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Content Marketing Master Class
Return on Investment
#ContentROI
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Content Marketing ROI
Steve Rayson
Director, BuzzSumo
@steverayson
Your host
Expert speaker
Michael Brenner
CEO, Marketing Insider
Group
@BrennerMichael
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The Content Formula
Calculate the ROI of Content Marketing & Never Waste Money Again
Michael Brenner
CEO, Marketing Insider Group
@BrennerMichael
Life is short
Life is short
Your business “life” is even shorter
Life is short
Your business “life” is even shorter
STOP doing stuff that
doesn’t make an impact!
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ROI is the #1 objective for Marketers in 2016
CMO’s greatest challenge is
showing measurable ROI.
Marketers claim
measuring marketing effectiveness
is their greatest challenge
93%
~AdAge
81%
~CMI / MProfs
Marketing Has A
Marketing Problem
What is the ROI?
The First Banner Ad
(1994)
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Less likely
to click on a
banner than…
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The average click-through rate of display ads
(DoubleClick).06%
10% Banner ad clicks by Bots
(comScore)
50% Clicks on mobile ads that are accidental
(GoldSpot)
What Can We Stop? Banner Ads?
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What’s The ROI of
logos on
stadiums?@BrennerMichael
#BMA16
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“CEOs and Boards
will no longer accept marketing
that doesn’t deliver results!”
~Gabe Leydon,
CEO, Machine Zone
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We need to stop interrupting what
people are interested in and
be what people are interested in!
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There were over 500 articles published on Content Marketing ROI in the last year, which were
shared 90,000 times.There were over 4,000 articles on marketing ROI more generally.
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There were over 500 articles published on Content Marketing ROI in the last year, shared
90,000 times. There were over 4,000 articles on marketing ROI more generally.
The median shares for B2B sites is 106 shares and for 1M random sites is 8 shares!!!
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The buyer journey
is nothing more
than a series of questions
that must be answered.
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Customers Middle
Early
What is / are?
Why important
Late
Who?
How much?
Where?
1
StagePersona Questions / Concerns Keyword Index
100
How to?
10
Content Marketing is as simple as
answering your customers’ top questions
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WARNING!
Math ahead!
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Content Marketing programs
are assets with real value that
grows over time.
Need proof . . .
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-
100,000
200,000
300,000
400,000
500,000
600,000
0
100
200
300
400
500
600
Sep-14 Oct-14 Nov-14 Dec-14 Jan-15 Feb-15 Mar-15 Apr-15 May-15 Jun-15
Pageviews
#Articles
COMPOUNDING RETURN OF CONTENT
MARKETING
________ Leads
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ROI =
Investment
Return
What is ROI?
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ROI =
Investment
(Revenue – Investment)
What is ROI?
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ROI =
Investment
(Revenue – Investment)
What is ROI?
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ROI =
With Less
Do More
What is ROI?
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ROI =
With Less
DoThe Same
What is ROI?
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60-70% of marketing content
goes completely unused.
*Sirius Decisions
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Behind every piece
of bad content
is an executive
who asked for it.
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Content
Used
30%
Content
Not
Used
70%
Content Waste is a
$100 Billion Opportunity*
* Source: Econsultancy
= $
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We need to
push back
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The Art of Pushing Back
Why does this matter?
What is the impact?
How will it be measured?
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Content Marketing Requires Empathy
Content
Marketing
What
Brands
Publish
What
Customers
Want
Business Instinct CharityEmpathy
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How do you explain
the importance of
empathy
to executives who
don’t have any?
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Show me the money!
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The #1 Way To Improve
Marketing ROI . . .
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Run CRM ROI Report. Rank Low toHigh
=$
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Reach early
stage buyers
Engage new buyers
with your brand
Conversions you would
have never reached
= $
Build The Business Case For Change
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Organic Search Traffic
REACH
Unbranded Search Traffic
LEADS
CONVERT
OTHER CONVERSIONS
SUBSCRIBERS
Time on Site
ENGAGE
Social shares
Subscriptions
Bounce rate
Retention Rate
Upsells
RETAIN
Measure The ROI of Content Marketing
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What Do You Spend On Paid Search Because
You Don’t Rank Organically?
=$
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Lyly Lepinay – (Former) Content
Marketing Manager, CapGemini
“We’re Spending $$$ On Paid Search
Because We Don’t Rank Organically!”
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30%70%
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CapGemini: Content-Loop.com
~1M visitors in 1st year
+ 3K new followers / week
+ High Quality Leads
+ Sales = ROI
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Content Marketing ROI – Reach
TheValue of Organic Search =
(Paid Search CPC X Organic SearchTraffic)
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Content Marketing ROI – Reach
TheValue of Organic Search =
($2 CPC X 1,000,000) = $1 Million
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Organic Search Traffic
REACH
Unbranded Search Traffic
LEADS
CONVERT
OTHER CONVERSIONS
SUBSCRIBERS
Time on Site
ENGAGE
Social shares
Subscriptions
Bounce rate
Retention Rate
Upsells
RETAIN
Measure The ROI of Content Marketing
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Casper’s Van
Winkles
• Effortlessly combines national
housing news with articles on
inspirational interior design,
celebrity homes and company
updates.
• Up to 6 new posts per day
• Distribution and large
audiences across Facebook,
Pinterest, Instagram, Twitter
and Google+
Casper’s Van
Winkles
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Organic Search Traffic
REACH
Unbranded Search Traffic
LEADS
CONVERT
OTHER CONVERSIONS
SUBSCRIBERS
Time on Site
ENGAGE
Social shares
Subscriptions
Bounce rate
Retention Rate
Upsells
RETAIN
Measure The ROI of Content Marketing
Subscribers have value.
And are 9x more likely to convert
than non-subscribers
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Content Marketing ROI – Brand Engagement
TheValue of Subscribers=
(Sales from Email Nurture / List Size)
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Content Marketing ROI – Brand Engagement
TheValue of Subscribers=
(Sales from Email Nurture / List Size)
$10 Million / 400,000 = $25
10,000 subscribers x 25 = $250,000
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Organic Search Traffic
REACH
Unbranded Search Traffic
LEADS
CONVERT
OTHER CONVERSIONS
SUBSCRIBERS
Time on Site
ENGAGE
Social shares
Subscriptions
Bounce rate
Retention Rate
Upsells
RETAIN
Measure The ROI of Content Marketing
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Product vs. Category Searches
”SAP Cloud” vs. “Cloud Computing”
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SAP Website: Talking To Themselves
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The Math Didn’t Help
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The Power of Fear
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IMAGINE: We show up first in Google
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IMAGINE: We own the category
www.makeup.com -- (owned by L’Oreal)
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IMAGINE: We own the target audience
www.CMO.com -- owned by Adobe
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IMAGINE: Marketing that attracts new buyers
AMEXOPEN Forum is the largest source of new leads for AMEX’s Small Business Division
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BUT: SAP had no budget
Engagement?
99% Bounce Rate
How Much COST?
$200,000
Search Traffic?
0, None, Nada, Zip
Social Shares?
Also ZERO
Conversions?
“This is an awareness
campaign”
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SAP Digitalist Magazine
To help executives understand how technology drives business innovation.
Engagement?
70%
How Much COST?
$100,000
Half the ad budget
Search Traffic?
50%
Social Shares?
10%
Conversions?
~1,000 in year 1
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SAP Digitalist Mag Gets More Engagement Than Fortune,
Fast Company and more…
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Content Marketing ROI - Conversion
TheValue of Content Marketing Leads =
(Content Marketing Leads X Conversion Rate X Avg. Sale Price)
1,000 leads x 3% MQL x 50% SAL x 50% SQL x 40% closed x $180,000 = $540,000
($540,000 - $100,000) / $100,000 = 4.4X ROI
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Organic Search Traffic
REACH
Unbranded Search Traffic
LEADS
CONVERT
OTHER CONVERSIONS
SUBSCRIBERS
Time on Site
ENGAGE
Social shares
Subscriptions
Bounce rate
Retention Rate
Upsells
RETAIN
Measure The ROI of Content Marketing
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It’s 6-7X cheaper to keep an existing
customer than to acquire a new one.
A 5% increase in retention
= 95% increase in ROI.
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Content Marketing ROI:
Content consumers
spend 2x more and are 3x
more loyal.
Shane Jordan
Digital Marketing Manager
Blue Cross BlueShield of Alabama
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Content Marketing ROI - Retention
TheValue of Retention=
LifetimeValue $$$
Retention Rate $$$
Rev $$$ per Content-consuming Customers
vs. Non-Content-consuming Customers
Life is short
Your business “life” is even shorter
STOP doing stuff that
doesn’t make an impact!
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BUILD THE BUSINESS CASE FIND THE BUDGET MEASURE RESULTS
My Free Gift To You: http://bit.ly/content-formula
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Thank you!
Michael Brenner
CEO, Marketing Insider Group
@BrennerMichael

BuzzSumo Content Marketing Masterclass - ROI

  • 1.
    CLICK TO EDITMASTER TITLE Click to edit Master subtitle style Content Marketing Master Class Return on Investment #ContentROI
  • 2.
    CLICK TO EDITMASTER TITLE Click to edit Master subtitle style Content Marketing ROI Steve Rayson Director, BuzzSumo @steverayson Your host Expert speaker Michael Brenner CEO, Marketing Insider Group @BrennerMichael
  • 3.
    CLICK TO EDITMASTER TITLE Click to edit Master subtitle style The Content Formula Calculate the ROI of Content Marketing & Never Waste Money Again Michael Brenner CEO, Marketing Insider Group @BrennerMichael
  • 5.
  • 6.
    Life is short Yourbusiness “life” is even shorter
  • 7.
    Life is short Yourbusiness “life” is even shorter STOP doing stuff that doesn’t make an impact!
  • 8.
    CLICK TO EDITMASTER TITLE Click to edit Master subtitle style ROI is the #1 objective for Marketers in 2016 CMO’s greatest challenge is showing measurable ROI. Marketers claim measuring marketing effectiveness is their greatest challenge 93% ~AdAge 81% ~CMI / MProfs
  • 9.
  • 11.
    What is theROI? The First Banner Ad (1994)
  • 13.
    CLICK TO EDITMASTER TITLE Click to edit Master subtitle style Less likely to click on a banner than…
  • 14.
    CLICK TO EDITMASTER TITLE Click to edit Master subtitle style The average click-through rate of display ads (DoubleClick).06% 10% Banner ad clicks by Bots (comScore) 50% Clicks on mobile ads that are accidental (GoldSpot) What Can We Stop? Banner Ads?
  • 15.
    CLICK TO EDITMASTER TITLE Click to edit Master subtitle style What’s The ROI of logos on stadiums?@BrennerMichael #BMA16
  • 16.
    CLICK TO EDITMASTER TITLE Click to edit Master subtitle style “CEOs and Boards will no longer accept marketing that doesn’t deliver results!” ~Gabe Leydon, CEO, Machine Zone
  • 17.
    CLICK TO EDITMASTER TITLE Click to edit Master subtitle style
  • 18.
    CLICK TO EDITMASTER TITLE Click to edit Master subtitle style We need to stop interrupting what people are interested in and be what people are interested in!
  • 19.
    CLICK TO EDITMASTER TITLE Click to edit Master subtitle style There were over 500 articles published on Content Marketing ROI in the last year, which were shared 90,000 times.There were over 4,000 articles on marketing ROI more generally.
  • 20.
    CLICK TO EDITMASTER TITLE Click to edit Master subtitle style There were over 500 articles published on Content Marketing ROI in the last year, shared 90,000 times. There were over 4,000 articles on marketing ROI more generally. The median shares for B2B sites is 106 shares and for 1M random sites is 8 shares!!!
  • 21.
    CLICK TO EDITMASTER TITLE Click to edit Master subtitle style
  • 22.
    CLICK TO EDITMASTER TITLE Click to edit Master subtitle style
  • 23.
    CLICK TO EDITMASTER TITLE Click to edit Master subtitle style The buyer journey is nothing more than a series of questions that must be answered.
  • 24.
    CLICK TO EDITMASTER TITLE Click to edit Master subtitle styleYour Customers Middle Early What is / are? Why important Late Who? How much? Where? 1 StagePersona Questions / Concerns Keyword Index 100 How to? 10 Content Marketing is as simple as answering your customers’ top questions
  • 25.
    CLICK TO EDITMASTER TITLE Click to edit Master subtitle style
  • 26.
    CLICK TO EDITMASTER TITLE Click to edit Master subtitle style
  • 27.
    CLICK TO EDITMASTER TITLE Click to edit Master subtitle style WARNING! Math ahead!
  • 28.
    CLICK TO EDITMASTER TITLE Click to edit Master subtitle style Content Marketing programs are assets with real value that grows over time. Need proof . . .
  • 29.
    CLICK TO EDITMASTER TITLE Click to edit Master subtitle style - 100,000 200,000 300,000 400,000 500,000 600,000 0 100 200 300 400 500 600 Sep-14 Oct-14 Nov-14 Dec-14 Jan-15 Feb-15 Mar-15 Apr-15 May-15 Jun-15 Pageviews #Articles COMPOUNDING RETURN OF CONTENT MARKETING ________ Leads
  • 30.
    CLICK TO EDITMASTER TITLE Click to edit Master subtitle style ROI = Investment Return What is ROI?
  • 31.
    CLICK TO EDITMASTER TITLE Click to edit Master subtitle style ROI = Investment (Revenue – Investment) What is ROI?
  • 32.
    CLICK TO EDITMASTER TITLE Click to edit Master subtitle style ROI = Investment (Revenue – Investment) What is ROI?
  • 33.
    CLICK TO EDITMASTER TITLE Click to edit Master subtitle style ROI = With Less Do More What is ROI?
  • 34.
    CLICK TO EDITMASTER TITLE Click to edit Master subtitle style ROI = With Less DoThe Same What is ROI?
  • 35.
    CLICK TO EDITMASTER TITLE Click to edit Master subtitle style 60-70% of marketing content goes completely unused. *Sirius Decisions
  • 36.
    CLICK TO EDITMASTER TITLE Click to edit Master subtitle style Behind every piece of bad content is an executive who asked for it.
  • 37.
    CLICK TO EDITMASTER TITLE Click to edit Master subtitle style Content Used 30% Content Not Used 70% Content Waste is a $100 Billion Opportunity* * Source: Econsultancy = $
  • 38.
    CLICK TO EDITMASTER TITLE Click to edit Master subtitle style We need to push back
  • 39.
    CLICK TO EDITMASTER TITLE Click to edit Master subtitle style The Art of Pushing Back Why does this matter? What is the impact? How will it be measured?
  • 40.
    CLICK TO EDITMASTER TITLE Click to edit Master subtitle style Content Marketing Requires Empathy Content Marketing What Brands Publish What Customers Want Business Instinct CharityEmpathy
  • 41.
    CLICK TO EDITMASTER TITLE Click to edit Master subtitle style How do you explain the importance of empathy to executives who don’t have any?
  • 42.
    CLICK TO EDITMASTER TITLE Click to edit Master subtitle style Show me the money!
  • 43.
    CLICK TO EDITMASTER TITLE Click to edit Master subtitle style The #1 Way To Improve Marketing ROI . . .
  • 44.
    CLICK TO EDITMASTER TITLE Click to edit Master subtitle style Run CRM ROI Report. Rank Low toHigh =$
  • 45.
    CLICK TO EDITMASTER TITLE Click to edit Master subtitle style Reach early stage buyers Engage new buyers with your brand Conversions you would have never reached = $ Build The Business Case For Change
  • 46.
    CLICK TO EDITMASTER TITLE Click to edit Master subtitle style Organic Search Traffic REACH Unbranded Search Traffic LEADS CONVERT OTHER CONVERSIONS SUBSCRIBERS Time on Site ENGAGE Social shares Subscriptions Bounce rate Retention Rate Upsells RETAIN Measure The ROI of Content Marketing
  • 47.
    CLICK TO EDITMASTER TITLE Click to edit Master subtitle style What Do You Spend On Paid Search Because You Don’t Rank Organically? =$
  • 48.
    CLICK TO EDITMASTER TITLE Click to edit Master subtitle style Lyly Lepinay – (Former) Content Marketing Manager, CapGemini “We’re Spending $$$ On Paid Search Because We Don’t Rank Organically!”
  • 49.
    CLICK TO EDITMASTER TITLE Click to edit Master subtitle style 30%70%
  • 50.
    CLICK TO EDITMASTER TITLE Click to edit Master subtitle style CapGemini: Content-Loop.com ~1M visitors in 1st year + 3K new followers / week + High Quality Leads + Sales = ROI
  • 51.
    CLICK TO EDITMASTER TITLE Click to edit Master subtitle style Content Marketing ROI – Reach TheValue of Organic Search = (Paid Search CPC X Organic SearchTraffic)
  • 52.
    CLICK TO EDITMASTER TITLE Click to edit Master subtitle style Content Marketing ROI – Reach TheValue of Organic Search = ($2 CPC X 1,000,000) = $1 Million
  • 53.
    CLICK TO EDITMASTER TITLE Click to edit Master subtitle style Organic Search Traffic REACH Unbranded Search Traffic LEADS CONVERT OTHER CONVERSIONS SUBSCRIBERS Time on Site ENGAGE Social shares Subscriptions Bounce rate Retention Rate Upsells RETAIN Measure The ROI of Content Marketing
  • 54.
    CLICK TO EDITMASTER TITLE Click to edit Master subtitle style
  • 55.
    Casper’s Van Winkles • Effortlesslycombines national housing news with articles on inspirational interior design, celebrity homes and company updates. • Up to 6 new posts per day • Distribution and large audiences across Facebook, Pinterest, Instagram, Twitter and Google+
  • 56.
  • 57.
    CLICK TO EDITMASTER TITLE Click to edit Master subtitle style Organic Search Traffic REACH Unbranded Search Traffic LEADS CONVERT OTHER CONVERSIONS SUBSCRIBERS Time on Site ENGAGE Social shares Subscriptions Bounce rate Retention Rate Upsells RETAIN Measure The ROI of Content Marketing Subscribers have value. And are 9x more likely to convert than non-subscribers
  • 58.
    CLICK TO EDITMASTER TITLE Click to edit Master subtitle style Content Marketing ROI – Brand Engagement TheValue of Subscribers= (Sales from Email Nurture / List Size)
  • 59.
    CLICK TO EDITMASTER TITLE Click to edit Master subtitle style Content Marketing ROI – Brand Engagement TheValue of Subscribers= (Sales from Email Nurture / List Size) $10 Million / 400,000 = $25 10,000 subscribers x 25 = $250,000
  • 60.
    CLICK TO EDITMASTER TITLE Click to edit Master subtitle style Organic Search Traffic REACH Unbranded Search Traffic LEADS CONVERT OTHER CONVERSIONS SUBSCRIBERS Time on Site ENGAGE Social shares Subscriptions Bounce rate Retention Rate Upsells RETAIN Measure The ROI of Content Marketing
  • 61.
    CLICK TO EDITMASTER TITLE Click to edit Master subtitle style
  • 62.
    CLICK TO EDITMASTER TITLE Click to edit Master subtitle style Product vs. Category Searches ”SAP Cloud” vs. “Cloud Computing”
  • 63.
    CLICK TO EDITMASTER TITLE Click to edit Master subtitle style SAP Website: Talking To Themselves
  • 64.
    CLICK TO EDITMASTER TITLE Click to edit Master subtitle style The Math Didn’t Help
  • 65.
    CLICK TO EDITMASTER TITLE Click to edit Master subtitle style The Power of Fear
  • 66.
    CLICK TO EDITMASTER TITLE Click to edit Master subtitle style IMAGINE: We show up first in Google
  • 67.
    CLICK TO EDITMASTER TITLE Click to edit Master subtitle style IMAGINE: We own the category www.makeup.com -- (owned by L’Oreal)
  • 68.
    CLICK TO EDITMASTER TITLE Click to edit Master subtitle style IMAGINE: We own the target audience www.CMO.com -- owned by Adobe
  • 69.
    CLICK TO EDITMASTER TITLE Click to edit Master subtitle style IMAGINE: Marketing that attracts new buyers AMEXOPEN Forum is the largest source of new leads for AMEX’s Small Business Division
  • 70.
    CLICK TO EDITMASTER TITLE Click to edit Master subtitle style
  • 71.
    CLICK TO EDITMASTER TITLE Click to edit Master subtitle style BUT: SAP had no budget Engagement? 99% Bounce Rate How Much COST? $200,000 Search Traffic? 0, None, Nada, Zip Social Shares? Also ZERO Conversions? “This is an awareness campaign”
  • 72.
    CLICK TO EDITMASTER TITLE Click to edit Master subtitle style SAP Digitalist Magazine To help executives understand how technology drives business innovation. Engagement? 70% How Much COST? $100,000 Half the ad budget Search Traffic? 50% Social Shares? 10% Conversions? ~1,000 in year 1
  • 73.
    CLICK TO EDITMASTER TITLE Click to edit Master subtitle style SAP Digitalist Mag Gets More Engagement Than Fortune, Fast Company and more…
  • 74.
    CLICK TO EDITMASTER TITLE Click to edit Master subtitle style
  • 75.
    CLICK TO EDITMASTER TITLE Click to edit Master subtitle style Content Marketing ROI - Conversion TheValue of Content Marketing Leads = (Content Marketing Leads X Conversion Rate X Avg. Sale Price) 1,000 leads x 3% MQL x 50% SAL x 50% SQL x 40% closed x $180,000 = $540,000 ($540,000 - $100,000) / $100,000 = 4.4X ROI
  • 76.
    CLICK TO EDITMASTER TITLE Click to edit Master subtitle style Organic Search Traffic REACH Unbranded Search Traffic LEADS CONVERT OTHER CONVERSIONS SUBSCRIBERS Time on Site ENGAGE Social shares Subscriptions Bounce rate Retention Rate Upsells RETAIN Measure The ROI of Content Marketing
  • 77.
    CLICK TO EDITMASTER TITLE Click to edit Master subtitle style It’s 6-7X cheaper to keep an existing customer than to acquire a new one. A 5% increase in retention = 95% increase in ROI.
  • 78.
    CLICK TO EDITMASTER TITLE Click to edit Master subtitle style Content Marketing ROI: Content consumers spend 2x more and are 3x more loyal. Shane Jordan Digital Marketing Manager Blue Cross BlueShield of Alabama
  • 79.
    CLICK TO EDITMASTER TITLE Click to edit Master subtitle style Content Marketing ROI - Retention TheValue of Retention= LifetimeValue $$$ Retention Rate $$$ Rev $$$ per Content-consuming Customers vs. Non-Content-consuming Customers
  • 80.
    Life is short Yourbusiness “life” is even shorter STOP doing stuff that doesn’t make an impact!
  • 81.
    CLICK TO EDITMASTER TITLE Click to edit Master subtitle style BUILD THE BUSINESS CASE FIND THE BUDGET MEASURE RESULTS My Free Gift To You: http://bit.ly/content-formula
  • 82.
    CLICK TO EDITMASTER TITLE Click to edit Master subtitle style Thank you! Michael Brenner CEO, Marketing Insider Group @BrennerMichael

Editor's Notes

  • #10 We’ve all asked the question, why content marketing? To set the stage, there’s been a fundamental shift in the way we as consumers consume and share content. Momentous amount of content being created, consumed and shared. An amazing amount of content, the real question is how does a brand stand apart?
  • #20 There were over 500 articles published on Content Marketing ROI in the last year, which were shared 90,000 times. There were over 4,000 articles on marketing ROI more generally.