Global GLBT leadership workshop 2011 for external review
Upcoming SlideShare
Loading in...5
×
 

Global GLBT leadership workshop 2011 for external review

on

  • 910 views

Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual and Transgender (GLBT) hi-po IBM leaders and non-GLBT sponsors from 16 countries participated in this workshop in Dallas in 2011. Peter Havelock, Silvy Vluggen and I co-designed ...

Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual and Transgender (GLBT) hi-po IBM leaders and non-GLBT sponsors from 16 countries participated in this workshop in Dallas in 2011. Peter Havelock, Silvy Vluggen and I co-designed the workshop and I facilitated it.

Statistics

Views

Total Views
910
Views on SlideShare
910
Embed Views
0

Actions

Likes
0
Downloads
13
Comments
0

0 Embeds 0

No embeds

Accessibility

Upload Details

Uploaded via as Adobe PDF

Usage Rights

© All Rights Reserved

Report content

Flagged as inappropriate Flag as inappropriate
Flag as inappropriate

Select your reason for flagging this presentation as inappropriate.

Cancel
  • Full Name Full Name Comment goes here.
    Are you sure you want to
    Your message goes here
    Processing…
Post Comment
Edit your comment

    Global GLBT leadership workshop 2011 for external review Global GLBT leadership workshop 2011 for external review Presentation Transcript

    • 환영합니다 καλώς ορίσατε いらっしゃいませ F 歓迎 ‫ברו הבא‬19 December 2011 Добро пожаловать! © 2011 IBM Corporation
    • Global GLBT IBM Leadership Conference, Dallas, Texas, USA, 28 October 2011Global GLBT IBM Leadership WorkshopDallas, Texas, 28 October 2011 © 2011 IBM Corporation
    • Welcome Fred Balboni and Sarah Siegel 8.3019 December 2011 © 2011 IBM Corporation
    • Global GLBT IBM Leadership Workshop Agenda 8.30 Welcome! Breakfast is provided. 9.05 GLBT executive panel Esther Dryburgh; Fred Balboni; Mary Garrity; and Joseph Bertolotti; Moderator: Sarah Siegel 10.15 Small groups on how our identity informs our leadership 11.00 Break 11.15 Small groups & report out: gender among GLBT leaders, what’s the difference? 12.15 Leadership pipeline focus and the IBM Competencies – Tom Fleming 12.30 Lunch & networking 13.30 IBM Competencies brought to life by participants’ stories Guy Pacitti; Peter Havelock; Greg Johns; Kathy Colucci; Claudia Woody; David Likins; Annette Coffey; Rob Shook; Tom Fleming 14.30 Your IBM story – Participants in plenary, introduced by Fred Balboni 15.00 Break 15.15 Vital Few readout – Claudia Woody 15.30 Current initiatives to join – Tony Tenicela 16.00 Small groups & report out: What happens when you return home? 16.25 Closing remarks – Claudia Woody 16.30 Bon voyage! Workshop is done. 19 December 2011 © 2011 IBM Corporation
    • GLBT Executive Panel Esther Dryburgh, Fred Balboni, Joseph Bertolotti, and Mary Garrity Sarah Siegel, moderator 9.0519 December 2011 © 2011 IBM Corporation
    • When and why did you first think of yourself as a leader? How did you act on your knowledge?19 December 2011 © 2011 IBM Corporation
    • How can we contribute to the 2015 Roadmap?19 December 2011 © 2011 IBM Corporation
    • When and why did you first think of yourself as gay, lesbian, bi and/or trans? How did you act on your knowledge?19 December 2011 © 2011 IBM Corporation
    • Where will Business Analyticscontribute to GLBT equality in the next five years?19 December 2011 © 2011 IBM Corporation
    • When and why did you first think about your gender identity? How did you act on your knowledge?19 December 2011 © 2011 IBM Corporation
    • When will Cloud Computingbenefit a majority of technical leaders?19 December 2011 © 2011 IBM Corporation
    • When and why did you first think of yourself as among your nationality? How did you act on your knowledge?19 December 2011 © 2011 IBM Corporation
    • In a Smarter Planet, how do we ensure respect for local identities and imperatives?19 December 2011 © 2011 IBM Corporation
    • Small Group Discussion: how our identity informs our leadership Executive panelists join the small groups 10.15 19 December 2011 © 2011 IBM Corporation
    • When and why did you first think of yourself as a leader? How did you act on your knowledge?19 December 2011 © 2011 IBM Corporation
    • When and why did you first think of yourself as gay, lesbian, bi and/or trans? How did you act on your knowledge?19 December 2011 © 2011 IBM Corporation
    • When and why did you first think about your gender identity? How did you act on your knowledge?19 December 2011 © 2011 IBM Corporation
    • When and why did you first think of yourself as among your nationality? How did you act on your knowledge?19 December 2011 © 2011 IBM Corporation
    • Break 11.0019 December 2011 © 2011 IBM Corporation
    • Small group & report out: gender among GLBT leaders, what’s the difference? 11.15 19 December 2011 © 2011 IBM Corporation
    • Gender Among GLBT Leaders: What’s the Difference? Please discuss as a group. One person per table, agree to be the scribe to capture key discussion points The scribe gives the summary-sheet to your team’s spokesperson to report out on: Imagining non-GLBT leaders’ perspectives: What do you think are among their assumptions when they consider promoting you? What do you wish they understood about your gender in the GLBT context? Overcoming challenges: As a G, L, B or T leader, how do I overcome any challenges inherent in my gender? What are specific actions I can take to overcome any challenges inherent in my gender? Future CEO of IBM: What do you think it will take for there to be a female L, B, or T CEO of IBM? What do you think it will take for there to be a male G, B or T CEO of IBM? 19 December 2011 © 2011 IBM Corporation
    • Leadership Pipeline Focus and IBM Competencies Tom Fleming 12.1519 December 2011 © 2011 IBM Corporation
    • IBM: Top Company for Developing Leaders Forward-thinking proactive initiatives Hewitt Assoc/CEO Magazine Differentiated business results Ranked IBM #1 Top Companies For Leaders 2002 & 2003 Innovation in leadership development Comprehensive practices well executed Fortune ranks IBM #1 Top Companies for Leaders2009-2011 – judged biennially IBM Leadership Development, always ranked near the top 19 December 2011 © 2011 IBM Corporation
    • IBM Leadership Landscape IBM Leadership Governance Operating Team Operating Team Day-to-day marketplace execution AA XX PT: 58 I&VT: XXX Strategy Team Strategy Team A XX IBM’s strategic direction and emerging business opportunities B XXX Technology Team Technology Team C XXXX Near- and long-term emerging technologies, technical developments and issues D XXXX Performance TeamAccountable for business performance & results. Develop cross-unit strategies. All Band 10 and below XXX,XXX+ Integration and Values Team (I&VT)Integrate IBM’s enterprise-wide capabilities, and align and communicate strategies and values 19 December 2011 © 2011 IBM Corporation
    • IBMers Worldwide Today IBM Population >425,000 Managers XX,XXX Executives X,XXX 19 December 2011 © 2011 IBM Corporation
    • The GLBT Leadership Opportunity IBM Population Ca X% self- X,XXX selected ≡ < X% Out GLBT Executives < XX See the list of out executives here: http://ibmurl.hursley.ibm.com/1W7T. 19 December 2011 © 2011 IBM Corporation
    • GLBT Indicator linkage with Global Business andTechnical Leadership Resources For first time, the GLBT Indicator linked with Business and Technical Leadership Resources (BTLR) database for analysis. XXXXX self identified, GLBT employees formally approved the linkage of their status with the BTLR data (some declined). GLBT Indicator link with Business and Technical Leadership Resources (BTLR) allows for broad data analysis including what is noted below: – For Band 10 and Above: • Ultimate Potential • Next Move Timeframe • Current Executive Role Pipeline – For Band 8-9: • Band 10 Attainability • Band 10 Role Pipeline • Next Move Timeframe 19 December 2011 © 2011 IBM Corporation
    • Business Evolution Requires Leadership Evolution New themes 2010 Thinking systemically “360 Degrees” of Trust Handling ambiguity and uncertainty Cultural adaptability Emphasis on result- oriented communication Inspiring employee engagement and What we bring forward empowerment Former Leadership Competencies are embedded Taking initiative and Former Foundational Competencies are embedded accountability 19 December 2011 © 2011 IBM Corporation
    • IBMers at Our Best: Our Competencies Embrace challenge Partner Help IBMers for clients’ succeed success Communicate Collaborate for impact globally Act with a Continuously systemic transform perspective Influence through Build expertise mutual trust29 19 December 2011 © 2011 IBM Corporation
    • Lunch 12.3019 December 2011 © 2011 IBM Corporation
    • IBM Competencies brought to life by participants’ storiesGuy Pacitti; Peter Havelock; Jim Freeman; Kathy Colucci; Claudia Woody; Esther Dryburgh; Annette Coffey; Rob Shook; Tom Fleming 13.30 19 December 2011 © 2011 IBM Corporation
    • Embrace challengeIBM is in the business of taking oncomplex situations and challenges. Themission of IBMers is to make the worldwork better--from daily breakthroughsto world-changing progress. So we Displaying and inspiring afocus on the future and embrace the positive attitudehard challenges facing our teams, ourclients and our communities. Seeking and seeing opportunities inWe see opportunity in complexity, and challenging situationsare skilled at identifying the centralissues and charting a path forward. We Demonstrating resilience andtake personal accountability for overcoming resistancetransformative outcomes--and ourbelief in progress inspires others to rise Focusing on key prioritiesto the challenge with us. 19 December 2011 © 2011 IBM Corporation
    • Partner for clients’ successIBM’s worth depends not just on what weimagine, but what we deliver. IBMers goabove and beyond what is expected toachieve our clients’ current and future Understanding theaspirations. We deliver client value. We client and the industryact as their partners and derive greatpride from their success. We invest thetime to understand their situation and Focusing on the client’s needsunmet needs; seek out market andsocietal insights; and make connections Developing enduringacross the whole of IBM to serve them. partnerships with clientsWe work alongside our clients, co-creating approaches, solutions and Connecting across and beyondultimately their success--which in turn, IBM to provide integratedtransforms whole industries, economies solutionsand society. 19 December 2011 © 2011 IBM Corporation
    • Collaborate globallyIBMers are global professionals andglobal citizens--and must therefore beskilled at collaboration. We think andwork shoulder-to-shoulder with others-- Fostering collaborationacross the boundaries of teams, within and between teamsdisciplines, organizations, countries andcultures--to achieve the right outcome. Developing and leveragingAs the human dimension of a globally networks across disciplinesintegrated enterprise, we build our ownnetworks of experts--and we encourage and cultural boundariesour colleagues to use the collectiveintelligence of their network not just to Leveraging IBM’s collectiveget work done, but to identify what needs intelligence and capabilitiesto be done and to take collective action.We see our networks of global citizens Taking collective actionnot just as collections of individuals, butas a collective leadership force creatingthe full promise of IBM to transform themarketplace, society and the world. 19 December 2011 © 2011 IBM Corporation
    • Act with a systemic perspectiveIBMers are systems thinkers. We helpour clients, our colleagues and the worldunderstand and design the essentialdimensions of any system – how it Thinking Systemicallysenses, maps and analyzes information,detects underlying patterns, andtranslates that knowledge into belief and Detecting underlying patterns andaction. We help others see this end-to- interrelationships among seeminglyend view, synthesizing information from disparate issuesmany dimensions – whether the systemin question is technological, economic, Making timely and effectivesocietal, cultural or natural. This systemic decisionsview allows us to frame problemsproperly, and to take the right action inthe right way at the right time. It also lets Acting decisively, taking risksus anticipate the impact of our actions on when appropriateothers. Knowing all this, we act wiselywhile boldly taking the right risks. 19 December 2011 © 2011 IBM Corporation
    • Build mutual trustIBM’s business model requires gettingdifferent constituents to work together tosolve problems and open up opportunity--be that inside IBM, amongorganizations, within our clients, or in the Developing “360 degrees”case of world-changing work, with many of trustcommunities. IBMers are skilled atbuilding “360 degrees of trust” across Respecting other’s values,this full spectrum of IBM’s constituents--finding common ground for those with cultural and organizational normsdifferent objectives, aspirations,constraints and cultures. We build these Trusting in others capabilitieskinds of relationships by acting withintegrity, assuming positive intent andensuring that openness and trust are Acting with honesty and integritymaintained--even when agreement is notachieved. We trust in the skills of others- Taking responsibility-that they know what to do and how to doit, and are motivated to achieve theresult. And if we see trust eroding, wetake accountability to remedy thatquickly. 19 December 2011 © 2011 IBM Corporation
    • Influence through expertiseIBM’s value proposition and businessmodel are grounded in deliveringexpertise. So we continually deepen ourown and our colleagues’ knowledge and Promoting the continuouseminence--as professionals, as development of one’s own andcollaborators, as leaders, and as fully others’ knowledge and expertiserealized IBMers. We develop our skillsand careers through feedback, coaching,mentoring and challenging assignments- Adopting a mentoring and-within IBM and in the communities coaching approachwhere we and our clients live and work.And we take personal responsibility for Developing others throughdeveloping IBM’s thought leadership,both inside and outside our challenging and cross-organizations. organizational assignments Focusing on talent development 19 December 2011 © 2011 IBM Corporation
    • Continuously transformIBMers are committed to building thefuture--a better world, and a better IBM.This is what IBM has done for 100 years.Our intellectual curiosity and spirit ofrestless reinvention, animated by a belief Adapting to and leveragingin reason, in science and in progress, changing situationsinfuses the enterprise with energy.Today, in a world where the future is far Infusing the organization withless predictable, IBMers actively seek intellectual curiosity and energywhat we do not know and haven’t yetimagined. We cultivate an environmentof openness to new approaches and Cultivating a climate ofexperimentation. We rethink opennessassumptions and ask probing questions–to grasp new situations, unearth Fostering innovationopportunities and create new markets.We engage others whose background,culture, language or work style isdifferent from our own. This is the heartof an IBM that can learn, adapt, andcontinuously transform. 19 December 2011 © 2011 IBM Corporation
    • Communicate for impactIBMers communicate to find mutualunderstanding and to build a sense ofshared outcomes. That starts withlistening; we ensure people’s ideas andconcerns are heard. We bring deep Listening for mutualexpertise and perspective, which are the understandingingredients to communicating clearly andsimply, especially in complex situations. Creating messages focusedWe interpret and synthesize disparate on the target audienceconcepts, strategies and intent. Weleverage our understanding of others’perspectives--the ones they can express, Delivering messages in aand the ones they cannot yet--to tailor timely and effective mannerwhat we say and how we say it. Wecommunicate authentically, in a timelyway and in the most effective manner--even when conveying difficult topics or anunpopular opinion. 19 December 2011 © 2011 IBM Corporation
    • Help IBMers succeedThe IBM brand is about IBMers, and howwe show up in the world--not just client-facing IBMers, but all of us. So we each Establishing clarity onstrive to bring our best selves to our roles, expectations and goalswork. And we are in the service of thesuccess of others--ensuring they haveresources, ongoing support and clear Providing resources and supportmilestones. We take the time to shareinsights and discuss the challenge in Motivating people by providing afront of us. We anticipate and remove sense of purpose and impactobstacles and prevailing practices thatare holding people back. We Recognizing contributions andacknowledge others’ contributions, championing others’ ideaschampion their ideas, and help eachIBMer find his or her own motivation. Wecreate an environment in which our Removing obstaclescolleagues feel a sense of purpose and to performanceengagement, and which draws on theirown strong desire to act. 19 December 2011 © 2011 IBM Corporation
    • Reflect on how you have demonstrated IBMCompetencies 19 December 2011 © 2011 IBM Corporation
    • Your IBM story Participants in plenary, introduced by Fred Balboni 14.3019 December 2011 © 2011 IBM Corporation
    • How Do You Communicate Your IBM story? 19 December 2011 © 2011 IBM Corporation
    • Break 15.0019 December 2011 © 2011 IBM Corporation
    • Vital Few readout Claudia Woody 15.1519 December 2011 © 2011 IBM Corporation
    • Current initiatives to join Tony Tenicela 15.3019 December 2011 © 2011 IBM Corporation
    • Small group & report out: What happens when you return home? 16.00 19 December 2011 © 2011 IBM Corporation
    • Which Vital Few and community initiatives will you pursue, toadvance your leadership & career, and our people & allies? 1. Please discuss as a group at your table 2. One person per table, agree to be the scribe to capture all of the ideas 3. The scribe gives the summary-sheet to your team’s spokesperson. 19 December 2011 © 2011 IBM Corporation
    • Takk Dhanyavaad Barka!Sagol! Dankie Shukran Gracias! Dank uAshi Xie xie Merci! Dakujem Thank You! Obrigado! Shukriya Multumesc Dankë! Grazie! ‫תודה רבה‬ Doh je Barkal Domo Arigato! HvalaKoszonom Terima kasih! Tack Khawp khun 19 December 2011 © 2011 IBM Corporation