Intro to Google Analytics and AdWords - ChescoMG 3/19, 2013

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Introduction and beginner level slide deck I used during the March 19th, 2013 Chester County Marketing Group's event.

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Intro to Google Analytics and AdWords - ChescoMG 3/19, 2013

  1. 1. Introduction to Google Analytics and Google AdWords for SMB Thursday, March 21, 2013
  2. 2. Intro to Google Analytics www.ChescoMarketing.com 2
  3. 3. Overview of Google Analytics• Full-featured, powerful analytics package – for FREE.• Ability to know what your web visitors are doing on your site – How many? How often? How long? – Where did they come from? – Did they convert (purchase, download, etc.)? – Real time monitoring• Track Campaigns (paid, email, social, etc.)• Custom Dashboards/ReportsLearn Morewww.google.com/analytics www.ChescoMarketing.com 3 3
  4. 4. GA Conversions & Goals• Understand and Measure sales, downloads, video plays, and other actions that are of value to you.• Add Conversion code to Thank You/Confirmation Page• Four Types of Goals • URL Destination • Visit Duration • Page/visit • Events• Up to 4 Goal Sets, each with 5 goals (see example at right) www.ChescoMarketing.com 4
  5. 5. GA: Custom Campaign Tracking• Track custom campaigns for email, social, paid, etc.• Create UTM tags • Campaign source (utm_source) • Campaign medium (utm_medium) • Campaign Name (utm_campaign)• Add this tagged link to your website, email, use on FB, etc.• Create tags for EACH source to allow better reporting• New UTM Tag ManagerExample:http://www.chescomarketing.com/?utm_source=Facebook&utm_medium=link&utm_campaign=Event%2BInviteImportant: 1st tag preceded by ?, the others preceded by &How to set up UTM tags:http://bit.ly/14ankim www.ChescoMarketing.com 5
  6. 6. GA: Dashboard & ReportingCustomdashboard Account Dashboard www.ChescoMarketing.com 6 6
  7. 7. Setting Up GA• Create a GA account at www.google.com/analytics• Get tracking code and add to every page of website/blog. – Use a plugin for WordPress Blogs – Use include files if site is PHP enabled• Your Unique ID: UA-XXXXXXXX-YY – XXXXX = analytics acct # – YY = profile # within acct Sample GA tracking code: – Up to 25 accounts <script type="text/javascript"> – Each account up to 50 profiles var _gaq = _gaq || []; _gaq.push([_setAccount, UA-XXXXX-Y]); _gaq.push([_trackPageview]); (function() { var ga = document.createElement(script); ga.type = text/javascript; ga.async = true; ga.src = (https: == document.location.protocol ? https://ssl : http://www) + .google-analytics.com/ga.js; var s = document.getElementsByTagName(script)[0]; s.parentNode.insertBefore(ga, s); })(); </script> www.ChescoMarketing.com 7 7
  8. 8. Intro to Google AdWords www.ChescoMarketing.com 8
  9. 9. What is Google AdWords?• Known as Paid Search/PPC/Pay-per-click• Not FREE.• Set a budget for advertising• Ads appear as top 3 results in Google SERP and along the right side of results.• Key Definitions of paid ads: – Clicks = # of times ad appears AND is clicked – Impressions = # of times your ad appears – Avg CPC = average cost per click – CTR = # of clicks / impressions. (ex: you have 5 clicks and 1000 impressions, 5/1000= 0.05%) www.ChescoMarketing.com 9 9
  10. 10. Structure of AdWords Account Best practice: Structure your campaign by multiple adgroups that focus on topics, products, etc. www.ChescoMarketing.com 10 10
  11. 11. • Keywords Matching Options – Broad & +Modified +Broad – “Phrase Match” • Matches phrase exactly of with words in front or behind • Search “women’s hats” “marketing group” – [Exact Match] • Search needs to be exact – Return close variants of words, plurals, misspellings• Negative Keywords – Filter out word you do not want included www.ChescoMarketing.com 11 11
  12. 12. Inside AdWordsadgroupskeywords www.ChescoMarketing.com 12 12
  13. 13. Web: www.ChescoMarketing.comFacebook: www.Facebook.com/ChescoMGTwitter: www.twitter.com/ChescoMarketingLinkedIn Group: http://linkd.in/ChescoLIEmail List: http://eepurl.com/tE1of Presenter Info: Jeff Tincher jeff@610digital.com @JeffTincher http://linkd.in/TinchLI www.ChescoMarketing.com 13

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