HistoryRegion 1 was first Ilocanosinhabited by theaboriginal Negritosbefore they werepushed bysuccessive waves of tingguiansMalay/Austronesianimmigrants thatpenetrated thenarrow coast. pangasinense
HistoryBefore the administration The Spanish arrived in the of Ferdinand Marcos, 16th century and Pangasinan was not a established Christian missions and governmental part of the region. institutions to control the native population and convert them to the Roman Catholic Church.
HistoryIn 1901, the region came under Americancolonial rule, and in 1941, under Japaneseoccupation.During 1945, the combined American andthe Philippine Commonwealth troopsincluding the Ilocano and Pangasineseguerillas liberated the Ilocos Region fromJapanese forces during the Second WorldWar.
Ilocos Nortelocated at the northwestcorner of Luzon Island,bordering Cagayan andApayao to the east, andAbra and Ilocos Sur tothe south. Ilocos Nortefaces theSouth China Sea to thewest and theLuzon Strait to thenorth.
Map and Places of Ilocos Norte • Towns/Cities in Ilocos-Norte (Region- 01) • Adams Bacarra • Badoc Bangui • Banna (Espiritu) Batac • Burgos Carasi • Currimao Dingras • Dumalneg Laoag City (Capital) • Marcos Nueva Era • Pagudpud Paoay • Pasuquin Piddig • Pinili San Nicolas • Sarrat Solsona Vintar
IlocosNorte:Cultures&TraditionsBain is the Ilocano trait It is essential to showfor hiya or amor propio panagdayaw (respect(sense of shame). for the sensitivities ofIlocanos fear of gossip others). Ilocanos tendand would strongly to speak aboutavoid being envied by themselves in theothers. humblest of terms.
Ilocos Norte:Cultures&TraditionsWEDDING Tradition DEATH Tradition The groom makes a panag pudno (formal • To announce a death of a family announcement) to the soon-to-be bride’s member, a piece of ato ng wood is lit in parents about his intention of marrying front of the deceased’s house. It is kept their daughter. His parents will then visit burning until after the burial. The fire is the bride’s parents to set the wedding date. extinguished with white wine. Usually, parents consult a plane tario , which is like an almanac that identifies • Before the funeral, relatives pay respect “ lucky” days. by kissing the deceased’s hands or raising it to his/her forehead(mano)Another highlight of the feast is the bito r wherein guests contribute cash to the • Those who attended the burial in the newlyweds either by dropping money cemetery must return to the deceased’s onto the plates or by pinning bills to the home by taking a different route from couple’s clothes. the one they’ ve taken to get there. Upon arrival, they must wash their faces and hands. It is said to remove the power of death.
Ilocos Norte:Cultures&Traditions Festivals• Pamulinawen Festival, Laoag City, February 10 A floral parade and street dancing festival. Guling-Guling Festival, Paoay, Eve of Ash Wednesday Residents, dressed in their Ilocano costume adorned with antique jewelries, dance and sing around town while being blessed with the Sign of the Cross using pounded rice instead of gray ash. December Festival, Laoag City Highlighted by the lantern parade and decor competition ending in the Palarong Pamasko.• Farmer’s Festival, Bacarra This festival highlights a street dance parade participated by dressed up farmers with their products, agro-industrial, trade fair, contest of the biggest farm harvest and livestock and "pinaka" contests of agro products. Magdadaran: Talip Festival, Adams & Carassi In tribute of the ancient peace pact that has brought lasting peace between and among ethnic tribes in the province of Ilocos Norte. This also aims to cultivate and highlight their rich culture, customs and indigenous traditions. Is also celebrated to enhance fellowship and stronger ties among the tribes and Ilocanos merging with them.
Ilocos Norte: Tourist SpotsBadoc Currimao• Juan Luna House • Coral Rock Formations
Ilocos Norte: Tourist SpotsBatacGregorio Aglipay Church Marcos Museum and Mausoleum
Ilocos Norte: Tourist SpotsPaoayCorniks Factory Malacanang of the North & Paoay Lake
Ilocos Norte: Tourist SpotsLaoagProvincial Capitol Tobacco Monopoly MonumentPamulinawen Festival
Ilocos SurIlocos Sur is bordered byIlocos Norte and Abra tothe north,Mountain Province to theeast, La Union andBenguet to the south, andthe West Philippine Sea tothe west.The capital ofthe province is VIGANCity.
Map & Places of Ilocos Sur • Alilem -Banayoyo -Bantay • Burgos -Cabugao -Candon City • Caoayan -Cervantes -Galimuyod • Gregorio Del Pilar (Concepcion) • Lidlidda -Magsingal -Nagbukel • Narvacan -Quirino (Angkaki) • Salcedo (Baugen) -San Emilio • San Esteban -San Ildefonso • San Juan (Lapog) -San Vicente • Santa Catalina -Santa Cruz • Santa Lucia - Santa Maria • Santiago -Santo Domingo • Sigay -Sinait -Sugpon - Suyo • Tagudin - Vigan City (Capital) - Santa
Ilocos Sur:Cultures&Traditions Festivals •• The native Ilocano is a • Sinait Garlic Festival It happens during the 1st to 3rd of May that weaver, wood carver and showcase the talent, ingenuity and hard work trait of Ilocano pottery expert. The Viva Vigan Festival Every first week of May, Vigan featuring Ilocano cuisine ranges painting and product exhibits, a Calesa from the exotic "abu-os" parade, and other cultural activities. Longaniza Festival (ant eggs) to vegetable held every January 22features the “longest Longaniza” with the hope of entering to the broth "dinengdeng," the Guinness Book of Records as the longest Longaniza of the world sticky "tinubong" to the Pinakbet Festival, Ilocos Sur Philippines "poqui-poqui" (eggplant A festival celebrating a favorite dish of the Ilocanos, “pinakbet” featuring street dances, salad) cooking competitions. Tabako Festival, Ilocos Sur Philippines Celebrated every last week of March in Candon City, as thanksgiving for the citys bountiful harvest of tobacco.
Ilocos Sur:Products • Rice• blanketweaving, • Corn • Sugarcane• basketry, • Coconut • Cassava• shellcraft, broommaking, pottery- making, wine and vinegar making, • Garlic jewelry making, wood and stone craft, among others jars and antiques can also be bought in Vigan
PangasinanThe term pangasinan means "land of Pangasinan is a long, wide, verdant salt" or "place where salt is made" crescent bounded by the wild Zambales range to the west and to the east by the from the root word asin meaning Cordilleras -- the formidable mountains salt in the native language, and the that form the spine of the island of prefix pang and the suffix an Luzon. To the south, Pangasinan meaning place. The term was extends to the rice-and-sugar farmlands derived from one of the main of Tarlac, and north to the crowning glory of Lingayen Gulf and the South occupations of the people in the China Sea. This shoreline is a great arc coastal villages which was, and still of variegated character: from is, that of making salt from sea fantastically tall, craggy rock roughly water through the process of solar chiseled by the surf, to the mildest of white sand beaches. The coast is evaporation in well-laid-out fringed by well-hidden coves and inlets, beds.salt promontories and caves, forests and woodland, charming fishing villages, and then the islands. It faces the Asian mainland, outstretched widely in anticipation and welcome.
PEOPLE, CULTURE & THE ARTS*About half the people of Pangasinan are *The Pangasinenses are also noted for their Pangasinenses -- a distinct ethnoliguistic industry and their enterprise. Buri hat group found along the central coast and making, mat weaving, wooden shoe interior plains of the province. manufacture, brick and pottery making and metalcraft are among the traditional industries that continue to thrive in Pangasinan. Lingayen was once the primary*The rest of the province’s people are center of commerce in the province and had descendants of Ilocano migrants who settled a thriving Chinese community to direct its the eastern and western parts of Pangasinan. trade. Industries such as bakeshops, soap In the vicinity of Bolinao, about 30,000 and candle-making, and the manufacture of shoes and slippers are centered in the town. people speak Sambal-Bolinao. *Pangasinenses also engage in trade, investing in expensive shawls, blankets, white and blue cloth, needles, scissors and mirrors from China as well as other products which they bring to nearby northern provinces. The ubiquitous cattle-drawn wagons that travel across northern Luzon and Manila are from Pangasinan.
*Pangasinan abounds in handicrafts and is .Another unique feature of the ancient famous for bamboo and rattan artifacts. culture was the dances. These were There are also handicrafts made of indicative of the peoples values and marsh grasses. A familiar sight down skills. Thus, the imunan was a Central Luzon after harvest time are the courtship dance, the tagam a war bullock caravans originating from dance, and the kumakaret a test of Pangasinan laden with bamboo, rattan, dexterity. These dances were and grass crafts, including chairs, accompanied by the music of the tables, hampers, baskets, lamps, mats, tulali, a flute used during festivities. and household bric-a-brac. Binalatongan (now San Carlos City) and Calasiao are known for bamboocraft that have been exported abroad.
Dances of Pangasinan*Binasuan (beeh-nah-SOOH-ahn) This colorful and *Oasiwas (wah-SEE-wahs) After a good catch, lively dance from Bayambang in the Pangasinan fishermen of Lingayen would celebrate by province shows off the balancing skills of the drinking wine and by dancing, swinging and dancers. The glasses that the dancers gracefully, circling a lighted lamp. The name "Oasiwas" yet carefully, maneuver are half-filled with rice in the Pangasinan dialect means "swinging." wine. Binasuan, meaning "with the use of a This unique and colorful dance calls for skill drinking glass" in Pangasinan, is often performed in balancing an oil lamp on the head while as entertainment at weddings, birthdays, and circling in each hand a lighted lamp wrapped fiestas. in a porous cloth or fishnet.*Binoyugan (beeh-noh-YOOH-gahn) A dance *Sayaw ed Tapew na Bangko A dance native originally from the Ilokano region of Pangasinan. to the province of Pangasinan (especially in Binoyugan features women balancing on their Lingayen), and demands skill from its heads a banga or clay pot which they use to fetch performers who must dance on top of a water from the river or well, or in which to cook bench roughly six inches wide. rice. The dance culminates with the women laying stomach down on stage, and rolling from side to side, all while balancing the pot.
1ST DISTRICT*ANDA- This lone island town of Pangasinan, which thrives on farming and deep-sea fishing, is unlike other "out-of-way" places for progress has already caught up with it. If a Pangasinense has a surname beginning with the letter C, chances are, he is from this town.*BOLINAO- This quaint little town boasts of several attractions aside from its rugged coastline and wide expanse of unspoiled seascapes. Its museum, a branch of the national museum, showcases the rich heritage of the people. Santiago Island, Cape Bolinao Beach, and the Church of St. James, almost 400 years old, are its stronger points.*BANI- This town thrives on the bounties of sea and farm. It boasts of a new park which is a haven for those who want to lose themselves in the sweet clutch of nature.*AGNO- Known as an "old seat of civilization", it competes with Hundred Islands in natural beauty. Its umbrella rocks that just out of its clear lake and its long-winding beachline are tourists musts.*BURGOS- The "Cowboy Country" or "Marlboro Country" of Pangasinan is not for dudes alone as its Cabungaoan Beach Resort, Klowar Spring, and Sangbay Falls are crowd-drawers.*DASOL- A town gifted with tourist lures: Noahs Island Beach Resort, Tambobong Beach, Salabusoban Falls, and Magunao Resort in Equia, all simply marvelous.
*INFANTA- Once the rice granary of Western Pangasinan, it now has its beaches to rely on for exposure, the Balqui Island Beach Resort, for one.*MABINI- This rustic town is visited for its Cacupangan Caves, formerly Balincaguing Caves, a lair of 1001 bats, Balincaguing River, basin perfect for skinny dipping, Binmatya Spring and Barlo Mines.*ALAMINOS CITY This is Hundred Islands town. The 100 islands, some 123 of them, is the most popular tourist destination in the province.*SUAL- The zigzagging way up Sualsalito and the panoramic view of Sual from up there are reasons enough to visit this boom town in the making. The historic Aguinaldo debarkation point is another count in too the alluring Cabalitian Island beach resort.*DASOL- A town gifted with tourist lures: Noahs Island Beach Resort, Tambobong Beach, Salabusoban Falls, and Magunao Resort in Equia, all simply marvelous.
2ND DISTRICT*LABRADOR- This boat building town beckons to tourists through a religious shrine, Lawis Uyong, and two resorts, Tandoc and Stone Quarry Falls.*BUGALLON- San Jose Hillside Resort is its main tourist attraction, but historically, its Salasa Church offers more having housed, for instance, the bell that lures tourists to the Agoo Basilica Church.*AGUILAR- Once a bastion of the brave, and an anathema to invaders of yore, it is a breathtaking dip in rusticana, with its green meadows and thick forests.*MANGATAREM, URBIZTONDO - The "corn and cacao basket of Pangasinan", Urbiztondo stands as a symbol of mans will to survive, metamorphosing from a sleepy town to a hive in a matter of years.*BASISTA- Once a part of San Carlos City, it is now a big town for its cottage industry and a name in international markets for its handicrafts.
*LINGAYEN- An encomienda when Pangasinan was created, it was then designated and remains the provincial capital. Lingayen earned a place in contemporary history when American forces designated it the landing area for the liberation of Northern Luzon from the Japanese. The town is likewise noted for the Limahong Channel which the men of the Chinese pirate dug to elude the pursuing forces of Salcedo. Its "bagoong", also known as maniboc, referring to its place of origin, Barangay Maniboc, is the best in the market, local, national or international.*BINMALEY- A standout for three things: the largest church in the province, its furniture industry centered in Malindong, and its fishponds which gained for itself the title "Bangus Queen of the Philippines."
3 District rdSAN CARLOS CITY- Became a city through a congressional act authored by the late Congressman Angel B. Fernandez after the late Speaker Eugenio Perez Sr. authored the city charter of Dagupan. The home town of legendary hero Palaris is the seat of exportable handicrafts.CALASIAO- Religious devotees flock to this town, thanks to its miraculous Sanctuario del Señor Tesoro, chewy puto, tender Bocayo and coconut pastilles flavored with anise.STA BARBARA- Tagged as the agricultural nursery of Pangasinan, it is expected to progress by leaps and bounds with the Agricultural Training Institute (ATI) there, and with the entry of La Tondeña Distillery Plant. Its mango-tree-lined highway offers a breather to motorists.MAPANDAN- A nationally known spot in Mapandan is Barrio Golden, once selected as a "model barrio" in integrated community development. "Tanggal Ya Bato" or stonewalls is its other tourist bait.MALASIQUI- Like other Central Pangasinan towns, the Pangasinan dialect it its pure form is spoken here, in lilting tones in fact. Three of its barangays, Canan, Palapar and Lareg-lareg, offer spots ideal for relaxation.BAYAMBANG- The site of the biggest fishing sanctuary in the province, the Mangabul Fishing and Hunting Park, and the best local school for teachers education, the Pangasinan State University-College of Education (formerly Central Luzon Teachers College once referred to as "Normal School"), it is part of history as the first national anthem was sung here by the revolutionary forces under Gen. Emilio Aguinaldo.
4TH DISTRICTDAGUPAN CITY- The commercial, financial, educational and communication center North of Manila, was traditionally called Nandaragupan meaning a "meeting place or rallying point". It used to be part of Binalatongan, now San Carlos City, four centuries ago. The City by the Gulf is where the great Pangasinan chieftain Andres Malong assembled his forces for a last stand against the Spanish troops after which people began calling the place as Nandaragupan. It is famous for its blue beach and Bonuan bangus.SAN FABIAN- This town has always known for its beaches, nestled in a cove, so that only the gentlest of waves ripple across the crystalline blue waters. Now it is also byword for its beach resorts, rivaling those of La Union, its pawnpushres (it has the only chess school in the country, in fact) and its amateur pugilists.SAN JACINTO- A tobacco belt and one of the provinces earliest municipalities, its peoples hospitality makes it ideal for residential purposes.MANAOAG- Before Agoo, there was already Manaoag and inspite (or maybe because) of Agoo, pilgrimage to this town has increased over the past few months. The trek to the shrine of Nuestra Señora de Manaoag or "Apo Baket" or the Lady Who Calls which has come to be known as the "Antipolo of the North" has never waned. The Virgins in the outskirt of the town is another well-visited spot for its curative springs.
5 District thBAUTISTA- In summer, watermelon abound in this town where Jose L. Palma wrote the lyrics of the Philippine National Anthem. Julian Felipe, for his part, composed the patriotic hymn in a house near the Bautista railroad station which stands up to this day.ALCALA- Its long "Great Wall," actually that of the multi-million Agno River Control dike which sometimes spares the town from the onslaught of floods, is a testament to mans efforts to preserve himself and fend for himself from natural adversities.STO TOMAS- With well-trimmed agoho trees, shrubs and bushes lining its streetsides, Sto. Tomas, monickered the "cutest town" in Pangasinan. Looks like a dainty girl on her birthday.VILLASIS- Hemmed in between two bustling areas, Urdaneta City and Carmen, Villasis is one of the fastest developing town in the province. Considered as a "Vegetable Basket", it also thrives on its rice, corn and tobacco plantations. Its hilly barangays situated along the Malasiqui boundary is a perfect place for resort developers and agri-businessmen.URDANETA CITY- Next to Dagupan City, it is most alive business-wise, what with its share of banking institutions, multi-national firms, market complexes, entertainment row and cattle trading center, the largest north of Manila.
LAOAC- The youngest town in Pangasinan has potentials to approximate the greatness of its mother town, Manaoag, but it has yet to find what would make it unique.BINALONAN- This town has to its name the titles "Model Urban Community" and "Cleanest Municipality in the Philippines" garnered during the seventies.POZORRUBIO- The Buccat Hill and the Sugcong Spring in this town are bywords in local tourism. Its Dilan bamboocraft products are export fares.SISON- Baguio-bound travellers make their entrances and exits and stopovers in this gateway to the City of Pines. Its covenant with cultural minorities, extensive barangay beautification program and industrialization efforts are paving the way for its modernization. Residents of this town get away from it all in Mountain bato, a compsite and Antong Creek, a picnickers destination.
6 District thSAN MANUEL- This hometown of Juan C. Laya, of Diwang Kayumanggi fame, is one of the best rice producers of Pangasinan. It has a dam site which serves as a favorite picnic ground for vacationists, the Butao Spring and a mountain boy scout campsite.SAN NICOLAS- It this town lies the historic Red Arrow Movement, otherwise known as WWII Villaverde Trail campsite, and the Agpay reforestation area with its crystal clear brooks.ASINGAN- The hometown of first Pangasinense President, Fidel Valdez Ramos, is a "Vegetable Country" for any which direction one looks, eggplants, ampalaya and tomatoes, in short, "pinakbet," greet the eyes.TAYUG- The premier town in the northeastern part of the province, it figured prominently in Philippine history, having served as the site of the Colorum uprishing let by Pedro Calosa, an incident immortalized by novelist Kerima Polotan-Tuvera.NATIVIDAD- A farming town, Natividad has shed off its once sleepy profile, all because of Pila resort, however underdeveloped, a hilly area frequented by picnickers.
STA MARIA- Grafted from the town of Tayug, Sta. Maria has quite a number of faith healers flocked by those who seek to be eased off their discomforts. This town, with its pristine beauty, provides a sofa for the senses.SAN QUINTIN- Though its "Little Luneta" - its town plaza-has given way for other must-visit places, its Dipalo Watershed is keeping them coming for its unique charm.ROSALES- Pangasinan ends and begins in Rosales. Its Barangay Carmen in particular is the take-off point to Dagupan City, Baguio City and Nueva Ecija. Its "tupig" is superb-reason enough for a stopover.BALUNGAO- Once visited for its hot springs, it is nevertheless an interesting tourist stopover for an oddity, a Rizal monument built right in the middle of the road.UMINGAN- A farming town, Umingan came into existence after its natives, harrassed no end by bandits, fought back, putting an end to banditry ("inmingan") and started living a peaceful life.
1572 – Juan de Salcedo, upon the orders of his grandfather Governor General Miguel Lopez de Legazpi to explore and pacify northern Luzon, reaches Pangasinan. A Spanish priest-historian, Fray Juan Ferrando, calls Salcedo the “first discoverer” of Pangasinan. The province is now under the jurisdiction of Spain as an encomienda since April 5.1574-1575– The Chinese corsair Limahong, after being repulsed by the Spaniards in his bid to found a colony in Manila, goes to Pangasinan and establishes his little kingdom within a fort in Lingayen. His party is composed of men, women and children. He forces the natives to cooperate with him by supplying him provisions and serving him and his people. Juan de Salcedo pursues him and after months of blockade Limahong and his forces escape in August 1575 through a channel that they dug out into the China sea. Many of his men with their families choose to stay behind in Lingayen.1580 – Pangasinan is organized as an alcaldia mayor , a politico-civil administrative unit or province, by Governor General Gonzalo Ronquillo de Peñalosa and receives its first alcalde mayor in the person of Don Pedro Manrique.1611 – The province of Pangasinan’s territorial limits are set by the superior government, thus completing the requisites for a viable political subdivision: a defined territory, a set of administrators, and law-abiding subjects. The province, as constituted, now include all the coastal villages called “Pangasinan” and the inner areas called “Caboloan.”
1762 – Palaris Revolt – Juan dela Cruz Palaris, also of Binalatongan, leads his people to complain to the Spaniards about paying tributes. Encouraged by the defeat of the Spanish army and capture of Manila by the British, they go on to make more demands and drive away all the Spaniards from the capital town of Lingayen. For two years the rebels and their supporters in the province taste freedom and power over the Spanish government but the capture of Palaris ends the rebellion. To forget this sad episode the Spanish officials give the town “Binalatongan” its new name “San Carlos” in honor of Spain’s reigning monarch Charles III.1840 – The Casa Real (Royal House) is constructed in Lingayen. This 1,700 sqm building of stone masonry and bricks is the provincial seat of government where the Alcalde Mayor resides and holds office. It would be the venue of many historic events in Pangasinan and was used as the “Juzgado” later on.1855 – The Spanish government opens Sual as an official port of foreign trade. Rice is exported to China and Macao from this port. It is also one of the country’s centers for shipbuilding, together with Labrador, Lingayen and Dagupan.December 27, 1897 – General Emilio Aguinaldo, accompanied by Spanish Governor General Primo de Rivera and others, takes the train to the Dagupan terminal and travels on to Sual to board the S.S. Uranus that is to bring him to exile in Hongkong to comply with the Pact of Biak-na-Bato.
La Union• The City of San Fernando is situated in the mountainous area at almost the mid-section of La Union along the China Sea. It was founded in 1786 and made the “cabecera” or provincial capital on the same day that La Union became province in 1850.• During the Spanish times, a settlement was a place where there were about 200 families. Around this area, there were two settlements, San Vicente de Balanac and San Guillermo de Dalangdang, San Vicente de Balanac was along the coast and during summer, when the sea was calm and perfect for sailing, pirates would come and plunder the settlement, taking along with them the women and children leaving behind them a trail of blood. San Guillermo de Dalangdang, however, was at the foothills of the Cordillera mountains, and during summer, when the fire trees were in bloom, the populace was attacked by headhunters who saw in the red flowers of fire trees, a sign of the gods asking for human offerings.
San Fernando City, La Union• In 1759, an Augustinian priest, Father Jose Torres, convinced the two settlements to come together to a place not so near the sea and not so near the mountains so they will not be plagued by their annual problems. They chose the area called Pindangan, meaning, a place where they dry fish and in this place, they built in a church with San Guillermo the Hermit as the patron saint. In 1765, the newly assigned priest, however, suggested to the inhabitants that they change the name of Pindangan to San Fernando, after the Catholic King of Spain, retaining San Guillermo as their patron saint. The name of the parish priest was Father Fernando Rey, Rey being the Spanish word for King. This was also the time of Diego Silang, and as we know, Silang would travel to and from Manila on his white horse and was killed on May 28, 1763. When an earthquake destroyed the church at Pindangan, renamed San Fernando, the parish priest decided not to rebuild in the same place because during the rainy season, the church was transferred until it found its present place, and it is now called the Cathedral of St. William the Hermit, of the Diocese of San Fernando, La Union.
San Fernando City, La Union• On May 1786, the Ministerio de San Fernando was established. However, due to lack of priests during the period 1792 to 1831, San Fernando became a “visita” of Bauang and San Juan. In 1831, Father Juan Sorolla, the parish priest of Bauang in 1829, was assigned in San Fernando. According to historical records, the construction of the present church started in 1817 by Father Simon Torrado with Father Sorolla as its first parish priest.• San Fernando has grown slowly from the time it was founded. This slow growth maybe attributed to the fact that travels during those days was long and tedious. Sectionalism was rampant because education was not widely diffused. Intermingling of the people was limited to neighboring towns. Only the well-to-do and the powerful obtained their education and this too, was limited as it was then the policy of the Spaniards to deny education to the masses. In spite of this backward policy, the people improved economically, educationally and spiritually. An offshoot of this improvement was the revolt of the people against the Spaniards which assumed in greater proportions when the Spaniards became abusive. Although the people were subservient to the ruling power, there were fateful prohibitions that cut deep into the private life of the people which found outlet in the form of uprisings and occasional revolts to give vent to their pent-up emotions. The climax came in 1896 when the country was swept by a widespread revolt. In 1898, the Spanish garrison in San Fernando was attacked by Filipino insurgents under the leadership of General Manuel Tinio and Mauro Ortiz. In the end, the Filipinos prevailed over the
San Fernando City, La Union• Then the Americans came. Spain fell in ruins, victims of her own greed and ambition. San Fernando experienced naval bombardment of the Americans as well as actual fighting on land when General Gregorio del Pilar commanded the rearguard of General Emilio Aguinaldo to cover the latter’s retreat. In a short while, Aguinaldo and his officers and soldiers were captured by the Americans. Peace and order were restored. A democratic form of government took the place of that once proud despotic government of Spain. The people of San Fernando took advantage of all the Americans could teach politically and economically. San Fernando progressed with the rest of the towns in the province.• In 1941, the Japanese came. Japanese planes bombed San Fernando. The guerillas of the 21st Infantry became active and engaged a do or die battle against the Japanese Imperial Forces. A bloody fighting took place in Barrio Bacsil until the town was liberated in 1945. The destruction of property in San Fernando was appalling. Only few houses remained standing in what was once a thriving town of beautiful houses. Thus, from the nibbles of war, San Fernando rose until it became the administrative capital of Region I.
San Fernando City, La Union• In May 14, 1996, the Sangguniang Bayan of San Fernando passed Resolution No. 20 requesting the House of Representatives, Congress of the Philippines for the conversion of the Municipality of San Fernando into a Component City. That time, the municipality of San Fernando had satisfactorily met the basic requirements for its conversion into Cityhood pursuant to the provisions of the Local Government Code 1991. In a certification issued by the Bureau of Local Government Finance, the average annual income of San Fernando for calendar years 1994, and 1995 based on 1991 constant prices was P 44,351,821.66. Further, in a certification by the Land Management Bureau of the Department of Environment and Natural Resources, the land area of San Fernando is 10,526 hectares, well above the minimum requirement of 10,000 hectares. The Sangguniang Panlalawigan of La Union, after a comprehensive study and judicious evaluation of the petition of the Sangguniang Bayan of San Fernando, adopted Resolution No. 425-96 endorsing its cityhood bid to the House of Representatives, Congress of the Philippines.
San Fernando City, La Union• Upon the sponsorship of the Congressman Victor F. Ortega (1st District- La Union) at the House of Representatives, House Bill 7594 (Act Converting the Municipality of San Fernando, La Union into a Component City to be known as City of San Fernando) was approved.• The petition was likewise approved at the Upper House through the sponsorship of Senators Vicente Sotto III and Juan Flavier. On February 13, 1998, Republic Act 8509 was signed into law by President Fidel V. Ramos and finally on March 20, 1998, the residents of San Fernando manifested their resounding YES in the Plebiscite that ratified said law, thus, the fulfillment of the dream for San Fernando to become a city.• Located some 8 kilometers from the city proper, on a forest mountain is nestled the La Union Botanical Garden – a green spot on the map that is probably the only one of its kind in the country. The 10 hectare garden located at Barngay Cadaclan is a display of varied species of living plants and a sanctuary of varieties of wild animals. Clean and green are the bywords of the garden which provide the visitors maximum satisfaction and a healthful promenade.
San Fernando City, La Union• The City of San Fernando is now the seat of national government agencies in Region I and center of trade, commerce, financial and educational institutions, among others. From a deep rooted potential of stable community governance to the best gift of Mother Nature- a seaport community governance to the best gift of Mother Nature- a seaport responsive to international shipping, an airport with viable capacity to accommodate international air traffic, natural terrain conducive to tourism development and a people endowed with cultural and virtuous heritage of industry, spirituality, nationalism and aspiration for growth, peace and prosperity, the City of San Fernando has emerged as the booming Metropolis of the North.
Agoo, La Union• Agoo was founded in 1578 by Franciscan missionaries and was the first town in the province of La Union. As to its name “Agoo” was derived from “aroo tree” that used to abound along the banks of a small river that traversed the town. Some referred to as “arojo” but finally the town got its name as it has been referred to ever since. According to Miguel de Loarca’s “Relacion de las Islas Pilipinas (1582) – “The beliefs of the early inhabitants of Agoo, as a part of Pangasinan were based on spirits and hierarchy of deities… and their clothing was similar to those used by other inhabitants.
Bauang, La Union• Bauang is a first class partially urbanized municipality in the Philippine province of La Union. According to the latest census, it has a population of 72,391 people in 15,669 households.• It is bordered by San Fernando City to the north, Caba to the south, Naguilian to the east, and the South China Sea to the west.• The MacArthur Highway runs through this town, which junctions with Naguilian Road, one of the mountain roads leading to Baguio City.
La Union Tourist Spots• Museo de La Union, La Union Located at the Provincial Capitol ground in San Fernando, the Museum showcases archaeological finds in La Union during the pre-Spanish period. The Museum is open on Monday to Friday from 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. Saturday visit is by arrangement. Pottery-making, La Union Clay products are on display and produced in Taboc, San Juan utilizing the same age-old procedure in pottery-making. Taboc is about 9 kilometers away from San Fernando City. Blanket-weaving, La Union This age-old practice of weaving wider Ilocano blankets is a prime home industry in Bangar. Rayon, cotton and polyester combination, and the “tinagudan” are yarns used in the weaving of blankets and other products.
La Union Tourist Spots• Basi-making, La Union Basi, the Ilocano native wine concocted from sugar cane juice and bark of “duhat” tree for the coloring, is a home industry in Lioac, Naguilian. Utilizing the age-old process, the taste of the basi differs from one producer to another. Museo de Iloko, La Union The old “presidencia” of Agoo houses artifacts and other pieces of cultural importance to the Ilocanos. The Museum is open from Monday to Friday at 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. Saturday visit is by arrangement.