Open Source Company
        Can Make Money Meh?
            @tiensoon
        VP of Technical Consultancy, Open Dynamics
© 2010 Open Dynamics
                                                     1
• Often dubbed as “The Joget Guy” at community
  events
• Time zone transporter
• Responsible for consulting, training, enterprise
  support and community building for Joget Workflow
• Open source workflow application builder started by
  Malaysians, and gone global!
• Led and managed by Open Dynamics Sdn. Bhd.
• Open Dynamics also incorporated in California, US
• 21 months
• 40,000 downloads
• 800 adopter sites
19 ✈ 14,000 ✈ 40,000



      12 months

                       9 months
Community-Driven Translations
 http://translate.joget.org
Strong Traction
                         800 adopter sites
                  600 community members
                              19 partners
?
Why Open Source
Open Source != Freeware
• “Think free as in free
  speech, not free beer”

• Always remember: Source
  code is one of the
  deliverables too!
Given Enough Eyeballs, All Bugs Are
Shallow
• 600 registered community members worldwide
• Beta release is tested in use cases of multiple
  localities
Viral and Rapid Growth
• 40,000 downloads


• 800 adopter sites


• If 5% of adopters are qualified leads, you have 40
  leads to be gunning on, in less than 2 years!
Release Early, Release Often
• Oct 2009 – v1.0.0
                               6 months
• Apr 2010 – v2.0.0 Beta
                               3 months
• Jul 2010 – v2.0.0
                               11 months
• Jun 2011 – v3.0.0 Beta
                               2 months
•   23rd   Aug 2011 – v3.0.0
Feedbacks for Future Product Roadmap
• No matter how technically cool and advanced your
  product is, it’s useless if it doesn’t meet targeted
  use cases.
• Large community size

• More use cases

• Product that meets the needs
Real Case Study: Joget Workflow
• v1 – “Workflow Management System”



• v2 – “Do More, Code Less”
            Users are not just automating
            processes, but building application!

• v3 – “Transforms Your Processes into an App”
More Brains and More Hands
• Open source ecosystem allows users to help and
  contribute:
  – Critical bug patches
  – Translations
  – Documentation
  – Forum support
  – Plugins

• Ultimately, it benefits everyone
Challenges of Running an Open Source /
Open Core Company
Full-Time Commitment
• Running a company, is not the same as running a
  part-time project as personal hobby

• To stay committed on the fast track, product
  development is a full-time job (same as any other
  serious startup ideas)
Reality: Everyone Needs $ to Survive
• How to fund:
  – product development?
  – the operational team before revenue touches break-
    even point?
Fund Raising
• Convince an Angel to fund your MVP (minimal
  viable product) or pre-release.
• Get commercial companies to sponsor your
  project:
  – Financially, or
  – Developers
OSS Space is Very Competitive Now
• Your OSS product is competing very intensely with
  other OSS options too!



                        Find your niche, understand
                        your market viability! It’s a
                        business after all.
Global Product Marketing is Tricky
• Mediums:
  – Community-driven evangelism
  – Media exposure (TeachCrunch, GigaOM, RWW, O’Reilly
    Media, Mashable, and etc.)
  – Tech shows as presenter
  – Interviewed by relevant tech channels
Global Product Marketing is Tricky
• Things get easy if you:
  – Are a celebrity developer / successful technopreneur
    with proven track record
  – Have a celebrity investor in your Board of Advisors
  – Have connections with relevant tech medias
Free Software … and …
• Free-of-charge POC??

  “Can you come to my office
  and present to my team?”


• Asian market = Not scalable sales
Who is Willing to Pay?
• Reality check: There are some adopters who won’t
  pay whatever you do.

• But, there are also some adopters who know
  value and will still pay!
Who is Willing to Pay?



E.g: xxx,xxx downloads → yyyy adopter sites →
 n% qualified leads
Paying at The Point of Value
•   Dedicated support package with SLA
•   Training services
•   Consulting services
•   Product implementation services
•   Complimentary tools that simplify the jobs
•   Plugins for enterprise deployment environment
Open Core?
• A company produces a product that is mostly
  available as open source, but then there are some
  closed source components around the open
  source “core”.

• Community Edition & Enterprise Edition

• Examples: Jaspersoft, Alfresco, Magento, Pentaho
Know Your Adopters
• Google Analytics is your best friend.
Know Your Customer Acquisition Cost
• What is your total costs of customer acquisition?
  – Marketing events
  – Google AdWords
  – Sales presentations


Avg. Customer Acquisition Cost = Total Acquisition Cost
                                  No. of Customers
Profit per Customer?
There’s Never Been a Better Time for OSS
Than Now
Education is Already Done by
Successful OSS Pioneers


• Companies like MySQL AB and Red Hat have done
  enough education to the enterprise sector on
  viable OSS model.
The Global Enterprise IT is Putting
Attention on Open Source Adoption
• Accenture survey from 300 large organizations in
  both the private and public sector (5th Aug 2010)
  finds:
  – 69% anticipate increased investment in 2010
  – 38% expecting to migrate mission-critical software to
    open source in the next 12 months
  – 50% are fully committed to open source in their
    business
Open Source as a Viable Business Model:

Using Jaspersoft       as Example
JasperReports:
Yearly Adopters Gain
• Total downloads in 2010: 1M (based on Jaspersoft’s CEO –
  Brian Gentile’s input)



• Assuming adopter conversion rate is 2%


• New adopters in 2010 = 1M * 2% = 20,000
JasperReports:
Yearly Support Subscribers Gain
• Assuming support subscriber conversion rate is
  2%

• New support subscribers in 2010 = 20,000 * 2% =
  400
JasperReports:
Yearly Revenue Growth
• Assuming each support subscriber pays $5,000

• New stream of revenue gained from support
  subscription, in 2010 = 400 * $5,000 =
 $2,000,000
$2M Recurring Revenue
• Support subscription is recurring revenue.

• And the conservative figure of $2 million annual
  recurring revenue, is just coming from 1 service –
  support subscription.
Open Source Company Can Make $ Meh?

Undoubtedly, it’s a proven
scalable business model!

Open Source as a Viable Business Model

  • 1.
    Open Source Company Can Make Money Meh? @tiensoon VP of Technical Consultancy, Open Dynamics © 2010 Open Dynamics 1
  • 2.
    • Often dubbedas “The Joget Guy” at community events • Time zone transporter • Responsible for consulting, training, enterprise support and community building for Joget Workflow
  • 3.
    • Open sourceworkflow application builder started by Malaysians, and gone global! • Led and managed by Open Dynamics Sdn. Bhd. • Open Dynamics also incorporated in California, US • 21 months • 40,000 downloads • 800 adopter sites
  • 4.
    19 ✈ 14,000✈ 40,000 12 months 9 months
  • 5.
  • 6.
    Strong Traction 800 adopter sites 600 community members 19 partners
  • 7.
  • 8.
    Open Source !=Freeware • “Think free as in free speech, not free beer” • Always remember: Source code is one of the deliverables too!
  • 9.
    Given Enough Eyeballs,All Bugs Are Shallow • 600 registered community members worldwide • Beta release is tested in use cases of multiple localities
  • 11.
    Viral and RapidGrowth • 40,000 downloads • 800 adopter sites • If 5% of adopters are qualified leads, you have 40 leads to be gunning on, in less than 2 years!
  • 12.
    Release Early, ReleaseOften • Oct 2009 – v1.0.0 6 months • Apr 2010 – v2.0.0 Beta 3 months • Jul 2010 – v2.0.0 11 months • Jun 2011 – v3.0.0 Beta 2 months • 23rd Aug 2011 – v3.0.0
  • 13.
    Feedbacks for FutureProduct Roadmap • No matter how technically cool and advanced your product is, it’s useless if it doesn’t meet targeted use cases. • Large community size • More use cases • Product that meets the needs
  • 14.
    Real Case Study:Joget Workflow • v1 – “Workflow Management System” • v2 – “Do More, Code Less” Users are not just automating processes, but building application! • v3 – “Transforms Your Processes into an App”
  • 15.
    More Brains andMore Hands • Open source ecosystem allows users to help and contribute: – Critical bug patches – Translations – Documentation – Forum support – Plugins • Ultimately, it benefits everyone
  • 16.
    Challenges of Runningan Open Source / Open Core Company
  • 17.
    Full-Time Commitment • Runninga company, is not the same as running a part-time project as personal hobby • To stay committed on the fast track, product development is a full-time job (same as any other serious startup ideas)
  • 18.
    Reality: Everyone Needs$ to Survive • How to fund: – product development? – the operational team before revenue touches break- even point?
  • 19.
    Fund Raising • Convincean Angel to fund your MVP (minimal viable product) or pre-release. • Get commercial companies to sponsor your project: – Financially, or – Developers
  • 20.
    OSS Space isVery Competitive Now • Your OSS product is competing very intensely with other OSS options too! Find your niche, understand your market viability! It’s a business after all.
  • 21.
    Global Product Marketingis Tricky • Mediums: – Community-driven evangelism – Media exposure (TeachCrunch, GigaOM, RWW, O’Reilly Media, Mashable, and etc.) – Tech shows as presenter – Interviewed by relevant tech channels
  • 22.
    Global Product Marketingis Tricky • Things get easy if you: – Are a celebrity developer / successful technopreneur with proven track record – Have a celebrity investor in your Board of Advisors – Have connections with relevant tech medias
  • 23.
    Free Software …and … • Free-of-charge POC?? “Can you come to my office and present to my team?” • Asian market = Not scalable sales
  • 24.
    Who is Willingto Pay? • Reality check: There are some adopters who won’t pay whatever you do. • But, there are also some adopters who know value and will still pay!
  • 25.
    Who is Willingto Pay? E.g: xxx,xxx downloads → yyyy adopter sites → n% qualified leads
  • 26.
    Paying at ThePoint of Value • Dedicated support package with SLA • Training services • Consulting services • Product implementation services • Complimentary tools that simplify the jobs • Plugins for enterprise deployment environment
  • 27.
    Open Core? • Acompany produces a product that is mostly available as open source, but then there are some closed source components around the open source “core”. • Community Edition & Enterprise Edition • Examples: Jaspersoft, Alfresco, Magento, Pentaho
  • 28.
    Know Your Adopters •Google Analytics is your best friend.
  • 29.
    Know Your CustomerAcquisition Cost • What is your total costs of customer acquisition? – Marketing events – Google AdWords – Sales presentations Avg. Customer Acquisition Cost = Total Acquisition Cost No. of Customers Profit per Customer?
  • 30.
    There’s Never Beena Better Time for OSS Than Now
  • 31.
    Education is AlreadyDone by Successful OSS Pioneers • Companies like MySQL AB and Red Hat have done enough education to the enterprise sector on viable OSS model.
  • 32.
    The Global EnterpriseIT is Putting Attention on Open Source Adoption • Accenture survey from 300 large organizations in both the private and public sector (5th Aug 2010) finds: – 69% anticipate increased investment in 2010 – 38% expecting to migrate mission-critical software to open source in the next 12 months – 50% are fully committed to open source in their business
  • 33.
    Open Source asa Viable Business Model: Using Jaspersoft as Example
  • 34.
    JasperReports: Yearly Adopters Gain •Total downloads in 2010: 1M (based on Jaspersoft’s CEO – Brian Gentile’s input) • Assuming adopter conversion rate is 2% • New adopters in 2010 = 1M * 2% = 20,000
  • 35.
    JasperReports: Yearly Support SubscribersGain • Assuming support subscriber conversion rate is 2% • New support subscribers in 2010 = 20,000 * 2% = 400
  • 36.
    JasperReports: Yearly Revenue Growth •Assuming each support subscriber pays $5,000 • New stream of revenue gained from support subscription, in 2010 = 400 * $5,000 = $2,000,000
  • 37.
    $2M Recurring Revenue •Support subscription is recurring revenue. • And the conservative figure of $2 million annual recurring revenue, is just coming from 1 service – support subscription.
  • 38.
    Open Source CompanyCan Make $ Meh? Undoubtedly, it’s a proven scalable business model!