Published on

  • Be the first to comment

  • Be the first to like this

No Downloads
Total views
On SlideShare
From Embeds
Number of Embeds
Embeds 0
No embeds

No notes for slide


  1. 1. Apocalypse
  2. 2. About the Apocalypse <ul><li>The name given to the last book in the Bible, the Book of Revelations (Van) </li></ul><ul><li>“ John the Elder” is the author of the Book of Revelations (Van) </li></ul>
  3. 3. The Book of Revelation <ul><li>“ The Book of Revelation is not a message of fear , but one of hope, showing the defeat of evil , and fulfillment of God's promises. It is the Revelation of Jesus Christ, given to John in the form of divine visions. [The] end times prophecies merely inform us of the condition of the world when God's judgment will fall on those who have rejected Him, ignored His opportunities and warnings, and denied God's gift of forgiveness for sin. [The] book describes the events that will take place leading up to the time of Jesus' final battle to defeat Satan. Jesus will then reclaim and restore His pure and intended kingdom.” (“Bible Revelations”) </li></ul>
  4. 4. God’s Judgment <ul><li>When will God judge us? December 21, 2012 ? </li></ul><ul><li>What will he use to judge us? </li></ul><ul><li>It is my belief that he will judge our character to the Seven Deadly Sins , the character trait based sins… </li></ul>
  5. 5. Seven Deadly Sins <ul><ul><li>Pride </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>Envy </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>Gluttony </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>Lust </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>Anger </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>Greed </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>Sloth </li></ul></ul>
  6. 6. Pride <ul><li>“ Pride is excessive belief in one's own abilities, that interferes with the individual's recognition of the grace of God.” (“Sins”) </li></ul><ul><li>It’s symbol is represented by a horse and its color is portrayed by violet </li></ul><ul><li>Haven’t we always been told to believe in ourselves? </li></ul>
  7. 7. Envy <ul><li>“ Envy is the desire for others' traits, status, abilities, or situation.” (“Sins”) </li></ul><ul><li>It’s symbol is represented by a dog and its color is portrayed by green </li></ul><ul><li>We all have some desire to be like someone else or be in their shoes. </li></ul>
  8. 8. Gluttony <ul><li>“ Gluttony is an inordinate desire to consume more than that which one requires.” (“Sins”) </li></ul><ul><li>It’s symbol is represented by a pig and its color is portrayed by orange </li></ul><ul><li>We consume to much food. Our meal portions seem to increase daily. But it doesn’t stop at food… </li></ul>
  9. 9. Lust <ul><li>“ Lust is an inordinate craving for the pleasures of the body.” (“Sins”) </li></ul><ul><li>It’s symbol is represented by a cow and its color is portrayed by blue </li></ul><ul><li>This one is obvious. Take Bob for instance, smiling and waving while a catchy whistle tune is playing in the back round. </li></ul>
  10. 10. Anger <ul><li>“ Anger is manifested in the individual who spurns love and opts instead for fury.” (“Sins”) </li></ul><ul><li>It’s symbol is represented by a bear and its color is portrayed by red </li></ul><ul><li>Spurn means to reject. So if the individual rejects love, isn’t that kind of like divorce? </li></ul>
  11. 11. Greed <ul><li>“ Greed is the desire for material wealth or gain, ignoring the realm of the spiritual.” (“Sins”) </li></ul><ul><li>It’s symbol is represented by a frog and its color is portrayed by yellow </li></ul><ul><li>We “live in possibly the most pampered, consumerist society since the Roman Empire.” (“Sins”) </li></ul>
  12. 12. Sloth <ul><li>“ Sloth is the avoidance of physical or spiritual work” (“Sins”) </li></ul><ul><li>It’s symbol is represented by a goal and its color is portrayed by light blue </li></ul><ul><li>Entertainment serves as reasons to procrastinate because no one can miss American Idol! </li></ul>
  13. 13. Overview <ul><li>These character trait based sins are the ultimate test towards belief in God. </li></ul><ul><li>Pride is a tricky one to analyze because we all believe in ourselve. </li></ul><ul><li>Envy can be related to a lot of different things including the “must haves.” </li></ul>
  14. 14. <ul><li>Gluttony isn’t just about food it can also include: natural resources, energy, time, etc. </li></ul><ul><li>Lust is a given. Sex is pretty much everywhere we look; commercials, TV shows, movies, billboards, music, etc. The topic itself is becoming more open year after year. </li></ul><ul><li>Anger is a tricky one to analyze because there are so many ways to characterize it. </li></ul>
  15. 15. <ul><li>Greed is also a given. But with so many “wants” that cost money to purchase them, it’s kind of hard not to want money. </li></ul><ul><li>Sloth is a given. Technology, cliff notes, diet pills, procrastination, anything to avoid doing the work, or at the most, make hard work shorter. </li></ul>
  16. 16. So, will it happen? <ul><li>Nobody knows if the Apocalypse will happen until it actually happens. With so many different theories on the subject and the end of the world, it is kind of hard not to think about it. Above all, this is all interesting theories that you can believe in or not. </li></ul><ul><li>It looks like we will have to wait for this fateful day, which may be on December 21, 2012 . </li></ul>
  17. 17. Works Cited <ul><li>Van den Biesen, Christian. &quot;Apocalypse.&quot; The Catholic Encyclopedia . Vol. 1. New </li></ul><ul><li>York: Robert Appleton Company, 1907. 25 Apr. 2009 <http://www.newadvent.org/cathen/01594b.htm>. </li></ul><ul><li>&quot;Bible Revelations.&quot; All About Popular Issues . All About God. 27 Apr 2009 </li></ul><ul><li><http://www.allaboutpopularissues.org/bible-revelations-faq.htm>. </li></ul><ul><li>&quot;Sins.&quot; 7 Deadly Sins . 23 Apr 2009 <http://www.deadlysins.com/sins/>. </li></ul><ul><li>&quot;The Book of Revelation.&quot; Frontline . PBS. 23 Apr 2009 </li></ul><ul><li><http://www.deadlysins.com/sins/>. </li></ul>
  18. 18. The End