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AdWords Research, Segmentation, Targeting, Strategies
AdWords Research, Segmentation, Targeting, Strategies
AdWords Research, Segmentation, Targeting, Strategies
AdWords Research, Segmentation, Targeting, Strategies
AdWords Research, Segmentation, Targeting, Strategies
AdWords Research, Segmentation, Targeting, Strategies
AdWords Research, Segmentation, Targeting, Strategies
AdWords Research, Segmentation, Targeting, Strategies
AdWords Research, Segmentation, Targeting, Strategies
AdWords Research, Segmentation, Targeting, Strategies
AdWords Research, Segmentation, Targeting, Strategies
AdWords Research, Segmentation, Targeting, Strategies
AdWords Research, Segmentation, Targeting, Strategies
AdWords Research, Segmentation, Targeting, Strategies
AdWords Research, Segmentation, Targeting, Strategies
AdWords Research, Segmentation, Targeting, Strategies
AdWords Research, Segmentation, Targeting, Strategies
AdWords Research, Segmentation, Targeting, Strategies
AdWords Research, Segmentation, Targeting, Strategies
AdWords Research, Segmentation, Targeting, Strategies
AdWords Research, Segmentation, Targeting, Strategies
AdWords Research, Segmentation, Targeting, Strategies
AdWords Research, Segmentation, Targeting, Strategies
AdWords Research, Segmentation, Targeting, Strategies
AdWords Research, Segmentation, Targeting, Strategies
AdWords Research, Segmentation, Targeting, Strategies
AdWords Research, Segmentation, Targeting, Strategies
AdWords Research, Segmentation, Targeting, Strategies
AdWords Research, Segmentation, Targeting, Strategies
AdWords Research, Segmentation, Targeting, Strategies
AdWords Research, Segmentation, Targeting, Strategies
AdWords Research, Segmentation, Targeting, Strategies
AdWords Research, Segmentation, Targeting, Strategies
AdWords Research, Segmentation, Targeting, Strategies
AdWords Research, Segmentation, Targeting, Strategies
AdWords Research, Segmentation, Targeting, Strategies
AdWords Research, Segmentation, Targeting, Strategies
AdWords Research, Segmentation, Targeting, Strategies
AdWords Research, Segmentation, Targeting, Strategies
AdWords Research, Segmentation, Targeting, Strategies
AdWords Research, Segmentation, Targeting, Strategies
AdWords Research, Segmentation, Targeting, Strategies
AdWords Research, Segmentation, Targeting, Strategies
AdWords Research, Segmentation, Targeting, Strategies
AdWords Research, Segmentation, Targeting, Strategies
AdWords Research, Segmentation, Targeting, Strategies
AdWords Research, Segmentation, Targeting, Strategies
AdWords Research, Segmentation, Targeting, Strategies
AdWords Research, Segmentation, Targeting, Strategies
AdWords Research, Segmentation, Targeting, Strategies
AdWords Research, Segmentation, Targeting, Strategies
AdWords Research, Segmentation, Targeting, Strategies
AdWords Research, Segmentation, Targeting, Strategies
AdWords Research, Segmentation, Targeting, Strategies
AdWords Research, Segmentation, Targeting, Strategies
AdWords Research, Segmentation, Targeting, Strategies
AdWords Research, Segmentation, Targeting, Strategies
AdWords Research, Segmentation, Targeting, Strategies
AdWords Research, Segmentation, Targeting, Strategies
AdWords Research, Segmentation, Targeting, Strategies
AdWords Research, Segmentation, Targeting, Strategies
AdWords Research, Segmentation, Targeting, Strategies
AdWords Research, Segmentation, Targeting, Strategies
AdWords Research, Segmentation, Targeting, Strategies
AdWords Research, Segmentation, Targeting, Strategies
AdWords Research, Segmentation, Targeting, Strategies
AdWords Research, Segmentation, Targeting, Strategies
AdWords Research, Segmentation, Targeting, Strategies
AdWords Research, Segmentation, Targeting, Strategies
AdWords Research, Segmentation, Targeting, Strategies
AdWords Research, Segmentation, Targeting, Strategies
AdWords Research, Segmentation, Targeting, Strategies
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AdWords Research, Segmentation, Targeting, Strategies

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Using AdWords as a research tool through analyzing the potential keywords your customers are searching for. There is also a discussion of how to understand your website from an action/task …

Using AdWords as a research tool through analyzing the potential keywords your customers are searching for. There is also a discussion of how to understand your website from an action/task perspective, and targeting strategies for your audience.

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  • 1. WorkshopOct. 19, 2009<br />Elias Dabbaselias@media-supermarket.com<br />
  • 2. Agenda<br />Understanding the Market<br />Understanding Your Web Presence / Business<br />Making choices decisions on your approach and strategy<br />
  • 3. We Will NOT Cover<br />How to setup an AdWords account<br />Billing / account management<br />Payments processing<br />Technical details<br />Etc…<br />
  • 4. I.Understanding The Market<br /><ul><li>Keyword Research
  • 5. Keyword Tool
  • 6. Insights for Search
  • 7. Competition (Organic)
  • 8. Competition (AdWords) </li></li></ul><li>“Demographics are Dead”<br />Wunderman Report – “How to Think Digital”<br />
  • 9. Your Market is…<br />“Any group of people who are actively researching a product you offer”<br />Wunderman Report – “How to Think Digital”<br />
  • 10. Why Keywords?<br />People search alone usually<br />Users are not forced to search<br />Search is not a selection between alternatives it’s an expression of desire<br />
  • 11. User Intent<br />Consider the following keywords: <br />Camera<br />Digital camera<br />Digital camera models<br />Digital camera price comparison<br />Canon powershot sx20 best deals<br />
  • 12. Another Example<br />GPS<br />GPS navigation<br />Garmin GPS navigation<br />Garmin car GPS navigation<br />Garmin nuvi 660<br />Buy Garmin nuvi 660<br />
  • 13. Understanding The Market<br /><ul><li>Keyword Research
  • 14. Keyword Tool
  • 15. Insights for Search
  • 16. Competition (Organic)
  • 17. Competition (AdWords) </li></li></ul><li>AdWords Keyword Tool<br />
  • 18. Keyword Tool<br />Market Analysis (Market Shares)<br />Consumer Segmentation <br />Campaign Structure<br />
  • 19. Market Shares<br />Quizz: <br />Which is the most popular car?<br />BMW, Mercedes, Toyota, Ferrari, Porsche<br />
  • 20. Enter each keyword and analyze results<br />
  • 21. Car Brand Market Shares<br />
  • 22. Deep Diving Into Each Keyword: example (games)<br />
  • 23. Export the Data<br />
  • 24. The Art: Spotting Trends / Segments<br />
  • 25. Segments of ‘Games’<br />
  • 26. Understanding The Market<br /><ul><li>Keyword Research
  • 27. Keyword Tool
  • 28. Insights for Search
  • 29. Competition (Organic)
  • 30. Competition (AdWords) </li></li></ul><li>Insights for Search<br />
  • 31. Facebook vs. MySpace<br />
  • 32. Regional Interest<br />
  • 33. Insights for Search is based on percentages NOT absolute queries…<br />Queries for a keyword <br /> divided by: <br />Total queries in country<br />
  • 34. Understanding The Market<br /><ul><li>Keyword Research
  • 35. Keyword Tool
  • 36. Insights for Search
  • 37. Competition (Organic)
  • 38. Competition (AdWords) </li></li></ul><li>Competition – Organic (Natural)<br />
  • 39. Natural Search Results<br />Which sites are they visiting when they search? <br />What is my target audience being offered right now? <br />Visit those sites and compare what they offer versus what you are offering<br />
  • 40. Competition – Paid(AdWords)<br />
  • 41. Sponsored Links<br />Who am I competing with?<br />How many competitors are there? <br />How tough is the competition? <br />Will I need to revise my targeting strategy? <br />Use the preview tool<br />
  • 42. Competition (Paid)AdWords Preview Tool<br />
  • 43. Understanding The Market (Summary)<br />Understand two main parties: <br />Your target audience<br /> a. keyword tool (market shares, user segmentation)<br /> b. insights for search (trends, comparisons)<br />(both tools will be combined in one soon)<br />2. The competition <br /> a. natural (organic)<br /> b. paid (AdWords)<br />
  • 44. II.Understanding Your Site<br /><ul><li>Types of Websites / Actions
  • 45. Content Audit
  • 46. Visual Real Estate Audit
  • 47. What is Working and What is Not</li></li></ul><li>Types of Websites (Actions)<br />What do I want my users to DO? <br />
  • 48. Media / Content<br />Articles, videos, photos, news, etc… <br />Usually free content, ad supported <br />Main goal: maximize time spent on site, increase number of visitors<br />
  • 49. eCommerce / Transactional<br />Products, services, subscriptions, etc…<br />Selling products is the main revenue source<br />Main goal: maximize sales, avg. order value<br />
  • 50. Lead Generation<br />Services / products that can’t be sold on a website (architecture, consulting, real estate)<br />Qualified leads who contact you become customers<br />Main goal: maximize leads, minimize cost per lead<br />
  • 51. User-Generated Content / Interactivity<br />Users create content and share it, you provide the platform<br />Created content generates traffic, which makes money depending on your business model<br />Main goal: maximize content generated, viral marketing<br />
  • 52. Other Types<br />Directories<br />Search engines<br />Support websites<br />
  • 53. My Website<br />What type is it? <br />How many types of actions do I have? <br />How do actions differ from section to section? <br />
  • 54. Understanding Your Site<br /><ul><li>Types of Websites / Actions
  • 55. Content Audit
  • 56. Visual Real Estate Audit
  • 57. What is Working and What is Not</li></li></ul><li>Content Audit<br />Get a full audit of articles, pages, products, and all content on the site<br />Calculate percentages<br />Compare with the market<br />
  • 58. The Market vs. Your Website<br />The Market<br />My Website’s Content<br />
  • 59. Your content / products / offering must reflect the market desires and trends<br />
  • 60. How to Check?<br />Number of pages for each segment<br />Number of people dedicated to each segment<br />Budget allocation<br />Visual real estate allocation<br />
  • 61. Understanding Your Site<br /><ul><li>Types of Websites / Actions
  • 62. Content Audit
  • 63. Visual Real Estate Audit
  • 64. What is Working and What is Not</li></li></ul><li>Visual Real Estate Audit<br />Navigational items on all pages<br />Text links<br />Footer links<br />Banners for internal advertising (ratios) <br />
  • 65. Understanding Your Site<br /><ul><li>Types of Websites / Actions
  • 66. Content Audit
  • 67. Visual Real Estate Audit
  • 68. What is Working and What is Not</li></li></ul><li>Web Analytics (before launching your campaigns)<br />Where are people spending time on my site? <br />Which pages are popular?<br />Which pages are performing better? <br />What are the most popular actions? <br />
  • 69. Where to send users<br />The best performing pages<br />The most popular sections<br />Ask them to perform the most successful tasks<br />Fix underperforming sections/pages/actions before sending users to them<br />
  • 70. Understanding Your Website (summary)<br />Determine type of website (lead generation, ecommerce, content, etc.)<br />Determine specific actions you want people to perform<br />Perform a content audit<br />Compare site with market needs and desires<br />Use analytics to spot the best sections of your site<br />
  • 71. III.Choices, Decisions, Strategies<br /><ul><li>Targeting Your Audience
  • 72. Writing Effective Ads
  • 73. Performance Measures</li></li></ul><li>Targeting Your Audience<br />Keywords <br />Geography<br />Language <br />Keyword match type<br />Time of day / Day of week <br />Search / search partners<br />Content: automatic and managed<br />Devices<br />Demographics<br />
  • 74. Geographical Targeting<br />
  • 75. Language Targeting<br />Make sure you only target people who will be able to read your content, watch out for languages that use similar scripts<br />Keywords may have different meanings (e.g. British vs. American English)<br />Ad text can produce different responses<br />
  • 76. Keyword Match Types<br />Broad match: coffee beans<br />Similar keywords, plurals, variations, synonyms<br />Coffee bean, great coffee bean shop<br />Phrase match: ‘coffee beans’<br />Exact string with other keywords before or after <br />Coffee beans shop, buy coffee beans, get coffee beans<br />
  • 77. Keyword Match Types<br />Exact: [coffee beans]<br />Will only show ads if and only if the exact string of characters is searched for<br />Negative: -brazillian <br />Helps make sure you are eliminating content you don’t have <br />
  • 78. Time of the Day / Day of the Week<br />
  • 79. Google Search vs. Search Partners<br />
  • 80. Content Placement<br />
  • 81. Devices and Demographics<br />Devices: <br />Shows ads on desktops and / or mobile devices with full browsers like the iPhone<br />Demographics: <br />Only available on sites that have enabled this<br />
  • 82. Writing Effective Ads<br />Ads relevant to <br /> specific keywords<br />Features<br />Benefits <br />Calls to action<br />Using keywords in ads<br />Test different landing pages<br />
  • 83. Ads Relevant to Keywords<br />Each ad group should be focused on a topic<br />Ads should communicate messages specifically according to keywords<br />
  • 84. Benefits<br />Main point of interest<br />They are what your product achieves for the user<br />They are what users care about<br />Examples: feeling good about themselves (loosing 10kg), feeling safe on the road (air bags), securing a good future for your kids (good ROI on investment plan), etc… <br />
  • 85. Features<br />How your product helps me achieve the benefits<br />Specific evidence about your product<br />Points of differentiation<br />Examples: 32” screen, 8MP camera, ABS breaks, real leather shoes, etc… <br />
  • 86. Calls to Action<br />Leads user to a specific thing to do<br />Generates enthusiasm in the moment<br />Filters users<br />Examples: register now, buy immediately, signup for our newsletter, share with your friends, join the community, etc… <br />
  • 87. Using Keywords in Ads<br />Keywords are highlighted on results pages<br />Boosts relevancy of ads<br />
  • 88. Different Landing Pages<br />
  • 89. Measuring Performance<br />1,000,000 impressions<br />10,000 clicks<br />100<br />conversions<br />1%<br />Click-Thru Ratio<br />1%<br />Conversion Rate<br />Average CPC: $0.10<br />Total cost: 10,000 x 0.1 = $1,000<br />Cost per conversion: $1,000 / 100 = $10<br />
  • 90. Measuring Beyond AdWords<br />Web Analytics<br />Compare campaigns<br />Compare keywords <br />Compare ad groups<br />Compare ad position<br />Compare landing pages <br />
  • 91.
  • 92. Choices, Decisions, Strategies (summary)<br />Targeting<br />Keywords <br />Geography<br />Language <br />Keyword match type<br />Time of day / Day of week <br />Search / search partners<br />Content: automatic and managed<br />Devices<br />Demographics<br />Effective Ads<br />Ads relevant to <br /> specific keywords<br />Features<br />Benefits <br />Calls to action<br />Using keywords in ads<br />Test different landing pages<br />Measurment<br />CTR<br />Cost per conversion<br />Analytics <br />Measuring performance after the click<br />
  • 93. Thank you elias@media-supermarket.com<br />

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