International Dual Career Network - Annual Review 2013

1,560 views
1,375 views

Published on

IDCN is a collaboration of Companies, NGOs and Academic institutions with the purpose of facilitating the job search for mobile employee spouses, and providing member companies access to a turnkey pool of Talent.

Published in: Career, Technology, Business
0 Comments
1 Like
Statistics
Notes
  • Be the first to comment

No Downloads
Views
Total views
1,560
On SlideShare
0
From Embeds
0
Number of Embeds
39
Actions
Shares
0
Downloads
16
Comments
0
Likes
1
Embeds 0
No embeds

No notes for slide

International Dual Career Network - Annual Review 2013

  1. 1. International Dual Career Network (IDCN) Facilitating job search for mobile employees’ spouses Increase the mobility of the Talent in your workforce Improve your expatriation success rate Attract top international mobile Talent 2013 GLOBAL IDCN ANNUAL REVIEW
  2. 2. 1A network for you, owned by you, evolved by you Welcome 2 Executive summary 3 IDCN – Key people 4 Vision and values 5 Key Executive Board decisions 2013 6 Recap of the key achievements 2013 6 IDCN locations 7 Membership fees and principles 10 Global centre of expertise 11 Success stories 12 In case you have any questions, please write to: Marian Chiraches at contact@idcn.info Our global website www.idcn.info will be launched in April 2014 TABLE OF CONTENTS :
  3. 3. | 2013 Global IDCN Annual Review |2 Welcome to the second annual review of IDCN, 2013 was an exciting year for IDCN, with network launches in London, Sao Paulo and Los Angeles, the expansion of the IDCN Board to include Coca Cola, EY and Novartis, and formation of the IDCN Assocation. An IDCN Centre of Expertise was set up to support existing and upcoming networks, and the funding secured for the launch of the IDCN global website. I would like to recognise the ongoing hard work and contribution from our 80+ spouse* vol- unteers. Without them, their enthusiasm and commitment, IDCN would not exist in its` current format today. To date, over 100 spouses have found a job with the support of IDCN, 1,300+ spouses are involved around the Globe with over 50 active member companies. In 2014, new IDCN networks are planned for North America (New York) and for the first time we will be expanding into the Asia Pacific region with networks in Hong Kong, Shanghai and Dubai. I look forward to welcoming you all to a network event, onboarding meeting or member call during the year, and thank you for your support and contribution to making IDCN a global solution to ease the job search for dual career mobile couples. Warm regards, Sue, Sue Johnson Head of Gender Balance and Diversity - Nestlé *spouse – we do recognise all forms of partnership. WELCOME – SUE JOHNSON IDCN FOUNDER AND PRESIDENT
  4. 4. 3A network for you, owned by you, evolved by you EXECUTIVE SUMMARY The need for Talent is a key topic for CEOs and Company leadership teams. Dual Career couples are more and more becoming the norm, and so the need to attract, develop and retain this Talent is key in today’s competitive environment. IDCN is a collaboration of Companies, NGOs and Academic institutions with the purpose of facilitating the job search for mobile employee spouses, and providing member companies access to a turnkey pool of Talent. IDCN is now in its third year, and from the successful pilot created in the Lake Geneva region of Switzerland, the IDCN business model has proven to be an innovative, fast growing and engaging solution that is in line with this new global trend. The network has expanded beyond Europe and attracted Corporate Members from several industries. Key achievements of 2013: • 6 IDCN locations in Europe and Americas • 2011 - Lake Geneva region – Switzerland (Pilot location) • 2012 - Mexico City - Paris - Zurich • 2013 - London - Sao Paulo • Corporate Steering comitee set up - St. Louis, Los-Angeles • More than 50 organisations (Multinationals, non-profits, educational institutions) are part of one or more of these 6 locations • An Executive Board has been formed to manage and evolve IDCN at a global level • Creation of the IDCN nonprofit Association with a long term vision of becoming a global successful solution to the dual career challenges • Fundraising secured for IDCN global marketing website (through donations from the IDCN Board Members) • Creation of the Global Center of Expertise to support the launch of new locations and member registration • Introduction of membership fees for global and local members to support the network development. This 2nd IDCN Annual Review is a reference point for you to understand the key activities and progress made during 2013.
  5. 5. | 2013 Global IDCN Annual Review |4 IDCN – KEY PEOPLE IDCN Executive Board Permanent guests IDCN Centre of Expertise All Executive Board Members give their time to IDCN free of charge. Sue Johnson IDCN President Head of Gender Balance and Diversity Nestlé Maija Van Langendonck IDCN Vice President Global Diversity and Inclusion Director Cargill Terry Hildebrand Head of Talent Coca-Cola Raquel Blanc Gutiérrez IDCN Vice President Vice President Diversity & Inclusion Philip Morris International Marian Chiraches Global Coordinator contact@idcn.info Karine Lajoie Manager GS Relocation & Transportation Philip Morris International Louise Barrelet Senior Manager | Human Capital Ernst & Young Latifa Taleb-Serre General Secretary Head of International Mobility L’Oréal Jane Harris Treasurer Head of Global Mobility Novartis
  6. 6. 5A network for you, owned by you, evolved by you Vision IDCN, as a global platform for member organisations, thrives to: 1. Ease the mobility of Talent in Dual Career situations, 2. Give exposure to an untapped Talent pool of professionals with a variety of backgrounds, 3. Enhance the Employee Value Proposition for current and future Talent, through facilitating the professional integration for spouses and partners of mobile employees in key locations around the world. Value Proposition For companies and organisations: 1. Access to untapped turn-key Talent pool, 2. Access to a global mobility support for spouses and partners of mobile employees, 3. Enhance the Employee Value Proposition through becoming Dual Career friendly organisation. For spouses or partners of mobile employees: 1. Support in professional integration in a new country, 2. Opportunity to network with HR professionals, corporate representatives and like minded spouses and partners, 3. Visibility of professional development opportunities. Onboarding The objective of an onboarding half day event, is also to prepare Companies for the launch of a new IDCN location, through a deeper understanding of the network and it’s proven 5-step methodol- ogy. This event is a good opportunity to network with other companies and make commitments to extend participation in IDCN. An onboarding event can be held via video-conference but preferably in person and together with other interested companies. Please contact the Center of Expertise to arrange an Onboarding event. Future network locations Companies may want to consider launching a network in a new location where they have a: • High demand to recruit talent, • High number of mobile employees seeking dual career support. VISION AND VALUES
  7. 7. | 2013 Global IDCN Annual Review |66 IDCN Global Members Launch of new locations 2013: • London • Sao Paulo • Corporate Steering committee set up in St. Louis and Los-Angeles Total number of spouse members: 1,326. Organised 30 local events in 6 locations. 13 Global Members and 38 Local Members. KEY ACHIEVEMENTS 2013 KEY EXECUTIVE BOARD DECISIONS 2013 • Creation of the IDCN nonprofit Association with a long term vision of becoming a global successful solution to the dual career challenges. • Introduction of membership fees for global and local members to support the network development • Set up of Global Center of Expertise to support the launch of new locations and member registration • Fundraising secured for IDCN global marketing website (through donations from the IDCN Board Members) • Creation of the media pack to support IDCN events
  8. 8. 7A network for you, owned by you, evolved by you Global Members: Local Members: Suzanne Paris LEAD Nestlé Recruitment Partner Gabriel Perez Spouse President Jan – Sep 2013 Highlights: • IDCN pilot location launched in May 2011 • 18 Corporate Members • 27 active Spouse Volunteers • 16 spouses hired • 554 spouses registered • 7 events organised • 97% of spouses say the IDCN events have improved their local job search opportunities IDCN LOCATIONS (IN ALPHABETICAL ORDER) Lake Geneva region Anna Fink LEAD Philip Morris International Manager GS Relocation and Transportation Ben Wynniatt-Husey Spouse President Sept – Dec 2013 Global Members : Sue Pagliuca Lead EY Global Mobility Operations Manager Highlights: • Launched in November 2012 • 9 Corporate Members • 65 spouses registered • 5 spouses hired • 4 events organised • 89% of spouses say the IDCN events have improved their local job search opportunities London region Local Members :
  9. 9. | 2013 Global IDCN Annual Review |8 Latifa Taleb-Serre Lead L’Oréal Head of International Mobility France Highlights: • IDCN launched in September 2012 • 14 Corporate Members • 12 active Spouse Volunteers • 9 spouses hired • 240 spouses registered • 5 events organised • 81,4% of spouses say the IDCN events have improved their local job search opportunities Paris region Corporate Members in the region:Melissa Garduno LEAD Organisational Development Nestlé Susana Concha Spouse President 2013 Idil Ekren Dizdaroglu Spouse President 2014 Highlights: • IDCN location launched in 2012 • 6 Corporate Members • 6 active Spouse Volunteers • 8 spouses hired • 94 spouses registered • 10 events organised • 92% of spouses say the IDCN events have improved their local job search opportunities Mexico City region Global Members: Local Members: Vicky Canivet Spouse President 2013
  10. 10. 9A network for you, owned by you, evolved by you Adele Cestari Lead Nestlé Brasil International Mobility, MD, R&S Manager Luis Carlos Parra Calvache Spouse President 2013 Highlights: • IDCN location launched in November 2013 • 7 Corporate Members • 3 active Spouse Volunteers • no recruitments registered • 60 spouses registered • 1 events organised • 82% of spouses say the IDCN events will help improve their local job search opportunities Highlights: • IDCN launched in November 2012 • 20 Corporate Members • 30 active Spouse Volunteers • 36 spouses hired • 314 spouses registered • 6 events organised Sao Paulo region Zurich region Isabell Hametner LEAD 2013 Mondelez International Director HR Operations Europe Annika Gunterberg LEAD 2014 ABB Asea Brown Boveri Ltd Senior Global Mobility Specialist Tobias Simons LEAD 2014 ABB Asea Brown Boveri Ltd Head of Global Mobility Martijn Roseboom Spouse President as of 2014 Global Members: Local Members: Global Members: Local Members: Renate Althammer-Reinke Spouse President 2013
  11. 11. | 2013 Global IDCN Annual Review |10 MEMBERSHIP FEES Membership type Global membership Local membership Annual membership fee Eur 5,000 Eur 750 Benefits 1. Benefits of IDCN talent pool all over the world where member is part of a network 2. Benefits from global dual career support 3. Branded as IDCN global member 4. Benefits of local membership in all locations where they join 1. Benefits of IDCN talent pool in a specific location 2. Branded as IDCN local member in the specific location Commitments 1. Hosts IDCN Spouse Event in a location minimum every 2 years 2. Participates in Local Corporate Steering Committee Meetings 3. Participates in Global General Assembly. 1. Hosts IDCN Spouse Event in a location minimum every 2 years 2. Participates in Local Corporate Steering Committee Meetings 3. Participates in Global General Assembly. Level of influence 1. Right to nominate Global Executive Board member 2. Voting right on General Assembly 3. Influence on Global Direction 4. Global Ambassadorship 1. Involvement in local strategy and decision making 2. Local Ambassadorship 3. Voting right on General Assembly • Global Members may join the networks in all IDCN Locations, while Local Members may only join the network of a single IDCN Location. • Global Members may be associated with the IDCN brand globally, while Local Members may only be associated with the IDCN brand in their specific IDCN Location. • Corporate members are expected to provide a representative to manage all IDCN activity for their organisation including attending the bi-annual meetings of the Corporate Steering Committee and regular IDCN networking events • Corporate members are expected to allow meetings or events in their offices • Corporate members will retain control of the formal recruitment processes within their organisations in accordance with their own internal policies; it should be noted that corporate membership of the IDCN will provide unlimited access to a highly qualified and experienced talent pool should they wish to take advantage of it • Corporate members do not have to give spouse members any priority over local workers for recruitment or assignment of vacancies • 4-8 events will be organised per year which gives a potential requirement for Corporate Members to host or sponsor an event every one or two years depending on the number of members in the network MEMBERSHIP PRINCIPLES
  12. 12. 11A network for you, owned by you, evolved by you GLOBAL CENTRE OF EXPERTISE RESPONSIBILITIES Global Centre of Expertise Responsibilities Board support Manage projects Prepare board meeting materials – agenda, presentation and follow up actions Network Support Link between networks (corporate and spouses) Host global calls KPI collection and measurement Communications Update and manage website content Prepare annual review Prepare AGM agenda, minutes, content Manage the global LinkedIn governance Association Prepare invoices Track payments Annual legal tasks Business Development Run onboarding events Support network launches Attract new corporate members In case you have any questions, please write to: Marian Chiraches at contact@idcn.info Our global website www.idcn.info will be launched in April 2014
  13. 13. | 2013 Global IDCN Annual Review |12 MEXICO Network Lead: Compartamos Banco sponsored a workshop for entrepreneurs helping two brazilian spouses to consolidate their local business plan for launching Seresta Shoes www.serestashoes.com Helena Liberatori and Paula Bojikian like most expatriates came to Mexico with their husbands and their careers were affected. They took this change as an opportunity to find what really fulfills them regarding their working and personal life. Today they have the company set up and organised and they are selling their first collection, inspired on the Brazilian popular culture. SERESTA sells through their website (www.serestashoes.com) and home visits. All the client has to do is pick her favorite models and the shoes will be at her home or office to be tried on. They have many expansion plans at work. The next one is to extend their next collection with handbags and acces- sories. MESSAGE TO IDCN members “Go look for what inspires passion in your life. Sometimes we don´t have much time or conscience to think about it or we just create impediments for everything. What they have learned is that “when there is a will, there is a way” and that the journey, not only the final destination, is very rewarding when you do something you are passionate about.” LONDON ‘I’m writing to you to share my experience. After attending the IDCN event on the 11th of September where Pat Keogh made a presentation about interview performance, I continued my job search and got an interview for which Pat kindly agreed to help me prepare for. The presentation and interview preparation gave me very important tips and most important great confidence to the interview which ended with a job offer that I accepted. For this I’d like to thank the IDCN team and specially Pat Keogh for their work which really help me providing great value information and networking as well’ - Partner of EY assignee LAKE GENEVA Nuno Costa “My wife received a proposal for a position in Switzerland and I saw myself for the first time in the role of a trailer spouse. Arriving in a new country, facing a new culture, learning a new language, meeting new people and...without a job. I needed to start again from the beginning. My first contact with IDCN occurred during the event ‘Elevator Pitch’ in the Hannifin Parker. An organization run by volunteers with such level of professionalism? Wow, I wanted to be part of it. So I applied for a position as Internal Communications Manager and after an ‘interview’ with the actual IDCN spouse president, I was accepted.  As IDCN volunteer, I had the opportunity to share my professional experience, develop my skills and competencies and meet such a fantastic team, other spouses looking for a job like me, real friends nowadays. I had the privilege to work closely with HR professionals from the Corporate Members and Service Providers, help other spouses with networking and local knowledge about application processes.   And then, after dozens of applications, dozens of events and an enormous perseverance, my op- portunity to work in Nespresso appeared. I’m very grateful to IDCN and to all the people that I met during the job searching process.  In the end, it was not about what IDCN can do for you, it was about what you can do for IDCN. ” SUCCESS STORIES
  14. 14. 13A network for you, owned by you, evolved by you ZURICH Mondeléz International success story – Paul Föhn Paul Föhn has a very focused, intense presence. It is after 7pm when we meet and he has been working a long day - has not yet finished - but it seems as if could be 10am. Paul is wide-awake, engaging and energised. He has to be. Paul’s job as Cocoa Buyer at Mondeléz International, a job that he insists, “Came from out of the Blue”, has many working parts. Picture the inside of a Swiss watch and Paul is keeping the intricate pieces moving on time. Sourcing, storing and delivering chocolate for some of the world’s biggest chocolate brands demands flexibility and precision. The work is filled with global uncertainties and supply must be reliable….not an easy mix. Cadbury, Toblerone and Oreo are just a few of numerous Mondeléz products using cocoa powder or cocoa butter, two perishable, volatile products Paul buys around the world. ZURICH ABB success story – Sylwia Socha My name is Sylwia Socha. I moved to Switzerland in 2012 with my partner who was offered a job with ABB. I started looking for a job with great enthusiasm, however after three months and countless rejections, my positive thinking started to diminish. I took up a part time job as a nanny to give me something to do in between my job applications, and I must admit it was a welcome distraction from all the negative responses that I was receiving. It was slowly becoming clear to me that the job market here must be full of people like me and I needed to make myself stand out. Following advice from my friends, I updated my CV to the ``Swiss standard``, which meant getting a professional photo taken and adapting the format and style. One day, I was forwarded an e-mail from IDCN by one of my friends. I signed up to become a member immediately. This gave me a chance to get in contact with other jobseekers as well as employers. At about the same time, I attended one of the meetings organised by ABB for their employees and partners. It turned out that one of the ABB HR Managers was presenting during the meeting. I decided to grab this opportunity and introduced myself to him after the presenta- tions. The next day, I was contacted by ABB to provide my CV and was forwarded a couple of job adverts, for which I applied. Within two weeks, I was in a temporary position, employed through an agency as maternity cover for 8 months. Since then, I have settled into the team well and met many more new people and developed great relationships throughout the company. I have now been offered a further temporary contract within the department until a permanent position becomes available. My advice to all job seekers is to take every opportunity to network as this is your best chance of getting a job in Switzerland. Always bear in mind that it is not just what you know, but also who you know. So please don`t give up, stay positive, focused and talk to people! PARIS Saint-Gobain success story – Sunny A. Joseph My approach in finding a job was by applying online; kept searching for ‘Jobs in Paris’ on Google; applied to all suitable positions through all the websites that pulled up mainly through Experteer. com, LinkedIn and through Fusac.fr where French was also a requirement. I submitted my CV through the careers section of MNCs which have their Branches and HQs in Paris and also applied through their list of vacant positions as posted by them on LinkedIn. Hence, I would definitely recommend all Partners to keep an updated LinkedIn Profile at all times as I got responses through LinkedIn. I landed this job through the CV Clinic Session at the last IDCN meeting in Nestlé. Even though French was a pre-requisite for the role, I was given this opportunity due to my professional experience level and my strength in English which the company believes could be an asset to the department I am working for now and to the company.
  15. 15. In case you have any questions, please write to: Marian Chiraches at contact@idcn.info Our global website www.idcn.info will be launched in April 2014 ©CopyrightIDCN2014//Designedbywww.carbon317.com IDCN REGISTRATION FORM: Company: Contact for IDCN: Title: Email: Telephone number: Membership: My organisation wants to become a Global Member (EUR 5,000) My organisation wants to become a Local Member (EUR 750 per location) Paris region, France Mexico City region, Mexico Lake Geneva region, Switzerland Zurich-Zug region, Switzerland Basel, Switzerland London region, United Kingdom Sao Paolo region, Brazil Los Angeles, USA Billing address: An invoice will be sent separately. Please return the completed form to: Marian Chiraches, IDCN Centre of Expertise E-mail: contact@idcn.info Phone: +41(0) 21 924 6587 Date:

×