SlideShare a Scribd company logo
1 of 46
Benchmarking SaaS 
Companies 
Tomasz Tunguz 
Redpoint Ventures 
tomtunguz.com
$250k - $40M in 
Seed, Series A, B, Growth 
Menlo Park, China, Brazil 
Lots of *aaS
tomtunguz.com
Environment
SaaS Benchmarks
Methodology 
• Basket of 41 publicly traded SaaS companies 
• Measure progress from years since founding 
• Segment by ACV
Revenue
Payback Period 
= 
Gross Margin 
÷ 
CAC
Revenue per 
Employee
Department Spend
Sales to Engineering Ratio 
Year Since 
Founding 
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 
Median 
Revenue in $M 
3 4 11 25 55 70 98 
Sales : Eng 
Ratio 
1.5 3.5 2.0 1.7 1.9 2.4 2.1 
Sample Size 1 1 5 9 12 16 18
Capitalization
Evolution of SaaS Fund Raising 
IPO 
Cohort 
Median 
VC$ 
Raised 
Median # 
of Rounds 
Median 
Round Size 
$M 
Median IPO 
Size 
1998 42 2.5 17 97 
2002 71 3.0 24 86 
2006 66 4.0 16 122 
2010 101 4.5 22 137
Sales
Sales Efficiency in Year Five 
Ticker 
Gross Profit 
in $M 
Sales 
Efficiency 
ACV 
VEEV 72.5 3.3 780,000 
XERO 2.6 1.9 195 
WDAY 40.5 1.7 512,615 
DWRE 5.9 1.7 122,294 
ZEN 25.0 1.4 1,800
How to Construct Quota 
Deal Velocity per Month 
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 
1 12 24 36 48 60 72 84 96 
5 60 120 180 240 300 360 420 480 
ACV in 
$K 
10 120 240 360 480 600 720 840 960 
20 240 480 720 960 1,200 1,440 1,680 1,920 
50 600 1,200 1,800 2,400 3,000 3,600 4,200 4,800 
100 1,200 2,400 3,600 4,800 6,000 7,200 8,400 9,600
Quotas 
Inside Sales 
250k 500k 750k 
Outside Sales 
750k 1.2M 2.0M
Lead to Close Conversion Rates 
Freemium 
2% 3% 4% 
Inside Sales 
15% 20% 30%
Customer Success 
Maximizing your negative churn
3,000,000 
2,250,000 
1,500,000 
750,000 
0 
Churn’s Impact on Revenue Growth 
4% 2% 0% -2% -4% 
1 8 15 22 
MRR in $ 
Months
Sales and Marketing Spend Required to Double 
8.5 
5.8 
Revenue 
3.8 
2.2 0.9 
4% 2% 0% -2% -4%
$ 
2-and-Out Customer 
0 15 24 36 
months in customer life 
MRR 
Cost of Customer 
Acquisition + 
Cost to Serve 
Contribution
$ 
Renewed Customer, with Customer Success Investment 
0 15 24 36 
months in customer life 
MRR 
Cost of Customer 
Acquisition + 
Cost to Serve 
CS 
Contri-bution 
Contribution 
21
$ 
Churned Customer, Despite Customer Success Efforts 
0 15 24 36 
months in customer life 
MRR 
Cost of Customer 
Acquisition + 
Cost to Serve 
CS 
Contri-bution 
21
How much? 
Expected Value = 
Save Rate x Value of Extension 
EV = 
30% * 12 months * 83 = 
$298 
About 30% of ACV 
An existing customer is much less expensive to 
retain than to acquire a new customer
Thank you 
Tomasz Tunguz 
Redpoint Ventures 
tomtunguz.com
Benchmarking SaaS Companies

More Related Content

What's hot

Venture Capital Unlocked (Stanford) / Venture Capital 2.0
Venture Capital Unlocked (Stanford) / Venture Capital 2.0Venture Capital Unlocked (Stanford) / Venture Capital 2.0
Venture Capital Unlocked (Stanford) / Venture Capital 2.0Dave McClure
 
Bessemer Venture Partners' 2019 State of the Cloud
Bessemer Venture Partners' 2019 State of the CloudBessemer Venture Partners' 2019 State of the Cloud
Bessemer Venture Partners' 2019 State of the CloudBessemer Venture Partners
 
Building a Sales and Marketing Machine
Building a Sales and Marketing MachineBuilding a Sales and Marketing Machine
Building a Sales and Marketing MachineDavid Im
 
Vc fund raising & pitch deck outline
Vc fund raising & pitch deck outlineVc fund raising & pitch deck outline
Vc fund raising & pitch deck outlineThe Rudder Group
 
A High Growth SaaS Playbook - 12 Metrics to Drive Success
A High Growth SaaS Playbook - 12 Metrics to Drive SuccessA High Growth SaaS Playbook - 12 Metrics to Drive Success
A High Growth SaaS Playbook - 12 Metrics to Drive SuccessSaaStock
 
Time to Wow! and Buyer-centric Funnel Design
Time to Wow! and Buyer-centric Funnel DesignTime to Wow! and Buyer-centric Funnel Design
Time to Wow! and Buyer-centric Funnel DesignDavid Skok
 
Outbound prospecting for highly targeted lead flow
Outbound prospecting for highly targeted lead flowOutbound prospecting for highly targeted lead flow
Outbound prospecting for highly targeted lead flowDavid Skok
 
2019 Accel Euroscape: The Rise of Europe
2019 Accel Euroscape: The Rise of Europe2019 Accel Euroscape: The Rise of Europe
2019 Accel Euroscape: The Rise of EuropePhilippe Botteri
 
Tracxn - Top Business Models - HealthTech - Apr 2022
Tracxn - Top Business Models - HealthTech - Apr 2022Tracxn - Top Business Models - HealthTech - Apr 2022
Tracxn - Top Business Models - HealthTech - Apr 2022Tracxn
 
The State of the Cloud Report 2017
The State of the Cloud Report 2017 The State of the Cloud Report 2017
The State of the Cloud Report 2017 Anna Khan
 
Techstars Boston - The Secret Playbook of Raising $$$ - May 2022
Techstars Boston - The Secret Playbook of Raising $$$ - May 2022Techstars Boston - The Secret Playbook of Raising $$$ - May 2022
Techstars Boston - The Secret Playbook of Raising $$$ - May 2022David Chang
 
12 Key Levers of SaaS Success
12 Key Levers of SaaS Success12 Key Levers of SaaS Success
12 Key Levers of SaaS SuccessDavid Skok
 
Investment Thesis Fundamentals (April 2016)
Investment Thesis Fundamentals (April 2016)Investment Thesis Fundamentals (April 2016)
Investment Thesis Fundamentals (April 2016)Dave McClure
 
Alternative Sources Of Funding For Creative Technology Business
Alternative Sources Of Funding For Creative Technology BusinessAlternative Sources Of Funding For Creative Technology Business
Alternative Sources Of Funding For Creative Technology Businessgcecs2009
 
Staff at vc firms
Staff at vc firmsStaff at vc firms
Staff at vc firmsMark Suster
 
Founders Factory overview August
Founders Factory overview AugustFounders Factory overview August
Founders Factory overview AugustTechMeetups
 
SURGE Ventures Series Seed & "A" Fund Pitch Deck
SURGE Ventures Series Seed & "A" Fund Pitch DeckSURGE Ventures Series Seed & "A" Fund Pitch Deck
SURGE Ventures Series Seed & "A" Fund Pitch DeckKirk Coburn Surfing
 
2019 Expansion SaaS Benchmarks Report
2019 Expansion SaaS Benchmarks Report2019 Expansion SaaS Benchmarks Report
2019 Expansion SaaS Benchmarks ReportOpenView
 

What's hot (20)

Venture Capital Unlocked (Stanford) / Venture Capital 2.0
Venture Capital Unlocked (Stanford) / Venture Capital 2.0Venture Capital Unlocked (Stanford) / Venture Capital 2.0
Venture Capital Unlocked (Stanford) / Venture Capital 2.0
 
Bessemer Venture Partners' 2019 State of the Cloud
Bessemer Venture Partners' 2019 State of the CloudBessemer Venture Partners' 2019 State of the Cloud
Bessemer Venture Partners' 2019 State of the Cloud
 
Jobandtalent Presentation
Jobandtalent PresentationJobandtalent Presentation
Jobandtalent Presentation
 
Building a Sales and Marketing Machine
Building a Sales and Marketing MachineBuilding a Sales and Marketing Machine
Building a Sales and Marketing Machine
 
Vc fund raising & pitch deck outline
Vc fund raising & pitch deck outlineVc fund raising & pitch deck outline
Vc fund raising & pitch deck outline
 
A High Growth SaaS Playbook - 12 Metrics to Drive Success
A High Growth SaaS Playbook - 12 Metrics to Drive SuccessA High Growth SaaS Playbook - 12 Metrics to Drive Success
A High Growth SaaS Playbook - 12 Metrics to Drive Success
 
Time to Wow! and Buyer-centric Funnel Design
Time to Wow! and Buyer-centric Funnel DesignTime to Wow! and Buyer-centric Funnel Design
Time to Wow! and Buyer-centric Funnel Design
 
Bessemer's State of the Cloud 2020
Bessemer's State of the Cloud 2020 Bessemer's State of the Cloud 2020
Bessemer's State of the Cloud 2020
 
Outbound prospecting for highly targeted lead flow
Outbound prospecting for highly targeted lead flowOutbound prospecting for highly targeted lead flow
Outbound prospecting for highly targeted lead flow
 
2019 Accel Euroscape: The Rise of Europe
2019 Accel Euroscape: The Rise of Europe2019 Accel Euroscape: The Rise of Europe
2019 Accel Euroscape: The Rise of Europe
 
Tracxn - Top Business Models - HealthTech - Apr 2022
Tracxn - Top Business Models - HealthTech - Apr 2022Tracxn - Top Business Models - HealthTech - Apr 2022
Tracxn - Top Business Models - HealthTech - Apr 2022
 
The State of the Cloud Report 2017
The State of the Cloud Report 2017 The State of the Cloud Report 2017
The State of the Cloud Report 2017
 
Techstars Boston - The Secret Playbook of Raising $$$ - May 2022
Techstars Boston - The Secret Playbook of Raising $$$ - May 2022Techstars Boston - The Secret Playbook of Raising $$$ - May 2022
Techstars Boston - The Secret Playbook of Raising $$$ - May 2022
 
12 Key Levers of SaaS Success
12 Key Levers of SaaS Success12 Key Levers of SaaS Success
12 Key Levers of SaaS Success
 
Investment Thesis Fundamentals (April 2016)
Investment Thesis Fundamentals (April 2016)Investment Thesis Fundamentals (April 2016)
Investment Thesis Fundamentals (April 2016)
 
Alternative Sources Of Funding For Creative Technology Business
Alternative Sources Of Funding For Creative Technology BusinessAlternative Sources Of Funding For Creative Technology Business
Alternative Sources Of Funding For Creative Technology Business
 
Staff at vc firms
Staff at vc firmsStaff at vc firms
Staff at vc firms
 
Founders Factory overview August
Founders Factory overview AugustFounders Factory overview August
Founders Factory overview August
 
SURGE Ventures Series Seed & "A" Fund Pitch Deck
SURGE Ventures Series Seed & "A" Fund Pitch DeckSURGE Ventures Series Seed & "A" Fund Pitch Deck
SURGE Ventures Series Seed & "A" Fund Pitch Deck
 
2019 Expansion SaaS Benchmarks Report
2019 Expansion SaaS Benchmarks Report2019 Expansion SaaS Benchmarks Report
2019 Expansion SaaS Benchmarks Report
 

Viewers also liked

Benchmarking Exceptional Series A SaaS Companies
Benchmarking Exceptional Series A SaaS CompaniesBenchmarking Exceptional Series A SaaS Companies
Benchmarking Exceptional Series A SaaS CompaniesTomasz Tunguz
 
Gainsight Pulse Presentation by Tom Tunguz
Gainsight Pulse Presentation by Tom TunguzGainsight Pulse Presentation by Tom Tunguz
Gainsight Pulse Presentation by Tom TunguzTomasz Tunguz
 
Tom Tunguz Talk at Wharton San Francisco
Tom Tunguz Talk at Wharton San FranciscoTom Tunguz Talk at Wharton San Francisco
Tom Tunguz Talk at Wharton San FranciscoTomasz Tunguz
 
IPOs from the "Tech Bubble" ('99 - '00)
IPOs from the "Tech Bubble" ('99 - '00) IPOs from the "Tech Bubble" ('99 - '00)
IPOs from the "Tech Bubble" ('99 - '00) Bill Tai
 
Upfront State of the VC & Tech Industry 2017
Upfront State of the VC & Tech Industry 2017Upfront State of the VC & Tech Industry 2017
Upfront State of the VC & Tech Industry 2017Mark Suster
 
Numbers that Actually Matter. Finding Your North Star
Numbers that Actually Matter. Finding Your North Star Numbers that Actually Matter. Finding Your North Star
Numbers that Actually Matter. Finding Your North Star Mamoon Hamid
 
Upfront LP Survey of the Venture Capital & Startup Industry
Upfront LP Survey of the Venture Capital & Startup IndustryUpfront LP Survey of the Venture Capital & Startup Industry
Upfront LP Survey of the Venture Capital & Startup IndustryMark Suster
 
Diseño instruccional
Diseño instruccionalDiseño instruccional
Diseño instruccionalpsicdaniel13
 
Documentación Proyecto # 62 Premios Eureka 2011 Mención Innovatividad Técnica
Documentación Proyecto # 62 Premios Eureka 2011 Mención Innovatividad TécnicaDocumentación Proyecto # 62 Premios Eureka 2011 Mención Innovatividad Técnica
Documentación Proyecto # 62 Premios Eureka 2011 Mención Innovatividad TécnicaProyecto Red Eureka
 
Getting paid to go to Harvard
Getting paid to go to HarvardGetting paid to go to Harvard
Getting paid to go to Harvardmeducationdotnet
 
Its good to talk process
Its good to talk processIts good to talk process
Its good to talk processharrystrachan1
 
The Effects of Artificial Lighting
The Effects of Artificial LightingThe Effects of Artificial Lighting
The Effects of Artificial LightingEmma-Louise Spicer
 
Mapaconceptual(LEM)EloyVargas
Mapaconceptual(LEM)EloyVargasMapaconceptual(LEM)EloyVargas
Mapaconceptual(LEM)EloyVargasVARPERCA
 

Viewers also liked (18)

Benchmarking Exceptional Series A SaaS Companies
Benchmarking Exceptional Series A SaaS CompaniesBenchmarking Exceptional Series A SaaS Companies
Benchmarking Exceptional Series A SaaS Companies
 
Gainsight Pulse Presentation by Tom Tunguz
Gainsight Pulse Presentation by Tom TunguzGainsight Pulse Presentation by Tom Tunguz
Gainsight Pulse Presentation by Tom Tunguz
 
Tom Tunguz Talk at Wharton San Francisco
Tom Tunguz Talk at Wharton San FranciscoTom Tunguz Talk at Wharton San Francisco
Tom Tunguz Talk at Wharton San Francisco
 
IPOs from the "Tech Bubble" ('99 - '00)
IPOs from the "Tech Bubble" ('99 - '00) IPOs from the "Tech Bubble" ('99 - '00)
IPOs from the "Tech Bubble" ('99 - '00)
 
Upfront State of the VC & Tech Industry 2017
Upfront State of the VC & Tech Industry 2017Upfront State of the VC & Tech Industry 2017
Upfront State of the VC & Tech Industry 2017
 
Numbers that Actually Matter. Finding Your North Star
Numbers that Actually Matter. Finding Your North Star Numbers that Actually Matter. Finding Your North Star
Numbers that Actually Matter. Finding Your North Star
 
Upfront LP Survey of the Venture Capital & Startup Industry
Upfront LP Survey of the Venture Capital & Startup IndustryUpfront LP Survey of the Venture Capital & Startup Industry
Upfront LP Survey of the Venture Capital & Startup Industry
 
Diseño instruccional
Diseño instruccionalDiseño instruccional
Diseño instruccional
 
Alemanha
AlemanhaAlemanha
Alemanha
 
5.guia amplificacion y reduccion
5.guia amplificacion y reduccion5.guia amplificacion y reduccion
5.guia amplificacion y reduccion
 
Documentación Proyecto # 62 Premios Eureka 2011 Mención Innovatividad Técnica
Documentación Proyecto # 62 Premios Eureka 2011 Mención Innovatividad TécnicaDocumentación Proyecto # 62 Premios Eureka 2011 Mención Innovatividad Técnica
Documentación Proyecto # 62 Premios Eureka 2011 Mención Innovatividad Técnica
 
Getting paid to go to Harvard
Getting paid to go to HarvardGetting paid to go to Harvard
Getting paid to go to Harvard
 
rp
rprp
rp
 
Its good to talk process
Its good to talk processIts good to talk process
Its good to talk process
 
The Effects of Artificial Lighting
The Effects of Artificial LightingThe Effects of Artificial Lighting
The Effects of Artificial Lighting
 
Presentación1 (1)
Presentación1 (1)Presentación1 (1)
Presentación1 (1)
 
Mapaconceptual(LEM)EloyVargas
Mapaconceptual(LEM)EloyVargasMapaconceptual(LEM)EloyVargas
Mapaconceptual(LEM)EloyVargas
 
Ofirmarc
OfirmarcOfirmarc
Ofirmarc
 

Similar to Benchmarking SaaS Companies

Journey to the Perfect Application: Run a Business, not a Backlog
Journey to the Perfect Application: Run a Business, not a BacklogJourney to the Perfect Application: Run a Business, not a Backlog
Journey to the Perfect Application: Run a Business, not a BacklogAggregage
 
KPI Dashboard Presentation.pptx
KPI Dashboard Presentation.pptxKPI Dashboard Presentation.pptx
KPI Dashboard Presentation.pptxPaulo0905
 
IP on top of Microsoft Dynamics CRM
IP on top of Microsoft Dynamics CRMIP on top of Microsoft Dynamics CRM
IP on top of Microsoft Dynamics CRMWim Geukens
 
Investor presentation
Investor presentationInvestor presentation
Investor presentationSlide.Works
 
SEVEN STEPS TO CUSTOMER SUCCESS AT SCALE
SEVEN STEPS TO CUSTOMER SUCCESS AT SCALESEVEN STEPS TO CUSTOMER SUCCESS AT SCALE
SEVEN STEPS TO CUSTOMER SUCCESS AT SCALETotango
 
Final Presentation Insight-2
Final Presentation Insight-2Final Presentation Insight-2
Final Presentation Insight-2Carl Schiro
 
Business Pitch PowerPoint Presentation Slides
Business Pitch PowerPoint Presentation SlidesBusiness Pitch PowerPoint Presentation Slides
Business Pitch PowerPoint Presentation SlidesSlideTeam
 
Business Pitch Powerpoint Presentation Slides
Business Pitch Powerpoint Presentation SlidesBusiness Pitch Powerpoint Presentation Slides
Business Pitch Powerpoint Presentation SlidesSlideTeam
 
Revenue Planning: How Planning for Revenue Impacts a Budget's Effectiveness
Revenue Planning: How Planning for Revenue Impacts a Budget's EffectivenessRevenue Planning: How Planning for Revenue Impacts a Budget's Effectiveness
Revenue Planning: How Planning for Revenue Impacts a Budget's Effectivenessvcfo
 
Equity Crowdfunding PowerPoint Presentation Slides
Equity Crowdfunding PowerPoint Presentation SlidesEquity Crowdfunding PowerPoint Presentation Slides
Equity Crowdfunding PowerPoint Presentation SlidesSlideTeam
 
The Finance Perspective: The Business Model for the Subscription Economy
The Finance Perspective: The Business Model for the Subscription EconomyThe Finance Perspective: The Business Model for the Subscription Economy
The Finance Perspective: The Business Model for the Subscription EconomyZuora, Inc.
 
Investment Crowdfunding PowerPoint Presentation Slides
Investment Crowdfunding PowerPoint Presentation SlidesInvestment Crowdfunding PowerPoint Presentation Slides
Investment Crowdfunding PowerPoint Presentation SlidesSlideTeam
 
Investor Presentation of Solution Based Training Strategy
Investor Presentation of Solution Based Training Strategy Investor Presentation of Solution Based Training Strategy
Investor Presentation of Solution Based Training Strategy Hint Creative Group
 
Pay Forecast PowerPoint Presentation Slides
Pay Forecast PowerPoint Presentation Slides Pay Forecast PowerPoint Presentation Slides
Pay Forecast PowerPoint Presentation Slides SlideTeam
 
Money Projection PowerPoint Presentation Slides
Money Projection PowerPoint Presentation Slides Money Projection PowerPoint Presentation Slides
Money Projection PowerPoint Presentation Slides SlideTeam
 
Investor Pitch Deck Pe Powerpoint Presentation Slides
Investor Pitch Deck Pe Powerpoint Presentation SlidesInvestor Pitch Deck Pe Powerpoint Presentation Slides
Investor Pitch Deck Pe Powerpoint Presentation SlidesSlideTeam
 
Unit economics example for B2B SaaS company
Unit economics example for B2B SaaS companyUnit economics example for B2B SaaS company
Unit economics example for B2B SaaS companyMartin Steinman
 

Similar to Benchmarking SaaS Companies (20)

Journey to the Perfect Application: Run a Business, not a Backlog
Journey to the Perfect Application: Run a Business, not a BacklogJourney to the Perfect Application: Run a Business, not a Backlog
Journey to the Perfect Application: Run a Business, not a Backlog
 
Yess pitch startup
Yess pitch   startupYess pitch   startup
Yess pitch startup
 
KPI Dashboard Presentation.pptx
KPI Dashboard Presentation.pptxKPI Dashboard Presentation.pptx
KPI Dashboard Presentation.pptx
 
IP on top of Microsoft Dynamics CRM
IP on top of Microsoft Dynamics CRMIP on top of Microsoft Dynamics CRM
IP on top of Microsoft Dynamics CRM
 
Investor presentation
Investor presentationInvestor presentation
Investor presentation
 
BackLive Pitch Deck
BackLive Pitch DeckBackLive Pitch Deck
BackLive Pitch Deck
 
SEVEN STEPS TO CUSTOMER SUCCESS AT SCALE
SEVEN STEPS TO CUSTOMER SUCCESS AT SCALESEVEN STEPS TO CUSTOMER SUCCESS AT SCALE
SEVEN STEPS TO CUSTOMER SUCCESS AT SCALE
 
Final Presentation Insight-2
Final Presentation Insight-2Final Presentation Insight-2
Final Presentation Insight-2
 
Business Pitch PowerPoint Presentation Slides
Business Pitch PowerPoint Presentation SlidesBusiness Pitch PowerPoint Presentation Slides
Business Pitch PowerPoint Presentation Slides
 
Business Pitch Powerpoint Presentation Slides
Business Pitch Powerpoint Presentation SlidesBusiness Pitch Powerpoint Presentation Slides
Business Pitch Powerpoint Presentation Slides
 
Revenue Planning: How Planning for Revenue Impacts a Budget's Effectiveness
Revenue Planning: How Planning for Revenue Impacts a Budget's EffectivenessRevenue Planning: How Planning for Revenue Impacts a Budget's Effectiveness
Revenue Planning: How Planning for Revenue Impacts a Budget's Effectiveness
 
Equity Crowdfunding PowerPoint Presentation Slides
Equity Crowdfunding PowerPoint Presentation SlidesEquity Crowdfunding PowerPoint Presentation Slides
Equity Crowdfunding PowerPoint Presentation Slides
 
The Finance Perspective: The Business Model for the Subscription Economy
The Finance Perspective: The Business Model for the Subscription EconomyThe Finance Perspective: The Business Model for the Subscription Economy
The Finance Perspective: The Business Model for the Subscription Economy
 
Investment Crowdfunding PowerPoint Presentation Slides
Investment Crowdfunding PowerPoint Presentation SlidesInvestment Crowdfunding PowerPoint Presentation Slides
Investment Crowdfunding PowerPoint Presentation Slides
 
Investor Presentation of Solution Based Training Strategy
Investor Presentation of Solution Based Training Strategy Investor Presentation of Solution Based Training Strategy
Investor Presentation of Solution Based Training Strategy
 
SIIA & OPEXEngine: Let the Data Set You Free!
SIIA & OPEXEngine: Let the Data Set You Free!SIIA & OPEXEngine: Let the Data Set You Free!
SIIA & OPEXEngine: Let the Data Set You Free!
 
Pay Forecast PowerPoint Presentation Slides
Pay Forecast PowerPoint Presentation Slides Pay Forecast PowerPoint Presentation Slides
Pay Forecast PowerPoint Presentation Slides
 
Money Projection PowerPoint Presentation Slides
Money Projection PowerPoint Presentation Slides Money Projection PowerPoint Presentation Slides
Money Projection PowerPoint Presentation Slides
 
Investor Pitch Deck Pe Powerpoint Presentation Slides
Investor Pitch Deck Pe Powerpoint Presentation SlidesInvestor Pitch Deck Pe Powerpoint Presentation Slides
Investor Pitch Deck Pe Powerpoint Presentation Slides
 
Unit economics example for B2B SaaS company
Unit economics example for B2B SaaS companyUnit economics example for B2B SaaS company
Unit economics example for B2B SaaS company
 

Recently uploaded

WordPress Websites for Engineers: Elevate Your Brand
WordPress Websites for Engineers: Elevate Your BrandWordPress Websites for Engineers: Elevate Your Brand
WordPress Websites for Engineers: Elevate Your Brandgvaughan
 
Ryan Mahoney - Will Artificial Intelligence Replace Real Estate Agents
Ryan Mahoney - Will Artificial Intelligence Replace Real Estate AgentsRyan Mahoney - Will Artificial Intelligence Replace Real Estate Agents
Ryan Mahoney - Will Artificial Intelligence Replace Real Estate AgentsRyan Mahoney
 
SIP trunking in Janus @ Kamailio World 2024
SIP trunking in Janus @ Kamailio World 2024SIP trunking in Janus @ Kamailio World 2024
SIP trunking in Janus @ Kamailio World 2024Lorenzo Miniero
 
Scale your database traffic with Read & Write split using MySQL Router
Scale your database traffic with Read & Write split using MySQL RouterScale your database traffic with Read & Write split using MySQL Router
Scale your database traffic with Read & Write split using MySQL RouterMydbops
 
What is DBT - The Ultimate Data Build Tool.pdf
What is DBT - The Ultimate Data Build Tool.pdfWhat is DBT - The Ultimate Data Build Tool.pdf
What is DBT - The Ultimate Data Build Tool.pdfMounikaPolabathina
 
New from BookNet Canada for 2024: BNC CataList - Tech Forum 2024
New from BookNet Canada for 2024: BNC CataList - Tech Forum 2024New from BookNet Canada for 2024: BNC CataList - Tech Forum 2024
New from BookNet Canada for 2024: BNC CataList - Tech Forum 2024BookNet Canada
 
DSPy a system for AI to Write Prompts and Do Fine Tuning
DSPy a system for AI to Write Prompts and Do Fine TuningDSPy a system for AI to Write Prompts and Do Fine Tuning
DSPy a system for AI to Write Prompts and Do Fine TuningLars Bell
 
Passkey Providers and Enabling Portability: FIDO Paris Seminar.pptx
Passkey Providers and Enabling Portability: FIDO Paris Seminar.pptxPasskey Providers and Enabling Portability: FIDO Paris Seminar.pptx
Passkey Providers and Enabling Portability: FIDO Paris Seminar.pptxLoriGlavin3
 
The Ultimate Guide to Choosing WordPress Pros and Cons
The Ultimate Guide to Choosing WordPress Pros and ConsThe Ultimate Guide to Choosing WordPress Pros and Cons
The Ultimate Guide to Choosing WordPress Pros and ConsPixlogix Infotech
 
What's New in Teams Calling, Meetings and Devices March 2024
What's New in Teams Calling, Meetings and Devices March 2024What's New in Teams Calling, Meetings and Devices March 2024
What's New in Teams Calling, Meetings and Devices March 2024Stephanie Beckett
 
Time Series Foundation Models - current state and future directions
Time Series Foundation Models - current state and future directionsTime Series Foundation Models - current state and future directions
Time Series Foundation Models - current state and future directionsNathaniel Shimoni
 
Use of FIDO in the Payments and Identity Landscape: FIDO Paris Seminar.pptx
Use of FIDO in the Payments and Identity Landscape: FIDO Paris Seminar.pptxUse of FIDO in the Payments and Identity Landscape: FIDO Paris Seminar.pptx
Use of FIDO in the Payments and Identity Landscape: FIDO Paris Seminar.pptxLoriGlavin3
 
Anypoint Exchange: It’s Not Just a Repo!
Anypoint Exchange: It’s Not Just a Repo!Anypoint Exchange: It’s Not Just a Repo!
Anypoint Exchange: It’s Not Just a Repo!Manik S Magar
 
Dev Dives: Streamline document processing with UiPath Studio Web
Dev Dives: Streamline document processing with UiPath Studio WebDev Dives: Streamline document processing with UiPath Studio Web
Dev Dives: Streamline document processing with UiPath Studio WebUiPathCommunity
 
"Debugging python applications inside k8s environment", Andrii Soldatenko
"Debugging python applications inside k8s environment", Andrii Soldatenko"Debugging python applications inside k8s environment", Andrii Soldatenko
"Debugging python applications inside k8s environment", Andrii SoldatenkoFwdays
 
Transcript: New from BookNet Canada for 2024: BNC CataList - Tech Forum 2024
Transcript: New from BookNet Canada for 2024: BNC CataList - Tech Forum 2024Transcript: New from BookNet Canada for 2024: BNC CataList - Tech Forum 2024
Transcript: New from BookNet Canada for 2024: BNC CataList - Tech Forum 2024BookNet Canada
 
Take control of your SAP testing with UiPath Test Suite
Take control of your SAP testing with UiPath Test SuiteTake control of your SAP testing with UiPath Test Suite
Take control of your SAP testing with UiPath Test SuiteDianaGray10
 
Digital Identity is Under Attack: FIDO Paris Seminar.pptx
Digital Identity is Under Attack: FIDO Paris Seminar.pptxDigital Identity is Under Attack: FIDO Paris Seminar.pptx
Digital Identity is Under Attack: FIDO Paris Seminar.pptxLoriGlavin3
 
TeamStation AI System Report LATAM IT Salaries 2024
TeamStation AI System Report LATAM IT Salaries 2024TeamStation AI System Report LATAM IT Salaries 2024
TeamStation AI System Report LATAM IT Salaries 2024Lonnie McRorey
 
TrustArc Webinar - How to Build Consumer Trust Through Data Privacy
TrustArc Webinar - How to Build Consumer Trust Through Data PrivacyTrustArc Webinar - How to Build Consumer Trust Through Data Privacy
TrustArc Webinar - How to Build Consumer Trust Through Data PrivacyTrustArc
 

Recently uploaded (20)

WordPress Websites for Engineers: Elevate Your Brand
WordPress Websites for Engineers: Elevate Your BrandWordPress Websites for Engineers: Elevate Your Brand
WordPress Websites for Engineers: Elevate Your Brand
 
Ryan Mahoney - Will Artificial Intelligence Replace Real Estate Agents
Ryan Mahoney - Will Artificial Intelligence Replace Real Estate AgentsRyan Mahoney - Will Artificial Intelligence Replace Real Estate Agents
Ryan Mahoney - Will Artificial Intelligence Replace Real Estate Agents
 
SIP trunking in Janus @ Kamailio World 2024
SIP trunking in Janus @ Kamailio World 2024SIP trunking in Janus @ Kamailio World 2024
SIP trunking in Janus @ Kamailio World 2024
 
Scale your database traffic with Read & Write split using MySQL Router
Scale your database traffic with Read & Write split using MySQL RouterScale your database traffic with Read & Write split using MySQL Router
Scale your database traffic with Read & Write split using MySQL Router
 
What is DBT - The Ultimate Data Build Tool.pdf
What is DBT - The Ultimate Data Build Tool.pdfWhat is DBT - The Ultimate Data Build Tool.pdf
What is DBT - The Ultimate Data Build Tool.pdf
 
New from BookNet Canada for 2024: BNC CataList - Tech Forum 2024
New from BookNet Canada for 2024: BNC CataList - Tech Forum 2024New from BookNet Canada for 2024: BNC CataList - Tech Forum 2024
New from BookNet Canada for 2024: BNC CataList - Tech Forum 2024
 
DSPy a system for AI to Write Prompts and Do Fine Tuning
DSPy a system for AI to Write Prompts and Do Fine TuningDSPy a system for AI to Write Prompts and Do Fine Tuning
DSPy a system for AI to Write Prompts and Do Fine Tuning
 
Passkey Providers and Enabling Portability: FIDO Paris Seminar.pptx
Passkey Providers and Enabling Portability: FIDO Paris Seminar.pptxPasskey Providers and Enabling Portability: FIDO Paris Seminar.pptx
Passkey Providers and Enabling Portability: FIDO Paris Seminar.pptx
 
The Ultimate Guide to Choosing WordPress Pros and Cons
The Ultimate Guide to Choosing WordPress Pros and ConsThe Ultimate Guide to Choosing WordPress Pros and Cons
The Ultimate Guide to Choosing WordPress Pros and Cons
 
What's New in Teams Calling, Meetings and Devices March 2024
What's New in Teams Calling, Meetings and Devices March 2024What's New in Teams Calling, Meetings and Devices March 2024
What's New in Teams Calling, Meetings and Devices March 2024
 
Time Series Foundation Models - current state and future directions
Time Series Foundation Models - current state and future directionsTime Series Foundation Models - current state and future directions
Time Series Foundation Models - current state and future directions
 
Use of FIDO in the Payments and Identity Landscape: FIDO Paris Seminar.pptx
Use of FIDO in the Payments and Identity Landscape: FIDO Paris Seminar.pptxUse of FIDO in the Payments and Identity Landscape: FIDO Paris Seminar.pptx
Use of FIDO in the Payments and Identity Landscape: FIDO Paris Seminar.pptx
 
Anypoint Exchange: It’s Not Just a Repo!
Anypoint Exchange: It’s Not Just a Repo!Anypoint Exchange: It’s Not Just a Repo!
Anypoint Exchange: It’s Not Just a Repo!
 
Dev Dives: Streamline document processing with UiPath Studio Web
Dev Dives: Streamline document processing with UiPath Studio WebDev Dives: Streamline document processing with UiPath Studio Web
Dev Dives: Streamline document processing with UiPath Studio Web
 
"Debugging python applications inside k8s environment", Andrii Soldatenko
"Debugging python applications inside k8s environment", Andrii Soldatenko"Debugging python applications inside k8s environment", Andrii Soldatenko
"Debugging python applications inside k8s environment", Andrii Soldatenko
 
Transcript: New from BookNet Canada for 2024: BNC CataList - Tech Forum 2024
Transcript: New from BookNet Canada for 2024: BNC CataList - Tech Forum 2024Transcript: New from BookNet Canada for 2024: BNC CataList - Tech Forum 2024
Transcript: New from BookNet Canada for 2024: BNC CataList - Tech Forum 2024
 
Take control of your SAP testing with UiPath Test Suite
Take control of your SAP testing with UiPath Test SuiteTake control of your SAP testing with UiPath Test Suite
Take control of your SAP testing with UiPath Test Suite
 
Digital Identity is Under Attack: FIDO Paris Seminar.pptx
Digital Identity is Under Attack: FIDO Paris Seminar.pptxDigital Identity is Under Attack: FIDO Paris Seminar.pptx
Digital Identity is Under Attack: FIDO Paris Seminar.pptx
 
TeamStation AI System Report LATAM IT Salaries 2024
TeamStation AI System Report LATAM IT Salaries 2024TeamStation AI System Report LATAM IT Salaries 2024
TeamStation AI System Report LATAM IT Salaries 2024
 
TrustArc Webinar - How to Build Consumer Trust Through Data Privacy
TrustArc Webinar - How to Build Consumer Trust Through Data PrivacyTrustArc Webinar - How to Build Consumer Trust Through Data Privacy
TrustArc Webinar - How to Build Consumer Trust Through Data Privacy
 

Benchmarking SaaS Companies

  • 1. Benchmarking SaaS Companies Tomasz Tunguz Redpoint Ventures tomtunguz.com
  • 2. $250k - $40M in Seed, Series A, B, Growth Menlo Park, China, Brazil Lots of *aaS
  • 5.
  • 6.
  • 7.
  • 8.
  • 9.
  • 10.
  • 12. Methodology • Basket of 41 publicly traded SaaS companies • Measure progress from years since founding • Segment by ACV
  • 14.
  • 15.
  • 16.
  • 17.
  • 18. Payback Period = Gross Margin ÷ CAC
  • 19.
  • 21.
  • 22.
  • 24.
  • 25. Sales to Engineering Ratio Year Since Founding 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Median Revenue in $M 3 4 11 25 55 70 98 Sales : Eng Ratio 1.5 3.5 2.0 1.7 1.9 2.4 2.1 Sample Size 1 1 5 9 12 16 18
  • 27.
  • 28. Evolution of SaaS Fund Raising IPO Cohort Median VC$ Raised Median # of Rounds Median Round Size $M Median IPO Size 1998 42 2.5 17 97 2002 71 3.0 24 86 2006 66 4.0 16 122 2010 101 4.5 22 137
  • 29. Sales
  • 30.
  • 31. Sales Efficiency in Year Five Ticker Gross Profit in $M Sales Efficiency ACV VEEV 72.5 3.3 780,000 XERO 2.6 1.9 195 WDAY 40.5 1.7 512,615 DWRE 5.9 1.7 122,294 ZEN 25.0 1.4 1,800
  • 32.
  • 33. How to Construct Quota Deal Velocity per Month 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 1 12 24 36 48 60 72 84 96 5 60 120 180 240 300 360 420 480 ACV in $K 10 120 240 360 480 600 720 840 960 20 240 480 720 960 1,200 1,440 1,680 1,920 50 600 1,200 1,800 2,400 3,000 3,600 4,200 4,800 100 1,200 2,400 3,600 4,800 6,000 7,200 8,400 9,600
  • 34. Quotas Inside Sales 250k 500k 750k Outside Sales 750k 1.2M 2.0M
  • 35. Lead to Close Conversion Rates Freemium 2% 3% 4% Inside Sales 15% 20% 30%
  • 36. Customer Success Maximizing your negative churn
  • 37.
  • 38.
  • 39. 3,000,000 2,250,000 1,500,000 750,000 0 Churn’s Impact on Revenue Growth 4% 2% 0% -2% -4% 1 8 15 22 MRR in $ Months
  • 40. Sales and Marketing Spend Required to Double 8.5 5.8 Revenue 3.8 2.2 0.9 4% 2% 0% -2% -4%
  • 41. $ 2-and-Out Customer 0 15 24 36 months in customer life MRR Cost of Customer Acquisition + Cost to Serve Contribution
  • 42. $ Renewed Customer, with Customer Success Investment 0 15 24 36 months in customer life MRR Cost of Customer Acquisition + Cost to Serve CS Contri-bution Contribution 21
  • 43. $ Churned Customer, Despite Customer Success Efforts 0 15 24 36 months in customer life MRR Cost of Customer Acquisition + Cost to Serve CS Contri-bution 21
  • 44. How much? Expected Value = Save Rate x Value of Extension EV = 30% * 12 months * 83 = $298 About 30% of ACV An existing customer is much less expensive to retain than to acquire a new customer
  • 45. Thank you Tomasz Tunguz Redpoint Ventures tomtunguz.com

Editor's Notes

  1. Let me give you a little bit of background on red point. We invest in every part of technology stack, from consumer applications like secret to enterprise software like zuora and mapr, to developer services like stripe and twilio, and infrastructure companies like pure storage We have 11 partners and most of them are based in California. We have a team in China that is invested in some of the largest companies there. And we have a team in the fund in Brazil who cover South America for us. We also have the notable distinction of being the only venture capital firm in the world with two former ATMs on staff, Jamie Davidson (YouTube and I)
  2. Blog extensively at tomtunguz.com Data driven analysis
  3. Let’s first set some context about the environment It’s a bull market
  4. B of USD entering the venture market black line is the post dot com median 2014 will be the fourth largest in 14 years
  5. In terms of dollars deployed, invested into companies, 2014 is on track to exceed $40B, making it the second largest year since the dot com era
  6. This dollars have been raised by many new firms, particularly institutional seed stage
  7. All that capital is increasing the amount of capital deployed per investment in the US. Median across A, B, C.
  8. Meanwhile in the publlic markets, there’s a bit of a different story. NTM revenue to market 2.2B market cap - 3x in 2004 and 6X in 2005
  9. Split it by high growth WorkDay, Splunk, ZenDesk, DemandWare, LinkedIn tale of two markets relative stability of the standard markets, much greater variance in the high growth companies, still trading at 12x, which is similar to private market multiples, particularly in the growth stage.
  10. Median publicly traded SaaS company achieves $11M by third year, reaching about $64M in year six, the year before IPO. After that, growth tends to slow.
  11. Looking at the data at a bit more granular level. Each point represents a year for a SaaS company. At the beginning, SaaS companies are growing close to 200% per year, and that number begins to taper reaching about 100% by year five and then 50% by year seven.
  12. Let’s break this out by segment: SMB is < $10k acv; mid market is < $100k ACV; http://tomtunguz.com/segmenting-saas-growth/
  13. http://tomtunguz.com/fundraising-history-saas-publics/ Median is 70M The number of rounds of financing each company raises before IPO has nearly doubled from 2.5 to 4.5, i.e. Series B/C to Series D/E. These figures exclude seeds, which I’ve defined as rounds less than $1.5M.
  14. Inflation adjusted in 2014 dollars $32M on the balance sheet at IPO time, spent $69 during the seven years
  15. This is list of publicly traded saaS companies by acv at time of IPO Huge range Median is $30k
  16. Amazingly, sales efficiency isn't actually tied to ACV. These are the top five most efficient sales organizations. Huge variance in sales efficiency
  17. Here’s the data broken down by segment and shown over time. Monotonically decreasing No statistically significant difference among the companies Early on, sales efficiency should be close to one and then ideally plateau to 0.8, which is the median The median SaaS company selling a $1M product declines from a sales efficiency of 1.7 to 0.9 in about 6 years, a 47% drop. In contrast, the $50k ACV median falls 9%.
  18. Quotas What sizes of quotas do we typically see Function of acv and deal velocity; we’ll get into that in a second