Successfully reported this slideshow.
We use your LinkedIn profile and activity data to personalize ads and to show you more relevant ads. You can change your ad preferences anytime.

2013 Center for Faculty Development & Diversity Pillar Awards


Published on

These awards are given annually to Brigham and Women's Hospital faculty in recognition of achievement in one, or more, of the four pillars of academic life: clinical care, research, education, and community service.

Published in: Health & Medicine, Education
  • Be the first to comment

  • Be the first to like this

2013 Center for Faculty Development & Diversity Pillar Awards

  1. 1. 2013 Center for Faculty Development & Diversity Pillar Awards
  2. 2. Elizabeth Karlson, M.D. Associate Physician Department of Medicine “Beth is a wonderful role model for mentees at all stages in their career and in life. Her ability to successfully integrate disciplines in her work gets fellows excited about research.” Nominated by Dr. Katherine Liao Senior Faculty Mentor Award
  3. 3. Sherry Chou, M.D. Attending Physician Department of Neurology “Leading by example in the care and dedication she shows every human being be they patients, families, nurses, or any other member of the hospital staff.” Nominated by Dr. Xuemei Cai Junior Faculty Mentor Award
  4. 4. Jeremiah Schuur, M.D., M.H.S. Chief, Division of Health Policy Translation Department of Emergency Medicine “Possesses extraordinary foresight, which is one of the rarest and perhaps most important traits a mentor can have.” Nominated by Dr. Chris LeMaster Junior Faculty Mentor Award
  5. 5. Ali Tavakkoli, M.D. Attending Physician Department of Surgery “Your integrity and humility inspire me on a daily basis.” Nominated by Dr. Hina Bhutta Junior Faculty Mentor Award
  6. 6. Ruth Ann Vleugels, M.D., M.P.H. Associate Director, Education Department of Dermatology “The knowledge that I have gained from working with her is priceless.” Nominated by Dr. A. Brooke Eastham Junior Faculty Mentor Award
  7. 7. Steven Feske, M.D. Director, Stroke Division Department of Neurology “His gentle and humble manner creates a comfortable learning environment. He is the walking example of the ultimate great physician and clinical teacher that we all dreamed of learning from when we embarked on this long journey of becoming a Physician.” Nominated by Dr. Sherry Chou Clinical Teacher Award
  8. 8. Michaela Farber, M.D. Obstetric Anesthesia Fellowship Program Director Department of Anesthesia “We appreciate her willingness and compassion in making sure that we have felt welcomed at this great institution.” Nominated by Dr. Hans Sviggum Educational Program Leadership Award
  9. 9. Graham McMahon, M.D., M.M.Sc. Associate Physician Department of Medicine “Your nurturing and developmental teaching perspectives instilled trust and confidence in the learner as the content was learned and applied.” Nominated by Dr. Mitchell Lunn Educational Research Award
  10. 10. Lissa Olbeter, M.P.A. Administrative Director, Academic & Research Program Development, Department of Pathology “Widely recognized and appreciated as a source of reassurance and good counsel to young trainees and faculty, especially young women, around the important issues that relate to balancing a commitment to career and family responsibilities.” Nominated by Dr. Michael Gimbrone Contribution to Faculty Development and Diversity Award
  11. 11. Ellen Seely, M.D. Vice-Chair Faculty Development Department of Medicine “Of the 41 individuals Dr. Seely has formally mentored, 39 are women and 10 are underrepresented minorities. She has served as a mentor for a Harold Amos Faculty Development Awardee for faculty from historically disadvantaged backgrounds and a BWH Minority Faculty Development Awardee as well.” Nominated by Dr. Joseph Loscalzo Contribution to Faculty Development and Diversity Award
  12. 12. Jennifer Tan, M.D. Director, Community Service and Wellness Department of Dermatology “BWH has just begun to reap the benefits of her exceptional work, and we are fortunate to have her on faculty.” Nominated by Dr. Adam Lipworth Community Service Award
  13. 13. Chinweike Ukomadu, M.D. Director, BWH STARS Department of Medicine “Dr. Ukomadu takes a genuine interest in the students he mentors and his advice and support are ever present as his mentees progress in their careers.” Nominated by Dr. Sharmila Dorbala Diversity and Inclusion Award
  14. 14. Paola Dal Cin, Ph.D Associate Cytogeneticist Department of Pathology “Dr. Dal Cin is internationally renowned as a cytogeneticist who has contributed substantially to our greater understanding of many different tumor types – in fact it would not be an exaggeration to say that she has changed the field.” Nominated by Dr. Christopher Fletcher Research Collaboration Award
  15. 15. Raul San Jose Estepar, M.Sc, Ph.D Research Associate Department of Radiology “It is the breadth and high quality of these skills that has made him a valued research partner, since he is capable of conducting much or all of the technical side of his research and clinical collaborations.” Nominated by Dr. Kirby Vosburgh Research Collaboration Award
  16. 16. Ferenc Jolesz, M.D. Director, Division MRI & National Center for Image Guided Therapy Department of Radiology “In the early 1990’s Dr. Jolesz and his team introduced the intraoperative use of MRI for neurosurgery and other applications, and today more than 100 intraoperative MRIs are installed in operating rooms around the world.” Nominated by Dr. Steven Seltzer Research Innovation Award
  17. 17. Clare Tempany, M.D. Vice Chair Research Department of Radiology  “I cannot emphasize enough how Clare’s leadership has positively affected the advancement of research in the Department of Radiology.” Nominated by Dr. Steven Seltzer Research Leadership Award