Inspection sample.rtf

395 views

Published on

Sample report

0 Comments
0 Likes
Statistics
Notes
  • Be the first to comment

  • Be the first to like this

No Downloads
Views
Total views
395
On SlideShare
0
From Embeds
0
Number of Embeds
7
Actions
Shares
0
Downloads
4
Comments
0
Likes
0
Embeds 0
No embeds

No notes for slide

Inspection sample.rtf

  1. 1. Page 1 of 20 Porters Wisconsin Inspections, LLC 6938 Otter Creek Rd. Avoca, WI 53506 Ph#: (608) 583-6024Doc #: 0000 Inspector: Warren PorterDate: 6/1/2010Dwelling Address: 923 Somewhere St. Small Town, WIClient Name: John Homebuyer 608-000-0000 337N. Any Avenue Hometown, WIClients Agent: Mike Realtor 608-000-0000 Real Estate Company: Pick A RealtyThe inspection agreement and contract is a separate document presented at the time of this inspection or prior if Client is notto be present and is included as a part of this report for the Client and this Inspector. This inspection is not consideredcomplete till the agreement is signed by the Client. This report is not to be sold or transferred or used by another party unlesspermission is granted by the Client. The only purpose for this report in the hands of the Realty professional is to assist theClient with negotiations with the Seller and this report is not to be shared with other individuals such as other potential buyers. Porters Wisconsin Inspections, LLC This is a confidential report prepared for the client only. Any Use by Unauthorized Persons Prohibited. For additional information on home maintenance please go to our links section on our website. porterwisconsin.com.
  2. 2. Page 2 of 20 Porters Wisconsin Inspections, LLC 6938 Otter Creek Rd. Avoca, WI 53506 Ph#: (608) 583-6024 TABLE OF CONTENTS SECTION PAGEDEFINITION OF TERMS ................................................................................................................................... 3GENERAL INFORMATION ............................................................................................................................... 3GENERAL CONDITIONS ................................................................................................................................... 4Roofs & Chimneys.................................................................................................................................................... 4Grounds & Deck....................................................................................................................................................... 6Walls & Gutters........................................................................................................................................................ 8Garage ....................................................................................................................................................................... 9Heating/Cooling .................................................................................................................................................... 10Basement..................................................................................................................................................................11General Plumbing .................................................................................................................................................. 12Water Heater ..........................................................................................................................................................13Interior Electric Service..........................................................................................................................................14All Interior Rooms ................................................................................................................................................. 15Attic..........................................................................................................................................................................18 Porters Wisconsin Inspections, LLC This is a confidential report prepared for the client only. Any Use by Unauthorized Persons Prohibited. For additional information on home maintenance please go to our links section on our website. porterwisconsin.com.
  3. 3. Page 3 of 20 Porters Wisconsin Inspections, LLC 6938 Otter Creek Rd. Avoca, WI 53506 Ph#: (608) 583-6024 DEFINITION OF TERMSFUNCTIONAL - Performing its function and its condition is appropriate for its age and use.MARGINAL - Performing some or all of its functions, but not as intended, and/or its condition is notappropriate for its age and use.NON-FUNCTIONAL - Not performing its function or its condition is not appropriate for its age or use.Replacement or extensive repair will be required to make FUNCTIONAL.Possible HAZARD - A potential or current safety hazard. Correction of condition is recommended.COMMENTS - condition requiring further explanation. Does not necessarily represent an impropercondition or need for repair.REPAIRS NEEDED - Currently functioning, but appearance and/or age indicates that some repair isneeded for optimum function.Not Visible - Not visible/not inspected.N/A - Not applicable/not inspected. GENERAL INFORMATION Porters Wisconsin Inspections, LLC This is a confidential report prepared for the client only. Any Use by Unauthorized Persons Prohibited. For additional information on home maintenance please go to our links section on our website. porterwisconsin.com.
  4. 4. 6/17/2010 821 Peterson Ct. Page 4 of 20 Pre-Purchase Inspection GENERAL CONDITIONS001. Main Entry South. Faces002. Structure Bi-level.003. Estimated/Repo The age of the home is approximately 20 yrs. rted Age004. Area Town.005. Street Through; Paved.006. Weather Mostly sunny. Conditions006.5. Temperature 61 to 70 degrees.007. Approximate 9:00. starting time008. Occupied/Not Not occupied. Occupied010. Present During Buyer. Realtor part of time. Inspection Roofs & ChimneysStep # Component Comment30. Method of Walked the roof. Inspection31. Roof Design Gable.32. Type of roofing Composition shingles.33. Low pitch Roof NA. Porters Wisconsin Inspections, LLC This is a confidential report prepared for the client only. Any Use by Unauthorized Persons Prohibited. For additional information on home maintenance please go to our links section on our website. porterwisconsin.com.
  5. 5. 6/17/2010 821 Peterson Ct. Page 5 of 20 Pre-Purchase Inspection35. Roof conditions Marginal. Missing some grit. I would expect roof should last another 5 years or so.36. Flashings Functional. Cut shingle valleys.38. Vents Functional. Roof Louvers; Soffit venting. Porters Wisconsin Inspections, LLC This is a confidential report prepared for the client only. Any Use by Unauthorized Persons Prohibited. For additional information on home maintenance please go to our links section on our website. porterwisconsin.com.
  6. 6. 6/17/2010 821 Peterson Ct. Page 6 of 20 Pre-Purchase Inspection Grounds & DeckStep # Component Comment1. Driveway Functional. Asphalt.1a. Walks Repairs needed. Concrete. Cracked and settling at front entrance. Trip hazard, should watch those unsure of foot if not replacing or repairing this at front and along the walk. Walk is also settled at front garage service door as well.1b. Main steps Functional. Concrete.1ba. Other steps Functional. Wood.2. Grade/Slope Repairs needed. Grade poor under deck could cause water to pool Slopes toward building; recommend new grade at rear. Could possibly add some small ditching to drain water away as well. Porters Wisconsin Inspections, LLC This is a confidential report prepared for the client only. Any Use by Unauthorized Persons Prohibited. For additional information on home maintenance please go to our links section on our website. porterwisconsin.com.
  7. 7. 6/17/2010 821 Peterson Ct. Page 7 of 20 Pre-Purchase Inspection2a. Grade Marginal. This picture also shows very marginal grade slope. Clearance at Walls Siding is too close to the soil but limited options to repair and not contribute more to reverse soil grade.2b. Downspout Repair needed. Should extend downspout extension. Drainage Diagram shows why.2e. Basement N/A. Windows Porters Wisconsin Inspections, LLC This is a confidential report prepared for the client only. Any Use by Unauthorized Persons Prohibited. For additional information on home maintenance please go to our links section on our website. porterwisconsin.com.
  8. 8. 6/17/2010 821 Peterson Ct. Page 8 of 20 Pre-Purchase Inspection3b. Deck Rear. Deck flashing is missing; this flashing is to prevent water from decaying the sill and or wall. Should at least add caulk under siding starter strip.6. Electrical Repairs needed. Underground; Exterior electric meter. Loose Entrance and meter box. fixtures Walls & GuttersStep # Component Comment40. Foundation Functional. Concrete block.45. Exterior Finish Functional. Vinyl.50. Soffits/Fascia/ Functional. Aluminum/vinyl covered. Trim52. Guttering Metal. Gutters need cleaning53. Exterior Lights Functional. Light fixtures.54. Electric/Outlets Functional. Has operable GFI’s55. Hose faucet Functional. Has 2 frost free type.56. Doors Functional. Insulated doors; Steel. Front storm door binds at bottom when closing. Little option to repair, need to just pull door to fully close. Porters Wisconsin Inspections, LLC This is a confidential report prepared for the client only. Any Use by Unauthorized Persons Prohibited. For additional information on home maintenance please go to our links section on our website. porterwisconsin.com.
  9. 9. 6/17/2010 821 Peterson Ct. Page 9 of 20 Pre-Purchase Inspection57. Windows Repairs needed. Failed window thermo seal at West. Decayed trim, at front window. Trim could be replaced. GarageStep # Component Comment120. Garage Type: 2-car; Attached.122. Roof Structure Functional. Trusses; plywood sheathing.125. Foundation Functional. Concrete.125b. Service door Functional.126. Floor Functional. Concrete. Typical cracks noted.127. Vehicle Doors Functional. Overhead; 1 door; metal insulated128. Opener(s) 1 opener. Down force should be reduced129. Interior walls Unfinished130. Electrical Wiring lights & outlets. Outlet/switch cover missing Lacks GFI outlets Porters Wisconsin Inspections, LLC This is a confidential report prepared for the client only. Any Use by Unauthorized Persons Prohibited. For additional information on home maintenance please go to our links section on our website. porterwisconsin.com.
  10. 10. 6/17/2010 821 Peterson Ct. Page 10 of 20 Pre-Purchase Inspection Heating/CoolingStep # Component Comment75. Manufacturer Warm air. Amana. (heating) Diagram shows typical high efficiency furnace.75.5. Thermostat Functional. Manual.76. Age Marginal. Age is 19 years old. Typical expected life span would be 15 to 20 years.79. Cabinet Functional.81a. BTU Rating Functional. 70K btu.82. Fuel Supply Natural Gas. Natural Gas.83. Burners/Elemen Functional. ts84. Venting Functional. PVC power vent. This type of venting indicates that the unit is a "high efficiency" appliance and an induced fan is installed.85. Heat Not Visible. Exchanger86. Filter/Humidifi Functional. Disposable filter. er87. Ductwork Functional. Metal.88. Manufacturer Carrier. 3 Ton. Recommend leveling condenser unit to (cooling) improve efficiency and operation Porters Wisconsin Inspections, LLC This is a confidential report prepared for the client only. Any Use by Unauthorized Persons Prohibited. For additional information on home maintenance please go to our links section on our website. porterwisconsin.com.
  11. 11. 6/17/2010 821 Peterson Ct. Page 11 of 20 Pre-Purchase Inspection89. Cooling System Functional. Heat pump. This unit can only be operated in the heating or cooling mode during the inspection. In most cases, if one is operating properly, the other will also because the same components are being operated. BasementStep # Component Comment01. Description Functional. Mostly finished.01.5. Basement stairs Functional. Interior.02. Basement Functional. Concrete. Floors03. Bearing Functional. Wood beams. Structure03a. First Floor Functional. 16" on center; 2"x8"; Plywood sub floor. Design03b. Sill insulation Not Visible.04. Walls Functional. Concrete Block.05. Moisture Functional. Has beaver system Evidence06. Floor Drains N/A. Porters Wisconsin Inspections, LLC This is a confidential report prepared for the client only. Any Use by Unauthorized Persons Prohibited. For additional information on home maintenance please go to our links section on our website. porterwisconsin.com.
  12. 12. 6/17/2010 821 Peterson Ct. Page 12 of 20 Pre-Purchase Inspection07. Sump Pit/Pump Comment. Beaver drainage into sump crock. Sump pump pumps water into city sewer.08. Crawl Space N/A. General PlumbingStep # Component Comment50. Water & Sewer City Water & Sewer. source60. Main Water Functional. Copper. Service Porters Wisconsin Inspections, LLC This is a confidential report prepared for the client only. Any Use by Unauthorized Persons Prohibited. For additional information on home maintenance please go to our links section on our website. porterwisconsin.com.
  13. 13. 6/17/2010 821 Peterson Ct. Page 13 of 20 Pre-Purchase Inspection61. Main Shut-off Functional. Utility room by meters. Valve62. Supply Piping Copper. All water is soft63. Drainage Functional. PVC/ABS plastic. Piping64. Clean-out Functional. Stack.65. Fixture Venting Functional.66. Laundry Functional. Washer; Dryer; Toilet. Connections67. Water Softener Repairs needed. Out of salt. Should add resin Water HeaterStep # Component Comment69. Age Functional. 12 - 15.70. Manufacturer Rheem. Glass lined. I would expect another 10 years of life due to being glass lined.71. Fuel Supply Functional. Natural Gas.72. Operations/Con Functional. nections Porters Wisconsin Inspections, LLC This is a confidential report prepared for the client only. Any Use by Unauthorized Persons Prohibited. For additional information on home maintenance please go to our links section on our website. porterwisconsin.com.
  14. 14. 6/17/2010 821 Peterson Ct. Page 14 of 20 Pre-Purchase Inspection73. Venting Functional. PVC piping. This type of venting indicates that the unit is a "high efficiency" appliance and an induced fan is installed. Manufacturer specifications are required to verify proper installation.74. Relief Valve Overflow pipe missing, should add 3/4 “ pipe. Piping Interior Electric ServiceStep # Component Comment142. Manufacturer & Functional. GE conditions143. Panel Location Functional. Basement; Porters Wisconsin Inspections, LLC This is a confidential report prepared for the client only. Any Use by Unauthorized Persons Prohibited. For additional information on home maintenance please go to our links section on our website. porterwisconsin.com.
  15. 15. 6/17/2010 821 Peterson Ct. Page 15 of 20 Pre-Purchase Inspection145. Main Functional. Aluminum main conductor; 200 amp. Disconnect & Conductors148. Grounding 2 Ground rods155. Branch Wiring Functional. Breakers; Copper. Conductors160. Unfinished Functional. Grounded Romex. wiring All Interior RoomsNote: All outlets appear to be ungrounded. The plastic romex except for one wire in the main panel areall the grounded type. I recommend someone check the connections at the outlets and connect thegrounds if possible.Step # Component Comment10. Kitchen N/A. S/E. Outlets ungrounded 3 prong type. Recommend adding GFIs20. Living Room S/W. Outlets ungrounded 3 prong type.20a. Dining Room Functional.20a. Hall Functional. Porters Wisconsin Inspections, LLC This is a confidential report prepared for the client only. Any Use by Unauthorized Persons Prohibited. For additional information on home maintenance please go to our links section on our website. porterwisconsin.com.
  16. 16. 6/17/2010 821 Peterson Ct. Page 16 of 20 Pre-Purchase Inspection25. Family Room Repairs needed. Basement. Outlets ungrounded 3 prong type. They really should have stayed 2 prongs or a ground wire added. Insulation void area from Infrared. Confirmed no moisture.40. Bath Functional. Basement. Outlet should be GFI protected due to the close proximity of water40a. Bath main floor Repairs needed. East; Main level. Outlets ungrounded 3 prong type. Outlet should be GFI protected due to the close proximity of water. Light switch not working correctly, 3 way. Porters Wisconsin Inspections, LLC This is a confidential report prepared for the client only. Any Use by Unauthorized Persons Prohibited. For additional information on home maintenance please go to our links section on our website. porterwisconsin.com.
  17. 17. 6/17/2010 821 Peterson Ct. Page 17 of 20 Pre-Purchase Inspection50. Both Basement Repairs needed. N/W; Basement. Window is 56” from floor Bedrooms and should not be over 44 inches from floor or need to add a fixed step or ladder. Comments SAME for both bedrooms. Should add permanent step below window in each bedroom. Diagram shows proper egress. Porters Wisconsin Inspections, LLC This is a confidential report prepared for the client only. Any Use by Unauthorized Persons Prohibited. For additional information on home maintenance please go to our links section on our website. porterwisconsin.com.
  18. 18. 6/17/2010 821 Peterson Ct. Page 18 of 20 Pre-Purchase Inspection50a. Master Repairs needed. N/E; Main level. Water damaged window Bedroom sill to north window pictured below. Outlets ungrounded 3 prong type.50aa. Bedroom N/W; Main level. Window is also starting to decay. Should clean & paint.70. Stairway Functional. Smoke Detector Present. AtticStep # Component Comment20. Attic Accessed Functional. Bedroom. at:21. Attic type & Full attic. number22. Structure Functional. Trusses.23. Decking Functional. Plywood. Porters Wisconsin Inspections, LLC This is a confidential report prepared for the client only. Any Use by Unauthorized Persons Prohibited. For additional information on home maintenance please go to our links section on our website. porterwisconsin.com.
  19. 19. 6/17/2010 821 Peterson Ct. Page 19 of 20 Pre-Purchase Inspection24. Ventilation Bath vent fan vents out the roof of which is the preferred method. Missing some of the soffit vents, they are laying on attic floor. It would be prudent to install them. Porters Wisconsin Inspections, LLC This is a confidential report prepared for the client only. Any Use by Unauthorized Persons Prohibited. For additional information on home maintenance please go to our links section on our website. porterwisconsin.com.
  20. 20. 6/17/2010 821 Peterson Ct. Page 20 of 20 Pre-Purchase Inspection25. Insulation Marginally acceptable. Cellulose type insulation 6 to 8" Today’s standard is 10” or more of cellulose. There appears to be a missed area over the family room that should be corrected.26. Electrical Not Visible. Insulation covered and can not see wiring. Conditions Porters Wisconsin Inspections, LLC This is a confidential report prepared for the client only. Any Use by Unauthorized Persons Prohibited. For additional information on home maintenance please go to our links section on our website. porterwisconsin.com.

×