Hl7 standard


Published on

1 Comment
No Downloads
Total views
On SlideShare
From Embeds
Number of Embeds
Embeds 0
No embeds

No notes for slide

Hl7 standard

  1. 1. HL7 STANDARD
  2. 2. HL7 Standard <ul><li>HL7 Standard is a framework and standards for exchange, integration, sharing and retrieval of electronic health information. </li></ul><ul><li>Health Level Seven (HL7) is an all-volunteer, not-for-profit organization involved in development of international healthcare standards (HL7). </li></ul><ul><li>Health Level Seven International (HL7) is the global authority on standards for interoperability of health information technology with members in over 55 countries. </li></ul><ul><li>HL7's vision is to create the best and most widely used standards in healthcare. </li></ul>
  3. 3. Health Level Seven International <ul><li>Health Level Seven International is one of several American National Standards Institute (ANSI) -accredited Standards Developing Organizations (SDOs) operating in the healthcare arena. </li></ul><ul><li>Health Level Seven's domain is clinical and administrative data . </li></ul>
  4. 4. About HL7 <ul><li>Founded in 1987, Health Level Seven International (HL7) is a not-for-profit, ANSI-accredited standards developing organization dedicated to providing a comprehensive framework and related standards for the exchange, integration, sharing, and retrieval of electronic health information that supports clinical practice and the management, delivery and evaluation of health services. </li></ul>
  5. 5. HL7 Mission <ul><li>HL7 provides standards for interoperability that improve care delivery, optimize workflow, reduce ambiguity and enhance knowledge transfer, including healthcare providers, government agencies, the vendor community, fellow SDOs and patients. </li></ul>
  6. 6. HL7 - What Does it Mean? <ul><li>&quot; Level Seven &quot; refers to the seventh level of the International Organization for Standardization (ISO) seven-layer communications model for Open Systems Interconnection (OSI) - the application level. </li></ul><ul><li>The application level interfaces directly to and performs common application services for the application processes. </li></ul>
  7. 7. What does HL7 do? <ul><li>HL7 develops specifications, the most widely known being a messaging standard that enables disparate healthcare applications to exchange clinical and administrative data. </li></ul>
  8. 8. Types of HL7 Standards <ul><li>HL7 develops Conceptual Standards (e.g., HL7 RIM), Document Standards (e.g., HL7 CDA), Application Standards (e.g., HL7 CCOW), and Messaging Standards (e.g., HL7 v2.x and v3.0). </li></ul><ul><li>Messaging standards are particularly important because they define how information is packaged and communicated from one party to another. </li></ul>
  9. 9. Types of HL7 Standards <ul><li>Version 2.x Messaging Standard: The HL7 version 2 standard has the aim to support hospital workflows. HL7 v2.x mostly uses a textual, non-XML encoding syntax based on delimiters. </li></ul><ul><li>Version 3 Messaging Standard: The HL7 version 3 standard has the aim to support any and all healthcare workflows. HL7 v3 messages are based on an XML encoding syntax. </li></ul><ul><li>Version 3 Rules/GELLO: GELLO is a standard expression language for decision support. The syntax of the GELLO language is based on the Object Constraint Language (OCL). </li></ul>
  10. 10. Types of HL7 Standards <ul><li>Arden Syntax: Arden is a &quot;rules syntax&quot; specification that allows rules to be individually published independently of a computer system and subsequently imported into computer systems for healthcare use. </li></ul><ul><li>CCOW / Visual Integration: Visual Integration Messages are an interoperability specification for visual integration of applications that allows users to experience an integrated computer-user session on the desktop. </li></ul><ul><li>Claims Attachments: The goal of Standard Healthcare Attachments is to make the process of submitting and adjudicating healthcare claims (and other transactions if desired) more efficient by providing structured, standardized electronic data to payers. </li></ul>
  11. 11. Types of HL7 Standards <ul><li>Clinical Document Architecture (a V3-based standard): The CDA Release 2.0 provides an exchange model for clinical documents (such as discharge summaries and progress notes) - and brings the healthcare industry closer to the realization of an electronic medical record. </li></ul><ul><li>Electronic Health Record / Personal Health Record: The HL7 EHR System Functional Model provides a reference list of functions that may be present in an Electronic Health Record System (EHR-S). </li></ul><ul><li>Structured Product Labeling (a V3-based standard): The SPL specification is a document markup standard that specifies the structure and semantics of these documents. </li></ul>