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AdWords™ Seminar
   For Success
      AdWords 101




                    1
Housekeeping


• The Schedule
• Your Materials
• The AdWords Credit
• I Have Questions!!!
• Cellphones To Vibrate, Please



                                  2
Google AdWords™




Source: Advertising Age’s Search Marketing Fact Pack

                                                       3
How Online Advertising Began




                               4
How Online Advertising Began




                               4
How Online Advertising Began




                               5
Online Marketing Options




                           6
Online Marketing Options




                           7
Online Marketing Options




                           8
Online Marketing Options




                           9
Online Marketing Options




                           10
Online Marketing Options




                           10
What is Pay-Per-Click (PPC)?


Advertisers pay when prospects click.
 Benefits:
   • Control
   • Feedback
   • Relevancy
   • Measurable Results


                                        11
Basic Terminology

• Keywords
                      • Ad Rank
• Creative
                      • Quality Score
• Landing Page
                      • Conversion
• Impression
                      • AdWords vs.
• Clickthrough Rate     AdSense



                                        12
Search Engine Results Page (SERP)




                                    13
The Search Network




                     14
The Search Network




                     15
The Search Network




                     16
The Search Network




                     17
The Search Network




                     18
The Search Network




                     19
The Google Display Network




                             20
The Google Display Network




                             21
The Google Display Network




                             21
The Google Display Network




                             22
How The Auction Works

Max Bid   QS   Ad Rank   Actual CPC

  $4      8      32      (24/8) = $3

  $4      6      24      (12/6) = $2

  $4      3      12      min price



                                       23
If Quality Score Increases:

Max Bid   QS   Ad Rank     Actual CPC

  $4      10     40      (24/10) = $2.40

  $4      6      24        (12/6) = $2

  $4      3      12        min price



                                           24
Creating and
 Managing Your
AdWords Account

                  25
So Long, Starter Edition




                           26
So Long, Old UI




                  27
So Long, Old UI




                  27
The New UI




             28
Account Setup




                29
Account Setup




                30
Account Setup




                31
Account Setup




                32
Account Setup




                33
Account Setup




                34
Account Setup




                35
Account Setup




                36
Account Setup




                37
Account Structure




                    38
Account Organization Options


• Products and Services
• Brand Names
• Websites
• Geographic Location
• Seasonal Products and Services
• Themes or Functions


                                   39
User Interface Tour


                      40
Home Tab




           41
Alerts




         42
Alerts




         42
Account Status




                 43
Account Status




                 43
Announcements




                44
Watch List




             45
Watch List




             45
Watch List




             45
Watch List




             45
Keyword Performance




                      46
Keyword Performance




                      46
Keyword Performance




                      46
Active Campaigns




                   47
Active Campaigns




                   47
Campaign Performance




                       48
Campaign Performance




                       48
Campaign Performance




                       48
Campaign Performance




                       48
Campaign Performance




                       48
Campaign Performance




                       48
Campaign Performance




                       48
Campaign Performance




                       48
Campaign Performance




                       48
Campaign Performance




                       48
Campaign Performance




                       48
Campaign Performance




                       48
Help and Tips




                49
Campaigns Tab




                50
Change Date Range




                    51
Tree View




            52
Roll-Up Tabs




               53
Roll-Up Tabs




               53
Segment Data




               54
Segment Data




               55
Segment Data




               56
Filter




         57
Filter




         58
Filter




         58
Filter




         58
Customize Columns




                    59
Customize Columns




                    60
Performance Summary Graph




                            61
Performance Summary Graph




                            62
Performance Summary Graph




                            63
Performance Summary Graph




                            64
Performance Summary Graph




                            65
Creating Ad Groups




                     66
Creating Ad Groups




                     66
Editing Ad Groups




                    67
Editing Ad Groups




                    67
Editing Ad Groups




                    68
Editing Ad Groups




                    68
Editing Ad Groups




                    68
Editing Ad Groups




                    68
Managing Settings




                    69
Settings: General




                    70
Settings: General




                    71
Settings: Locations and Languages




                                    72
Settings: Networks and Devices




                                 73
Settings: Networks and Devices




                                 73
Settings: Networks and Devices




                                 73
Settings: Networks and Devices




                                 73
Settings: Networks and Devices




                                 73
Settings: Networks and Devices




                                 74
Settings: Bidding and Budget




             Or:




                               75
Settings: Bidding and Budget




                               76
Settings: Bidding and Budget




                               77
Settings: Bidding and Budget




                               77
Settings: Bidding and Budget




                               77
Settings: Bidding and Budget




                               77
Settings: Ad Extensions




                          78
Settings: Ad Extensions




                          79
Settings: Ad Extensions




                          80
Settings: Ad Extensions




                          81
Settings: Advanced Settings




                              82
Settings: Advanced Settings




                              82
Settings: Advanced Settings




                              82
Settings: Advanced Settings




                              82
Settings: Advanced Settings




                              82
Settings: Advanced Settings




                              82
Settings: Advanced Settings




                              82
Settings: Advanced Settings




                              82
Use Settings to Manage:

• Campaign Name
• Geographic Location
• Language
• Networks and Devices
• Bidding and Budget
• Position Preference and Delivery Method
• Ad Scheduling
• Ad Delivery Preferences
• Demographics
                                            83
Managing Ads




               84
Editing Ads




              85
Editing Ads




              85
Editing Ads




              85
Editing Ads




              86
Editing Ads




              86
Editing Ads




              86
Managing Keywords




                    87
Managing Keywords




                    87
Editing Keywords




                   88
Editing Keywords




                   88
Editing Keywords




                   88
Editing Keywords




                   88
Editing Keywords




                   88
Editing Keywords




                   89
“See Search Terms”




                     90
“See Search Terms”




                     90
“See Search Terms”




                     90
“See Search Terms”




                     90
“See Search Terms”




                     90
“See Search Terms”




                     90
“See Search Terms”




                     90
Managing Negative Keywords




                             91
Managing Negative Keywords




                             91
Managing Networks




                    92
Managing Networks




                    92
Managing Networks




                    92
Managing Networks




                    92
Managing Networks




                    92
Managing Networks




                    92
Managing Networks




                    92
Managing Networks




                    92
Managing Exclusions




                      93
Managing Exclusions




                      94
Remarketing




              95
Remarketing




              96
Remarketing




              97
Remarketing




              97
Managing Audiences




                     98
Managing Audiences




                     98
Managing Audiences




                     98
Managing Audiences




                     98
Managing Audiences




                     98
Managing Audiences




                     98
Creating
Campaigns


            99
Creating a Campaign




                      100
Creating a Campaign




                      100
Creating a Campaign




                      101
Creating a Campaign: Settings




                                102
Creating a Campaign: Settings




                                103
Creating a Campaign: Settings




                                104
Creating a Campaign: Ad Groups




                                 105
Creating a Campaign: Ad Groups




                                 105
Creating a Campaign: Ad Groups




                                 105
Creating a Campaign: Ad Groups




                                 105
Creating a Campaign: Ad Groups




                                 105
Creating a Campaign: Ad Groups




                                 105
Creating a Campaign: Ad Groups




                                 105
Creating a Campaign: Ad Groups




                                 105
Creating a Campaign: Ad Groups




                                 105
Developing
Keyword Lists


                106
Building a Keyword List

• Brainstorm business
• Review website
• Think like a customer
• Focus on what differentiates
• Include plural & singular versions
• Include spelling mistakes & variations
• Include product numbers & codes

                                           107
Keyword Match Types

• Broad: word or phrase
  • Modifier

• Phrase: “word or phrase in here”

• Exact: [word or phrase exactly]
• Negative: -don’t use word or phrase

  • Negative variations

                                        108
Match Type Examples


• Broad: Orlando
• Phrase: “Orlando Bloom”

• Exact: [Orlando FL]
• Negatives:

    • -Gauteng, -”South Africa”


                                  109
NEW - Broad Match Modifier


• Use a plus symbol (+) before one or
  more words in a broad match keyword

• Words with a + must be searched
  exactly or as a close variant

• Variants include: misspellings, plural/
  singular, abbreviations, acronyms and
  stemmings


                                            110
NEW - Broad Match Modifier


No space between plus sign and word:

• Correct: +kallassy +ankle brace

• Incorrect: + kallassy + ankle brace
• Incorrect: +kallassy+ankle brace



                                        111
Negative Keyword Match Variations
Scenario: AdWords for Hannah’s Dude Ranch, Montana USA




  • Standard Negative: -Miley

  • Negative Phrase: -“Hannah Montana”
  • Negative Exact: -[Montana]




                                                     112
Not the Hot Tub Time Machine!!




Hot Tub Time Machine is a 2010
American comedy film directed
 by Steve Pink and produced
by MGM/United Artists. The film
was released on March 26, 2010.




                                  113
Examples of Negative Keywords
Service provider   Vacation destination   Frequently used

   -become               -library                -free
      -class             -doctor                -lyrics
    -classes                -vet           -second hand
    -course             -hospital               -used
    -license              -cards             -wholesale
   -training             -history                -pics
      -jobs              -jobs in             -pictures
 -employment            -pictures          -definition of
   -supplies              -news                -history
     -tools             -weather                  -diy


                                                            114
Keyword Tool




               115
Keyword Tool




               116
Keyword Tool




               117
Keyword Tool




               118
Keyword Tool




               119
Keyword Tool




               120
Keyword Tool




               121
Keyword Tool




               121
Keyword Tool




               122
Keyword Tool




               122
Keyword Tool




               122
Edit Campaign Negative Keywords




                                  123
Edit Campaign Negative Keywords




                                  124
Edit Campaign Negative Keywords




                                  125
Writing Great Ads


                    126
Ad Text Specs
• Ad title
  (25 characters max,
  including spaces)

• Two description lines
  (35 characters max each,
  including spaces)

• Display URL
  (35 characters max,
  including spaces)

• Destination URL
  (1024 characters max,
  including spaces)
                             127
Successful Ads Usually:


• Divide benefits from features
• Use major keywords in headline
• Have a good display URL
• Balance hype and yawn
• “Speak” to intended audience
• Include call to action


                                   128
Calls To Action

• Download Now
• Buy Now
• Purchase
• Call Today
• Order Now
• Sign Up
• Get a Quote

                              129
Run a Split Test




                   130
Run a Split Test




                   131
Run a Split Test




                   132
Run a Split Test




                   133
The Takeaway:


You cannot fit your entire sales pitch into
95 characters. Focus on one offer, service
  or product. Include call to action and
differentiate yourself from competitors.




                                              134
Beyond Text Ads


                  135
Image & Flash Ads
• .Gif, .JPG, .PNG, .SWF

• Appear on some sites in
  Google Display Network

• Matched to keywords
  and/or page content

• Keyword & placement-
  targeted campaigns




                                136
Creating Image & Flash Ads




                             137
Creating Image & Flash Ads




                             138
Creating Image & Flash Ads




                             139
Creating Image & Flash Ads




                             140
Video Ads

• First appears as
  static image. Once
  clicked, (image or
  play button) plays
  within ad space.

• Clicking URL or on
  ad while playing will
  link to the website.


                              141
142
Creating Ads With
Display Ad Builder


                     143
Display Ad Builder




                     144
Display Ad Builder




                     144
Display Ad Builder




                     144
Display Ad Builder




                     144
Display Ad Builder




                     144
Display Ad Builder




                     144
Image Search Ads




                   145
Image Search Ads


• Appears on Google Images
• Pairs text with images
• Part of Search Network
• Does not include animated ads or Flash
• Create with Display Ad Builder



                                           146
Image Search Ads




                   147
Image Search Ads




                   148
Image Search Ads




                   149
Image Search Ads




                   150
Image Search Ads




                   151
Mobile Ads

• Customers read ad, then call
  or click to visit website
  Format:
  • Image Ads
  • Text (18 characters)
    • Phone number or a
      mobile-optimized website


                                 152
Creating Mobile Ads




                      153
Creating Mobile Ads




                      153
Google Places


• Replaces Local Business Ads
• Appears on Google Properties
  (Including Maps) and Search Network
• Shows Business Address After Text Ad
• Use Address from Google Places or
  Manually Enter



                                         154
Claim Your Business Listing




                              155
156
Google Tags




              157
Google Tags




              158
Google Tags




              159
Google Tags Dashboard




                        160
Google Tags Dashboard




                        161
162
163
164
165
Tracking
Performance


              166
What is a Conversion?
 When a click on an ad results in a
      desirable behavior:


• Online purchase
• Registration/Signup
• Form submission
• Pageview
• Etc.


                                      167
Conversion Tracking




                      168
Conversion Tracking




                      168
Conversion Tracking




                      168
Conversion Tracking




                      168
Conversion Tracking




                      168
Conversion Tracking




                      168
Conversion Tracking




                      168
Conversion Tracking




                      168
Conversion Tracking




                      168
Conversion Tracking




                      168
Conversion Tracking




                      168
Conversion Tracking




                      168
Where You’ll See Results:




                            169
Where You’ll See Results:




                            169
Google Analytics




                   170
171
172
173
174
175
176
To Set Up GA




               177
To Set Up GA




               177
To Set Up GA




               177
To Set Up GA




               177
To Set Up GA




               177
Optimizing For
 Conversions


                 178
Start With Your Website


• Analyze products
  & website
• Analyze
  landing pages
• Analyze
  purchase process




                                  179
#2: Refine Your Keywords



• Add negative keywords
• Make keywords more specific
• Use keywords in Ad Text
• Include prices in Ad Text*


                                180
Monitor Competitor Pricing




                             181
Optimizing For
More Ad Traffic


                  182
How To Begin:


• Add new keywords

• Add plurals

• Add variations: e.g. “Apple accessories” &
  “Mac accessories”

• Use Google’s Keyword Tool

• Use other keyword tools

                                               183
Check Impression Share




                         184
Check Impression Share




                         185
Opportunities Tab




                    186
Opportunities Tab




                    186
Opportunities Tab




                    186
Opportunities Tab




                    186
Expand Locations & Distribution


 • Target ALL locations where you do
   business
 • Target language of customers
 • Enable Search Network
 • Enable Google Display Network




                                       187
Try New Angles


• Read your website
• Read competitors’ sites
• Read manufacturers’ sites
• Create Ad Groups and keywords for
     unadvertised areas
• Use Keyword Tool to find more ideas


                                        188
Use General Keywords With Care




                                 189
Optimizing For
 Quality Score


                 190
Quality Score is Determined By:

• Historical CTR
• Account history, including performance in
  geographic regions
• Historical CTR of display URLs
• Relevance of keyword to ad text
• Quality of landing page
• Other relevancy factors


                                              191
Where To See It:




                   192
Where To See It:




                   193
Where To See It:




                   194
Where To See It:




                   195
To Increase Quality Score:


• Optimize keywords by:
  • Adding negatives and relevant keywords
• Review and improve ad text
• Create new, focused Ad Groups
• Review landing pages


                                             196
Landing Page Quality

Optimization In a Nutshell:

  •   Provide relevant and substantial
      content

  •   Treat a user’s personal information
      responsibly

  •   Develop an easily navigable site

  •   Optimize for load time

                                            197
Landing Page Quality




                       198
Landing Page Quality




                       198
Billing


          199
Billing Summary Page




                       200
Billing Summary Page




                       200
Campaign Activity/Invoice Summary




                                    201
Campaign Activity/Invoice Summary




                                    201
Billing Cycle
Charged every 30 days unless advertising
   costs reach certain thresholds within 30-
   day cycle.
How Charges Work:

   •    New advertisers: 30 days - $50

   •    Then, 30 days - $200

   •    Then, 30 days - $350

   •    Maximum of $500 in 30 days

At end of billing period, youʼre charged for all costs accrued
     during cycle.

                                                                 202
To-Dos &
Resources


            203
To-Dos

• Get comfortable with user interface.
• Evaluate and improve account structure.
• Review keywords, adjust bids and match types.
  Add negative keywords!
• Install conversion tracking and Google
  Analytics; use data to make improvements.
• Check Google Places listing; add/correct
  information.

                                                  204
Resources

• AdWords Help Center:
  http://adwords.google.com/support/
• Inside AdWords (official blog):
  http://adwords.blogspot.com/
• Google’s Small Business Blog
  http://googlesmb.blogspot.com/
• See full list on your USB



                                       205
Speaker Biography
Stasia became a Google Advertising Professional Qualified Individual in January
2005, and an authorized AdWords Seminar Leader in 2006. Since then she has
trained thousands of people to build and optimize AdWords campaigns. Stasia
has fourteen years experience managing Web technology projects and online
marketing programs. Prior to leading the seminars she was senior vice
president for Sitening, a Nashville-based information technology company
focused on Raven Internet Marketing Tools for search engine optimization
(SEO) and search engine marketing (SEM). Before joining Sitening, she
managed the Web departments for two Nashville-based custom publishing
companies.

Stasia's career began in the Boston area. Before moving to Nashville, she
worked for The Boston Globe's website Boston.com and a Boston-area Web
consulting agency. Stasia has worked for a wide range of clients, including
Osram Sylvania, Harvard Business School Executive Education,
eMarketer.com, NashvillePost.com, Cannondale, Air Jamaica, the National           Stasia Holdren
Federation of Independent Business, Psychiatric Services and TravelCenters of     PPC-Boot-Camp.com
                                                                                  stasia@ppc-boot-camp.com
America.

Stasia earned degrees in English Literature and Journalism from the University
of Massachusetts, Amherst. She lives in Nashville, Tennessee with her family.
When she is not online, she finds balance by running, gardening and training
her German Shepherd, (Princess) Jasmine.




                                                                                                       206

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