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Understanding media costs
CHAPTER 6

Media Planning & Buying in the 21st Century
Understanding Media Costs

Media Planning & Buying in the 21st Century
Media Costs
Media Selection Criteria

Cost

Audience

Impact
Media Planning & Buying in the 21st Century
Agenda
 Cost is no expense
 Unit prices
 Media cost efficiency
 Television

 Radio
 Magazines
 Newspapers

 Internet
Media Planning & Buying in the 21st Century
Cost is No Expense
 Price



What sellers ask for their inventory
Verbal or on rate card

 Cost





What buyers pay sellers for time or space
Typically negotiated with seller
May be less than seller’s initial price

 Expense


Dollars spent to achieve an objective

Media Planning & Buying in the 21st Century
What is a media unit worth?
 Unit Prices




All media have unit prices-- a :30 in NCIS or a four color page
in Tennis Magazine
However, without more information, we don’t know if a
$10,000 per unit asking price is high or low
What’s the size of audience? The right audience?

 Cost Efficiency – a better measure of price


Two measures of media cost efficiency
CPM - What is the cost per 1000 impressions in a media vehicle?
 CPP - What is the cost per rating point? How does it compare to
other programs or stations?


Media Planning & Buying in the 21st Century
Cost per Thousand (CPM)
 Cost per thousand (CPM) is a rudimentary measure of media

value received per dollar-- based on audience and cost.

 Media people believe that the cost of audience is an important

purchasing criterion.

CPM = Cost/Audience x 1000
 Example: If the price of an ad is $10,000 and it reaches 25,000

persons, the CPM is $66.67:

$10,000/25,000 x 1000 = $66.67
 Now compare this CPM to the other media options!
Media Planning & Buying in the 21st Century
Cost per Point (CPP)
 Cost per point (CPP) is a second measure of media

efficiency, i.e., “what does it cost to reach 1% of a target market in a
geographic area?”

 Spot buyers use CPP to cost out plans and to compare the efficiency

of alternative programs and buys

CPP = Cost/TRPS
 Example: If the price of an ad is $10,000 and it reaches 10% of

the target audience, the CPP is $1000

$10,000/10 = $1000
 Now compare this CPP to your other options in the same geographic

area!

Media Planning & Buying in the 21st Century
TRPS vs. CPM

Will a bag of
CPMs work?

Captain,
marketing
need s an
infusion of
TRPS

Media Planning & Buying in the 21st Century
Are CPM and CPP Interchangeable?

 Yes and No

Yes, if the audience base is in exactly the same area.
e.g., metro area, DMA
 No, if using total survey audience for CPM vs. DMA
audience for CPP


Media Planning & Buying in the 21st Century
Comparison of Media Efficiencies
Media
Vehicle

Price of
Ad Unit

Audience
(Adults)

CPM

CPM
Rank

A

$187,000

10,841,000

$17.25

5

B

267,000

44,707,000

5.97

2

C

94,000

8,436,000

11.14

4

D

165,000

16,429,000

10.04

3

E

90,000

22,206,000

4.06

1

Media Planning & Buying in the 21st Century
Television Pricing/Costs
 Television prices are affected by many variables
 Geographic coverage area
 Commercial length (e.g.,:60 vs. :30 vs. :15)
 Day part/Time of Day
 Audience size
 Individual programs
 Supply & demand conditions

Media Planning & Buying in the 21st Century
Example of Television Costs
2011 Network Upfront

Cost/:30
Program Network
(000)

A25-54
Rating

CPP

60 Minutes

CBS

$92.2

9.0

$10,244

Glee

FOX

272.7

5.1

53,470

College Ftbl

ABC

92.2

3.5

26,340

NCIS

CBS

150.7

5.5

27,400

Idol

FOX

400.0

12.0

33,333

Lie to Me

FOX

100.8

2.0

50,400

Media Planning & Buying in the 21st Century
Radio Pricing/Costs
 Radio costs are affected by similar factors
 Geographic coverage area
 Commercial length
 Daypart
 Station
 Size of audience
 Supply & Demand Conditions

Media Planning & Buying in the 21st Century
Example of Radio Costs

MSAs

% US HH

CPP
A25-54

Top 10

26

$4600

4400

5500

Top 20

35

6600

5450

6200

Top 40

47

8600

8850

10,100

Top 60

54

11100

10600

11900

Top 80

59

12300

11400

13000

Top 100

62

13000

12200

14000

Top 200

72

16200

15200

17700

Media Planning & Buying in the 21st Century

CPP
M25-54

CPP
W25-54
Magazine Pricing
 Magazine ad pricing
 Creative unit – single page vs. spread
 Size of ad – Full page, spread, fractional page
 Bleed – Color to edge of page
 Geographic or demographic edition
 Circulation rate base
 Size of audience
 What the market will bear (publishers)

Media Planning & Buying in the 21st Century
Examples of Magazine Prices
Magazine

Circulation

Cost P4C

CPM Circ.

CPM
Adults

Entrepreneur

618,000

$84,000

$136.00

$37.53

Forbes

937,000

115,000

123.00

20.91

Fortune

877,000

119,000

136.00

29.62

Inc.

721,000

74,000

103.00

50.51

Black
Enterprise

507,000

42,000

83.00

10.80

U.S. News

1,486,000

90,000

61.00

8.04

Time

3,445,000

288,000

84.00

14.26

Newsweek

2,523,000

165,000

65.00

10.06

Media Planning & Buying in the 21st Century
Newspaper Pricing
 Newspaper rate cards - extremely complex
 National vs. local rate differential (often 100%+)
 Product category discounts, e.g., auto dealers
 Rate differentials by sections
 Classifieds and classified display
 Supplements, e.g., a TV Guide or a Home Living section –
different rates
 Prices extremely high for national advertiser
Daily Newspapers (PB/W)
Magazines (P4C)

Media Planning & Buying in the 21st Century

CPM Circulation
$150-1000
65 - 135
Examples of Newspaper Pricing
National Rates
Full Page
B/W

Circulation

CPM

Wall Street Journal

223,000

1,722,000

130.00

USA Today

120,000

1,900,000

63.00

New York Times (M-F)

142,000

928,000

153.00

LA Times

155,000

658000

236.00

Chicago Tribune

121,000

466.000

260.00

St. Louis Post Dispatch

204,000

214,000

953.00

Charlotte Observor

54,000

168,000

321.00

Hartford Courant

62,000

144,000

360.00

Newspaper

Media Planning & Buying in the 21st Century
Internet Pricing Models
 Three Pricing Models


CPM Impressions
 Example: 100,000 impressions x $5.00 CPM = $500.00
 Suggestion: estimate cost per click based on CTR history



CPC/PPC – Cost per click/pay per click
 Cost per click a function of bid and budget
 Example: 10,000 clicks x $.75 CPC = $7500



CPA – Cost per Action (Purchase, inquiry, etc.)
 Some sellers offer CPA as alternative to CPC
 Example: 1000 conversions x $10 CPA = 10,000

Media Planning & Buying in the 21st Century

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Mp+ +b +chapter+6

  • 1. Understanding media costs CHAPTER 6 Media Planning & Buying in the 21st Century
  • 2. Understanding Media Costs Media Planning & Buying in the 21st Century
  • 3. Media Costs Media Selection Criteria Cost Audience Impact Media Planning & Buying in the 21st Century
  • 4. Agenda  Cost is no expense  Unit prices  Media cost efficiency  Television  Radio  Magazines  Newspapers  Internet Media Planning & Buying in the 21st Century
  • 5. Cost is No Expense  Price   What sellers ask for their inventory Verbal or on rate card  Cost    What buyers pay sellers for time or space Typically negotiated with seller May be less than seller’s initial price  Expense  Dollars spent to achieve an objective Media Planning & Buying in the 21st Century
  • 6. What is a media unit worth?  Unit Prices    All media have unit prices-- a :30 in NCIS or a four color page in Tennis Magazine However, without more information, we don’t know if a $10,000 per unit asking price is high or low What’s the size of audience? The right audience?  Cost Efficiency – a better measure of price  Two measures of media cost efficiency CPM - What is the cost per 1000 impressions in a media vehicle?  CPP - What is the cost per rating point? How does it compare to other programs or stations?  Media Planning & Buying in the 21st Century
  • 7. Cost per Thousand (CPM)  Cost per thousand (CPM) is a rudimentary measure of media value received per dollar-- based on audience and cost.  Media people believe that the cost of audience is an important purchasing criterion. CPM = Cost/Audience x 1000  Example: If the price of an ad is $10,000 and it reaches 25,000 persons, the CPM is $66.67: $10,000/25,000 x 1000 = $66.67  Now compare this CPM to the other media options! Media Planning & Buying in the 21st Century
  • 8. Cost per Point (CPP)  Cost per point (CPP) is a second measure of media efficiency, i.e., “what does it cost to reach 1% of a target market in a geographic area?”  Spot buyers use CPP to cost out plans and to compare the efficiency of alternative programs and buys CPP = Cost/TRPS  Example: If the price of an ad is $10,000 and it reaches 10% of the target audience, the CPP is $1000 $10,000/10 = $1000  Now compare this CPP to your other options in the same geographic area! Media Planning & Buying in the 21st Century
  • 9. TRPS vs. CPM Will a bag of CPMs work? Captain, marketing need s an infusion of TRPS Media Planning & Buying in the 21st Century
  • 10. Are CPM and CPP Interchangeable?  Yes and No Yes, if the audience base is in exactly the same area. e.g., metro area, DMA  No, if using total survey audience for CPM vs. DMA audience for CPP  Media Planning & Buying in the 21st Century
  • 11. Comparison of Media Efficiencies Media Vehicle Price of Ad Unit Audience (Adults) CPM CPM Rank A $187,000 10,841,000 $17.25 5 B 267,000 44,707,000 5.97 2 C 94,000 8,436,000 11.14 4 D 165,000 16,429,000 10.04 3 E 90,000 22,206,000 4.06 1 Media Planning & Buying in the 21st Century
  • 12. Television Pricing/Costs  Television prices are affected by many variables  Geographic coverage area  Commercial length (e.g.,:60 vs. :30 vs. :15)  Day part/Time of Day  Audience size  Individual programs  Supply & demand conditions Media Planning & Buying in the 21st Century
  • 13. Example of Television Costs 2011 Network Upfront Cost/:30 Program Network (000) A25-54 Rating CPP 60 Minutes CBS $92.2 9.0 $10,244 Glee FOX 272.7 5.1 53,470 College Ftbl ABC 92.2 3.5 26,340 NCIS CBS 150.7 5.5 27,400 Idol FOX 400.0 12.0 33,333 Lie to Me FOX 100.8 2.0 50,400 Media Planning & Buying in the 21st Century
  • 14. Radio Pricing/Costs  Radio costs are affected by similar factors  Geographic coverage area  Commercial length  Daypart  Station  Size of audience  Supply & Demand Conditions Media Planning & Buying in the 21st Century
  • 15. Example of Radio Costs MSAs % US HH CPP A25-54 Top 10 26 $4600 4400 5500 Top 20 35 6600 5450 6200 Top 40 47 8600 8850 10,100 Top 60 54 11100 10600 11900 Top 80 59 12300 11400 13000 Top 100 62 13000 12200 14000 Top 200 72 16200 15200 17700 Media Planning & Buying in the 21st Century CPP M25-54 CPP W25-54
  • 16. Magazine Pricing  Magazine ad pricing  Creative unit – single page vs. spread  Size of ad – Full page, spread, fractional page  Bleed – Color to edge of page  Geographic or demographic edition  Circulation rate base  Size of audience  What the market will bear (publishers) Media Planning & Buying in the 21st Century
  • 17. Examples of Magazine Prices Magazine Circulation Cost P4C CPM Circ. CPM Adults Entrepreneur 618,000 $84,000 $136.00 $37.53 Forbes 937,000 115,000 123.00 20.91 Fortune 877,000 119,000 136.00 29.62 Inc. 721,000 74,000 103.00 50.51 Black Enterprise 507,000 42,000 83.00 10.80 U.S. News 1,486,000 90,000 61.00 8.04 Time 3,445,000 288,000 84.00 14.26 Newsweek 2,523,000 165,000 65.00 10.06 Media Planning & Buying in the 21st Century
  • 18. Newspaper Pricing  Newspaper rate cards - extremely complex  National vs. local rate differential (often 100%+)  Product category discounts, e.g., auto dealers  Rate differentials by sections  Classifieds and classified display  Supplements, e.g., a TV Guide or a Home Living section – different rates  Prices extremely high for national advertiser Daily Newspapers (PB/W) Magazines (P4C) Media Planning & Buying in the 21st Century CPM Circulation $150-1000 65 - 135
  • 19. Examples of Newspaper Pricing National Rates Full Page B/W Circulation CPM Wall Street Journal 223,000 1,722,000 130.00 USA Today 120,000 1,900,000 63.00 New York Times (M-F) 142,000 928,000 153.00 LA Times 155,000 658000 236.00 Chicago Tribune 121,000 466.000 260.00 St. Louis Post Dispatch 204,000 214,000 953.00 Charlotte Observor 54,000 168,000 321.00 Hartford Courant 62,000 144,000 360.00 Newspaper Media Planning & Buying in the 21st Century
  • 20. Internet Pricing Models  Three Pricing Models  CPM Impressions  Example: 100,000 impressions x $5.00 CPM = $500.00  Suggestion: estimate cost per click based on CTR history  CPC/PPC – Cost per click/pay per click  Cost per click a function of bid and budget  Example: 10,000 clicks x $.75 CPC = $7500  CPA – Cost per Action (Purchase, inquiry, etc.)  Some sellers offer CPA as alternative to CPC  Example: 1000 conversions x $10 CPA = 10,000 Media Planning & Buying in the 21st Century

Editor's Notes

  1. The audiences reached are key. The cost of reaching those audiences is also key, given waste surpassed only by the federal government
  2. The second leg of the media selection triangle is cost. Audience must be in line with cost per ad unit.
  3. Agenda--
  4. Important distinctions--
  5. Media price their inventory in terms a price per unit, whether by commercial length in a program or ad pages in magazine.
  6. Cost per unit doesn’t measure value, so cost efficiency measures developed to at least estimate value on basis of cost vs. vehicle audience
  7. CPP another measure of cost efficiency
  8. Who to believe: Kirk or Spock?
  9. However, CPM and CPP are not interchangeable, depending on the geographic area chosen for media coverage
  10. Example of CPM
  11. Sellers establish television prices based on many variables
  12. Example of TV costs paid in 2010 upfront market
  13. Radio costs are affected by similar factors
  14. Example of radio costs by how deep coverage is for spot buys, If you bougbht 1000 TRPS in top 40 markets with a target of Adults 25-54, the cost would be $8.6 million(1000 TRPS x $8600)
  15. Magazine ad pricing affected by
  16. Examples. Note differences in CPM circulation vs. CPM adults. What does this tell you?
  17. Newspaper rates are complex and high
  18. Examples, note variations by newspaper
  19. Internet is a different ball game. Three pricing models