BERGHS SCHOOL OF COMMUNICATION
1
BERGHS SCHOOL OF COMMUNICATION
Personalization and
Conversion
2
2013 APRIL 22
Mikael Jacobsson
Business Consultant
SapientNitro
BERGHS SCHOOL OF COMMUNICATION
PERSONALIZATION, 100YEARS AGO…
“You can have any color you like,
as long as it’s black.”
Henry Ford, 1909
3
BERGHS SCHOOL OF COMMUNICATION
Personalization in a word
4
BERGHS SCHOOL OF COMMUNICATION
Definition of personalization
Personalization can be simply defined as:
“The right experience or offering for the right customer at the right time at
the right place”.
It is an engagement between the source of information (i.e. your brand) and the
receiver of information (i.e. the customer / user) that is tailored based on
intelligence gathered by the receiver.
5
BERGHS SCHOOL OF COMMUNICATION
Personalization will help you to…
+ Increase sales and revenue
+ Enhance online conversion rates
+ Boost average order value
+ Drive cross sell and up sell initiatives
+ Strengthen customer loyalty and retention
+ Lower the cost of acquiring new customers
+ Increase customer experience
6
BERGHS SCHOOL OF COMMUNICATION
To master personalization, you first need to master your data
Effective personalization means delivering product recommendations, offers and
content based on what you know about a given customer.
It requires developing dynamic profiles of individual customers and
demographic segments by integrating data from disparate sources, including:
+ Online activity
+ Purchase and search history
+ Offline activity (call center and in-store sales data)
+ Social media activity
+ User registration information
+ Third-party data (demographic, firmographic and so on)
7
BERGHS SCHOOL OF COMMUNICATION
8 different
personalization tactics
BERGHS SCHOOL OF COMMUNICATION
Personalization is a key area
9
BERGHS SCHOOL OF COMMUNICATION
Transactional history based personalization
10
Recommendations based on similar purchases enables a personal shopping experience.
BERGHS SCHOOL OF COMMUNICATION
Configuration personalization
11
BERGHS SCHOOL OF COMMUNICATION
Profile based personalization
12
BERGHS SCHOOL OF COMMUNICATION
Login personalization
13
BERGHS SCHOOL OF COMMUNICATION
Offsite personalization
14
BERGHS SCHOOL OF COMMUNICATION
GEO-targeting personalization
BERGHS SCHOOL OF COMMUNICATION
Offline personalization
16
BERGHS SCHOOL OF COMMUNICATION
Social integration personalization
17
BERGHS SCHOOL OF COMMUNICATION
How can you personalize your
customers experience?
Define the purpose of you website?
How can use personalization to better serve this purpose?
18
BERGHS SCHOOL OF COMMUNICATION
Conversion
BERGHS SCHOOL OF COMMUNICATION
What is a conversion?
BERGHS SCHOOL OF COMMUNICATION
21
BERGHS SCHOOL OF COMMUNICATION
Macro and micro conversion
22
BERGHS SCHOOL OF COMMUNICATION
Why is conversion
important?
BERGHS SCHOOL OF COMMUNICATION
The value of increasing the
conversion rate by 0.5%
24
1 100 000 x 6 % x 185 EUR = 12 210 000 EUR
1 100 000 x 6,5 % x 185 EUR = 13 227 500 EUR
+ 1 017 500 EUR
BERGHS SCHOOL OF COMMUNICATION
What is a good conversion rate?
25
BERGHS SCHOOL OF COMMUNICATION
It is not all about the site…
26
BERGHS SCHOOL OF COMMUNICATION
How to improve your conversion
rate?
27
BERGHS SCHOOL OF COMMUNICATION
How do you see that you can
implement an ongoing process for
improving your conversion rate?
28
BERGHS SCHOOL OF COMMUNICATION
Personalization as a core business strategy.
Instead of treating personalization as a one-time or ad hoc effort, use personalization as
a core business strategy and support personalization efforts with:
+ Well-defined and detailed performance goals
+ A structured performance monitoring system
+ A dynamic road map for continuous optimization
+ Automation across all stages of the personalization lifecycle promotional emails
29
BERGHS SCHOOL OF COMMUNICATION
Can you help your organization
make personalization as part your
core business strategy?
How can you help your organization collect customer data?
How can other parts of your organization use these insights to create a more
personalized experience?
30
BERGHS SCHOOL OF COMMUNICATION
31
Thank you!
Sincerely yours Mikael Jacobsson | @jacobssonmicke
| +46702899244 | mjacobsson@sapient.com |
se.linkedin.com/in/mikaeljacobsson
&
berghs.se, 08-57 550 00 | info@berghs.se |
@Berghs | facebook.com/berghssoc | berghs.se

Personalization and Conversion Rate

  • 1.
    BERGHS SCHOOL OFCOMMUNICATION 1
  • 2.
    BERGHS SCHOOL OFCOMMUNICATION Personalization and Conversion 2 2013 APRIL 22 Mikael Jacobsson Business Consultant SapientNitro
  • 3.
    BERGHS SCHOOL OFCOMMUNICATION PERSONALIZATION, 100YEARS AGO… “You can have any color you like, as long as it’s black.” Henry Ford, 1909 3
  • 4.
    BERGHS SCHOOL OFCOMMUNICATION Personalization in a word 4
  • 5.
    BERGHS SCHOOL OFCOMMUNICATION Definition of personalization Personalization can be simply defined as: “The right experience or offering for the right customer at the right time at the right place”. It is an engagement between the source of information (i.e. your brand) and the receiver of information (i.e. the customer / user) that is tailored based on intelligence gathered by the receiver. 5
  • 6.
    BERGHS SCHOOL OFCOMMUNICATION Personalization will help you to… + Increase sales and revenue + Enhance online conversion rates + Boost average order value + Drive cross sell and up sell initiatives + Strengthen customer loyalty and retention + Lower the cost of acquiring new customers + Increase customer experience 6
  • 7.
    BERGHS SCHOOL OFCOMMUNICATION To master personalization, you first need to master your data Effective personalization means delivering product recommendations, offers and content based on what you know about a given customer. It requires developing dynamic profiles of individual customers and demographic segments by integrating data from disparate sources, including: + Online activity + Purchase and search history + Offline activity (call center and in-store sales data) + Social media activity + User registration information + Third-party data (demographic, firmographic and so on) 7
  • 8.
    BERGHS SCHOOL OFCOMMUNICATION 8 different personalization tactics
  • 9.
    BERGHS SCHOOL OFCOMMUNICATION Personalization is a key area 9
  • 10.
    BERGHS SCHOOL OFCOMMUNICATION Transactional history based personalization 10 Recommendations based on similar purchases enables a personal shopping experience.
  • 11.
    BERGHS SCHOOL OFCOMMUNICATION Configuration personalization 11
  • 12.
    BERGHS SCHOOL OFCOMMUNICATION Profile based personalization 12
  • 13.
    BERGHS SCHOOL OFCOMMUNICATION Login personalization 13
  • 14.
    BERGHS SCHOOL OFCOMMUNICATION Offsite personalization 14
  • 15.
    BERGHS SCHOOL OFCOMMUNICATION GEO-targeting personalization
  • 16.
    BERGHS SCHOOL OFCOMMUNICATION Offline personalization 16
  • 17.
    BERGHS SCHOOL OFCOMMUNICATION Social integration personalization 17
  • 18.
    BERGHS SCHOOL OFCOMMUNICATION How can you personalize your customers experience? Define the purpose of you website? How can use personalization to better serve this purpose? 18
  • 19.
    BERGHS SCHOOL OFCOMMUNICATION Conversion
  • 20.
    BERGHS SCHOOL OFCOMMUNICATION What is a conversion?
  • 21.
    BERGHS SCHOOL OFCOMMUNICATION 21
  • 22.
    BERGHS SCHOOL OFCOMMUNICATION Macro and micro conversion 22
  • 23.
    BERGHS SCHOOL OFCOMMUNICATION Why is conversion important?
  • 24.
    BERGHS SCHOOL OFCOMMUNICATION The value of increasing the conversion rate by 0.5% 24 1 100 000 x 6 % x 185 EUR = 12 210 000 EUR 1 100 000 x 6,5 % x 185 EUR = 13 227 500 EUR + 1 017 500 EUR
  • 25.
    BERGHS SCHOOL OFCOMMUNICATION What is a good conversion rate? 25
  • 26.
    BERGHS SCHOOL OFCOMMUNICATION It is not all about the site… 26
  • 27.
    BERGHS SCHOOL OFCOMMUNICATION How to improve your conversion rate? 27
  • 28.
    BERGHS SCHOOL OFCOMMUNICATION How do you see that you can implement an ongoing process for improving your conversion rate? 28
  • 29.
    BERGHS SCHOOL OFCOMMUNICATION Personalization as a core business strategy. Instead of treating personalization as a one-time or ad hoc effort, use personalization as a core business strategy and support personalization efforts with: + Well-defined and detailed performance goals + A structured performance monitoring system + A dynamic road map for continuous optimization + Automation across all stages of the personalization lifecycle promotional emails 29
  • 30.
    BERGHS SCHOOL OFCOMMUNICATION Can you help your organization make personalization as part your core business strategy? How can you help your organization collect customer data? How can other parts of your organization use these insights to create a more personalized experience? 30
  • 31.
    BERGHS SCHOOL OFCOMMUNICATION 31 Thank you! Sincerely yours Mikael Jacobsson | @jacobssonmicke | +46702899244 | mjacobsson@sapient.com | se.linkedin.com/in/mikaeljacobsson & berghs.se, 08-57 550 00 | info@berghs.se | @Berghs | facebook.com/berghssoc | berghs.se

Editor's Notes

  • #2 Introduktion till presentationen.
  • #3 Det finns två varianter på titel sidor, en med stor titel och en med mindre. Detta är den större varianten.