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How to Build Business Cases for SEO Fixes

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Richard Petersen's presentation from BrightonSEO 2016 looks at how to build a successful business case for SEO fixes.

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How to Build Business Cases for SEO Fixes

  1. 1. Richard Petersen Search And Data Manager at Zazzle Media How To Build Business Cases For SEO Fixes
  2. 2. Request Entity Too Large
  3. 3. SEO In The Past
  4. 4. SEO Now
  5. 5. The Biggest Issue Facing SEO Isn’t Google…
  6. 6. It’s Getting Clients To Implement Fixes
  7. 7. So Why Aren’t Clients Implementing Fixes?
  8. 8. Not Enough Developers To Implement The Work
  9. 9. DEVELOPERS ROLE 1. Create 2. Upgrade 3. Maintain
  10. 10. Too Many Requests And Not Enough time…
  11. 11. Hire More Devs
  12. 12. Clear Backlog, Then What???
  13. 13. DEVELOPERS ROLE 1. CREATE 2. UPGRADE 3. MAINTAIN
  14. 14. So Project Managers Limit Access To Dev Time
  15. 15. So All Fixes Need Justifying
  16. 16. How To Build Business Cases For SEO Fixes
  17. 17. What Is A Business Case?
  18. 18. So Why Do We Need One?
  19. 19. 8 Components For Building A Business Case
  20. 20. 1. Track Previous Changes
  21. 21. Clients Need To Build A Case Before You Need One
  22. 22. Keep A Record Of All Work Undertaken
  23. 23. Best Way To Record Performance?
  24. 24. Sing Loudly About Your Successes
  25. 25. 2. Keep Examples of Others Websites Successes
  26. 26. Use Evernote Or OneNote to Keep Examples on File
  27. 27. 3. And Failures
  28. 28. 4. Run Tests
  29. 29. 30 Organic Sessions Per Month
  30. 30. Leave For 30 Days And The Check Results
  31. 31. 45 Sessions30 Sessions
  32. 32. 15 Extra Organic Sessions Per Month
  33. 33. 180 Extra Organic Session per year
  34. 34. +50%
  35. 35. 20,000
  36. 36. 30,00020,000
  37. 37. 120,000 Extra Organic Session per year
  38. 38. 5. Now Run Test Again
  39. 39. Can’t Run Tests?
  40. 40. 6. Build A Test Site Or Use a Sister Site
  41. 41. What Is A Sister Site?
  42. 42. Why Use Test Sites?
  43. 43. 7. Use Traffic Predictions
  44. 44. Traffic Predictions Are An Estimation of Future Traffic Based Upon Historical Data
  45. 45. So How On Earth Do We Do That???
  46. 46. What Happens If My Traffic Predictions Are Wrong?
  47. 47. Traffic Predictions Are Never Going To Be Perfect!
  48. 48. This Is How I Do It…
  49. 49. Work Out The Month On Month Difference For Each Month
  50. 50. JAN 16 110,000 FEB 16 105,000 - 4.5% MAR 16 115,000 +9.5% APR 16 120,000 +4.3% Month On Month Sessions
  51. 51. Create An Average Of All Month On Month Increases = 2.5%
  52. 52. Now Work Out Year On Year increases
  53. 53. JAN 15 71,500 +35% FEB 15 78,750 +25% MAR 15 80,500 +30% APR 15 90,000 +25% Year On Year Sessions
  54. 54. Create An Average Of All Year On Year Increases = 29%
  55. 55. Pull It All Together
  56. 56. MONTH MOM YOY AVERAGE JAN 17 139,500 148,500 144,000 FEB 16 142,000 131,250 136,500 MAR 16 145,000 149,500 147,500 APR 16 148,000 150,000 149,000 Organic Sessions 2017
  57. 57. Then Adjust Data
  58. 58. 140000 145000 150000 155000 160000 165000 170000 175000 180000 185000 Aug--16 Sep--16 Oct--16 Nov--16 Dec--16 Jan--17 6 Month Traffic Predictions
  59. 59. 140000 150000 160000 170000 180000 190000 200000 210000 220000 Aug--16 Sep--16 Oct--16 Nov--16 Dec--16 Jan--17 Traffic Prediction With Fix Without Fix With Fix
  60. 60. Is This The Best Way To Do Traffic Predictions?
  61. 61. The More You Do It The Better You Will Get
  62. 62. Remember, Always Show Your Workings Out
  63. 63. 8. Attach Earnings To Data Predictions
  64. 64. 120,000 Sessions
  65. 65. Average Conversion Rate 2.0%
  66. 66. 120,000 Sessions X 2% = 2,400 transactions
  67. 67. Average order value of £100
  68. 68. Of which £30 is profit…
  69. 69. 2400 x £30 = £72,000
  70. 70. Takeaways…
  71. 71. 1. Build A Business Case Before You Need One
  72. 72. 2. Monitor Others Success And Failures
  73. 73. 3. Test All Ideas If Possible
  74. 74. 4. Then Test Them Again
  75. 75. 5. Use Test Sites Or Lower Value Sites (Sister Sites) To Run Larger Tests
  76. 76. 6. Predict Traffic
  77. 77. 7. Use Revenue Predictions Where Possible
  78. 78. 8. Don’t worry if you are wrong.
  79. 79. 9. Show Your Workings Out
  80. 80. Thank You! Keep in touch: @richardpetersen

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