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How to Turn Uncertainty
   Into Opportunity


       JOHN CARROLL
   Tres Coaching Services™
       Copyright © 2009 Tres Coaching Services
Agenda Topics

•   (3) Ways to Grow Your Business
•   Fun Facts You Need to Know
•   Apply 10% Rule to Everything
•   Impact of Price + Sales Increases
•   Sales Pipeline Example
•   Lifetime Value of a Customer
•   The “Whole Enchilada”



                  Copyright © 2009 Tres Coaching Services
                                                                    2
(3) Ways to Grow
                                                     Your Business?

Only (3) ways to grow your business …

1. Raise your prices.
2. Sell more to existing customers.
3. Sell to new customers.


**Your primary goal as an entrepreneur or business owner
   should be to get more profitable customers to buy more
   from you and more often.


                    Copyright © 2009 Tres Coaching Services
                                                                       3
Fun Facts

Pareto’s Law ...
• 20% of customers = 80% of profits
• 30% of customers = 15% of profits
• 50% of customers = 5% of profits

- It’s 6-7 times more expensive to acquire new customers
  than retain existing ones.
- 60% - 80% of lost customers reported to be Satisfied or
  Very Satisfied prior to defecting.
- 2/3 of customers leave because they feel neglected.
- A 5% improvement in customer retention rates will yield a
  25% to 100% increase in profits.

                   Copyright © 2009 Tres Coaching Services
                                                                         4
Apply 10% Rule
                                                        to Everything

• Grow Top-Line Revenues
  A.   Raise Prices
  B.   Increase Sales Volume
  C.   Increase Average Sale Value
  D.   Increase Customer Additions
  E.   Reduce Sales Cycles
  F.   Extend LTV of a Client

• Reduce Operating Expenses

• Improve Employee Productivity

• Enhance Customer Satisfaction
                      Copyright © 2009 Tres Coaching Services
                                                                        5
Impact of Price
                                                             Increases

                        Current                   10% Increase      30% Increase
Price                   $100.00                      $110.00          $130.00
# of Sales               1,000                         1,000            1,000
Gross Revenue          $100,000                $110,000 (10%)      $130,000 (30%)
COGS                    $50,000                       $50,000         $50,000
Gross Margin        $50,000 (50%)               $60,000 (55%)       $80,000 (62%)
SG & A                  $20,000                      $20,000          $20,000
Net Profit              $30,000                $40,000 (+33%)      $60,000 (+100%)



 CAUTION: Be sure that price increases do not result in excessive customer
 losses that would impact net profits.


                         Copyright © 2009 Tres Coaching Services
                                                                                     6
Impact of Price +
                                                         Sales Increases

                        Current                   10% Increase      30% Increase
Price                   $100.00                      $110.00          $130.00
# of Sales               1,000                         1,100            1,300
Gross Revenue          $100,000                $121,000 (21%)      $169,000 (69%)
COGS                    $50,000                       $55,000         $65,000
Gross Margin        $50,000 (50%)               $66,000 (55%)      $104,000 (62%)
SG & A                  $20,000                      $22,000          $26,000
Net Profit              $30,000                $44,000 (+47%)      $78,000 (+160%)



 CAUTION: Be sure that price increases do not result in excessive customer
 losses that would impact net profits.


                         Copyright © 2009 Tres Coaching Services
                                                                                     7
Keys to
                                                 Successful Selling

Know the competition. Learn all you can about their
  products and services, who they are selling to, and how
  they price, advertise, promote and market their offers.
Know your customers. Why are your customers buying
  from you, and what do they like and dislike about your
  business?
Have a game plan. Be prepared, make a good first
  impression, and continue to build consensus at each
  check point during the selling process.
Call on decision makers. 60% of a salesperson’s time is
  spent in front of people who either can’t buy or will never
  buy their products or services.
                    Copyright © 2009 Tres Coaching Services
                                                                      8
Keys to
                                               Successful Selling

Find an internal champion. To help you navigate the
  customer’s business environment, and endorse your
  recommendations at proposal time.
Be a problem solver. Focus on the known areas
  where your product or service can deliver the
  greatest value in solving a current problem or need.
Stay the course. On average, 48% of sales people
  never follow-up; however, 80% of sales are made on
  the 5-12 contact.
Ask for the order. “We miss 100% of the sales we
  don’t ask for.” – Zig Ziglar quote.

                  Copyright © 2009 Tres Coaching Services
                                                                    9
Sales Pipeline
                                               Example
 Leads + Referrals
 from all sources

                                                 • First Meeting, Interest
FIRST CALL – 10%                                 • Determine Next Steps
                                                 • Need Determined
                                                 • Identify Requirements
QUALIFIED – 25%                                  • Decision in 60 Days
                                                 • Solution Developed
                                                 • Submit Proposal
DEVELOPED – 50%                                  • Decision in 30 Days
                                                 • Received Verbal OK
                                                 • Approved Contract
  CLOSED – 75%                                   • Credit Review OK
                                                 • Signed Contract
IN PROGRESS – 90%                                • Paperwork Complete
                                                 • Revenue This Month

   FALLBACK                                      • Project Stalled
                                                 • In or Out in 30 Days

      CA-                                        • Service Installed
                                                 • Payment Received
      100%

       Copyright © 2009 Tres Coaching Services
Sell More & Improve
                                                        Close Ratios

Understand the customer’s buying center. Who are the players,
   what are their buying criteria – ROI and IRR considerations, etc.
Sell with and through partners. JVs and strategic partnerships will
   help you accelerate growth, extend your products and services
   portfolio, and expand your market reach.
Increase the average transaction size. Up sell, cross sell and back-
   end product sales, offer upgrades, additional services, value
   bundles.
Offer incentives, discounts and promotions. Pull through sales and
   multiple product sales to help increase the frequency of purchase,
   average transaction size, and shorten the sales cycle.
Customer reactivation program. Gift or special offer to “win-back”
   former or dormant customers.




                       Copyright © 2009 Tres Coaching Services
                                                                          11
Lifetime Value of
                                                           Customer

                        TODAY                      10%                30%
                                              IMPROVEMENT         IMPROVEMENT
Average                $100.00                       $110.00          $130.00
Purchase Amount
Frequency of        Every 90 Days              Every 81 Days       Every 63 Days
Purchases
Average                10 Years                      11 Years         13 Years
Customer
Relationship
                   $100 (3,650/90) =         $110 (4,015/81) =    $130 (4,745/63) =
Total                 $4,055.56                 $5,452.47            $9,791.27

Total % Change =                                     34.4%            141.4%


                        Copyright © 2009 Tres Coaching Services
                                                                                      12
Profitable
                                                                   Customers

$250


$200

                                                                       Price Premium
$150
                                                                       Referrals
                                                                       Cost Savings
$100
                                                                       Revenue Growth
                                                                       Base Revenue
 $50
                                                                       Acquistion Cost

  $0
       Year 0   Year 1   Year 2      Year 3      Year 4       Year 5
-$50
                         Copyright © 2009 Tres Coaching Services
                                                                                         13
The “Whole
                                                         Enchilada”

                  Current                         Year 1       Year 15
Price             $100.00                      $110.00         $161.00
# of Sales         1,000                         1,100          4,177
Gross Revenue     $100,000                    $121,000         $672,537
COGS              $50,000                       $55,000        $208,862
Gross Margin      $50,000                       $66,000        $463,675
SG & A            $20,000                       $22,000        $83,545
Net Profit        $30,000                       $44,000        $380,130



LTV of Customer   $4,055.56                    $5,452.47      $14,940.25



                   Copyright © 2009 Tres Coaching Services
                                                                           14
Thank You


Contact Me When Results
     Matter Most!!!
                JOHN CARROLL
      TRES COACHING SERVICES™
             Phone: 817.562.4240
         Email: john@trescoach.com
          Web: www.trescoach.com
    Twitter: https://twitter.com/#!/trescoach
  Facebook: https://www.facebook/trescoach
LinkedIn: http://www.linkedin.com/in/trescoach

           Copyright © 2009 Tres Coaching Services

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How to Turn Uncertainty into Opportunity

  • 1. How to Turn Uncertainty Into Opportunity JOHN CARROLL Tres Coaching Services™ Copyright © 2009 Tres Coaching Services
  • 2. Agenda Topics • (3) Ways to Grow Your Business • Fun Facts You Need to Know • Apply 10% Rule to Everything • Impact of Price + Sales Increases • Sales Pipeline Example • Lifetime Value of a Customer • The “Whole Enchilada” Copyright © 2009 Tres Coaching Services 2
  • 3. (3) Ways to Grow Your Business? Only (3) ways to grow your business … 1. Raise your prices. 2. Sell more to existing customers. 3. Sell to new customers. **Your primary goal as an entrepreneur or business owner should be to get more profitable customers to buy more from you and more often. Copyright © 2009 Tres Coaching Services 3
  • 4. Fun Facts Pareto’s Law ... • 20% of customers = 80% of profits • 30% of customers = 15% of profits • 50% of customers = 5% of profits - It’s 6-7 times more expensive to acquire new customers than retain existing ones. - 60% - 80% of lost customers reported to be Satisfied or Very Satisfied prior to defecting. - 2/3 of customers leave because they feel neglected. - A 5% improvement in customer retention rates will yield a 25% to 100% increase in profits. Copyright © 2009 Tres Coaching Services 4
  • 5. Apply 10% Rule to Everything • Grow Top-Line Revenues A. Raise Prices B. Increase Sales Volume C. Increase Average Sale Value D. Increase Customer Additions E. Reduce Sales Cycles F. Extend LTV of a Client • Reduce Operating Expenses • Improve Employee Productivity • Enhance Customer Satisfaction Copyright © 2009 Tres Coaching Services 5
  • 6. Impact of Price Increases Current 10% Increase 30% Increase Price $100.00 $110.00 $130.00 # of Sales 1,000 1,000 1,000 Gross Revenue $100,000 $110,000 (10%) $130,000 (30%) COGS $50,000 $50,000 $50,000 Gross Margin $50,000 (50%) $60,000 (55%) $80,000 (62%) SG & A $20,000 $20,000 $20,000 Net Profit $30,000 $40,000 (+33%) $60,000 (+100%) CAUTION: Be sure that price increases do not result in excessive customer losses that would impact net profits. Copyright © 2009 Tres Coaching Services 6
  • 7. Impact of Price + Sales Increases Current 10% Increase 30% Increase Price $100.00 $110.00 $130.00 # of Sales 1,000 1,100 1,300 Gross Revenue $100,000 $121,000 (21%) $169,000 (69%) COGS $50,000 $55,000 $65,000 Gross Margin $50,000 (50%) $66,000 (55%) $104,000 (62%) SG & A $20,000 $22,000 $26,000 Net Profit $30,000 $44,000 (+47%) $78,000 (+160%) CAUTION: Be sure that price increases do not result in excessive customer losses that would impact net profits. Copyright © 2009 Tres Coaching Services 7
  • 8. Keys to Successful Selling Know the competition. Learn all you can about their products and services, who they are selling to, and how they price, advertise, promote and market their offers. Know your customers. Why are your customers buying from you, and what do they like and dislike about your business? Have a game plan. Be prepared, make a good first impression, and continue to build consensus at each check point during the selling process. Call on decision makers. 60% of a salesperson’s time is spent in front of people who either can’t buy or will never buy their products or services. Copyright © 2009 Tres Coaching Services 8
  • 9. Keys to Successful Selling Find an internal champion. To help you navigate the customer’s business environment, and endorse your recommendations at proposal time. Be a problem solver. Focus on the known areas where your product or service can deliver the greatest value in solving a current problem or need. Stay the course. On average, 48% of sales people never follow-up; however, 80% of sales are made on the 5-12 contact. Ask for the order. “We miss 100% of the sales we don’t ask for.” – Zig Ziglar quote. Copyright © 2009 Tres Coaching Services 9
  • 10. Sales Pipeline Example Leads + Referrals from all sources • First Meeting, Interest FIRST CALL – 10% • Determine Next Steps • Need Determined • Identify Requirements QUALIFIED – 25% • Decision in 60 Days • Solution Developed • Submit Proposal DEVELOPED – 50% • Decision in 30 Days • Received Verbal OK • Approved Contract CLOSED – 75% • Credit Review OK • Signed Contract IN PROGRESS – 90% • Paperwork Complete • Revenue This Month FALLBACK • Project Stalled • In or Out in 30 Days CA- • Service Installed • Payment Received 100% Copyright © 2009 Tres Coaching Services
  • 11. Sell More & Improve Close Ratios Understand the customer’s buying center. Who are the players, what are their buying criteria – ROI and IRR considerations, etc. Sell with and through partners. JVs and strategic partnerships will help you accelerate growth, extend your products and services portfolio, and expand your market reach. Increase the average transaction size. Up sell, cross sell and back- end product sales, offer upgrades, additional services, value bundles. Offer incentives, discounts and promotions. Pull through sales and multiple product sales to help increase the frequency of purchase, average transaction size, and shorten the sales cycle. Customer reactivation program. Gift or special offer to “win-back” former or dormant customers. Copyright © 2009 Tres Coaching Services 11
  • 12. Lifetime Value of Customer TODAY 10% 30% IMPROVEMENT IMPROVEMENT Average $100.00 $110.00 $130.00 Purchase Amount Frequency of Every 90 Days Every 81 Days Every 63 Days Purchases Average 10 Years 11 Years 13 Years Customer Relationship $100 (3,650/90) = $110 (4,015/81) = $130 (4,745/63) = Total $4,055.56 $5,452.47 $9,791.27 Total % Change = 34.4% 141.4% Copyright © 2009 Tres Coaching Services 12
  • 13. Profitable Customers $250 $200 Price Premium $150 Referrals Cost Savings $100 Revenue Growth Base Revenue $50 Acquistion Cost $0 Year 0 Year 1 Year 2 Year 3 Year 4 Year 5 -$50 Copyright © 2009 Tres Coaching Services 13
  • 14. The “Whole Enchilada” Current Year 1 Year 15 Price $100.00 $110.00 $161.00 # of Sales 1,000 1,100 4,177 Gross Revenue $100,000 $121,000 $672,537 COGS $50,000 $55,000 $208,862 Gross Margin $50,000 $66,000 $463,675 SG & A $20,000 $22,000 $83,545 Net Profit $30,000 $44,000 $380,130 LTV of Customer $4,055.56 $5,452.47 $14,940.25 Copyright © 2009 Tres Coaching Services 14
  • 15. Thank You Contact Me When Results Matter Most!!! JOHN CARROLL TRES COACHING SERVICES™ Phone: 817.562.4240 Email: john@trescoach.com Web: www.trescoach.com Twitter: https://twitter.com/#!/trescoach Facebook: https://www.facebook/trescoach LinkedIn: http://www.linkedin.com/in/trescoach Copyright © 2009 Tres Coaching Services