SlideShare a Scribd company logo
1 of 71
10 February 2010
Peter Abraham
Econsultancy.com
iStrategy - Email Marketing
10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing
Welcome
Who are Econsultancy.
10 years old
Global independent community-based publisher, focused on best practice digital 
marketing and ecommerce.
80,000+ members worldwide
We help clients build their internal capabilities via a combination of research,
reports and how-to guides, training etc.
Our members make better decisions, build business cases, find the best suppliers,
accelerate their careers and lead the way in best practices and innovation.
More here: http://econsultancy.com.
*Don’t forget your free copy of our Managing Digital Channels report
| 3
10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing
Today - Three sections...
1. Your Email Marketing capabilities and a plan
to excellence.
2. Email Marketing budget allocation and ROI,
how they compare to other media.
3. Challenges that affect email marketing success
and some thoughts on improving.
Interactive.
| 3
10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing
• People are used to it - use it every day
• Adaptable to all stages in lifecycle
• Cuts costs – direct mail, telemarketing
• Offers short time to market
• Short test to roll cycles
• Infinitely personalisable
• Delivers best Return on Investment...
• Agree?
Why is Email still hot?
| 6
10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing
ROI of Digital Channels
| 134
Source: Email Marketing Census 2009: in association with Adestra (ESP): Econsultancy.com
10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing
Who killed email? - Wall St Journal...
| 6
10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing
• R
Who killed email?
| 6
10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing
Email has a widely-aged audience?
| 137
Source:
10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing
• RSS? - hasn’t gone mass market
• SMS? - no links
• Twitter - maybe? But we’re still on the adoption
curve
• Social networks? - maybe? still rely on email
• iPhone apps? - maybe? When the walls come
down
• So actually Email is alive and well!
• It’s why you’re here isn’t it?
Who killed email?
| 6
Integrate this stuff with your email
10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing05 March 2008 Advanced Email Marketing
1. Your Email Marketing
capabilities and a plan to
excellence
| 5
10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing
Email staged capability matrix.
Where are you on here?
1
2
3
4
5
| 134
Source: Email Marketing Best Practice Guide: Econsultancy.com
10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing
Your email capabilities...
| 134
Source: Econsultancy Email Marketing
Best Practice Guide
10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing
Your email capabilities...
| 134
Source: Email Marketing Best Practice Guide: Econsultancy.com
10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing05 March 2008 Advanced Email Marketing
2. Email Marketing budget
allocation and ROI, how
they compare to other
media.
| 5
10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing
• Email Marketing
Calculator - calculate
the value of your
email database
• http://www.emailcenteruk.com/email-marketing-knowledge/calculator.php
What’s an Email address worth to
your business? Do you know?
| 6
10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing
Spend on Email Marketing
| 134
Source: Email Marketing Census 2009: in association with Adestra (ESP): Econsultancy.com
10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing
ROI of Digital Channels
| 134
Source: Email Marketing Census 2009: in association with Adestra (ESP): Econsultancy.com
10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing
ROI of Digital Channels
| 134
Source: Email Marketing Census 2009: in association with Adestra (ESP): Econsultancy.com
Source: Email Marketing Census 2009: in association with Adestra (ESP): Econsultancy.com
10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing
ROI of EMail
| 134
10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing
Spend on Email Marketing
| 134
Source: Email Marketing Census 2009: in association with Adestra (ESP): Econsultancy.com
10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing
Budgets are moving from print to
online - how much are you grabbing?
| 6
10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing
Conversion model for email response
| 134
Source: Email Marketing Best Practice Guide: Econsultancy.com
10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing05 March 2008 Advanced Email Marketing
3. Challenges that affect
email marketing success...
...and thoughts on how to
improve them - back to
basics...
| 5
10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing
Who said email was easy?
It’s taken 20yrs!
| 134
Source: The Email Best Practice Guide: Econsultancy.com
10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing
Concentrate on three things...
Deliverability, measurement and monitoring!
Good old fashioned marketing.
• If it gets delivered your half way home.
• If you’re measuring you’ll see trends
and patterns
• If you’re monitoring you’ll know when to
change tact
| 45
10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing
What do YOU want ME to do as a
customer?
- Go to the website or other medium?
- Register?
- Buy stuff?
- Turn up again soon?
- Give you some feedback?
- Keep the relationship alive?
- Keep coming back?
- Recommend you?
- Keep coming back - in person and online!
| 108
10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing
Where do you need focus?
| 137
Source: Email Marketing Census 2009: in association with Adestra (ESP): Econsultancy.com
10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing
Sending less - better targeted?
| 137
Source: Email Marketing Census 2009: in association with Adestra (ESP): Econsultancy.com
10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing
Getting your message delivered
I
| 137
Source: Email Marketing Census 2009: in association with Adestra (ESP): Econsultancy.com
10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing
Improve Reputation Management -
Clean your Data and up your ROI!
- Remove bounces
- Removes complainers
- Remove un-subscribes
- Your list gets smaller but the returns will be
better
| 144
10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing
A
A
| 134
10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing
Does it need to be image rich?
No images required, just the facts
10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing
Would you prefer text…as part of
registration process?
| 135
10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing
Here’s a Blacklist checker…
| 150
Source: http://www.mxtoolbox.com/blacklists.aspx
Or get your Email provider to do it.
10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing
Self service - Adjust number of
messages/alerts received
| 134
10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing
Self service - announce other
channels available
| 134
10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing
More self service...reminders
| 20
Gives you an excuse to bring them back
10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing
Alert me when in stock
| 66
10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing
Clear navigation - don’t make me think
- assists customer journey
Good analytical insight - feedback
10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing
If your product is complex...assist!
7 days of free training by email...Day 7
10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing
Landin page - Lazy marketing...you
know me!!
| 115
So pre-fill please - don’t make me think
10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing
Triggered
| 134
• Use
Behavioural
data
Source: Email Marketing Best Practice Guide: Econsultancy.com
10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing
What did I ask you again?
Repeat back what the user asked...
| 134
10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing
Freemium model? Up click rates
| 134
Source: Email Marketing Best Practice Guide: Econsultancy.com
Test factorsNew Origin subscribers
•Test group slit 50/50 AB - 50 to
receive the "add to address book"
•Each subscriber remained in test
group for three months after sign-up
Hang on...say...
4.5%
x AOV £25
x 2,000
= £50k Wow!
10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing
Simple changes...
| 134
Source: Experian Cheetahmail Case study
10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing
ReMarketing
| 134
•30% of UK shoppers admit that
they would go back online and
complete their purchases if
something as simple as a small
discount or free postage and
packing was offered to them
Test factorsFollow-up emails to registered
customers who abandon their shopping
basketReminder emails about an existing shopping
basketFollow-up emails to registered customers
that received a system error during
checkoutTargeted promotions based on an item a
visitor browsedIncentive promotions for out-of-stock
or back-ordered items
Source: Experian Case study
10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing
Free Shipping = Higher transactions
| 134
But it doesn’t have to be a small
purchase! Bigger bundles.
Source: Smith-Harmon_Retail_Email_Guide_to_Multichannel_Engagement.pdf
10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing
Free Shipping = Higher transactions
| 134
Some of the best-performing
campaigns are sent to small, highly
targeted segments of subscribers,
with both the product and free shipping
offers geared to the selected audience
AND The use of dynamic content to
automatically populate the most relevant
product images and copy also can
significantly strengthen this tactic and
make it easier to employ.
Source: Smith-Harmon_Retail_Email_Guide_to_Multichannel_Engagement.pdf
10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing
Mobile - your email list just got bigger.
| 134
•Email usage on mobile devices has nearly doubled since 2004
according to AOL, and the Email Experience Council predicts
that 60% of emails will be read outside of the inbox by 2009.
•To cater to this rising demographic, create a text-only version of
each email you send this year and link to it at the very top of the
template, above any logos or images.
Accompany this link with copy such as, “Viewing on a PDA?
Click here to view this email in text.”
Source: Cheetahmail Case study
10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing
Mobile - sms alert in email
| 134
Source: http://stylecampaign.com/
10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing
Mobile and Social - drive traffic
| 134
Source: http://stylecampaign.com/
10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing
Make life easier for them and you...
| 134
Source: http://stylecampaign.com/
10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing
Announcements -
Offers to your mobile
| 134
Source: http://stylecampaign.com/
Just because it’s email doesn’t mean you should
forget all those other channels - conversion is your
goal!
It’s all about Joined up marketing.
10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing
Mobile and Social
| 134
Source: http://stylecampaign.com/
10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing
Local personalisation
| 134
Source: Smith-Harmon_Retail_Email_Guide_to_Multichannel_Engagement.pdf
10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing
Email and crowd sourcing
| 134
• Email assists
product
marketing
Source: Smith-Harmon_Retail_Email_Guide_to_Multichannel_Engagement.pdf
10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing
Demonstrate functionality - search
| 134
• From the ‘don’t make
me think’ school of
marketing
Source: Smith-Harmon_Retail_Email_Guide_to_Multichannel_Engagement.pdf
10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing
Mobile and Social
| 134
• Use keyword insight from onsite and search
engine searches to assist purchasing.
• Use Analytics to provide popular categories
• Feed back email to site customer experience
team
Source: Smith-Harmon_Retail_Email_Guide_to_Multichannel_Engagement.pdf
10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing
Mobile and Social = Kickstart Viral
| 134
Source: Smith-Harmon_Retail_Email_Guide_to_Multichannel_Engagement.pdf
10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing
Multi-channel
| 134
Source: Cheetahmail Case study
Source: Cheetahmail Case study
10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing
Multi-channel - TV & Email
| 134
10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing
Dual landing pages
| 134
10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing
Different landing pages
| 134
10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing
How many calls to action?
Think! What do you want them to do?
| 134
Source: Email Marketing Best Practice Guide: Econsultancy.com
10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing
Plenty of data...
Registration Data
Transactional Data
Click-stream data
Do more analysis!
| 19
10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing
Be Strategic. have an email testing
programme
Q1 tests
Registration
incentives
From Fields
Subject Lines
Q2 tests
Frequency
testing
Personalisation
Price tests
Q3 tests
Automated
campaigns
Re-activation
strategies
Q4 tests
Segmentation
models
Churn analysis
New format
| 52
10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing
Forget about averages.
You are where you are.
You can’t beat your own data.
- Last campaign is benchmark
- Keep testing
- Keep measuring
| 28
10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing
Email as Business Intelligence
| 6
• These guys
monitor email
campaigns from
across the
US...and now
twitter too
10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing
It’s all about seeing the bigger
picture…
There are only a few critical areas to measure
- Segmentation size!
- Open rate
- Click-through rate
- Conversion Rate
- Average Order Value!
| 113
10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing
Summary
- Deliverability, measurement & monitoring and
testing are critical to ROI!
- Know the true value of your data, if your Email
has the highest ROI, go for more budget
- Have a plan to excellence. Keep learning and
assess that learning as the discipline evolves -
people with skills are key, technology is only an
enabler! Remember 90/10
| 152
10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing
Thanks for your time
...why not Email your questions to me:
peter.abraham@econsultancy.com
For good resources - check the sources or drop me an email.
Econsultancy is a global independent community-based publisher, focused on best 
practice digital marketing and ecommerce. Our hub has 80,000+ members
worldwide from clients, agencies and suppliers alike with over 90% member
retention rate. We help our members build their internal capabilities via a
combination of research reports and how-to guides, training and development, face-
to-face conferences, forums and professional networking.
For the last 10 years, our resources have helped members learn, make better
decisions, build business cases, find the best suppliers, accelerate their careers and
lead the way in best practices and innovation.
Join Econsultancy today at http://econsultancy.com.
| 154

More Related Content

More from iStrategy

iStrategy London 12 - Products Up - How data boosts your Google revenue
iStrategy London 12 - Products Up - How data boosts your Google revenueiStrategy London 12 - Products Up - How data boosts your Google revenue
iStrategy London 12 - Products Up - How data boosts your Google revenueiStrategy
 
iStrategy Melbourne - Redefining Commerce in the Age of the Empowered Consume...
iStrategy Melbourne - Redefining Commerce in the Age of the Empowered Consume...iStrategy Melbourne - Redefining Commerce in the Age of the Empowered Consume...
iStrategy Melbourne - Redefining Commerce in the Age of the Empowered Consume...iStrategy
 
iStrategy Melbourne - How the Smartest Brands in the World Use Social Media -...
iStrategy Melbourne - How the Smartest Brands in the World Use Social Media -...iStrategy Melbourne - How the Smartest Brands in the World Use Social Media -...
iStrategy Melbourne - How the Smartest Brands in the World Use Social Media -...iStrategy
 
iStrategy Melbourne - Taking on Asia: the Opportunity For Australian Brands -...
iStrategy Melbourne - Taking on Asia: the Opportunity For Australian Brands -...iStrategy Melbourne - Taking on Asia: the Opportunity For Australian Brands -...
iStrategy Melbourne - Taking on Asia: the Opportunity For Australian Brands -...iStrategy
 
iStrategy Melbourne - Give Your People Superpowers! Unlocking Your Employees’...
iStrategy Melbourne - Give Your People Superpowers! Unlocking Your Employees’...iStrategy Melbourne - Give Your People Superpowers! Unlocking Your Employees’...
iStrategy Melbourne - Give Your People Superpowers! Unlocking Your Employees’...iStrategy
 
iStrategy Melbourne - Customer Relevance: The Next Frontier for Competitive A...
iStrategy Melbourne - Customer Relevance: The Next Frontier for Competitive A...iStrategy Melbourne - Customer Relevance: The Next Frontier for Competitive A...
iStrategy Melbourne - Customer Relevance: The Next Frontier for Competitive A...iStrategy
 
iStrategy London - B2B Social Media – Moving Beyond the Hype Jeremy Woolf, Te...
iStrategy London - B2B Social Media – Moving Beyond the Hype Jeremy Woolf, Te...iStrategy London - B2B Social Media – Moving Beyond the Hype Jeremy Woolf, Te...
iStrategy London - B2B Social Media – Moving Beyond the Hype Jeremy Woolf, Te...iStrategy
 
iStrategy London - Social Commerce: Do Consumers Trust Your Brand? Steve Seme...
iStrategy London - Social Commerce: Do Consumers Trust Your Brand? Steve Seme...iStrategy London - Social Commerce: Do Consumers Trust Your Brand? Steve Seme...
iStrategy London - Social Commerce: Do Consumers Trust Your Brand? Steve Seme...iStrategy
 
iStrategy London - Social Media: Making it Work Globally and Locally Gemma Tr...
iStrategy London - Social Media: Making it Work Globally and Locally Gemma Tr...iStrategy London - Social Media: Making it Work Globally and Locally Gemma Tr...
iStrategy London - Social Media: Making it Work Globally and Locally Gemma Tr...iStrategy
 
iStrategy London - The future of SEO is Content, Social and PPC Mark Iremonge...
iStrategy London - The future of SEO is Content, Social and PPC Mark Iremonge...iStrategy London - The future of SEO is Content, Social and PPC Mark Iremonge...
iStrategy London - The future of SEO is Content, Social and PPC Mark Iremonge...iStrategy
 
Earning Attention Where it Matters Most: The Power & Imperative to Build Bran...
Earning Attention Where it Matters Most: The Power & Imperative to Build Bran...Earning Attention Where it Matters Most: The Power & Imperative to Build Bran...
Earning Attention Where it Matters Most: The Power & Imperative to Build Bran...iStrategy
 
From Engagement to Intelligence: Striking the Balance in Social Media at the ...
From Engagement to Intelligence: Striking the Balance in Social Media at the ...From Engagement to Intelligence: Striking the Balance in Social Media at the ...
From Engagement to Intelligence: Striking the Balance in Social Media at the ...iStrategy
 
How to avoid being a data zombie by Brandwatch
How to avoid being a data zombie by Brandwatch How to avoid being a data zombie by Brandwatch
How to avoid being a data zombie by Brandwatch iStrategy
 
Jeff French - a Tale of Two Tequilas - iStrategy Chicago 2012
Jeff French - a Tale of Two Tequilas - iStrategy Chicago 2012Jeff French - a Tale of Two Tequilas - iStrategy Chicago 2012
Jeff French - a Tale of Two Tequilas - iStrategy Chicago 2012iStrategy
 
Buzzfeed - iStrategy Chicago 2012
Buzzfeed - iStrategy Chicago 2012Buzzfeed - iStrategy Chicago 2012
Buzzfeed - iStrategy Chicago 2012iStrategy
 
Jason Falls - iStrategy Chicago 2012
Jason Falls - iStrategy Chicago 2012Jason Falls - iStrategy Chicago 2012
Jason Falls - iStrategy Chicago 2012iStrategy
 
Engauge 25 Big Ideas - iStrategy Chicago 2012
Engauge 25 Big Ideas - iStrategy Chicago 2012 Engauge 25 Big Ideas - iStrategy Chicago 2012
Engauge 25 Big Ideas - iStrategy Chicago 2012 iStrategy
 
Jeff Hayzlett - iStrategy Chicago 2012
Jeff Hayzlett - iStrategy Chicago 2012Jeff Hayzlett - iStrategy Chicago 2012
Jeff Hayzlett - iStrategy Chicago 2012iStrategy
 
Huge - Aaron Shapiro - iStrategy Chicago 2012
Huge - Aaron Shapiro - iStrategy Chicago 2012Huge - Aaron Shapiro - iStrategy Chicago 2012
Huge - Aaron Shapiro - iStrategy Chicago 2012iStrategy
 
MLT Creative - iStrategy Chicago 2012
MLT Creative - iStrategy Chicago 2012MLT Creative - iStrategy Chicago 2012
MLT Creative - iStrategy Chicago 2012iStrategy
 

More from iStrategy (20)

iStrategy London 12 - Products Up - How data boosts your Google revenue
iStrategy London 12 - Products Up - How data boosts your Google revenueiStrategy London 12 - Products Up - How data boosts your Google revenue
iStrategy London 12 - Products Up - How data boosts your Google revenue
 
iStrategy Melbourne - Redefining Commerce in the Age of the Empowered Consume...
iStrategy Melbourne - Redefining Commerce in the Age of the Empowered Consume...iStrategy Melbourne - Redefining Commerce in the Age of the Empowered Consume...
iStrategy Melbourne - Redefining Commerce in the Age of the Empowered Consume...
 
iStrategy Melbourne - How the Smartest Brands in the World Use Social Media -...
iStrategy Melbourne - How the Smartest Brands in the World Use Social Media -...iStrategy Melbourne - How the Smartest Brands in the World Use Social Media -...
iStrategy Melbourne - How the Smartest Brands in the World Use Social Media -...
 
iStrategy Melbourne - Taking on Asia: the Opportunity For Australian Brands -...
iStrategy Melbourne - Taking on Asia: the Opportunity For Australian Brands -...iStrategy Melbourne - Taking on Asia: the Opportunity For Australian Brands -...
iStrategy Melbourne - Taking on Asia: the Opportunity For Australian Brands -...
 
iStrategy Melbourne - Give Your People Superpowers! Unlocking Your Employees’...
iStrategy Melbourne - Give Your People Superpowers! Unlocking Your Employees’...iStrategy Melbourne - Give Your People Superpowers! Unlocking Your Employees’...
iStrategy Melbourne - Give Your People Superpowers! Unlocking Your Employees’...
 
iStrategy Melbourne - Customer Relevance: The Next Frontier for Competitive A...
iStrategy Melbourne - Customer Relevance: The Next Frontier for Competitive A...iStrategy Melbourne - Customer Relevance: The Next Frontier for Competitive A...
iStrategy Melbourne - Customer Relevance: The Next Frontier for Competitive A...
 
iStrategy London - B2B Social Media – Moving Beyond the Hype Jeremy Woolf, Te...
iStrategy London - B2B Social Media – Moving Beyond the Hype Jeremy Woolf, Te...iStrategy London - B2B Social Media – Moving Beyond the Hype Jeremy Woolf, Te...
iStrategy London - B2B Social Media – Moving Beyond the Hype Jeremy Woolf, Te...
 
iStrategy London - Social Commerce: Do Consumers Trust Your Brand? Steve Seme...
iStrategy London - Social Commerce: Do Consumers Trust Your Brand? Steve Seme...iStrategy London - Social Commerce: Do Consumers Trust Your Brand? Steve Seme...
iStrategy London - Social Commerce: Do Consumers Trust Your Brand? Steve Seme...
 
iStrategy London - Social Media: Making it Work Globally and Locally Gemma Tr...
iStrategy London - Social Media: Making it Work Globally and Locally Gemma Tr...iStrategy London - Social Media: Making it Work Globally and Locally Gemma Tr...
iStrategy London - Social Media: Making it Work Globally and Locally Gemma Tr...
 
iStrategy London - The future of SEO is Content, Social and PPC Mark Iremonge...
iStrategy London - The future of SEO is Content, Social and PPC Mark Iremonge...iStrategy London - The future of SEO is Content, Social and PPC Mark Iremonge...
iStrategy London - The future of SEO is Content, Social and PPC Mark Iremonge...
 
Earning Attention Where it Matters Most: The Power & Imperative to Build Bran...
Earning Attention Where it Matters Most: The Power & Imperative to Build Bran...Earning Attention Where it Matters Most: The Power & Imperative to Build Bran...
Earning Attention Where it Matters Most: The Power & Imperative to Build Bran...
 
From Engagement to Intelligence: Striking the Balance in Social Media at the ...
From Engagement to Intelligence: Striking the Balance in Social Media at the ...From Engagement to Intelligence: Striking the Balance in Social Media at the ...
From Engagement to Intelligence: Striking the Balance in Social Media at the ...
 
How to avoid being a data zombie by Brandwatch
How to avoid being a data zombie by Brandwatch How to avoid being a data zombie by Brandwatch
How to avoid being a data zombie by Brandwatch
 
Jeff French - a Tale of Two Tequilas - iStrategy Chicago 2012
Jeff French - a Tale of Two Tequilas - iStrategy Chicago 2012Jeff French - a Tale of Two Tequilas - iStrategy Chicago 2012
Jeff French - a Tale of Two Tequilas - iStrategy Chicago 2012
 
Buzzfeed - iStrategy Chicago 2012
Buzzfeed - iStrategy Chicago 2012Buzzfeed - iStrategy Chicago 2012
Buzzfeed - iStrategy Chicago 2012
 
Jason Falls - iStrategy Chicago 2012
Jason Falls - iStrategy Chicago 2012Jason Falls - iStrategy Chicago 2012
Jason Falls - iStrategy Chicago 2012
 
Engauge 25 Big Ideas - iStrategy Chicago 2012
Engauge 25 Big Ideas - iStrategy Chicago 2012 Engauge 25 Big Ideas - iStrategy Chicago 2012
Engauge 25 Big Ideas - iStrategy Chicago 2012
 
Jeff Hayzlett - iStrategy Chicago 2012
Jeff Hayzlett - iStrategy Chicago 2012Jeff Hayzlett - iStrategy Chicago 2012
Jeff Hayzlett - iStrategy Chicago 2012
 
Huge - Aaron Shapiro - iStrategy Chicago 2012
Huge - Aaron Shapiro - iStrategy Chicago 2012Huge - Aaron Shapiro - iStrategy Chicago 2012
Huge - Aaron Shapiro - iStrategy Chicago 2012
 
MLT Creative - iStrategy Chicago 2012
MLT Creative - iStrategy Chicago 2012MLT Creative - iStrategy Chicago 2012
MLT Creative - iStrategy Chicago 2012
 

Recently uploaded

What Are The Drone Anti-jamming Systems Technology?
What Are The Drone Anti-jamming Systems Technology?What Are The Drone Anti-jamming Systems Technology?
What Are The Drone Anti-jamming Systems Technology?Antenna Manufacturer Coco
 
Understanding Discord NSFW Servers A Guide for Responsible Users.pdf
Understanding Discord NSFW Servers A Guide for Responsible Users.pdfUnderstanding Discord NSFW Servers A Guide for Responsible Users.pdf
Understanding Discord NSFW Servers A Guide for Responsible Users.pdfUK Journal
 
Data Cloud, More than a CDP by Matt Robison
Data Cloud, More than a CDP by Matt RobisonData Cloud, More than a CDP by Matt Robison
Data Cloud, More than a CDP by Matt RobisonAnna Loughnan Colquhoun
 
EIS-Webinar-Prompt-Knowledge-Eng-2024-04-08.pptx
EIS-Webinar-Prompt-Knowledge-Eng-2024-04-08.pptxEIS-Webinar-Prompt-Knowledge-Eng-2024-04-08.pptx
EIS-Webinar-Prompt-Knowledge-Eng-2024-04-08.pptxEarley Information Science
 
Handwritten Text Recognition for manuscripts and early printed texts
Handwritten Text Recognition for manuscripts and early printed textsHandwritten Text Recognition for manuscripts and early printed texts
Handwritten Text Recognition for manuscripts and early printed textsMaria Levchenko
 
04-2024-HHUG-Sales-and-Marketing-Alignment.pptx
04-2024-HHUG-Sales-and-Marketing-Alignment.pptx04-2024-HHUG-Sales-and-Marketing-Alignment.pptx
04-2024-HHUG-Sales-and-Marketing-Alignment.pptxHampshireHUG
 
GenCyber Cyber Security Day Presentation
GenCyber Cyber Security Day PresentationGenCyber Cyber Security Day Presentation
GenCyber Cyber Security Day PresentationMichael W. Hawkins
 
Boost Fertility New Invention Ups Success Rates.pdf
Boost Fertility New Invention Ups Success Rates.pdfBoost Fertility New Invention Ups Success Rates.pdf
Boost Fertility New Invention Ups Success Rates.pdfsudhanshuwaghmare1
 
A Year of the Servo Reboot: Where Are We Now?
A Year of the Servo Reboot: Where Are We Now?A Year of the Servo Reboot: Where Are We Now?
A Year of the Servo Reboot: Where Are We Now?Igalia
 
Powerful Google developer tools for immediate impact! (2023-24 C)
Powerful Google developer tools for immediate impact! (2023-24 C)Powerful Google developer tools for immediate impact! (2023-24 C)
Powerful Google developer tools for immediate impact! (2023-24 C)wesley chun
 
Strategies for Unlocking Knowledge Management in Microsoft 365 in the Copilot...
Strategies for Unlocking Knowledge Management in Microsoft 365 in the Copilot...Strategies for Unlocking Knowledge Management in Microsoft 365 in the Copilot...
Strategies for Unlocking Knowledge Management in Microsoft 365 in the Copilot...Drew Madelung
 
Advantages of Hiring UIUX Design Service Providers for Your Business
Advantages of Hiring UIUX Design Service Providers for Your BusinessAdvantages of Hiring UIUX Design Service Providers for Your Business
Advantages of Hiring UIUX Design Service Providers for Your BusinessPixlogix Infotech
 
Presentation on how to chat with PDF using ChatGPT code interpreter
Presentation on how to chat with PDF using ChatGPT code interpreterPresentation on how to chat with PDF using ChatGPT code interpreter
Presentation on how to chat with PDF using ChatGPT code interpreternaman860154
 
Workshop - Best of Both Worlds_ Combine KG and Vector search for enhanced R...
Workshop - Best of Both Worlds_ Combine  KG and Vector search for  enhanced R...Workshop - Best of Both Worlds_ Combine  KG and Vector search for  enhanced R...
Workshop - Best of Both Worlds_ Combine KG and Vector search for enhanced R...Neo4j
 
08448380779 Call Girls In Diplomatic Enclave Women Seeking Men
08448380779 Call Girls In Diplomatic Enclave Women Seeking Men08448380779 Call Girls In Diplomatic Enclave Women Seeking Men
08448380779 Call Girls In Diplomatic Enclave Women Seeking MenDelhi Call girls
 
The Role of Taxonomy and Ontology in Semantic Layers - Heather Hedden.pdf
The Role of Taxonomy and Ontology in Semantic Layers - Heather Hedden.pdfThe Role of Taxonomy and Ontology in Semantic Layers - Heather Hedden.pdf
The Role of Taxonomy and Ontology in Semantic Layers - Heather Hedden.pdfEnterprise Knowledge
 
How to convert PDF to text with Nanonets
How to convert PDF to text with NanonetsHow to convert PDF to text with Nanonets
How to convert PDF to text with Nanonetsnaman860154
 
The Codex of Business Writing Software for Real-World Solutions 2.pptx
The Codex of Business Writing Software for Real-World Solutions 2.pptxThe Codex of Business Writing Software for Real-World Solutions 2.pptx
The Codex of Business Writing Software for Real-World Solutions 2.pptxMalak Abu Hammad
 
Exploring the Future Potential of AI-Enabled Smartphone Processors
Exploring the Future Potential of AI-Enabled Smartphone ProcessorsExploring the Future Potential of AI-Enabled Smartphone Processors
Exploring the Future Potential of AI-Enabled Smartphone Processorsdebabhi2
 
IAC 2024 - IA Fast Track to Search Focused AI Solutions
IAC 2024 - IA Fast Track to Search Focused AI SolutionsIAC 2024 - IA Fast Track to Search Focused AI Solutions
IAC 2024 - IA Fast Track to Search Focused AI SolutionsEnterprise Knowledge
 

Recently uploaded (20)

What Are The Drone Anti-jamming Systems Technology?
What Are The Drone Anti-jamming Systems Technology?What Are The Drone Anti-jamming Systems Technology?
What Are The Drone Anti-jamming Systems Technology?
 
Understanding Discord NSFW Servers A Guide for Responsible Users.pdf
Understanding Discord NSFW Servers A Guide for Responsible Users.pdfUnderstanding Discord NSFW Servers A Guide for Responsible Users.pdf
Understanding Discord NSFW Servers A Guide for Responsible Users.pdf
 
Data Cloud, More than a CDP by Matt Robison
Data Cloud, More than a CDP by Matt RobisonData Cloud, More than a CDP by Matt Robison
Data Cloud, More than a CDP by Matt Robison
 
EIS-Webinar-Prompt-Knowledge-Eng-2024-04-08.pptx
EIS-Webinar-Prompt-Knowledge-Eng-2024-04-08.pptxEIS-Webinar-Prompt-Knowledge-Eng-2024-04-08.pptx
EIS-Webinar-Prompt-Knowledge-Eng-2024-04-08.pptx
 
Handwritten Text Recognition for manuscripts and early printed texts
Handwritten Text Recognition for manuscripts and early printed textsHandwritten Text Recognition for manuscripts and early printed texts
Handwritten Text Recognition for manuscripts and early printed texts
 
04-2024-HHUG-Sales-and-Marketing-Alignment.pptx
04-2024-HHUG-Sales-and-Marketing-Alignment.pptx04-2024-HHUG-Sales-and-Marketing-Alignment.pptx
04-2024-HHUG-Sales-and-Marketing-Alignment.pptx
 
GenCyber Cyber Security Day Presentation
GenCyber Cyber Security Day PresentationGenCyber Cyber Security Day Presentation
GenCyber Cyber Security Day Presentation
 
Boost Fertility New Invention Ups Success Rates.pdf
Boost Fertility New Invention Ups Success Rates.pdfBoost Fertility New Invention Ups Success Rates.pdf
Boost Fertility New Invention Ups Success Rates.pdf
 
A Year of the Servo Reboot: Where Are We Now?
A Year of the Servo Reboot: Where Are We Now?A Year of the Servo Reboot: Where Are We Now?
A Year of the Servo Reboot: Where Are We Now?
 
Powerful Google developer tools for immediate impact! (2023-24 C)
Powerful Google developer tools for immediate impact! (2023-24 C)Powerful Google developer tools for immediate impact! (2023-24 C)
Powerful Google developer tools for immediate impact! (2023-24 C)
 
Strategies for Unlocking Knowledge Management in Microsoft 365 in the Copilot...
Strategies for Unlocking Knowledge Management in Microsoft 365 in the Copilot...Strategies for Unlocking Knowledge Management in Microsoft 365 in the Copilot...
Strategies for Unlocking Knowledge Management in Microsoft 365 in the Copilot...
 
Advantages of Hiring UIUX Design Service Providers for Your Business
Advantages of Hiring UIUX Design Service Providers for Your BusinessAdvantages of Hiring UIUX Design Service Providers for Your Business
Advantages of Hiring UIUX Design Service Providers for Your Business
 
Presentation on how to chat with PDF using ChatGPT code interpreter
Presentation on how to chat with PDF using ChatGPT code interpreterPresentation on how to chat with PDF using ChatGPT code interpreter
Presentation on how to chat with PDF using ChatGPT code interpreter
 
Workshop - Best of Both Worlds_ Combine KG and Vector search for enhanced R...
Workshop - Best of Both Worlds_ Combine  KG and Vector search for  enhanced R...Workshop - Best of Both Worlds_ Combine  KG and Vector search for  enhanced R...
Workshop - Best of Both Worlds_ Combine KG and Vector search for enhanced R...
 
08448380779 Call Girls In Diplomatic Enclave Women Seeking Men
08448380779 Call Girls In Diplomatic Enclave Women Seeking Men08448380779 Call Girls In Diplomatic Enclave Women Seeking Men
08448380779 Call Girls In Diplomatic Enclave Women Seeking Men
 
The Role of Taxonomy and Ontology in Semantic Layers - Heather Hedden.pdf
The Role of Taxonomy and Ontology in Semantic Layers - Heather Hedden.pdfThe Role of Taxonomy and Ontology in Semantic Layers - Heather Hedden.pdf
The Role of Taxonomy and Ontology in Semantic Layers - Heather Hedden.pdf
 
How to convert PDF to text with Nanonets
How to convert PDF to text with NanonetsHow to convert PDF to text with Nanonets
How to convert PDF to text with Nanonets
 
The Codex of Business Writing Software for Real-World Solutions 2.pptx
The Codex of Business Writing Software for Real-World Solutions 2.pptxThe Codex of Business Writing Software for Real-World Solutions 2.pptx
The Codex of Business Writing Software for Real-World Solutions 2.pptx
 
Exploring the Future Potential of AI-Enabled Smartphone Processors
Exploring the Future Potential of AI-Enabled Smartphone ProcessorsExploring the Future Potential of AI-Enabled Smartphone Processors
Exploring the Future Potential of AI-Enabled Smartphone Processors
 
IAC 2024 - IA Fast Track to Search Focused AI Solutions
IAC 2024 - IA Fast Track to Search Focused AI SolutionsIAC 2024 - IA Fast Track to Search Focused AI Solutions
IAC 2024 - IA Fast Track to Search Focused AI Solutions
 

Email Marketing | Peter Abraham, Econsultancy.com

  • 1. 10 February 2010 Peter Abraham Econsultancy.com iStrategy - Email Marketing
  • 2. 10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing Welcome Who are Econsultancy. 10 years old Global independent community-based publisher, focused on best practice digital  marketing and ecommerce. 80,000+ members worldwide We help clients build their internal capabilities via a combination of research, reports and how-to guides, training etc. Our members make better decisions, build business cases, find the best suppliers, accelerate their careers and lead the way in best practices and innovation. More here: http://econsultancy.com. *Don’t forget your free copy of our Managing Digital Channels report | 3
  • 3. 10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing Today - Three sections... 1. Your Email Marketing capabilities and a plan to excellence. 2. Email Marketing budget allocation and ROI, how they compare to other media. 3. Challenges that affect email marketing success and some thoughts on improving. Interactive. | 3
  • 4. 10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing • People are used to it - use it every day • Adaptable to all stages in lifecycle • Cuts costs – direct mail, telemarketing • Offers short time to market • Short test to roll cycles • Infinitely personalisable • Delivers best Return on Investment... • Agree? Why is Email still hot? | 6
  • 5. 10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing ROI of Digital Channels | 134 Source: Email Marketing Census 2009: in association with Adestra (ESP): Econsultancy.com
  • 6. 10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing Who killed email? - Wall St Journal... | 6
  • 7. 10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing • R Who killed email? | 6
  • 8. 10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing Email has a widely-aged audience? | 137 Source:
  • 9. 10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing • RSS? - hasn’t gone mass market • SMS? - no links • Twitter - maybe? But we’re still on the adoption curve • Social networks? - maybe? still rely on email • iPhone apps? - maybe? When the walls come down • So actually Email is alive and well! • It’s why you’re here isn’t it? Who killed email? | 6 Integrate this stuff with your email
  • 10. 10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing05 March 2008 Advanced Email Marketing 1. Your Email Marketing capabilities and a plan to excellence | 5
  • 11. 10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing Email staged capability matrix. Where are you on here? 1 2 3 4 5 | 134 Source: Email Marketing Best Practice Guide: Econsultancy.com
  • 12. 10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing Your email capabilities... | 134 Source: Econsultancy Email Marketing Best Practice Guide
  • 13. 10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing Your email capabilities... | 134 Source: Email Marketing Best Practice Guide: Econsultancy.com
  • 14. 10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing05 March 2008 Advanced Email Marketing 2. Email Marketing budget allocation and ROI, how they compare to other media. | 5
  • 15. 10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing • Email Marketing Calculator - calculate the value of your email database • http://www.emailcenteruk.com/email-marketing-knowledge/calculator.php What’s an Email address worth to your business? Do you know? | 6
  • 16. 10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing Spend on Email Marketing | 134 Source: Email Marketing Census 2009: in association with Adestra (ESP): Econsultancy.com
  • 17. 10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing ROI of Digital Channels | 134 Source: Email Marketing Census 2009: in association with Adestra (ESP): Econsultancy.com
  • 18. 10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing ROI of Digital Channels | 134 Source: Email Marketing Census 2009: in association with Adestra (ESP): Econsultancy.com
  • 19. Source: Email Marketing Census 2009: in association with Adestra (ESP): Econsultancy.com 10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing ROI of EMail | 134
  • 20. 10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing Spend on Email Marketing | 134 Source: Email Marketing Census 2009: in association with Adestra (ESP): Econsultancy.com
  • 21. 10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing Budgets are moving from print to online - how much are you grabbing? | 6
  • 22. 10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing Conversion model for email response | 134 Source: Email Marketing Best Practice Guide: Econsultancy.com
  • 23. 10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing05 March 2008 Advanced Email Marketing 3. Challenges that affect email marketing success... ...and thoughts on how to improve them - back to basics... | 5
  • 24. 10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing Who said email was easy? It’s taken 20yrs! | 134 Source: The Email Best Practice Guide: Econsultancy.com
  • 25. 10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing Concentrate on three things... Deliverability, measurement and monitoring! Good old fashioned marketing. • If it gets delivered your half way home. • If you’re measuring you’ll see trends and patterns • If you’re monitoring you’ll know when to change tact | 45
  • 26. 10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing What do YOU want ME to do as a customer? - Go to the website or other medium? - Register? - Buy stuff? - Turn up again soon? - Give you some feedback? - Keep the relationship alive? - Keep coming back? - Recommend you? - Keep coming back - in person and online! | 108
  • 27. 10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing Where do you need focus? | 137 Source: Email Marketing Census 2009: in association with Adestra (ESP): Econsultancy.com
  • 28. 10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing Sending less - better targeted? | 137 Source: Email Marketing Census 2009: in association with Adestra (ESP): Econsultancy.com
  • 29. 10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing Getting your message delivered I | 137 Source: Email Marketing Census 2009: in association with Adestra (ESP): Econsultancy.com
  • 30. 10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing Improve Reputation Management - Clean your Data and up your ROI! - Remove bounces - Removes complainers - Remove un-subscribes - Your list gets smaller but the returns will be better | 144
  • 31. 10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing A A | 134
  • 32. 10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing Does it need to be image rich? No images required, just the facts
  • 33. 10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing Would you prefer text…as part of registration process? | 135
  • 34. 10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing Here’s a Blacklist checker… | 150 Source: http://www.mxtoolbox.com/blacklists.aspx Or get your Email provider to do it.
  • 35. 10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing Self service - Adjust number of messages/alerts received | 134
  • 36. 10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing Self service - announce other channels available | 134
  • 37. 10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing More self service...reminders | 20 Gives you an excuse to bring them back
  • 38. 10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing Alert me when in stock | 66
  • 39. 10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing Clear navigation - don’t make me think - assists customer journey Good analytical insight - feedback
  • 40. 10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing If your product is complex...assist! 7 days of free training by email...Day 7
  • 41. 10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing Landin page - Lazy marketing...you know me!! | 115 So pre-fill please - don’t make me think
  • 42. 10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing Triggered | 134 • Use Behavioural data Source: Email Marketing Best Practice Guide: Econsultancy.com
  • 43. 10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing What did I ask you again? Repeat back what the user asked... | 134
  • 44. 10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing Freemium model? Up click rates | 134 Source: Email Marketing Best Practice Guide: Econsultancy.com
  • 45. Test factorsNew Origin subscribers •Test group slit 50/50 AB - 50 to receive the "add to address book" •Each subscriber remained in test group for three months after sign-up Hang on...say... 4.5% x AOV £25 x 2,000 = £50k Wow! 10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing Simple changes... | 134 Source: Experian Cheetahmail Case study
  • 46. 10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing ReMarketing | 134 •30% of UK shoppers admit that they would go back online and complete their purchases if something as simple as a small discount or free postage and packing was offered to them Test factorsFollow-up emails to registered customers who abandon their shopping basketReminder emails about an existing shopping basketFollow-up emails to registered customers that received a system error during checkoutTargeted promotions based on an item a visitor browsedIncentive promotions for out-of-stock or back-ordered items Source: Experian Case study
  • 47. 10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing Free Shipping = Higher transactions | 134 But it doesn’t have to be a small purchase! Bigger bundles. Source: Smith-Harmon_Retail_Email_Guide_to_Multichannel_Engagement.pdf
  • 48. 10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing Free Shipping = Higher transactions | 134 Some of the best-performing campaigns are sent to small, highly targeted segments of subscribers, with both the product and free shipping offers geared to the selected audience AND The use of dynamic content to automatically populate the most relevant product images and copy also can significantly strengthen this tactic and make it easier to employ. Source: Smith-Harmon_Retail_Email_Guide_to_Multichannel_Engagement.pdf
  • 49. 10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing Mobile - your email list just got bigger. | 134 •Email usage on mobile devices has nearly doubled since 2004 according to AOL, and the Email Experience Council predicts that 60% of emails will be read outside of the inbox by 2009. •To cater to this rising demographic, create a text-only version of each email you send this year and link to it at the very top of the template, above any logos or images. Accompany this link with copy such as, “Viewing on a PDA? Click here to view this email in text.” Source: Cheetahmail Case study
  • 50. 10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing Mobile - sms alert in email | 134 Source: http://stylecampaign.com/
  • 51. 10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing Mobile and Social - drive traffic | 134 Source: http://stylecampaign.com/
  • 52. 10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing Make life easier for them and you... | 134 Source: http://stylecampaign.com/
  • 53. 10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing Announcements - Offers to your mobile | 134 Source: http://stylecampaign.com/
  • 54. Just because it’s email doesn’t mean you should forget all those other channels - conversion is your goal! It’s all about Joined up marketing. 10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing Mobile and Social | 134 Source: http://stylecampaign.com/
  • 55. 10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing Local personalisation | 134 Source: Smith-Harmon_Retail_Email_Guide_to_Multichannel_Engagement.pdf
  • 56. 10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing Email and crowd sourcing | 134 • Email assists product marketing Source: Smith-Harmon_Retail_Email_Guide_to_Multichannel_Engagement.pdf
  • 57. 10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing Demonstrate functionality - search | 134 • From the ‘don’t make me think’ school of marketing Source: Smith-Harmon_Retail_Email_Guide_to_Multichannel_Engagement.pdf
  • 58. 10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing Mobile and Social | 134 • Use keyword insight from onsite and search engine searches to assist purchasing. • Use Analytics to provide popular categories • Feed back email to site customer experience team Source: Smith-Harmon_Retail_Email_Guide_to_Multichannel_Engagement.pdf
  • 59. 10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing Mobile and Social = Kickstart Viral | 134 Source: Smith-Harmon_Retail_Email_Guide_to_Multichannel_Engagement.pdf
  • 60. 10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing Multi-channel | 134 Source: Cheetahmail Case study Source: Cheetahmail Case study
  • 61. 10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing Multi-channel - TV & Email | 134
  • 62. 10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing Dual landing pages | 134
  • 63. 10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing Different landing pages | 134
  • 64. 10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing How many calls to action? Think! What do you want them to do? | 134 Source: Email Marketing Best Practice Guide: Econsultancy.com
  • 65. 10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing Plenty of data... Registration Data Transactional Data Click-stream data Do more analysis! | 19
  • 66. 10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing Be Strategic. have an email testing programme Q1 tests Registration incentives From Fields Subject Lines Q2 tests Frequency testing Personalisation Price tests Q3 tests Automated campaigns Re-activation strategies Q4 tests Segmentation models Churn analysis New format | 52
  • 67. 10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing Forget about averages. You are where you are. You can’t beat your own data. - Last campaign is benchmark - Keep testing - Keep measuring | 28
  • 68. 10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing Email as Business Intelligence | 6 • These guys monitor email campaigns from across the US...and now twitter too
  • 69. 10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing It’s all about seeing the bigger picture… There are only a few critical areas to measure - Segmentation size! - Open rate - Click-through rate - Conversion Rate - Average Order Value! | 113
  • 70. 10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing Summary - Deliverability, measurement & monitoring and testing are critical to ROI! - Know the true value of your data, if your Email has the highest ROI, go for more budget - Have a plan to excellence. Keep learning and assess that learning as the discipline evolves - people with skills are key, technology is only an enabler! Remember 90/10 | 152
  • 71. 10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing Thanks for your time ...why not Email your questions to me: peter.abraham@econsultancy.com For good resources - check the sources or drop me an email. Econsultancy is a global independent community-based publisher, focused on best  practice digital marketing and ecommerce. Our hub has 80,000+ members worldwide from clients, agencies and suppliers alike with over 90% member retention rate. We help our members build their internal capabilities via a combination of research reports and how-to guides, training and development, face- to-face conferences, forums and professional networking. For the last 10 years, our resources have helped members learn, make better decisions, build business cases, find the best suppliers, accelerate their careers and lead the way in best practices and innovation. Join Econsultancy today at http://econsultancy.com. | 154