How to use Web Analytics to measure ROI, better understand your customers and improve your performance?

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Presentation given at CO.STATION Working Lunch on July 10th 2014. http://www.co-station.com/

We covered 3 topics in this presentation:
1. Brief introduction on Web Analytics & how to interpret the reports in Google Analytics
2. How to measure the ROI of your marketing actions?
3. Perspective on what the new version of Google Analytics (Universal Analytics) can offer to your business

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How to use Web Analytics to measure ROI, better understand your customers and improve your performance?

  1. 1. How to use Web Analytics to measure ROI, better understand your customers and improve your performance? CO.STATION – July 10th 2014
  2. 2. P2 DIGITAL MARKETING SOLUTIONS « DIGITAL MARKETING AS GROWTH ACCELERATOR » FOCUS ON ANALYTICS
  3. 3. P3 DIGITAL MARKETING SOLUTIONS  10 experts  8 certified Google AdWords/Analytics consultants  Multidisciplinary & multilingual team
  4. 4. P4 DIGITAL MARKETING SOLUTIONS WORKING LUNCH: AGENDA 1. Web Analytics introduction  Interpret a report in Google Analytics: the basics 2. How to measure the ROI of your marketing actions?  Set-up goals  Determine values for each action  Special business case with a SaaS business 3. Perspective on what the new version of Google Analytics (Universal Analytics) can offer to your business
  5. 5. P5 DIGITAL MARKETING SOLUTIONS WEB ANALYTICS INTRODUCTION
  6. 6. DIGITAL MARKETING SOLUTIONS Source: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3Sk7cOqB9Dk GOOGLE ANALYTICS « IN REAL LIFE »
  7. 7. P7 DIGITAL MARKETING SOLUTIONS MEASURE/TRACKING  Each click can be tracked even mouse movements  From numbers to information  … and from information to action! “ I know half my advertising isn't working, I just don't know which half. ” William Lever (1851-1925)
  8. 8. P8 DIGITAL MARKETING SOLUTIONS GOOGLE ANALYTICS IN PRACTICE
  9. 9. P9 DIGITAL MARKETING SOLUTIONS MEASURE THE ROI OF YOUR MARKETING ACTIONS
  10. 10. P10 DIGITAL MARKETING SOLUTIONS 1. Define the goals of the business  What’s the role of your app/website/online presence? 2. Define and set up KPI’s that we want to measure: • Contact form • Quote request • Subscription to a newsletter • E-commerce transaction • … • For each of these goals, define its value 3. Analyze interactions with each visitors with all channels online and offline 4. Define concrete actions from the analysis MEASURE WHAT HAS AN IMPACT  BOTTOM LINE
  11. 11. P11 DIGITAL MARKETING SOLUTIONS TOOLBOX UNIVERSEM  http://toolbox.universem.be  Define maximum CPA (Cost Per Acquisition)
  12. 12. P12 DIGITAL MARKETING SOLUTIONS MAILJET: SAAS BUSINESS CASE
  13. 13. P13 DIGITAL MARKETING SOLUTIONS Software As A Service – SAAS characteristics for Mailjet: • Monthly recurring revenues • Freemium model • High growth • 3 currencies and 4 languages Reminder: all data are only there for illustration MAILJET: SAAS BUSINESS CASE
  14. 14. P14 DIGITAL MARKETING SOLUTIONS From a visit to a good customer: many steps! 1. Lots of visits 2. Freemium users  Signed up on Mailjet 3. Active users  Sent at least one email 4. First time paying users 5. Holy Grail: Recurring customers  ! MAILJET: SAAS BUSINESS CASE 10% 50% 30% 70%
  15. 15. P15 DIGITAL MARKETING SOLUTIONS The conversion funnel: MAILJET: SAAS BUSINESS CASE 10% 50% 30% 70% Visits Freemium users Active users First time customers Recurring customers 1000 100 50 15 10,5
  16. 16. P16 DIGITAL MARKETING SOLUTIONS Defining your maximum CPA, parameters: – Monthly Recurring Revenues (MRR): 50€ – Gross margin: 75% – Churn rate: 3% as opposed to retention rate (97%) MAILJET: SAAS BUSINESS CASE
  17. 17. P17 DIGITAL MARKETING SOLUTIONS Example of a cohort analysis for Mailjet MAILJET: SAAS BUSINESS CASE
  18. 18. P18 DIGITAL MARKETING SOLUTIONS Lifetime value = MRR * Gross margin * MAILJET: SAAS BUSINESS CASE 1 Churn rate Lifetime value = 50€ * 75% * = 1250€ A customer uses Mailjet 33,33 months on average 1 3%
  19. 19. P19 DIGITAL MARKETING SOLUTIONS Two key guidelines for SAAS startups: Lifetime value > 3* CPA Months to recover CPA < 12 months  Max CPA for Mailjet = 417€ Inspired by http://www.forentrepreneurs.com/saas-metrics/ MAILJET: SAAS BUSINESS CASE
  20. 20. P20 DIGITAL MARKETING SOLUTIONS With a global conversion rate of 1%, you should pay less than 4,17€ for each visit on Mailjet.com But conversion rates are varying hugely depending on: – Traffic source – Location – Awareness of your product in the market – Timing – … MAILJET: SAAS BUSINESS CASE
  21. 21. P21 DIGITAL MARKETING SOLUTIONS TAKE DECISIONS OUT OF THIS ANALYSIS  Segment your visitors  Identify the actions to optimize your development +20% +2% +50% +25% +30% -10% -2% +7%
  22. 22. P22 DIGITAL MARKETING SOLUTIONS UNIVERSAL ANALYTICS
  23. 23. P23 DIGITAL MARKETING SOLUTIONS FUTURE WITH UNIVERSAL ANALYTICS • Universal analytics • Focus on Visitors instead of visits • Measure and understand the complete funnel from prospect to customer • « Multi-screen » & « Multi-channel » • Custom Dimensions & Metrics • Offline & Online Continuous optimizations and understanding
  24. 24. P24 DIGITAL MARKETING SOLUTIONS 1.Determine how much you can pay for a new customer/prospect 2.Measure and calculate your ROI depending on your business model 3.Take actions and enlarge your trafic sources to find great ideas for your business while always using data to confirm your new initiatives. CONCLUSIONS
  25. 25. P25 DIGITAL MARKETING SOLUTIONS Contact Hubert de Cartier Partner & Project Director +32 (0) 81 713 431 hubert@universem.be @hubcy Available on Slideshare this afternoon! LET’S STAY IN TOUCH

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