Why use Apple Search Ads?
1. Premium ad placement - your app is on #1 in search
2. Reaching highly motivated and fraud-free audience: high-LTV users
3. Re-engagement and cross -promo
4. Brand defence: protect your brand terms
5. Data source for ASO: new search terms, test keywords performance
6. A/B test screenshots with creative sets - boost CR
7. Organic boost
Why A/B test?
(2 reasons)
Things to consider when setting up an
Account Structure
● Countries and regions
● Ad Relevance
● Audience segmentation
Why A/B test?
(2 reasons)
Countries and regions
1 storefront = 1 campaign
Deliveroo_Brand_DE
Deliveroo_Generic_DE
Deliveroo_Competitor_DE
Deliveroo_Discovery_DE
Deliveroo_Brand_US
Deliveroo_Generic_US
Deliveroo_Competitor_US
Deliveroo_Discovery_US
59 countries open now +1 next month
Note: Localization and cultural adaptation of visuals and keywords in each
region impacts heavily your TTR & CVR
Why A/B test?
(2 reasons)
Ad relevance
1. Technical relevance: the app’s position in search results (preferably <100);
2. Logical relevance: the bigger TTR and download rate for the app, the better;
Why A/B test?
(2 reasons)
Technical Ad relevance
Why A/B test?
(2 reasons)
Logical Ad relevance
Why A/B test?
(2 reasons)
Audience segmentation
Semantics-based account structure
Source: https://searchadshq.com/apple-search-ads-course/lesson-6-apple-search-ads-semantics-based-account-structure/
Brand campaign
Why A/B test?
(2 reasons)
New creative ads rule
Generic campaign
Search intent
Ad Group eSignature Document scanner Invoicing
Intent level High Medium Low
Intent Users look for a solution to
e-sign their documents.
eSignature is the app’s USP and
a primary paid feature.
The primary thing that users
look for is a document scanning
feature. They aren’t necessarily
interested in eSignature, but
e-signing is the next logical step
after creating the digital copy of
a paper document.
The target audience may include people
who look for an invoicing app. Such a
functionality is usually part of document
management software. However, searches
of this kind are less relevant to the app’s
USPs.
Exact
keywords
electronic signature
signature app
sign documents
document signer
e-sign
sign
scanner app
pdf scanner
document scanner
scan app
scan documents
invoice
invoice maker
invoice app
invoice maker free
invoice generator
send invoice
Source: https://asostack.com/how-to-set-up-a-systematic-apple-search-ads-campaign-structure-with-5-campaign-types-64a0fa0b21d4
Competitor campaign
Why A/B test?
(2 reasons)
⅔ of all App Searches are Branded
Source: AppsFlyer
Discovery campaign
Discovery campaign
Discovery campaign
Why A/B test?
(2 reasons)
Apple’s explanation of “Low volume” indicators in Apple’s User Interface
Proxy campaign
Why A/B test?
(2 reasons)
Campaign Goals
Campaign
goal
Brand
protection
Brand
offence
Prospecting Discovery Retargeting Cross-promo Testing
Goal
description
Protecting
brand from
losing your
relevant
audience to
competitors
Bidding on
competitor’s
keywords to
win over
their
audience
Building
brand
awareness
and
attracting
relevant
users in
search of a
solution to
their
problem
Mining
keywords
that you
probably
don’t bid on
yet
Re-engage
users who
downloaded
your app but
removed it
Promote your
other apps in
Apple Store
● Seasonality
● Track post-back
performance of
newly added
search terms
● etc.
Campaign
name
Brand Competitors Generic Discovery Retargeting Cross-brand Proxy/Probing
Why A/B test?
(2 reasons)
Account Structure: Value-based
Source: https://searchadshq.com/apple-search-ads-course/lesson-7-apple-search-ads-value-based-account-structure/
Why A/B test?
(2 reasons)
Account Structure: Value-based
Campaign
Why A/B test?
(2 reasons)
How to Group Keywords within this structure?
Why A/B test?
(2 reasons)
How to Decide Which Tier a Keyword Belongs to?
Why A/B test?
(2 reasons)
What is good performance?
Conversion Rate = Actions / Taps
Optimal CPT Bid = Conversion Rate * t-CPA
t-CPA - target cost per action you define yourself
Why A/B test?
(2 reasons)
What is good performance?
t-CPA = $20
● Tier 1 with CR 20%+ will have Max Bid = $4
● Tier 2 with CR 10-20% will have Max Bid = $2
● Tier 3 with CR 5-10% will have Max Bid = $1
Why A/B test?
(2 reasons)
Challenges of Managing Value-Based Account Structure
1. Staying on top of budget waterfalling
2. Staying on top of keyword tiers
3. Investing the right level of effort
4. Obtaining sufficient visibility into search terms from the Discovery
campaign
The most important ASA
metrics to measure:
1. Cost per Action (CPA)
2. Return on Ad Spend (ROAS) &
Return on Investment (ROI)
3. Cost per Tap (CPT)
4. Conversion Volume (CV)
5. Conversion Rate (CR)
Source: https://searchadshq.com/apple-search-ads-course/lesson-8-how-to-optimize-performance-in-apple-search-ads/
CPA =
spend
# of actions
● How to optimize CPA in Apple Search Ads
Max CPT Bid = CR * Target CPA * 1.2
CR = Conversions / Taps = 20 / 400 = 5%
Max CPT Bid = 5% * $30 * 1.2 = $1.8
(Subscription)
ROAS = revenue / ad spend x 100%
ROI = revenue-spend/ spend x 100%
● How to optimize ROAS/ROI in Apple Search Ads
LTV LT x ARPU = 2 x $40 = $80 APRU * LT
Subtract 30% of App Store fee
Subtract 20% of support costs
LTV x 50% = $80 x 50% = $40 Fixed costs for subscription
services
Break-even CPA $40 If you use this CPA, you will
get the same amount that
you pay
75% * CPA
(25% profit-margin)
75% * $40 = $30 If you use this CPA, you will
get a same of $10 from
every paying user during
their LT
Max CPT Bid = (Revenue / Taps) x (1 / Target ROAS) x 1.2
Max CPT Bid = ($1,000 / 400) x (1 / 2.5) x 1.2 = $1.2
True ROI/ROAS in Apple Search Ads
1. Redownloads
2. Limit Ad Tracking (LAT)
3. API glitch, open latencies, attribution settings.
❏ Apple Ad Spend -- $200
❏ Apple Downloads -- 100
Re-downloads -- 27 (27%)
❏ LAT On Conversions -- 8 (8%)
❏ API glitch, click latencies,
attribution settings -- 5 (5%)
❏ MMP Installs -- 50 ARPU -- $5
Strict ROAS = (MMP Installs x ARPU – Spend) / Spend x 100%
Strict ROAS = (50 x $5 – $200) / $200 x 100% = 25%
Ignoring discrepancies:
Adjusted MMP Installs = 50 + 27 + 8 + 5 = 90
Adjusted ROAS = (90 x $5 – $200) / $200 x 100% = 125%
Adding discrepancies:
the Adjusted ROAS is 5 times bigger than Strict ROAS
CPT = ad spend / # of taps
Source: https://splitmetrics.com/blog/apple-search-ads-benchmarks-2020/
5 ways to optimize bids:
1. Adjust bids to target metrics
2. Use negative keywords
3. Pause keywords
4. Work with segments
5. Disable underperforming
hours
Conversion Volume is the number of conversions generated
over a certain period
1. Keywords expansion
2. Run discovery
campaigns
3. Increase or reallocate
budget
4. Expand targeting
5. Increase your bid
How to optimize CV?
CR= conversions/taps x 100%
1. Creatives A/B testing
2. Creatives to Keywords Alignment
3. Localization
4. Work on Rating
5. Work with Segments
Conversion Rate optimization:
Ninja gear: Apple Search Ads Advanced
1. The Complete Apple Search Ads Course: https://searchadshq.com/apple-search-ads-course/
2. Apple Search Ads Benchmarks 2020: https://searchadshq.com/apple-search-ads-benchmarks-2020/
3. SearchAdsHQ professional exam for Search Ads: https://searchadshq.com/search-ads-exam/
4. ASO and Apple Search Ads best practices:https://splitmetrics.com/blog/
Any questions?
Reach out to me
hanna@splitmetrics.com
@hannayurchuk

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Preffered account structure and performance tracking in Apple Search Ads

  • 1. Apple Search Ads: Preferred account structure and performance tracking Hanna Yurchuk Account Executive, SplitMetrics
  • 2. About SplitMetrics boost your CVR in Apple Store and Google Play with your key A/B testing tool https://splitmetrics.com/ get full control of ad performance and leverage automation to grow ROI and save time in Apple Search Ads https://searchadshq.com/
  • 3. What is Apple Search Ads? Why use Search Ads? Account structure: Semantics-based Value-based Performance tracking: CPA ROAS/ROI Conversion Volume Conversion Rate CPT Q&A Agenda
  • 4. Why A/B test? (2 reasons) What is Apple Search Ads?
  • 5. Why A/B test? (2 reasons) What is Apple Search Ads?
  • 6. Why A/B test? (2 reasons) What is Apple Search Ads?
  • 7. Why A/B test? (2 reasons) Why use Apple Search Ads? 1. Premium ad placement - your app is on #1 in search 2. Reaching highly motivated and fraud-free audience: high-LTV users 3. Re-engagement and cross -promo 4. Brand defence: protect your brand terms 5. Data source for ASO: new search terms, test keywords performance 6. A/B test screenshots with creative sets - boost CR 7. Organic boost
  • 8. Why A/B test? (2 reasons) Things to consider when setting up an Account Structure ● Countries and regions ● Ad Relevance ● Audience segmentation
  • 9. Why A/B test? (2 reasons) Countries and regions 1 storefront = 1 campaign Deliveroo_Brand_DE Deliveroo_Generic_DE Deliveroo_Competitor_DE Deliveroo_Discovery_DE Deliveroo_Brand_US Deliveroo_Generic_US Deliveroo_Competitor_US Deliveroo_Discovery_US 59 countries open now +1 next month Note: Localization and cultural adaptation of visuals and keywords in each region impacts heavily your TTR & CVR
  • 10. Why A/B test? (2 reasons) Ad relevance 1. Technical relevance: the app’s position in search results (preferably <100); 2. Logical relevance: the bigger TTR and download rate for the app, the better;
  • 11. Why A/B test? (2 reasons) Technical Ad relevance
  • 12. Why A/B test? (2 reasons) Logical Ad relevance
  • 13. Why A/B test? (2 reasons) Audience segmentation
  • 14. Semantics-based account structure Source: https://searchadshq.com/apple-search-ads-course/lesson-6-apple-search-ads-semantics-based-account-structure/
  • 16. Why A/B test? (2 reasons) New creative ads rule
  • 18. Search intent Ad Group eSignature Document scanner Invoicing Intent level High Medium Low Intent Users look for a solution to e-sign their documents. eSignature is the app’s USP and a primary paid feature. The primary thing that users look for is a document scanning feature. They aren’t necessarily interested in eSignature, but e-signing is the next logical step after creating the digital copy of a paper document. The target audience may include people who look for an invoicing app. Such a functionality is usually part of document management software. However, searches of this kind are less relevant to the app’s USPs. Exact keywords electronic signature signature app sign documents document signer e-sign sign scanner app pdf scanner document scanner scan app scan documents invoice invoice maker invoice app invoice maker free invoice generator send invoice Source: https://asostack.com/how-to-set-up-a-systematic-apple-search-ads-campaign-structure-with-5-campaign-types-64a0fa0b21d4
  • 20. Why A/B test? (2 reasons) ⅔ of all App Searches are Branded Source: AppsFlyer
  • 24. Why A/B test? (2 reasons) Apple’s explanation of “Low volume” indicators in Apple’s User Interface
  • 26.
  • 27. Why A/B test? (2 reasons) Campaign Goals Campaign goal Brand protection Brand offence Prospecting Discovery Retargeting Cross-promo Testing Goal description Protecting brand from losing your relevant audience to competitors Bidding on competitor’s keywords to win over their audience Building brand awareness and attracting relevant users in search of a solution to their problem Mining keywords that you probably don’t bid on yet Re-engage users who downloaded your app but removed it Promote your other apps in Apple Store ● Seasonality ● Track post-back performance of newly added search terms ● etc. Campaign name Brand Competitors Generic Discovery Retargeting Cross-brand Proxy/Probing
  • 28. Why A/B test? (2 reasons) Account Structure: Value-based Source: https://searchadshq.com/apple-search-ads-course/lesson-7-apple-search-ads-value-based-account-structure/
  • 29. Why A/B test? (2 reasons) Account Structure: Value-based Campaign
  • 30. Why A/B test? (2 reasons) How to Group Keywords within this structure?
  • 31. Why A/B test? (2 reasons) How to Decide Which Tier a Keyword Belongs to?
  • 32. Why A/B test? (2 reasons) What is good performance? Conversion Rate = Actions / Taps Optimal CPT Bid = Conversion Rate * t-CPA t-CPA - target cost per action you define yourself
  • 33. Why A/B test? (2 reasons) What is good performance? t-CPA = $20 ● Tier 1 with CR 20%+ will have Max Bid = $4 ● Tier 2 with CR 10-20% will have Max Bid = $2 ● Tier 3 with CR 5-10% will have Max Bid = $1
  • 34. Why A/B test? (2 reasons) Challenges of Managing Value-Based Account Structure 1. Staying on top of budget waterfalling 2. Staying on top of keyword tiers 3. Investing the right level of effort 4. Obtaining sufficient visibility into search terms from the Discovery campaign
  • 35. The most important ASA metrics to measure: 1. Cost per Action (CPA) 2. Return on Ad Spend (ROAS) & Return on Investment (ROI) 3. Cost per Tap (CPT) 4. Conversion Volume (CV) 5. Conversion Rate (CR) Source: https://searchadshq.com/apple-search-ads-course/lesson-8-how-to-optimize-performance-in-apple-search-ads/
  • 36. CPA = spend # of actions ● How to optimize CPA in Apple Search Ads
  • 37. Max CPT Bid = CR * Target CPA * 1.2 CR = Conversions / Taps = 20 / 400 = 5% Max CPT Bid = 5% * $30 * 1.2 = $1.8 (Subscription)
  • 38. ROAS = revenue / ad spend x 100% ROI = revenue-spend/ spend x 100% ● How to optimize ROAS/ROI in Apple Search Ads
  • 39. LTV LT x ARPU = 2 x $40 = $80 APRU * LT Subtract 30% of App Store fee Subtract 20% of support costs LTV x 50% = $80 x 50% = $40 Fixed costs for subscription services Break-even CPA $40 If you use this CPA, you will get the same amount that you pay 75% * CPA (25% profit-margin) 75% * $40 = $30 If you use this CPA, you will get a same of $10 from every paying user during their LT
  • 40. Max CPT Bid = (Revenue / Taps) x (1 / Target ROAS) x 1.2 Max CPT Bid = ($1,000 / 400) x (1 / 2.5) x 1.2 = $1.2
  • 41. True ROI/ROAS in Apple Search Ads 1. Redownloads 2. Limit Ad Tracking (LAT) 3. API glitch, open latencies, attribution settings.
  • 42. ❏ Apple Ad Spend -- $200 ❏ Apple Downloads -- 100 Re-downloads -- 27 (27%) ❏ LAT On Conversions -- 8 (8%) ❏ API glitch, click latencies, attribution settings -- 5 (5%) ❏ MMP Installs -- 50 ARPU -- $5 Strict ROAS = (MMP Installs x ARPU – Spend) / Spend x 100% Strict ROAS = (50 x $5 – $200) / $200 x 100% = 25% Ignoring discrepancies: Adjusted MMP Installs = 50 + 27 + 8 + 5 = 90 Adjusted ROAS = (90 x $5 – $200) / $200 x 100% = 125% Adding discrepancies: the Adjusted ROAS is 5 times bigger than Strict ROAS
  • 43. CPT = ad spend / # of taps
  • 45. 5 ways to optimize bids: 1. Adjust bids to target metrics 2. Use negative keywords 3. Pause keywords 4. Work with segments 5. Disable underperforming hours
  • 46. Conversion Volume is the number of conversions generated over a certain period
  • 47. 1. Keywords expansion 2. Run discovery campaigns 3. Increase or reallocate budget 4. Expand targeting 5. Increase your bid How to optimize CV?
  • 49. 1. Creatives A/B testing 2. Creatives to Keywords Alignment 3. Localization 4. Work on Rating 5. Work with Segments Conversion Rate optimization:
  • 50. Ninja gear: Apple Search Ads Advanced 1. The Complete Apple Search Ads Course: https://searchadshq.com/apple-search-ads-course/ 2. Apple Search Ads Benchmarks 2020: https://searchadshq.com/apple-search-ads-benchmarks-2020/ 3. SearchAdsHQ professional exam for Search Ads: https://searchadshq.com/search-ads-exam/ 4. ASO and Apple Search Ads best practices:https://splitmetrics.com/blog/
  • 51. Any questions? Reach out to me hanna@splitmetrics.com @hannayurchuk