Southern california native plant & seed sources 12-13

1,728 views

Published on

0 Comments
0 Likes
Statistics
Notes
  • Be the first to comment

  • Be the first to like this

No Downloads
Views
Total views
1,728
On SlideShare
0
From Embeds
0
Number of Embeds
2
Actions
Shares
0
Downloads
13
Comments
0
Likes
0
Embeds 0
No embeds

No notes for slide

Southern california native plant & seed sources 12-13

  1. 1. Southern California/Other Native Plant Nurseries/Growers 1. Natural Landscapes - California native plant nursery and landscaping service Tony Baker - (310) 377-2536 baker@natural-landscapes.com http://www.natural-landscapes.com/index.html 2. Project SOUND - Madrona Marsh Preserve/CSU Dominguez Hills Ask about availability of selected plants and seeds – nativeplantscsudh@gmail.com See Native Plants at CSUDH (http://nativeplantscsudh.blogspot.com/) for plant availability 3. El Nativo Growers, Inc. 200 S. Peckham Road Azusa, CA 91702 - 626-969-8449 www.elnativogrowers.com 4. Greenlee Nursery – No longer in business 5. Larner Seeds http://www.larnerseeds.com/ 6. Las Pilitas Nursery The nursery is located in San Diego County about a half mile south of the I-15 off of Old 395 at 8331 Nelson Way, Escondido, 92026. Phone 760-749-5930 http://www.laspilitas.com/ Note: lots of information on their website 7. Native Sons Wholesale Nursery – Wholesale only 379 W. El Campo Road Arroyo Grande, CA 93420 - 805-481-5996 www.nativeson.com 8. Rancho Santa Ana Botanic Garden - http://www.rsabg.org/ 909-625-8767 - 1500 N. College Avenue Claremont, CA 93013 http://www.rsabg.org/plant-availability 9. San Marcos Growers PO Box 6827 Santa Barbara, CA 93160-6827 - 805-683-1561 www.smgrowers.com 10. S & S Seeds/Albright Seeds P.O. Box 1275 Carpenteria, CA 93013 - 805-684-0436 http://www.ssseeds.com/ 11. Santa Barbara Botanic Garden Garden Growers Nursery - 805-682-4726 1212 Mission Canyon Road Santa Barbara, CA 93105 Open 9am-3pm weekdays, 9am-5pm weekends 12. Tarweed Native Plants 4520 Dundee Drive, Los Angeles, CA 90027-1214 tel: 323-663-0113 fax: 309-422-1253 http://www.tarweednativeplants.com/ 13. Theodore Payne Foundation 10459 Tuxford Street Sun Valley, CA 91352 (818) 768-1802 www.theodorepayne.org Retail plants, mail order seed, large seed selection
  2. 2. 14. Tree of Life Nursery P.O. Box 635, 33201 Ortega Hwy. San Juan Capistrano, CA 92693 - 949-728-0685 www.treeoflifenursery.com Wholesale & retail container plants 15. Swallowtail Garden Seeds 122 Calistoga Road, #178, Santa Rosa, CA 95409 - Phone: 707-538-3585 M-F 9:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. Orders can be left on secure voice mail 24 hours a day. http://www.swallowtailgardenseeds.com/index.html 16. Stover Seed Co. 1415 East 6th Street in Los Angeles, California. (213) 626-9668 • (800) 621-0315 • FAX (213) 626-4920 http://www.stoverseed.com/ 17. Anderson’s Seed Co. 20253 Elfin Forest Rd. Escondido CA 92029 Phone: 760-471-1464 fax: 760-471-6529 http://www.seedcoseeds.com/index.html 18. Teleos Rare Bulbs - http://www.telosrarebulbs.com/ 19. Seed Hunt - http://seedhunt.com/ 20 Recon Native Plants Inc. (Wholesale only) 1755 Saturn Blvd., San Diego, CA 92154 http://www.reconnativeplants.com/index.html 21. Native Grow Nursery (Wholesale only) 27312 Calle Arroyo San Juan Capistrano, CA 92675 - phone: 949.489.2700 ; fax: 949.489.0309 http://www.nativegrow.com/ 22. Calanda Avenue Native Plant Garden/Nursery Altadena CA 91001 http://kristamaxwell.com/garden/avail.html 23. Cal-Native Plants - 25735 Garbani Rd. , Menifee CA, 92584 http://www.cal-nativeplants.com/index.asp 24. Moosa Creek Nursery - 11760 Betsworth Road Valley Center Ca 92082 (San Diego County) http://www.moosacreeknursery.com/index.html 25. Nopalito Native Plant Nursery - 4107 E. Main Street, Ventura, California 93003 (805) 844-7449 http://www.nopalitonursery.com/index.html 26. Mockingbird Nurseries Inc. 1670 Jackson Street Riverside,CA 92504 (951)780-3571 M-F 7:00am – 3:30 pm http://www.mockingbirdnursery.com/2301.html 27. Native Plant Connection - P O Box 780, Descanso, CA 91916 http://www.nativeplantconnection.com/home.htm 28. Misty Meadows Nursery - 43601 Mesa St Banning CA, 92220 http://www.mistymeadowsnursery.com/601.html 29. Ferntastic Nursery - http://www.ferntastic.com/
  3. 3. 30 Northwest Native Seeds 915 Davis Place S, Seattle, WA 98114 T: 206.329.5804 31. Hedgerow Farms - http://www.hedgerowfarms.com/aboutng.html Mail order seeds and plugs – mostly N. CA species/varieties 32. Manzanita Nursery - 880 Chalk Hill Road, Solvang, CA - PO Box 1003, Solvang, CA 93463 Phone: 805-688-9692 805-688-9692 Fax: 805-688-5708 www.manzanitanursery.com manzanitanursery@earthlink.net expansive array of trees, shrubs, perennials and groundcovers 33. Sacred Succulents - http://sacredsucculents.com/ Mail order seeds and some bulbs, including CA species 34. Wild Ginger Farms - http://www.wildgingerfarm.com/store/ Mail order plants, including some CA natives 35 Fraser’s Thimble Farms - http://www.thimblefarms.com/ferns.html Mail order plants – includes some CA native ferns 36. Ventura Native Plant & Seed Co. - http://venturanatives.com/ Specializing in native from Ventura co., but others also. Retail & mail order 37. Bay Natives - http://www.baynatives.com/?SC=about.php Specializes in San Francisco Bay plants - extensive list. Mail Order. 38. Desert Seeds - http://www.desertseedstore.com/ Plant seeds native to the Mojave, Sonoran, and Chihuahuan Deserts. Mail order. 39. Inside Passages Seed - http://www.insidepassageseeds.com/index.html Seeds from Pacific Northwest, including some native to CA 40. Matilija Nursery - 805 523-8604 - 8225 Waters Road Moorpark, CA 93021 http://www.matilijanursery.com/ 41. Wild California – California Native Seeds + Plants + Flowers – 17127 Highway 243, Banning, CA 92220 http://wildcalifornia.co/Home_Page.html 42. Southwestern Native Seeds - http://www.southwesternnativeseeds.com/ Mostly seeds from the Southwest, but some from S. CA 43. Far West Bulb Farm - http://www.californianativebulbs.com/index.html Specializes in CA native bulbs = mail order 44. Antelope Valley Resource Conservation District Nursery - http://avrcd.org/ 10148 West Avenue I in Lancaster at 100th Street West. Open to the public Tuesday through Saturday 8:00 – 4:30 p.m. 45. Flowerdale Nursery https://flowerdalenursery.com/Home.php 2800 N. Tustin Ave. Santa Ana, CA 92705 (714)633-9200 Mon-Sat 9am-5:30pm Sun 10am-5pm 46. Annie’s Annuals - http://www.anniesannuals.com/ Mailorder; CA natives and non-native annuals & perennials
  4. 4. 47. The Cactus Store - http://www.cactusstore.com/ Phoenix Desert Nursery 3525 E. Southern Ave. Phoenix, AZ 85040 USA Mailorder; desert plant seeds 48. Alplains Seeds (Alpine/Rock Garden Seeds) - http://www.alplains.com/ P.O. Box 489, Kiowa, CO 80117-0489 Mail order; extensive list of Western seeds (incl. CA) with county, elevation of collection site. 49. South Bay Gardens/ Performance Nursery - http://www.southbaygarden.com/index.html 2501 Manhattan Beach Boulevard, Redondo Beach, CA 90278 Offers some native plants, garden design services Native plants list: http://southbaygarden.com/doc/PN_Cal_Natives.pdf 50. The Acorn Cap Nursery Corona, CA 92883 (951) 245-4764 California native plants – by appointment only 52. Evergreen Nursery - http://www.evergreennursery.com/ Several locations in San Diego count – see web Some California native plants as well as non-native species 53. Abeja Nursery – http://www.abejanursery.com 18301 Ermanita Ave. Torrance 90504 – 310-324-1523 Some California native plants as well as non-native species 54. Deep Roots Garden Center – http://www.deep-roots.net/ 207 N. Sepulveda Blvd. • Manhattan Beach, CA 90266 • Telephone: 310-376-0567 California native plants as well as non-native species 55. International Garden Center – http://www.igardencenter.com/IGC/ 155 N. Sepulveda Blvd. • El Segundo, CA 90245 • Telephone: 310-615-0353 Some California native plants as well as non-native species 56. Prairie Moon Nursery – http://www.prairiemoon.com/home.php 32115 Prairie Lane Winona, MN 55987 - Toll Free: (866) 417.8156 Mostly specializes in seed and plants from native plants from mid-western prairies; some CA natives. Mail order. 57. Palos Verdes Peninsula Land Conservancy (nursery) 58. Native Springs Nursery - http://www.nativespringsnursery.com/index.html 1874 Cummings Lane, Durham CA - 530-774-4362 nativespringsnursery@gmail.com Small native plant nursery with some unusual plants. Will ship. 59. Wild California Native Plants and Seeds P O Box 1581 Idyllwild, CA 92549 phone: 951 692-5385 60. Rainbow Lily Seeds http://lilyseed.com/index.html 61. Plants of the Southwest http://www.plantsofthesouthwest.com/ Mail order seeds of Southwestern desert plants 62. Sierra Seed Supply - http://sierraseedsupply.com/native_tree_shrub_seed.html
  5. 5. 63. Oak Hills Nursery - http://www.oakhillsnursery.net/ 13874 Ranchero Road, Oak Hills, Ca 92344 760-947-6261 Good selection of native desert plants 64. Comstock Seed - http://www.comstockseed.com/Inventory/Catalog.pdf 65. Green Desert Nursery – http://www.greendesertnursery.com/index.html 79301 Avenue 40, Indio, California 92203. Phone : (760) 360-6937 Fax : (760) 772-1948 sales@GreenDesertNursery.com Desert-appropriate plants. Some natives. Local delivery only. 66. Strictly Medicinal Seeds - https://www.strictlymedicinalseeds.com/pilot.asp Medicinal and useful plants, including CA and SW natives. Mail order seeds. Reasonable. 67. Native Seeds/SEARCH - http://www.nativeseeds.org 526 N. 4th Ave. Tucson, AZ 85705 866.622.5561 520.622.5591 FAX 68. Green Desert Nursery - http://www.greendesertnursery.com/ 79301 Avenue 40, Indio, CA 92203 phone: (760) 360-6937 Desert-appropriate plants, including CA natives. 69. Oak Hills Nursery - http://www.oakhillsnursery.net/ 13874 Ranchero Road, Oak Hills, Ca 92344 760-947-6261; 760-949-4375 Fax Specializes in plants for the high desert. Many CA desert natives. 70. Forestfarm at Pacifica - https://www.forestfarm.com/index.php Phone: (541) 846-7269 71. Flowers by the Sea - http://www.fbts.com/ Mail order. Specializes in Salvias, including CA natives. 72. Boething Treeland Nursery - http://www.boethingtreeland.com/retail-nursery 23475 Long Valley Road, Woodland Hills, CA - 818-316-2024 Native and non-native trees, shrubs and perennials 73. Digging Dog Nursery - http://diggingdog.com/index.php Mostly non-natives, but some natives. Mail order. _____________________________________________ This list is available on-line at: http://nativeplantscsudh.blogspot.com/ or http://www.slideshare.net/cvadheim/southern-california-native-plant-seed-sources-1213 10/3/2016

×