Wine Internet Marketing Workshop slide deck that covered Social Media, Facebook, Twitter, Search Engine Optimzation, Internet Advertising, Conversions, Mobile and Email Marketing. Conducted in 5 regions in New Zealand in Feb-13 (personalized feedback not included).
2. What we’ll cover
• It’s a Process
• Social Media
• Facebook
• Twitter
• Social Media metrics, software, brand
• Search Engine Optimization
• Internet Advertising
• Email Marketing
• Conversion Rate Optimization
• Mobile Apps & Websites
• The Future: Local Based Services
2
3. The Process
Search Engines Traffic
Internet Advertising
Blog
Facebook Engagement
Twitter
Mobile
LBS
LPO Conversion
Email Marketing Repeat
3
4. Internet = email, search, content, shopping & ... social
http://www.pewinternet.org/Reports/2011/Search-and-email/Report.aspx
4
5. The Math: like compounding interest
Acquisition
Conversion
Retention
2X
p.322, “How to Sell Wine”, B. McGechan, 2011
5
6. Recurring themes of this Workshop
• Great Content
• Use your Brand Voice
• Be Consistent and Regular
• Multiple Channels
• Takes time - per week, and for results
6
7. What we’ll cover
• It’s a Process
• Social Media
• Facebook
• Twitter
• Search Engine Optimization
• Internet Advertising
• Email Marketing
• Conversion Rate Optimization
• Mobile Apps & Websites
• The Future: Local Based Services
7
8. Social Media is big
• 300 million social media wine
conversations
• 10 million social wine consumers
(vintank)
• 73% of core wine drinkers use Facebook
• 24% Twitter (Wine Market Research
Council 2011)
but ... 8
9. What is Social Media?
• We use web and mobile technology
(“Media”) to
• Interact with others (“Social”)
• Why? > It’s like VoiceMail
9
10. Owned, Paid, Earned Media
Owned Paid
Media Media
Earned
Media
Source: Sean Corcoran, Forrester Media
10
11. Levels of Social Media Involvement
• Your customers?
Curating
• You?
Producing
Commenting
Sharing
Watching
Source: Charlene Li, Altimeter Group
11
12. Social Media ROI - the value of influencers
Normal Marketing Math
• Customer Value per annum
Social Media Math
• the above PLUS Value of Referrals
Not everyone is equal
12
13. What we’ll cover
• It’s a Process
• Social Media
• Facebook
• Twitter
• Social Media metrics, software, brand
• Search Engine Optimization
• Internet Advertising
• Email Marketing
• Conversion Rate Optimization
• Mobile Apps & Websites
• The Future: Local Based Services
13
14. Will posts appear on the fans’ wall updates?
• 350 friends/likes = 350 ‘edges’ pd?
• No, on average 16% of Page posts
appear on fans Walls
• It depends on Page’s EdgeRank
• Affinity - views and engagement
• Content Weight - type and engagement
• Time Decay
• and Paid Ads
Share
Comment
14
15. Connect - Engage - Influence
• Connect: Build the Fan base
• Create a Facebook page, then put like buttons on everything
• website, emails, label, carton, shelf talkers
• Numbers are not everything but they do matter
• inactive/spam vs passive vs active followers
• best of all: influential engaged active followers
• Plus Paid Ads...
15
16. Paid Ads
• Ad
• Sponsored Story
• Promoted Post
• Offers
• Check-Ins
• Retargeting
Internet Advertising section
16
17. Connect - Engage - Influence
• Engage: Encourage Fans to make some Action on your Page
Live Authenticity Be Up To Date Set Community
Expectations
Participate in Dialog
Encourage Interactions Solicit A Call To Action
Provide Cohesive
Foster Advocacy Branding
Source: J. Owyang, “Altimeter Report:The 8 Success Criteria For Facebook Page”
Every day, post ahead - Content Calendar ...
17
18. Content Calendar Illustration
Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday Sunday or Week1,2
Winery x
Vineyard x
Illustration x x
Food x
Humour x
...
18
48. Connect - Engage - Influence
• Influence: Fans’ Friends
• motivate people to post about your wine
• contests, photo requests
• encourage them to share with their friends
• Remember EdgeRank
• Put this regularly into your Content Calendar
48
50. Winery Feedback
• Regular: at least 3 times per week, every day?
• Personal: talking as person to another person, social media is P2P, sign off with first name
Bruce@MLWS
• Participate: always respond to any comments or posts by others - engagement
• Interaction: questions rather than statements, customer photos rather winery news
50
51. What we’ll cover
• It’s a Process
• Social Media
• Facebook
• Twitter
• Social Media metrics, software, brand
• Search Engine Optimization
• Internet Advertising
• Email Marketing
• Conversion Rate Optimization
• Mobile Apps & Websites
• The Future: Local Based Services
51
52. Twitter Practice
1. Research / Listen / Monitor
• advanced search on location, keywords (#), known wine influencers
• Build Lists
• Interesting
• Influencers
• Relationships
• ReTweeters
• Build Searches
• #wine, #nzwine, #pinot2013
• SEO type keywords e.g. central otago pinot noir, your brand
Source: Ruth Burr, SEOMoz; Brian Solis
52
53. Twitter Practice
2. Build real relationships with real people
• Whom can I help? not Who can help me?
• Sharing their stuff
• Commenting on their posts
• Mentioning them
• Enter conversations where you can add value
• Events
• Adding to a relationship list
• “More sharing, more thoughtful, more stories” (Brian Solis)
Source: SocialMediaExaminer; Brian Solis
53
54. Twitter Practice
3. Then Share your Great Content
• breaking news
• interesting and bizarre photos
• links to your interesting content
• continue building relationships (inane to others perhaps)
• If it is Important then add Plse RT
• Measure Resonance - does the conversation start, are you retweeted - how long does it
last?
Source: DanZarrella ‘The Science of ReTweets’;
Brian Solis
54
55. What we’ll cover
• It’s a Process
• Social Media
• Facebook
• Twitter
• Social Media metrics, software, brand
• Search Engine Optimization
• Internet Advertising
• Email Marketing
• Conversion Rate Optimization
• Mobile Apps & Websites
• The Future: Local Based Services
55
56. Metrics
• Anecdote
• Correlation
• Multi-variate testing
• Links and Tagging
• Integrated (e.g. Social Connect)
• Direct Commerce
• SME - just count and compare ;)
Source: Susan Etlinger, Altimeter Group,
"The Social Media ROI Cookbook: Six Ingredients Top
Brands Use to Measure the Revenue Impact of Social
Media" July 24, 2012
56
57. Metrics: Links and Tagging
• Bit.ly: to track links
• Google Analytics: tag utm codes to the end of links
www.mylocalwinestore.com/nz1112/?utm_source=facebook&utm_medium=social-media&utm_campaign=post18Nov11
www.mylocalwinestore.com/nz1112/?utm_source=facebook&utm_medium=cpc&utm_campaign=nz1112
57
59. The Center: Wine Directory
• An internet database for wineries from
Californian wine marketing technology firm
vintank
• Wineries upload accurate winery and wine
product information including photos, videos,
QR codes, location, tasting room details...
• Accessed by over 300 wine social networks,
mobile apps, retailers and industry bodies
• Aggregate audience of over 9 million potential
consumers
• Starter for other software: Social Connect,
Winery Input Home Screenshot
Facebook wine page, Wine App
• It’s Free!
Sign up at www.vintank.com
59
60. What you read
Winery Input Details Screenshot Winery Input Digital Media Screenshot
60
63. Social Connect
• Wine Social Media Monitoring and Management
tool
• Has measured:
• over 300 million wine conversations.
• 30 million quality wine conversations (variety,
brand, region).
• Has profiles from more than 10 million social
wine consumers.
• 15K wine specific platforms, 170K social sites
and blogs and over 90K forums
• Twitter, Facebook, Flickr, YouTube etc
• CellarTracker etc
63
64. Social Connect Dashboard
• The Social Dashboard
• high-level snapshot of the latest activity
• Sources:
• Blogs
• Microblogs (inc. Facebook, Twitter)
• Tasting Notes (inc. CellarTracker)
• Forums
• Media
64
68. Recurring themes of this Workshop
• Great Content
• Use your Brand Voice
• Be Consistent and Regular
• Multiple Channels
• Takes time - per week, and for results
68
69. Brand Management and Brand Voice
Consumers Competitors
Company
http://www.mylocalwinestore.com/?p=4241
69
70. Project Genome
Source: Constellation Wines
Other Market Segmentation: How to Sell Wine Online Source: Constellation Wines
• Bruwer and Johnson
• my own
see my blog
70
71. Social Media Brief Example
• Business Objective:
• Boost Margins and Volume by changing to a Higher Value Customer Mix.
• Marketing Strategy
• Strategy: fewer Savvy Shoppers more Enthusiasts.
• Consumer Insight: “They’re super passionate about wine and love discussing it with other like minded
people.”
• Promotion > Internet Marketing: Increase engagement with Enthusiasts through the
Facebook Page
• Action: encouraging Wall Post comments or users themselves posting on the Wall.
• Creative: interesting photos of the vineyard and winery people around harvest.
• Metric / KPI:
• Increase # of Facebook user wall posts, shares or comments this month vs. last month by 5 for next 6
months 71
72. What we’ll cover
• It’s a Process
• Social Media
• Facebook
• Twitter
• Social Media metrics, software, brand
• Search Engine Optimization
• Internet Advertising
• Email Marketing
• Conversion Rate Optimization
• Mobile Apps & Websites
• The Future: Local Based Services
72
74. Search: Organic vs Paid
~20% of clicks
~80% of clicks
Personalization alters results 74
75. Rank 1 vs 2, 3 vs 4
Used to be 30%+
75 http://connect.slingshotseo.com/a-tale-of-two-studies-establishing-google-bing-click_through-rates
76. The Algorithm
Note: 2011 estimate.
Look for Social to be
bigger in 2013.
http://www.seomoz.org/article/search-ranking-factors
See also http://searchengineland.com/seotable/
76
77. Some estimate as much as 60%
of the web's pages are spam. http://www.slideshare.net/randfish/introduction-to-seo-5003433
77
83. Each page should be about a keyword phrase
Most Important:
• Title Tags
• Meta Descriptions
• URL
http://www.hallwines.com/hall-napa-valley-merlot
83
84. Keyword Research & Targeting
84 http://www.seomoz.org/blog/illustrating-the-long-tail
85. Wine Industry Keywords
Fat Head Chunky Middle Long Tail
wine varietals + region (buy) + brand + (sub)region + varietal + vintage
varietals varietals + subregion
varietals + region
High Volume Good Volume Low Volume
High Competition Moderate Competition Usually High Conversion (buy)
85
86. Wine Industry Keywords
Fat Head Chunky Middle Long Tail
wine varietals + region (buy) + brand + (sub)region + varietal + vintage
varietals varietals + subregion
varietals + region
High Volume Good Volume Low Volume
High Competition Moderate Competition Usually High Conversion (buy)
Google Keyword Google Keyword Tool Conversions: check Google Analytics
Tool
SERP Competition? Start Here
86
88. Links: two ways of getting them
• Great Content (Inbound Marketing)
• By Request
88
89. Content
Recurring themes of this Workshop
Great content
Your brand voice
Then use in multiple internet channels:
89
90. Content Ideas (that are link-worthy)
What’s your brand voice? • Tasting notes not just written but by video,
interview, comparison, infographic
What are your keywords?
• Events: festivals, brand sponsored, international
tastings, industry
What are you really interested
in? • What does your audience share? Look at twitter,
wine blogs, facebook
• Terroir: soil, topography, climate, people
• Can you create a community? User Generated
• (Sub)region Explanation Content
• Varietal-Subregion commentary • Infographics about terroir
• Vintage history and real time • See Facebook examples e.g. animals, tasting room
customers, humour
• Partners: restaurants & retailers
90
91. Link Building
Hi First Name
Hard Yards, treat it like sales calls I know you & like you
We got this [award], please link </a>
• Request (esp. Suppliers & Customers) Giveback - blog post about you
Nice close
• Outreach, a more sophisticated request Regards, your details
http://www.seomoz.org/blog/what-separates-a-good-outreach-email-from-a-great-one-whiteboard-friday
• Guest blog posts
• Competitive Analysis
• Relevant Directory Links
• Sensible high value Reciprocal
• Redirect any broken links
Do not use Paid Links, Link Farms
Harvesting at Night video... http://www.opensiteexplorer.org 91
92. Social now effects Search
• Google logged in users (Gmail, G+ etc)
• Google+ Bias
• Facebook & Twitter Shares (correlation vs
causation)
• Content shared by social network
probably? gets higher prominence
• You want to be shared
• You want to be shared on Google+
92
93. Local Search & Tasting Rooms
• Local search query
• Google wants to see
• geographically relevant
• proper business category in Google+
Local (Wineries or Wine store)
• good volume of local listings, ratings
and reviews (in Google+)
• Google+ Local listing
• NAP
http://www.davidmihm.com/local-search-ranking-factors.shtml
93
94. What I haven’t talked about
• Author Rank & Publisher Rank
• Rich Snippets
• Web Architecture & Silos
• Facebook Search
94
95. What we’ll cover
• It’s a Process
• Social Media
• Facebook
• Twitter
• Social Media metrics, software, brand
• Search Engine Optimization
• Internet Advertising
• Email Marketing
• Conversion Rate Optimization
• Mobile Apps & Websites
• The Future: Local Based Services
95
96. Internet Advertising Size
• Essentially Adwords & Facebook
• The US internet advertising market is $34
billion large
• Grows by about 15-20% per annum
• Mobile ads 8%, 2X growth
Sources: Internet Advertising Bureau and Price Waterhouse Coopers. Iab internet advertising revenue report. Technical report,
Internet Advertising Bureau, October 2012.; Google 2011 Financial Tables. investor.google.com/financial/tables.html, 2011.
http://www.go-gulf.com/blog/online-ad-spending/ 96
97. Online Advertising: 80 | 20
We will cover the basics: Other ad options include:
• Display Network inc. Image Ads, Placement
• Google Adwords • Retargeting
• Bing and Yahoo advertising
• Facebook Ads • YouTube advertising
• Twitter promoted tweets, accounts
• LinkedIn Ads
• Location Based Services inc.Yelp
• other Banner Advertising Networks
97
98. Google Adwords: Search Network
Google Search, Shopping, Maps, Images and Groups (not Gmail)
~20% of clicks
~80% of clicks
98
100. Google Display Network
• Largest Display Advertising Network
• Google:YouTube, Gmail, Blogger
• AdSense on millions of websites
• Non-Family ads including alcohol cannot
be shown on the Display Network...
Google does allow alcohol accessories such as wine storage, alcohol-related
collectibles, packaging and containers. Google also allows, ‘wineries, wine tours,
sommelier courses with no direct promotion of drinking, alcohol, or direct sale
option.’ (Source: Google email)
100
101. Wine Industry Keywords
Fat Head Chunky Middle Long Tail
wine varietals + region (buy) + brand + (sub)region + varietal + vintage
varietals varietals + subregion
varietals + region
High Volume Good Volume Low Volume = Does Not Show
High Competition Competition? Usually High Conversion (buy)
101
102. Keywords: Exact, Phrase, Broad
• e.g. search query napa valley merlot • Broad
• Exact • merlot napa valley
• napa valley merlot • napa valley
• Phrase • napa merlot
• napa valley example-brand vineyard merlot • buy merlot wine from napa
• napa valley merlot • information about napa merlot wine
• napa north valley cabernet merlot • May include sonoma merlot...
• not merlot napa valley (out of order); napa • Broad +
valley (no merlot); napa merlot (no valley)
• +napa valley merlot
102
103. Ad Group & Ads
• Ad Group
e.g. Napa Merlot
• A group of similar keywords
• Two Ads to test which one performs better
Napa Valley Merlot
• Ads www.BrandWinery.com
Award Winning Merlot
• Keyword in the headline: searched, bold, from Napa. Shop Now!
influence
• Description: think target market
Brand Napa Merlot
• A call to action e.g. buy or order now www.BrandWinery.com
Award Winning Merlot
• Landing Page is congruent with Ad from Napa. Shop Now!
103
104. Google Search Network Ads: One
• Create One simple campaign
• Search Network only
• Computers only
• One Ad group, one keyword
• One Landing Page
• One country / state
• One month, low budget
• Watch and Optimize
• & Repeat for next word
• Adwords Enhanced Campaigns...
104
105. Ad Examples
Napa Valley Winery Best of Walla Walla Wine
www.pheasantvalleywinery.com CougarCrestWinery.com
A Dedication to Winemaking Taste wine, have a cheese plate,
Schedule A Private Tasting Today play bocce, horseshoes, art gallery
goes to http://farniente.com/winery-tours-and- goes to http://www.cougarcrestwinery.com/
tastings/?_vsrefdom=googleppc
Fort Ross Vineyard Willamette Valley Winery
www.fortrossvineyard.com www.pheasantvalleywinery.com
True Sonoma Coast Pinot Noir, Pheasant Valley Winery- Organic
Chardonnay & Pinotage Wine In the Gorge 866-357-WINE
goes to http://fortrossvineyard.com/tasting-room goes to http://www.pheasantvalleywinery.com
California Winery Bouchaine Vineyards, Napa
www.fortrossvineyard.com www.bouchaine.com/
Taste Wine That Won Top 2011 Extraordinary Pinots & Chardonnays.
Awards 50% Savings Voucher Try Our Top Rated Wines Today!
goes to http://www.soliswinery.com/winerypromo2.php goes to http://www.bouchaine.com/shop/
105
106. New Zealand Pinot Noir - In Stock; Sauvignon Blanc, Marlborough, New Zealand
Great Selection. Uniquely Southern Latitudes Wines. Exclusive Wines at Great Values.
www.solawines.com/NewZealandPinot http:// Everyday Up to 15% Off Case Orders!
www.solawines.com/CT/nzpn.html www.wineexpress.com/
http://www.rkdms.com/redirect?
New Zealand Wine On Sale - UltimateWineShop.com
Great Selection & Low Low Prices. New Zealand White Wines
Friendly Service & Fast Shipping. Bargain Prices. Smart Deals.
www.ultimatewineshop.com/NewZealand http:// Explore New Zealand White Wines!
www.ultimatewineshop.com/r/country/New20Zealand BizRate.com
New Zealand Pinot Noir Wines from New Zealand
Cheap Prices and Huge Selection. The World's Best Wines Delivered.
New Zealand Pinot Noir on Sale! Quality and Value 100% Guaranteed.
www.Calibex.com www.wsjwine.com/
http://wsjwine.com/wsjintro
New Zealand Wine
Discover the Flavors of New Zealand. New Zealand Sauv. Blanc
Find Great Vineyards! Lowest Price on Hard to Find Wines.
www.newzealand.com/ http://clk.atdmt.com/AVE/go/... Free to Join. Huge Savings!
www.wineaccess.com/
New Zealand Pinot Noir http://www.wineaccess.com/refer.tcl?
New Zealand Pinot Noir!
Find the Best Value with Trusted Sellers. White Sauvignon Blanc
www.NexTag.com Find White Sauvignon Blanc Online.
Free Shipping $50 on 100,000 Items!
New Zealand Pinot Noir Target.com/FreeShipping
Find & buy top-rated wines online.
Great selection, prices, & reviews. 2011 Matua Sauvignon Blanc
WineAccess.com Over 6000 Fine Wines In Stock.
inventory&utm_source=google&utm_medium=cpc&utm_cam Wine Concierge Service. Buy Now!
paign=JJB+-+Inventor www.jjbuckley.com/
http://www.jjbuckley.com/2011-Matua-Sauvignon-Blanc/
p~2011~255175?
106
107. Facebook Paid Ads
• Ad
• Sponsored Story
• Promoted Post
• Offers
• Check-Ins
• Retargeting
107
108. Standard, Sponsored and Promoted
Standard Ad and Sponsored Stories Promoted Post
FB page (or to www)
108
111. Recurring themes of this Workshop
• Great Content
• Use your Brand Voice
• Be Consistent and Regular
• Multiple Channels
• Takes time - per week, and for results
111
112. What we’ll cover
• It’s a Process
• Social Media
• Facebook
• Twitter
• Social Media metrics, software, brand
• Search Engine Optimization
• Internet Advertising
• Email Marketing
• Conversion Rate Optimization
• Mobile Apps & Websites
• The Future: Local Based Services
112
115. Double Opt-In
Subscribers who do this:
• more responsive Opt-In Form
• SPAM law safe
Confirmation
• not someone else Email
• correct email address
Confirmation
with an offer
115
116. Use an Email Service
• Double Opt-In
• Automates Unsubscribe
• Keeps ISP happy (e.g.Yahoo Xtra)
• Helps abide by SPAM laws e.g. physical
address
• MS Outlook is fine <200 subscribers but
all of the above...
Email Services: e.g. mailchimp, aweber, iContact,Vertical Response, Constant Contact
116
117. Note on Open Rates
• Mail services embed a tiny transparent
image
• If image is downloaded then email is
regarded as opened
• But most email programs have image
blocking
?
• By tracking links you can also track
Opens
• You don’t send image only emails do you:
117
118. Always personalize your emails – both ways
• Should start with Dear (or Hi, Hey,
Howdy) First-Name
• People are much more likely to respond
to real people not computers
• From field should be
YourName@YourWine.com
• not do-not-reply@YourWine.com
118
119. Content is King
There are two types of Share your love with Pinot Wine Guide
emails:
Sure to Surprise Wine 101 – how to
• Information 90%
Crisis in Wine and Food
• Promotional 10%
No Justice in Wine and Climate e.g. Summer
Info Headline Examples Top rated Cult like
The King of 94 point rated
Once every 30 years Private Selection of
A Discovery at The best of
Adventure in Vintage of the Decade
119
120. Autoresponders
• Sequence of email marketing messages
• In an order
• At a frequency Order Days from Subscription Topic
1 1 The 6 Regions of Central Otago
2 3 The Climate
Potential Topics 3 5 The Soil
4 7 Grapes
• Region 5 9 Why YourWinery is Best
• Varietal
• Wine and Food
120
121. Recurring themes of this Workshop
• Great Content
• Use your Brand Voice
• Be Consistent and Regular
• Multiple Channels
• Takes time - per week, and for results
121
122. What we’ll cover
• It’s a Process
• Social Media
• Facebook
• Twitter
• Social Media metrics, software, brand
• Search Engine Optimization
• Internet Advertising
• Email Marketing
• Conversion Rate Optimization
• Mobile Apps & Websites
• The Future: Local Based Services
122
123. Why aren’t my customers buying!?
• The honest truth - experts don’t know
• though we’ll give you our opinion :)
• So let your customers ‘vote’ through
Testing also known as
• Conversion Rate Optimization or Landing
Page Optimization
123
124. Unblock and Boost each part of the Funnel
e.g.
Acquisition
Home Page
Conversion
Product Page
Retention
Shopping Cart
124
125. Cost to Acquire and Lifetime Customer Value
Campaign What to Test Metric Software
Adwords and Google
Adwords Headlines, Landing Pages CTR, Conversion Rate
Analytics (GA)
GA and Facebook
Facebook Ads Headlines and Images CTR, Conv. Rate
Conversions
Headings, Content, Call to
Search Engines Conv. Rate GA
Action
Subject Line, Headings, Call
Email Marketing CTR, Conv. Rate GA
to Action
Single vs Multi Page Shopping Cart abandonment
eCommerce pages GA
Checkout, Shipping rate
Comments, Shares, RTs,
Social Media Content, Calls to Actions Social Connect, GA
Assisted Conversions
125
126. Cost to Acquire and Lifetime Customer Value
Lifetime
Campaign What to Test Metric Software CPA
Customer Value
Headlines, Landing CTR, Conversion Adwords and Google 20 clicks@ $240*30%=$72
Adwords
Pages Rate Analytics (GA) $1=$20 less $20= $52
Headlines and GA and Facebook
Facebook Ads CTR, Conv. Rate
Images Conversions
Headings, Content,
Search Engines Conv. Rate GA
Call to Action
Subject Line,
Email Marketing Headings, Call to CTR, Conv. Rate GA
Action
Single vs Multi Page Shopping Cart
eCommerce pages GA
Checkout, Shipping abandonment rate
Comments, Shares,
Content, Calls to
Social Media RTs, Assisted Social Connect, GA
Actions
Conversions
126
127. What we’ll cover
• It’s a Process
• Social Media
• Facebook
• Twitter
• Social Media metrics, software, brand
• Search Engine Optimization
• Internet Advertising
• Email Marketing
• Conversion Rate Optimization
• Mobile Apps & Websites
• The Future: Local Based Services
127
128. The new multi-screen world
Radio, newspapers & magazines are dead dying
Google study: The New Multi-screen World Understanding Cross-platform Consumer Behavior, Aug-12
http://services.google.com/fh/files/misc/multiscreenworld_final.pdf
128
129. Mobile & Tablet usage = PC
Google study: The New Multi-screen World Understanding Cross-platform Consumer Behavior, Aug-12
http://services.google.com/fh/files/misc/multiscreenworld_final.pdf
129
130. We use mobiles the mostest and the firstest
Google study: The New Multi-screen World Understanding Cross-platform Consumer Behavior, Aug-12
http://services.google.com/fh/files/misc/multiscreenworld_final.pdf
130
131. We use them together
Google study: The New Multi-screen World Understanding Cross-platform Consumer Behavior, Aug-12
http://services.google.com/fh/files/misc/multiscreenworld_final.pdf
131
132. We use them for shopping
39% or 29mn of US ‘core wine drinkers’ use ‘wine, food, restaurant or bar apps’
(Wine Market Council 2010 study)
Google study: The New Multi-screen World Understanding Cross-platform Consumer Behavior, Aug-12
http://services.google.com/fh/files/misc/multiscreenworld_final.pdf
132
133. Some of my best friends are Mobiles & Tablets...
• But they are a different user experience
• It needs to be optimized
Users browsing the internet on their mobiles will click on links to your page
133
134. First the m.www then the App
• Mobile Websites
• Don’t need to be downloaded
• Available to all
• Easier to build
• Do not need approval
• Mobile / Tablet Apps
• App Store
• Better iOS/Android integration
• Push notifications
134
135. Mobile websites, apps and...
Mobile SEO
http://www.seomoz.org/webinars
Mobile Adwords A breakfast cafe wants to reach people nearby searching for
"coffee" or "breakfast" on a smartphone. Using bid
adjustments, with three simple entries, they can bid 25%
higher for people searching a half-mile away, 20% lower for
Mobile Facebook Ads searches after 11am, and 50% higher for searches on
smartphones.These bid adjustments can apply to all ads and
all keywords in one single campaign.
http://adwords.blogspot.co.nz/search/label/enhanced%20campaigns
135
136. What we’ll cover
• It’s a Process
• Social Media
• Facebook
• Twitter
• Social Media metrics, software, brand
• Search Engine Optimization
• Internet Advertising
• Email Marketing
• Conversion Rate Optimization
• Mobile Apps & Websites
• The Future: Local Based Services
136
137. Wine SoMoLo
1990s
• Websites
• eCommerce
2000s
• Social Media (open from ’06)
• Mobile (the iPhone in ’07)
• Local (Yelp & FourSquare from ’09)
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138. Wine SoMoLo: Social meet Mobile
• 50% of active users use Facebook through
their mobile phone
• Facebook is integrated into iPhone and
iPad as of the latest iOS version (Oct-12)
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139. Wine SoMoLo: the Local
• Location Based Services
• 1. Match unmet demand with unused supply eg Groupon, Facebook Offers, OpenTable
• 2. Location Based Social Network eg FourSquare, Facebook local group, Facebook Check-Ins
• 3. Local information, search and listings eg Yelp, FourSquare, Google+ Places
Source:The Economist 27-Oct-12 Special Report
• Local Ads
• General too expensive now need to focus on local results town by town
• Local Search
• Any hint of a local search results in general results being reduced and local results dominating the page
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140. What we’ve covered
• It’s a Process
• Social Media
• Facebook
• Twitter
• Search Engine Optimization
• Internet Advertising
• Email Marketing
• Conversion Rate Optimization
• Mobile Apps & Websites
• The Future: Local Based Services
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141. Summary
Search Engines Traffic
Internet Advertising
Blog
Facebook Engagement
Twitter
Mobile
LBS
LPO Conversion
Email Marketing Repeat
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143. Questions?
Presentation is available to be downloaded at:
http://www.mylocalwinestore.com/wine-industry/nz0213-workshop/
Contact Details:
Bruce McGechan
Email: bruce@mylocalwinestore.com
Facebook: http://facebook.com/MyLocalWineStore
Twitter: @BruceMcGechan
Blog: www.MyLocalWineStore.com/blog
The End Google+: gplus.to/BruceMcGechan
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