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LTV
specifics, pitfalls and life hacks
VASILIY SABIROV
LEAD ANALYST & CO-FOUNDER
DEVTODEV
WHY YOU NEED TO KNOW LTV
AND HOW TO USE IT
▨ LTV (CLV) is the average money from one user
during the whole lifetime
▨ LTV > CPI (it is believed that SaaS will be attractive
to an investor if its LTV > 3*CPI)
▨ Segment LTV by sources
▨ LTV -> ROI
ROI = LTV / CPI * 100%
ROI N days = Cumulative ARPU N days / CPI * 100%
WHY YOU NEED TO
KNOW LTV AND HOW
TO USE IT
▨ Calculate the payback period
▨ Plan expenditures
◍ LTV > CPI
○ LTV -> ‘clean’ LTV
○ CPI -> eCPI
○ expenses per user
○ ‘clean’ LTV > eCPI + expenses
per user
WHY YOU NEED TO
KNOW LTV AND HOW
TO USE IT
▨ LTV is the main qualitative metric
▨ Project dynamics
LTV = f1(retention, ARPU)
ARPU = f2 (paying share, ARPPU)
LTV = F(retention, paying share, ARPPU)
WHY YOU NEED TO KNOW LTV
AND HOW TO USE IT
▨ To forecast future revenue
◍ What will happen to revenue in 3 months if we
decrease paid traffic by 50%?
◍ If we open a new market in April, how much money
will we get by the end of the year?
◍ If we make a change that will increase retention by 3%,
how will it influence revenue?
◍ When will the traffic bought from the partner X pay
off?
▨ close registrations
▨ wait until all users “die out”
▨ divide total audience by total revenue
▨ PROFIT
IDEAL METHOD
source
ADVANTAGE
▨ No one will do it this way▨ Ideal value
DISADVANTAGE
_+
▨ calculate total revenue for the whole period
▨ calculate total unique users for the whole
period
▨ divide one by another
DIVIDE EVERYTHING
▨ LTV ~ Total Revenue / YAU
▨ LTV ~ $501050/14550 = $34,44
▨ pretty rough estimation
CASE
ADVANTAGE
▨ inaccuracy
▨ doesn’t consider the project’s dynamics. You can get only one
value for the whole period
▨ underestimates the contribution of current users
▨ one operation
DISADVANTAGES
_
+
LIFETIME = average time from install date to
the date of inactivity
▨ Define an inactivity period (a week, 2
weeks, a month, etc.)
▨ Check inactive users every day
▨ Calculate the average period from
registration to last activity
▨ This is lifetime
OPTION 1:
ARPDAU * LIFETIME
▨ mark churned users
▨ calculate their lifetime
▨ average their value
▨ (12 + 29 + 3) / 3 = 44 / 3 = 14,7 days
CASE
ADVANTAGE
▨ ARPU never changes?
▨ lifetime fluctuations
▨ lifetime is taken from the past (inactive users), ARPDAU is
calculated considering the current date - all of this is used to
calculate the future!
▨ one operation
DISADVANTAGES
_
+
LIFETIME = integral (retention)
▨ integral can be substituted with the sum
▨ it can be calculated in solver (non-linear
optimization)
OPTION 2:
ARPDAU * LIFETIME
▨ how many days to sum up
◍ expert evaluation
◍ minimum increment
◍ discounting
ARPDAU * LIFETIME
source
ADVANTAGE
▨ ARPU never changes?
▨ lifetime is taken from the past (inactive users), ARPDAU is
calculated considering the current date - all of this is used to
calculate the future!
▨ we also get retention forecast
DISADVANTAGES:
_
+
LIFETIME = integral (retention)
▨ LTV - max. cumulative ARPU when t -> ∞
▨ how many days to sum up
◍ expert evaluation
◍ minimum increment
◍ discounting
CUMULATIVE
ARPU
ADVANTAGES
▨ no quick results
▨ a longer period is more accurate (but we need
it quickly)
▨ calculates LTV based on a definition
▨ accuracy
DISADVANTAGES
_+
HOW TO CALCULATE LTV
FOR SUBSCRIPTIONS
▨ lifetime - number of subscription periods (months)
▨ Churn - % of users who didn’t prolongate
▨ LTV - average value from one subscriber
CALCULATION
METHODS
▨ LT = N(subscriptions) for the whole
period / N (subscribers)
▨ LT = 1/CR
▨ LT = (1 - CRr)^s * (s + 1/CRp)
r - short-term CR
p - long-term CR
s - number of months in short-term
▨ LTV = SubscriptionPrice * LT
CR 1 = (100-70)/100 = 30%
CR 2 = (70-50)/70 = 29%
CR 3 = (50-40)/50 = 20%
CR 4 = (40-35)/40 = 13%
CR 5 = (35-30)/35 = 14%
CR 6 = (30-25)/30 = 17%
SOME DETAILS
▨ Payback period
▨ Segmentation
▨ LTV decreases over time if you do
nothing
▨ Social LTV = LTV * (1 + k-factor)
TO SUM UP
▨ ideal method
▨ lifetime * ARPU (by churn)
▨ lifetime * ARPU (by retention)
▨ cumulative ARPU
▨ subscription
HOW TO OPTIMIZE LTV
LTV = F (retention, ARPU) = F (retention, ARPPU, paying share)
retention
▨ tutorial
▨ transparency
▨ intrigue
▨ cycles
▨ triggers
paying share
▨ paying and non-
paying balance
▨ loyalty
▨ long-term retention
ARPPU
▨ value for users
▨ product line
▨ long-term retention
THANK
YOU
FOR YOUR
ATTENTION
&
RETENTION!
sabirov@devtodev.com
www.devtodev.com

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LTV specifics, pitfalls and life hacks

  • 1. LTV specifics, pitfalls and life hacks VASILIY SABIROV LEAD ANALYST & CO-FOUNDER DEVTODEV
  • 2. WHY YOU NEED TO KNOW LTV AND HOW TO USE IT ▨ LTV (CLV) is the average money from one user during the whole lifetime ▨ LTV > CPI (it is believed that SaaS will be attractive to an investor if its LTV > 3*CPI) ▨ Segment LTV by sources ▨ LTV -> ROI ROI = LTV / CPI * 100% ROI N days = Cumulative ARPU N days / CPI * 100%
  • 3. WHY YOU NEED TO KNOW LTV AND HOW TO USE IT ▨ Calculate the payback period ▨ Plan expenditures ◍ LTV > CPI ○ LTV -> ‘clean’ LTV ○ CPI -> eCPI ○ expenses per user ○ ‘clean’ LTV > eCPI + expenses per user
  • 4. WHY YOU NEED TO KNOW LTV AND HOW TO USE IT ▨ LTV is the main qualitative metric ▨ Project dynamics LTV = f1(retention, ARPU) ARPU = f2 (paying share, ARPPU) LTV = F(retention, paying share, ARPPU)
  • 5. WHY YOU NEED TO KNOW LTV AND HOW TO USE IT ▨ To forecast future revenue ◍ What will happen to revenue in 3 months if we decrease paid traffic by 50%? ◍ If we open a new market in April, how much money will we get by the end of the year? ◍ If we make a change that will increase retention by 3%, how will it influence revenue? ◍ When will the traffic bought from the partner X pay off?
  • 6.
  • 7. ▨ close registrations ▨ wait until all users “die out” ▨ divide total audience by total revenue ▨ PROFIT IDEAL METHOD source
  • 8. ADVANTAGE ▨ No one will do it this way▨ Ideal value DISADVANTAGE _+
  • 9. ▨ calculate total revenue for the whole period ▨ calculate total unique users for the whole period ▨ divide one by another DIVIDE EVERYTHING
  • 10. ▨ LTV ~ Total Revenue / YAU ▨ LTV ~ $501050/14550 = $34,44 ▨ pretty rough estimation CASE
  • 11. ADVANTAGE ▨ inaccuracy ▨ doesn’t consider the project’s dynamics. You can get only one value for the whole period ▨ underestimates the contribution of current users ▨ one operation DISADVANTAGES _ +
  • 12. LIFETIME = average time from install date to the date of inactivity ▨ Define an inactivity period (a week, 2 weeks, a month, etc.) ▨ Check inactive users every day ▨ Calculate the average period from registration to last activity ▨ This is lifetime OPTION 1: ARPDAU * LIFETIME
  • 13. ▨ mark churned users ▨ calculate their lifetime ▨ average their value ▨ (12 + 29 + 3) / 3 = 44 / 3 = 14,7 days CASE
  • 14. ADVANTAGE ▨ ARPU never changes? ▨ lifetime fluctuations ▨ lifetime is taken from the past (inactive users), ARPDAU is calculated considering the current date - all of this is used to calculate the future! ▨ one operation DISADVANTAGES _ +
  • 15. LIFETIME = integral (retention) ▨ integral can be substituted with the sum ▨ it can be calculated in solver (non-linear optimization) OPTION 2: ARPDAU * LIFETIME
  • 16.
  • 17.
  • 18.
  • 19. ▨ how many days to sum up ◍ expert evaluation ◍ minimum increment ◍ discounting ARPDAU * LIFETIME source
  • 20. ADVANTAGE ▨ ARPU never changes? ▨ lifetime is taken from the past (inactive users), ARPDAU is calculated considering the current date - all of this is used to calculate the future! ▨ we also get retention forecast DISADVANTAGES: _ +
  • 21. LIFETIME = integral (retention) ▨ LTV - max. cumulative ARPU when t -> ∞ ▨ how many days to sum up ◍ expert evaluation ◍ minimum increment ◍ discounting CUMULATIVE ARPU
  • 22.
  • 23. ADVANTAGES ▨ no quick results ▨ a longer period is more accurate (but we need it quickly) ▨ calculates LTV based on a definition ▨ accuracy DISADVANTAGES _+
  • 24. HOW TO CALCULATE LTV FOR SUBSCRIPTIONS ▨ lifetime - number of subscription periods (months) ▨ Churn - % of users who didn’t prolongate ▨ LTV - average value from one subscriber
  • 25. CALCULATION METHODS ▨ LT = N(subscriptions) for the whole period / N (subscribers) ▨ LT = 1/CR ▨ LT = (1 - CRr)^s * (s + 1/CRp) r - short-term CR p - long-term CR s - number of months in short-term ▨ LTV = SubscriptionPrice * LT CR 1 = (100-70)/100 = 30% CR 2 = (70-50)/70 = 29% CR 3 = (50-40)/50 = 20% CR 4 = (40-35)/40 = 13% CR 5 = (35-30)/35 = 14% CR 6 = (30-25)/30 = 17%
  • 26. SOME DETAILS ▨ Payback period ▨ Segmentation ▨ LTV decreases over time if you do nothing ▨ Social LTV = LTV * (1 + k-factor)
  • 27. TO SUM UP ▨ ideal method ▨ lifetime * ARPU (by churn) ▨ lifetime * ARPU (by retention) ▨ cumulative ARPU ▨ subscription
  • 28. HOW TO OPTIMIZE LTV LTV = F (retention, ARPU) = F (retention, ARPPU, paying share) retention ▨ tutorial ▨ transparency ▨ intrigue ▨ cycles ▨ triggers paying share ▨ paying and non- paying balance ▨ loyalty ▨ long-term retention ARPPU ▨ value for users ▨ product line ▨ long-term retention