Sample Media Plan
                 Media Planning - Lecture 3

Sunday, 27 December 2009
Constituents (   ) of a
                 Complete Media Plan



Sunday, 27 December 2009
Constituents of a Complete
                 Media Plan
                 1.1
 Core Constituents (   )

Sunday, 27 December ...
CONSTITUENTS OF A COMPLETE MEDIA PLAN
    1.1
 CORE CONSTITUENTS (   )

Sunday, 27 December 2009
Core Constituents
                 (       )

                 Background (      ) – some marketing highlights,
          ...
Core Constituents
                 (       )

                 Media Objectives (      ) – what tasks the media
          ...
Core Constituents
                 (       )

                 Competitive Analysis (                  ) – spending
      ...
Core Constituents
                 (       )


                 Target Audience Analysis (              )–
               ...
TARGET AUDIENCE ANALYSIS
    WHAT’S THEIR TARGET AUDIENCE
Sunday, 27 December 2009
Core Constituents
                 (       )

                 Media Habits of the Target Audience – some
                ...
Core Constituents
                 (       )

                 Rationale (          ) for Media Selection –
              ...
Core Constituents
                 (       )


                 Media Strategy (          ) – how the media plan
         ...
Core Constituents
                 (       )

                 Media Schedule (                ) – action elements
       ...
Constituents of a Complete
                 Media Plan
                 1.2 Additional Constituents (   )

Sunday, 27 Dece...
KIT-KAT
    ADVERTISING AWARDS
Sunday, 27 December 2009
Additional Constituents
                 (         )

                 Product Seasonality (             ) – how
         ...
OCEAN PARK
    HALLOWEEN AD
Sunday, 27 December 2009
OCEAN PARK
    HALLOWEEN AD
Sunday, 27 December 2009
OCEAN PARK
    CHRISTMAS AD
Sunday, 27 December 2009
Additional Constituents
                 (         )


                 Other Media Considered but Not Recommended
       ...
Additional Constituents
                 (         )


                 Detailed Media Cost Estimates and Calculations
   ...
Additional Constituents
                 (         )

               Alternative Plans at Various Budget Levels Above
    ...
Additional Constituents
                 (         )


                 Decision Dates and Cancellation Flexibility (
    ...
Additional Constituents
                 (         )


                 Responses to Earlier Client’s Questions ( clients
...
Additional Constituents
                 (         )


                 Photos – especially about those creative media,
  ...
HOW TO WRITE A GOOD MEDIA PLAN
    MEDIA PLANNING
Sunday, 27 December 2009
Additional Constituents
                 (         )
                 A media plan is the blueprint (     ) for how the
  ...
Additional Constituents
                 (         )
                 A good media is a persuasive (                  ) do...
Information Revealed
          (    ) from Media Plan



Sunday, 27 December 2009
•        Media plan is typically (     ) prepared by
                 advertising agency.

        •        Thus it is a p...
•        Total media spend proposed is as large as possible
               because it favours better agency commission (
 ...
•        High variability (   ) of effectiveness and
               efficiency of new or creative media (          )
      ...
•        High variability (     ) of effectiveness and
               efficiency of new or creative media (               )...
Sunday, 27 December 2009
•        High variability (     ) of effectiveness and
               efficiency of new or creative media (               )...
Sample
          Media Plan
Sunday, 27 December 2009
A fictitious (      ) media plan is
                presented for teaching purpose.

          The figures, brand, and mod...
Media Plan


                           Background

Sunday, 27 December 2009
4.1 Background




Sunday, 27 December 2009
•           Nike, Inc. has been one of the
                           leading producers and marketers of
                 ...
•           Nike has told the agency to assume a total
                           advertising budget of US$11 millions for...
•           Nike has told the agency to assume a total
                           advertising budget of US$11 millions for...
•           Nike has told the agency to assume a total
                           advertising budget of US$11 millions for...
4.2 Media Objectives




Sunday, 27 December 2009
Media Objectives
                   Within the US$10 million budget (Budget), create awareness of Air
                   H...
Media Objectives
                   Within the US$10 million budget (Budget), create awareness of Air
                   H...
Media Objectives
                   Within the US$10 million budget (Budget), create awareness of Air
                   H...
Media Objectives
                   Within the US$10 million budget (Budget), create awareness of Air
                   H...
Media Objectives
                   Within the US$10 million budget (Budget), create awareness of Air
                   H...
Media Objectives
                   Within the US$10 million budget (Budget), create awareness of Air
                   H...
Media Objectives
                   Within the US$10 million budget (Budget), create awareness of Air
                   H...
1.1 Competitive Analysis



Sunday, 27 December 2009
Sunday, 27 December 2009
Budgets




Sunday, 27 December 2009
Budgets

                           Leading Competitor -
                                 Adidas




Sunday, 27 December 2...
Media Selection

                                              2% 9%
                                                     ...
Leading Competitors’
                      Timing of Delivery




Sunday, 27 December 2009
Leading Competitors’
                      Timing of Delivery




Sunday, 27 December 2009
Target Audience Analysis




Sunday, 27 December 2009
Target Audience Analysis




Sunday, 27 December 2009
Target Audience Analysis


                           Statistics show that the no. of targets
                           a...
Media Habits of the
                        Target Audience


Sunday, 27 December 2009
•        TV, which is stipulated (           ) medium by the
                clients, can create awareness to highest perc...
Sunday, 27 December 2009
Sunday, 27 December 2009
•           Newspaper and magazine, being other stipulated
                           (          ) medium, can follow on t...
MTR and KCR advertisements will be used
                           for capturing those working groups sparing
            ...
Sunday, 27 December 2009
•           Outdoor advertising at some prime
                           location, e.g. those at Fa Yuen Street,
         ...
Sunday, 27 December 2009
•           Internet advertising can complement
                           (    ) traditional mass media in
              ...
Creative Media Buy

               •           Deflated helium balloon is giveaway for
                           each Next...
Media Strategy




Sunday, 27 December 2009
•           Use TV as the primary medium to create
                           awareness for the targets aged 35-64
       ...
•           Provide sustainable support in the weekly
                           program Sports World on TVB Jade before,
...
Post-Buy Evaluation




Sunday, 27 December 2009
Since the budgets of a media plan are
                           estimates, the media planner has to
                     ...
As an example, the elements of post-
                     buy reports for magazine may include:
                    • The ...
•           In addition to advising the clients, post-
                           buy evaluation is used as background for...
Media Habits of the Targets Aged 35-64




Sunday, 27 December 2009
Composition (             –
                  Target Audience                )
            = [no. of readers that is withi...
MILK




Sunday, 27 December 2009
TA




Sunday, 27 December 2009
TA


                                 o si tion
                           Co mp
                               30%




Su...
Coverage (         –                   TA
                                    ) = [total no. of readers of a
            p...
TA




Sunday, 27 December 2009
TA




Sunday, 27 December 2009
TA




Sunday, 27 December 2009
TA

           ver age
        Co
           80%




Sunday, 27 December 2009
TA


                                 o si tion
                           Co mp
                               30%




Su...
Media Habits of the Targets Aged 35-64

                            Total Target:
                                35-64 (T...
Media Habits of the Targets Aged 35-64

                              Composition (Total Targets):
                       ...
Media Habits of the Targets Aged 35-64




                           Audience (       )

                           =Tota...
Media Habits of the Targets Aged 35-64




                           Composition of Magazine (East Touch)
               ...
Media Habits of the Targets Aged 35-64




                               Coverage of Ming Pao Weekly
                    ...
Media Habits of the Targets Aged 35-64




                                         Index (   )
                          ...
Media Habits of the Targets Aged 35-64




                              4C Cost (                      )

               ...
Media Habits of the Targets Aged 35-64




                           CPM (CPM = Cost Per Mille (i.e. Cost Per
           ...
Sunday, 27 December 2009
Sunday, 27 December 2009
Sunday, 27 December 2009
Sunday, 27 December 2009
Sunday, 27 December 2009
Sunday, 27 December 2009
Sunday, 27 December 2009
Tutorial

Sunday, 27 December 2009
With reference to the above table,
                           suppose the total population is
                           6...
(c)   (f)

                                       (g)   (i)   (k)
                           (a)               (j)        ...
Audience of Mag B = Total Target
                           Audience x Coverage
                             = 4,333,012 x...
Composition of Total Target = Total
                           Target Audience / population
                              ...
Composition of Mag C= Index x
                           Composition of Total Target
                             = 131 x ...
Coverage of Total Target = Audience /
                           Total Target Audience
                              = 4,3...
Coverage of Mag A = Audience / Total
                           Target Audience
                             = 952,792 / 4...
Index of Mag A = Composition /
                           Composition of Total Target x 100
                              ...
4C Cost of Mag A = Audience x
                           CPM / 1000
                             = 952,792 x $40.11 / 1000...
CPM of Mag B = 4C Cost / Audience
                           x 1000
                              = 22,950 / 952,792
     ...
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Mp Week2

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Mp Week2

  1. 1. Sample Media Plan Media Planning - Lecture 3 Sunday, 27 December 2009
  2. 2. Constituents ( ) of a Complete Media Plan Sunday, 27 December 2009
  3. 3. Constituents of a Complete Media Plan 1.1 Core Constituents ( ) Sunday, 27 December 2009
  4. 4. CONSTITUENTS OF A COMPLETE MEDIA PLAN 1.1 CORE CONSTITUENTS ( ) Sunday, 27 December 2009
  5. 5. Core Constituents ( ) Background ( ) – some marketing highlights, new project/project continuation ( ), media budget Sunday, 27 December 2009
  6. 6. Core Constituents ( ) Media Objectives ( ) – what tasks the media are expected to carry out ( ) Sunday, 27 December 2009
  7. 7. Core Constituents ( ) Competitive Analysis ( ) – spending levels ( ), media used ( ), timing of delivery ( ) Sunday, 27 December 2009
  8. 8. Core Constituents ( ) Target Audience Analysis ( )– demographic analysis of target audience Sunday, 27 December 2009
  9. 9. TARGET AUDIENCE ANALYSIS WHAT’S THEIR TARGET AUDIENCE Sunday, 27 December 2009
  10. 10. Core Constituents ( ) Media Habits of the Target Audience – some analytics about various vehicles ( ) Sunday, 27 December 2009
  11. 11. Core Constituents ( ) Rationale ( ) for Media Selection – reasons for selecting the various media and vehicles ( ) Sunday, 27 December 2009
  12. 12. Core Constituents ( ) Media Strategy ( ) – how the media plan will accomplish ( ) the stated objectives Sunday, 27 December 2009
  13. 13. Core Constituents ( ) Media Schedule ( ) – action elements including timelines ( ), expected reach and frequency, ad sizes, individual costs and total budget. Sunday, 27 December 2009
  14. 14. Constituents of a Complete Media Plan 1.2 Additional Constituents ( ) Sunday, 27 December 2009
  15. 15. KIT-KAT ADVERTISING AWARDS Sunday, 27 December 2009
  16. 16. Additional Constituents ( ) Product Seasonality ( ) – how particular media can suit the product seasonality, e.g. summer promotion advertised for Ocean Park’s Water World. Sunday, 27 December 2009
  17. 17. OCEAN PARK HALLOWEEN AD Sunday, 27 December 2009
  18. 18. OCEAN PARK HALLOWEEN AD Sunday, 27 December 2009
  19. 19. OCEAN PARK CHRISTMAS AD Sunday, 27 December 2009
  20. 20. Additional Constituents ( ) Other Media Considered but Not Recommended ( ) Sunday, 27 December 2009
  21. 21. Additional Constituents ( ) Detailed Media Cost Estimates and Calculations ( ) Sunday, 27 December 2009
  22. 22. Additional Constituents ( ) Alternative Plans at Various Budget Levels Above and Below the Quoted Budget ( budget plans ) Sunday, 27 December 2009
  23. 23. Additional Constituents ( ) Decision Dates and Cancellation Flexibility ( ) Sunday, 27 December 2009
  24. 24. Additional Constituents ( ) Responses to Earlier Client’s Questions ( clients - ) Sunday, 27 December 2009
  25. 25. Additional Constituents ( ) Photos – especially about those creative media, e.g. MTR advertising space Sunday, 27 December 2009
  26. 26. HOW TO WRITE A GOOD MEDIA PLAN MEDIA PLANNING Sunday, 27 December 2009
  27. 27. Additional Constituents ( ) A media plan is the blueprint ( ) for how the advertising message ( ) will be delivered to the target audience. It is typically presented by the media planner to the advertiser at a meeting, and the advertiser will then discuss it internally ( ) before coming back to the ad agency with comments. Sunday, 27 December 2009
  28. 28. Additional Constituents ( ) A good media is a persuasive ( ) document that (1) communicates the rationale ( ) behind recommendations ( ) to spend significant amounts of money, (2) lays down ( ) media objectives ( ), (3) formulates ( ) the media strategies, (4) proposes implementations ( ) according to the strategies and (5) entails evaluating alternatives ( ). It must be well organized, well written, simply presented and straightforward. The presentation of the whole plan should be completed in 10-15 minutes. Sunday, 27 December 2009
  29. 29. Information Revealed ( ) from Media Plan Sunday, 27 December 2009
  30. 30. • Media plan is typically ( ) prepared by advertising agency. • Thus it is a professional guide ( ) for implementation ( ) of media buying, which should maximize the efficiency ( ) of ad spend. However, there are precautions ( ) in using and interpreting the data: Sunday, 27 December 2009
  31. 31. • Total media spend proposed is as large as possible because it favours better agency commission ( )( D) • Propensity ( ) to using media or vehicles that can offer greater discount to the ad agency( ) • Some media, e.g. outdoor advertising space, suffer from data deficiency ( ) of viewer or audience traffic. ( ) Sunday, 27 December 2009
  32. 32. • High variability ( ) of effectiveness and efficiency of new or creative media ( ) because no past records can be followed. ( ) Sunday, 27 December 2009
  33. 33. • High variability ( ) of effectiveness and efficiency of new or creative media ( ) because no past records can be followed. ( ) • Discount has to been assumed on ( ) TV ratings and circulations ( ), e.g. those audited by Audit Bureau of Circulations ( ), UK, (ABC), if they are interpreted ( ) for the actual viewership of TV commercials and print advertisements. Sunday, 27 December 2009
  34. 34. Sunday, 27 December 2009
  35. 35. • High variability ( ) of effectiveness and efficiency of new or creative media ( ) because no past records can be followed. ( ) • Discount has to been assumed on ( ) TV ratings and circulations ( ), e.g. those audited by Audit Bureau of Circulations ( ), UK, (ABC), if they are interpreted ( ) for the actual viewership of TV commercials and print advertisements. • Plus or minus 10% has to be allowed for the actual ad spending because the figures in media plan are estimates only. (10% ) Sunday, 27 December 2009
  36. 36. Sample Media Plan Sunday, 27 December 2009
  37. 37. A fictitious ( ) media plan is presented for teaching purpose. The figures, brand, and model name presented may or may not be realistic. Sunday, 27 December 2009
  38. 38. Media Plan Background Sunday, 27 December 2009
  39. 39. 4.1 Background Sunday, 27 December 2009
  40. 40. • Nike, Inc. has been one of the leading producers and marketers of sporting products for many years. In anticipation of the blooming demand of sporting products due to Beijing Olympics 2008, Nike is launching a series of new technological sporting products, featuring the use Air Helium Max for the soles of their sporting shoes. Sunday, 27 December 2009
  41. 41. • Nike has told the agency to assume a total advertising budget of US$11 millions for Air Helium Max sporting shoes in Hong Kong market, of which US$10 millions is for working media, and has asked for a recommended media plan. • The account services group says that the client requests both 30-sec TV commercials and 4-color print advertisements, plus other creative advertisements as deem appropriate. Sunday, 27 December 2009
  42. 42. • Nike has told the agency to assume a total advertising budget of US$11 millions for Air Helium Max sporting shoes in Hong Kong market, of which US$10 millions is for working media, and has asked for a recommended media plan. • The account services group says that the client requests both 30-sec TV commercials and 4-color print advertisements, plus other creative advertisements as deem appropriate. Sunday, 27 December 2009
  43. 43. • Nike has told the agency to assume a total advertising budget of US$11 millions for Air Helium Max sporting shoes in Hong Kong market, of which US$10 millions is for working media, and has asked for a recommended media plan. • The account services group says that the client requests both 30-sec TV commercials and 4-color print advertisements, plus other creative advertisements as deem appropriate. Sunday, 27 December 2009
  44. 44. 4.2 Media Objectives Sunday, 27 December 2009
  45. 45. Media Objectives Within the US$10 million budget (Budget), create awareness of Air Helium Max shoes (Objective) before start of Beijing Olympics 2008 (Timing). NIKE Create Awareness... ... ... Sunday, 27 December 2009
  46. 46. Media Objectives Within the US$10 million budget (Budget), create awareness of Air Helium Max shoes (Objective) before start of Beijing Olympics 2008 (Timing). Following the above introduction, provide sustaining ( ) support through the remainder of Olympic months. Sustaining~? ~!!!! ... ... “ ... Stand By Me...” Sunday, 27 December 2009
  47. 47. Media Objectives Within the US$10 million budget (Budget), create awareness of Air Helium Max shoes (Objective) before start of Beijing Olympics 2008 (Timing). Following the above introduction, provide sustaining ( ) support through the remainder of Olympic months. Target advertising to the general, aged 15 – 64, male and female. ... Target Audience ( TA) ( ) ... ~ ... Sunday, 27 December 2009
  48. 48. Media Objectives Within the US$10 million budget (Budget), create awareness of Air Helium Max shoes (Objective) before start of Beijing Olympics 2008 (Timing). Following the above introduction, provide sustaining ( ) support through the remainder of Olympic months. Target advertising to the general, aged 15 – 64, male and female. During the introductory period ( ), reach ( ) 80% of target audience and average of five times (frequency), and 50% three or more times. TA TA Sunday, 27 December 2009
  49. 49. Media Objectives Within the US$10 million budget (Budget), create awareness of Air Helium Max shoes (Objective) before start of Beijing Olympics 2008 (Timing). Following the above introduction, provide sustaining ( ) support through the remainder of Olympic months. Target advertising to the general, aged 15 – 64, male and female. During the introductory period ( ), reach ( ) 80% of target audience and average of five times (frequency), and 50% three or more times. TA TA ( ~~ ...) Sunday, 27 December 2009
  50. 50. Media Objectives Within the US$10 million budget (Budget), create awareness of Air Helium Max shoes (Objective) before start of Beijing Olympics 2008 (Timing). Following the above introduction, provide sustaining ( ) support through the remainder of Olympic months. Target advertising to the general, aged 15 – 64, male and female. During the introductory period ( ), reach ( ) 80% of target audience and average of five times (frequency), and 50% three or more times. Following the introduction, sustain awareness ( ) by reaching 30% of the targets at least once of month. TA Sunday, 27 December 2009
  51. 51. Media Objectives Within the US$10 million budget (Budget), create awareness of Air Helium Max shoes (Objective) before start of Beijing Olympics 2008 (Timing). Following the above introduction, provide sustaining ( ) support through the remainder of Olympic months. Target advertising to the general, aged 15 – 64, male and female. During the introductory period ( ), reach ( ) 80% of target audience and average of five times (frequency), and 50% three or more times. Following the introduction, sustain awareness ( ) by reaching 30% of the targets at least once of month. Utilize media that can create awareness and effectively communicate the technical advantages of Air Helium Max. Sunday, 27 December 2009
  52. 52. 1.1 Competitive Analysis Sunday, 27 December 2009
  53. 53. Sunday, 27 December 2009
  54. 54. Budgets Sunday, 27 December 2009
  55. 55. Budgets Leading Competitor - Adidas Sunday, 27 December 2009
  56. 56. Media Selection 2% 9% 2% 8% MTR 52% 12% Radio Outdoor Magazine Newspapers 15% TV Internet Sunday, 27 December 2009
  57. 57. Leading Competitors’ Timing of Delivery Sunday, 27 December 2009
  58. 58. Leading Competitors’ Timing of Delivery Sunday, 27 December 2009
  59. 59. Target Audience Analysis Sunday, 27 December 2009
  60. 60. Target Audience Analysis Sunday, 27 December 2009
  61. 61. Target Audience Analysis Statistics show that the no. of targets aged 35-64 is 3,110,744, accounting for 45.3% and that of aged 15-34 is 1,961,131, accounting for 28.5% of the total population. Sunday, 27 December 2009
  62. 62. Media Habits of the Target Audience Sunday, 27 December 2009
  63. 63. • TV, which is stipulated ( ) medium by the clients, can create awareness to highest percentage of target markets at shortest time. • Following the convention, heavier budget will be spent on TVB Jade against proportionally smaller budget on ATV Home. • Little budget will be spared ( ) for the English channels of both TVB Pearl and ATV World, and some will be used for NOW TV channels of sports. • Prime time ( ) will be primarily ( ) considered for all TV spots. • Product placements ( ) in prime-time TV programs will be also considered if appropriate. Sunday, 27 December 2009
  64. 64. Sunday, 27 December 2009
  65. 65. Sunday, 27 December 2009
  66. 66. • Newspaper and magazine, being other stipulated ( ) medium, can follow on the burst ( ) of TV commercials and detail the advantages of the new technology. • Oriental Daily News (ODN) and Apple Daily are primarily considered. • General interest magazine like Next Magazine and Ming Pao Weekly will be used for both normal and editorial advertisement. • On the other hand, (1) niche-market newspaper like Wen Wei Pao or (2) specialized interest magazine like Photog will not be considered because of low advertising effectiveness and efficiency. Sunday, 27 December 2009
  67. 67. MTR and KCR advertisements will be used for capturing those working groups sparing no hours on watching TV and print ad. MTR station of Central, Tai Koo, Tsim Sha Tsui, Mongkok and Kwun Tong, and KCR station of Kowloon Tong and Shatin will be considered for escalator crown ( ), 4-sheet and 12-sheet advertisement. Sunday, 27 December 2009
  68. 68. Sunday, 27 December 2009
  69. 69. • Outdoor advertising at some prime location, e.g. those at Fa Yuen Street, Mong Kok, can induce impulsive ( ) buying for those people shopping for sport shoes. • On the other hand, billboard advertising at Cross Harbour Tunnel and Eastern Habour Tunnel can create awareness of the brand and the new product. Sunday, 27 December 2009
  70. 70. Sunday, 27 December 2009
  71. 71. • Internet advertising can complement ( ) traditional mass media in reaching those young targets who are heavy internet surfers. Sunday, 27 December 2009
  72. 72. Creative Media Buy • Deflated helium balloon is giveaway for each Next Magazine copy to signify the lightless and use of helium in sport shoe soles. • Airship in the form of a dummy Air Helium Max sport shoes is proposed because it signifies the lightness of the new sport shoes. Sunday, 27 December 2009
  73. 73. Media Strategy Sunday, 27 December 2009
  74. 74. • Use TV as the primary medium to create awareness for the targets aged 35-64 • Use print, MTR/KCR and Internet advertisement to complement TV in reaching the targets aged 15-34 and supplement the dissemination of detailed product message. • Concentrate introductory weight in June/ July 2008 to lead the Olympic period by buying spots and sponsor special TV programs on Olympics, e.g. title TV sponsorship or product placement Sunday, 27 December 2009
  75. 75. • Provide sustainable support in the weekly program Sports World on TVB Jade before, over and after the Olympic Period. • Highlight the site’s Internet address in print, outdoor advertisements and TV commercials. • In addition to the above thematic advertising, use tactical advertisements, e.g. discounted sales promotion, immediately before commencement of new academic year to boost sales to students • Re-launch the thematic and tactical advertisements in next festive seasons, i.e. Christmas of 2008, New Year and Chinese New Year Holidays in 2009. Sunday, 27 December 2009
  76. 76. Post-Buy Evaluation Sunday, 27 December 2009
  77. 77. Since the budgets of a media plan are estimates, the media planner has to prepare a post-buy evaluation that reports the actual figures about the advertisements delivered. Sunday, 27 December 2009
  78. 78. As an example, the elements of post- buy reports for magazine may include: • The page that each ad appeared, showing rotation of more than one insertion of ad. • Presence ( ) of any neighboring competitive advertising • Right-hand or left-hand page, • Adjacency ( ) to compatible ( ) editorial materials Sunday, 27 December 2009
  79. 79. • In addition to advising the clients, post- buy evaluation is used as background for future negotiation with the media. • It is a numerical analysis of what was executed versus what was planned. • It does not deal with large issues such as the awareness or success of the advertisements, which should be related to the effectiveness of the whole advertising program for which the entire marketing team is responsible. Sunday, 27 December 2009
  80. 80. Media Habits of the Targets Aged 35-64 Sunday, 27 December 2009
  81. 81. Composition ( – Target Audience ) = [no. of readers that is within targets / total no. of readers of a particular magazine] x 100% It is obtained through research by the magazine from time to time. Sunday, 27 December 2009
  82. 82. MILK Sunday, 27 December 2009
  83. 83. TA Sunday, 27 December 2009
  84. 84. TA o si tion Co mp 30% Sunday, 27 December 2009
  85. 85. Coverage ( – TA ) = [total no. of readers of a particular magazine / total no. of targets] x 100% Index =[ Composition / percentage of targets out of total population ] x 100% CPM = Cost Per Mille (i.e. Cost Per Thousand) = [4C Cost / Audience] x 1000 Sunday, 27 December 2009
  86. 86. TA Sunday, 27 December 2009
  87. 87. TA Sunday, 27 December 2009
  88. 88. TA Sunday, 27 December 2009
  89. 89. TA ver age Co 80% Sunday, 27 December 2009
  90. 90. TA o si tion Co mp 30% Sunday, 27 December 2009
  91. 91. Media Habits of the Targets Aged 35-64 Total Target: 35-64 (TA ) =1,248,855+1,193,788+668,101 =3,110,744 Sunday, 27 December 2009
  92. 92. Media Habits of the Targets Aged 35-64 Composition (Total Targets): % TA = Total TA / population =3,110,744 / 6,864,346 =45.3% Sunday, 27 December 2009
  93. 93. Media Habits of the Targets Aged 35-64 Audience ( ) =Total TA X Coverage =3,110,744 X 31% =952,792 Sunday, 27 December 2009
  94. 94. Media Habits of the Targets Aged 35-64 Composition of Magazine (East Touch) Touch TA = Index X Composition of Total TA = 157 X 45.3% = 70.9% Sunday, 27 December 2009
  95. 95. Media Habits of the Targets Aged 35-64 Coverage of Ming Pao Weekly TA = Audience / Total TA = 852,097 / 3,110,744 = 27% Sunday, 27 December 2009
  96. 96. Media Habits of the Targets Aged 35-64 Index ( ) 100 100 TA = Composition / Composition of TA X 100 = 70.9 / 45.3 X 100 = 157 Sunday, 27 December 2009
  97. 97. Media Habits of the Targets Aged 35-64 4C Cost ( ) CPM = 4C Cost / Audience X 1,000 4C Cost = Audience X CPM / 1,000 = 652,523 X 53.33 / 1,000 =HK$ 34,800 Sunday, 27 December 2009
  98. 98. Media Habits of the Targets Aged 35-64 CPM (CPM = Cost Per Mille (i.e. Cost Per Thousand) = 4C Cost / Audience X 1,000 = 44,500 / 952,792 X 1,000 = 46.70 Sunday, 27 December 2009
  99. 99. Sunday, 27 December 2009
  100. 100. Sunday, 27 December 2009
  101. 101. Sunday, 27 December 2009
  102. 102. Sunday, 27 December 2009
  103. 103. Sunday, 27 December 2009
  104. 104. Sunday, 27 December 2009
  105. 105. Sunday, 27 December 2009
  106. 106. Tutorial Sunday, 27 December 2009
  107. 107. With reference to the above table, suppose the total population is 6,800,000, fill in the blank above. Sunday, 27 December 2009
  108. 108. (c) (f) (g) (i) (k) (a) (j) (m) (d) (h) (l) (b) (e) (n) Sunday, 27 December 2009
  109. 109. Audience of Mag B = Total Target Audience x Coverage = 4,333,012 x 27% = 1,169,913 Audience of Mag D = Total Target Audience x Coverage = 4,333,012 x 33% = 1,429,894 Sunday, 27 December 2009
  110. 110. Composition of Total Target = Total Target Audience / population = 4,333,012 / 6,800,000 = 63.72% Sunday, 27 December 2009
  111. 111. Composition of Mag C= Index x Composition of Total Target = 131 x 63.72% = 83% Composition of Mag D= Index x Composition of Total Target = 142 x 63.72% = 90% Sunday, 27 December 2009
  112. 112. Coverage of Total Target = Audience / Total Target Audience = 4,333,012 / 4,333,012 = 100% Sunday, 27 December 2009
  113. 113. Coverage of Mag A = Audience / Total Target Audience = 952,792 / 4,333,012 = 22% Coverage of Mag C = Audience / Total Target Audience = 511,503 / 4,333,012 = 12% Sunday, 27 December 2009
  114. 114. Index of Mag A = Composition / Composition of Total Target x 100 = 84.7 / 63.72 x 100 = 133 Index of Mag B = Composition / Composition of Total Target x 100 = 73.1 / 63.72 x 100 = 115 Sunday, 27 December 2009
  115. 115. 4C Cost of Mag A = Audience x CPM / 1000 = 952,792 x $40.11 / 1000 = $38,216 4C Cost of Mag C = Audience x CPM / 1000 = 511,503 x $63.02 / 1000 = $32,235 Sunday, 27 December 2009
  116. 116. CPM of Mag B = 4C Cost / Audience x 1000 = 22,950 / 952,792 = $19.62 CPM of Mag D = 4C Cost / Audience x 1000 = 39,850 / 1,429,894 = $27.87 Sunday, 27 December 2009

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