Effective Dashboard Design

79,071 views
76,137 views

Published on

As enterprises and other organizations look to sift through and make sense of the all the structured and unstructured data available to them, dashboards are being positioned as the solution to their problems. However, a dashboard needs special attention to the visual design or the dashboard will fail to meet expectations. If not carefully designed, a new dashboard can leave consumers unsatisfied, frustrated, confused, and even overwhelmed.

Aaron Hursman shares his experiences designing effective dashboards that deliver on the promise of targeted, accessible, and actionable information. He discusses examples from both his personal work and contributions of thought-leaders in this space. Through these examples, he presents practical dashboard design techniques. He also presents effective approaches to take during design and construction. Finally, Aaron explains the challenges and obstacles that dashboard designers face today, and how to mitigate the risks that result.

[Originally presented to RefreshDallas, 16 Oct 2008]

Published in: Design, Technology
10 Comments
116 Likes
Statistics
Notes
No Downloads
Views
Total views
79,071
On SlideShare
0
From Embeds
0
Number of Embeds
14
Actions
Shares
0
Downloads
1,361
Comments
10
Likes
116
Embeds 0
No embeds

No notes for slide

Effective Dashboard Design

  1. EFFECTIVE DASHBOARD DESIGN AARON HURSMAN
  2. WHERE DO WE BEGIN? 2
  3. “ A dashboard is a visual display of the most important information needed to achieve one or more objectives, consolidated and arranged on a single screen so the information can be monitored at a glance. 3
  4. 4
  5. FOCUS ON THE USER 5
  6. DESIGN TECHNIQUES 6
  7. 7
  8. 8
  9. 9
  10. 10
  11. KEY 11
  12. WEEKS OF SUPPLY BEGINNING INVENTORY ENDING INVENTORY TURNOVER 12
  13. 13
  14. 14
  15. 15
  16. 16
  17. 17
  18. 18
  19. 19
  20. 20
  21. 21
  22. CREDIT: MICROCHARTS FROM BUENA VISTA SYSTEMS 22
  23. CREDIT: MICROCHARTS FROM BUENA VISTA SYSTEMS 23
  24. 24
  25. 25
  26. 26
  27. 28
  28. 29
  29. 31
  30. 32
  31. 33
  32. 34
  33. 36
  34. CREDIT: STEPHEN FEW, PERCEPTUAL EDGE 41
  35. 42 CREDIT: MICROCHARTS FROM BUENA VISTA SYSTEMS
  36. CREDIT: MICROCHARTS FROM BUENA VISTA SYSTEMS
  37. 44
  38. CHALLENGES 46
  39. 47
  40. 48
  41. 49
  42. 1st Qtr 2nd Qtr 6 3rd Qtr 5 4th Qtr 4 3 2 Series 1 1 Series 2 0 Series 3 6 4 2 4-6 Series 3 0 2-4 Series 1 0-2 50
  43. 51
  44. 52
  45. Aaron Hursman Dashboard Spy http://aaron.hursman.com http://dashboardspy.com/ Hitachi Consulting Dashboards by Example http://hitachiconsulting.com http://tinyurl.com/6kktla Perceptual Edge (Stephen Few) Junk Charts http://www.perceptualedge.com/ http://tinyurl.com/453a2t BonaVista (MicroCharts) Bad Charts & Dashboards http://www.bonavistasystems.com/ http://tinyurl.com/3mdcw3 Edward Tufte Dundas Data Visualization http://www.edwardtufte.com/ http://dundas.com/ Juice Analytics BI Scorecard Blog http://juiceanalytics.com/ http://tinyurl.com/3tjkxe Jorge Camoes Charts SNL’s Bad Idea Jeans http://charts.jorgecamoes.com/ http://tinyurl.com/63rxqz 53
  46. thx AARON HURSMAN

×