Sem 101 presentation

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Overview of all things SEM presented at Cintrifuse as part of their community class series.

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Sem 101 presentation

  1. 1. January 23, 2013Search Engine Marketing
  2. 2. Today’s Presenters Tim Metzner Connie Ross Digital Marketing Consultant Associate Director Former VP Marketing, SparkPeople Search Marketing, Startup Weekend Organizer Empower MediaMarketing 2
  3. 3. Our Experience:Startups – Regional Co.s – Global Brands
  4. 4. Empower Media Marketing Vitals» Full Service Media Agency» Founded in 1985» P&G Roots» 140 Employees» Independently owned» Women Owned and Certified» Nationally Recognized Excellence
  5. 5. Agenda» What is Search Engine Marketing?» Overview of the Categories • Paid Search • Local Search • Organic Search • Mobile Search 5
  6. 6. What is Search Engine Marketing?
  7. 7. Search Is a Core Behavior Now 4 billion searches per day… and growing 7
  8. 8. Search Engine Marketing Outlook» Paid Search Spending is expected to top $18 billion by 2013» Mobile Ad Spending is expected to see the largest growth for digital in the next 2 years followed by Video & Social Digital Media 2011 (billions) 2012 (billions) 2013 (billions) % change 2011 - 2013 Paid Search $14.38 $17.03 $18.85 31% Online Display $7.61 $8.94 $9.93 30% Social Media $1.00 $1.23 $1.66 66% Mobile $1.23 $1.80 $2.52 105% Video $2.16 $3.09 $4.20 94% Source: eMarketer - The Global Media Intelligence Report: North America, October 2011 8
  9. 9. Search Engine Marketing» For Searchers… • It’s about Better Research • It’s about Convenience» For Advertisers… • It’s about Being Found • It’s about Being Relevant 9
  10. 10. SEM Terminology Search Engine Marketing (SEM) Search Engine Paid Search Optimization (PPC) (SEO) Paid Owned & Earned Paid Media 10
  11. 11. Search Engine Marketing Categories Paid Search (PPC) • Keyword buys on all engines, mainly Google & Yahoo/Bing • Appearing when a consumer searches for localized Local Search information (i.e. Family Entertainment in Branson, MO) • Process of improving the visibility of a website in searchOrganic Search (SEO) engines via the "natural" or organic search results • Keyword buys on all engines, appearing specifically on Mobile Search mobile devices • Focuses on Industry specific content (i.e. Banking, Vertical Search Shopping, Travel, etc.) 11
  12. 12. Anatomy of a Search Engine Results Page Query Local Paid Ad Listings Paid AdOrganic ResultsLocal Listings 12
  13. 13. Search Engine Market Share» Google remains the leader in the search space Percent of U.S. Search Queries Search Alliance – 29% 3% 2% 14% Google 15% Yahoo! Bing 67% Ask Aol Source: comScore Marketer, July 2012 13
  14. 14. Paid Search (PPC)
  15. 15. What is Paid Search? Query Local Paid Ad Listings Paid AdOrganic ResultsLocal Listings 15
  16. 16. Relevancy is King » Ads are ranked based on many factors Text Ad Keyword Amount Ranking on You’re SearchWilling to Pay Results Page Landing Account Page History/CTR Maximum CPC Bid Relevancy/Quality Score 16
  17. 17. Paid Search Ad Rank» Max CPC bid × Quality Score = Ad RankCompetitor Max CPC Bid Ad Quality Ad Rank Position A $4 x 1 = 4 4 B $3 x 3 = 9 2 C $2 x 6 = 12 1 D $1 x 8 = 8 3
  18. 18. Adjusting Match TypesBroad +Broad Modified “Phrase” [Exact] -Negative •Any query •Any query •Query must •Ad only appears •Query can not containing the containing the contain the words if the query is contain the terms in any order term or close in the order you exactly what is term or and along with variation have them contained in the phrase other terms following the •Somewhat limits brackets •Ads will not •Earns a LOT of “+” symbol impressions and •Least amount of display impressions and •Limits the can increase impressions may be less amount of CTR% relevant impressions typically generated Instant Oil Changes +Instant +Oil +Changes “Instant Oil Changes” [Instant Oil Change] -Cheap Instant and Speedy Oil Inexpensive instant oil Instant Oil Instant Oil change Cheap Oil Changes Changes changes Instant Changes 18
  19. 19. Anatomy of a Text Ad Text Ad Elements & Character Limits Headline – 25 Characters Description Line 1 – 35 Characters Description Line 2 – 35 Characters Display URL – 35 CharactersDO’s DON’Ts•Provide a strong call-to-action •No superlatives (best, cheapest) unless•Make a compelling offer verified within 2 clicks of landing page•Ensure it’s relevant to the ad group •No words in all CAPS•Write in proper text format •No more than one “!” in description•Look at competitors for inspiration •Display URL must match Destination URL 19
  20. 20. Anatomy of a Text Ad Sitelinks Location Extensions 20
  21. 21. Campaign Optimizations • High CTR means the terms are relevant & have strong quality score. Good scores are awarded lower CPC’s CTR% • Low CTR terms need adjusted match types or to be paused • High CPC’s spend budget quickly, so finding optimal selection of low cost terms is the ultimate goal CPC$ • Noting high CPC terms, increase match type or pause • High position (3+) may have poor metrics: sort by highest positions and consider increasing match type or pausingAvg. Pos • Increase Max CPC bid for a term to influence positioning 21
  22. 22. Local Search
  23. 23. What is Local Search? Query Local Paid Ad Listings Paid AdOrganic ResultsLocal Listings 23
  24. 24. What is Local Search
  25. 25. Local Listings Management» 97% of Consumers search for local businesses online can be there when their customers need them» Manage the top 100 local listing sites including Google+ for businesses, Bing Local, Yelp, etc.March 2012 BIA/Kelseys User View Wave VII Report 25
  26. 26. SEO
  27. 27. What is Search Engine Optimization? Query Local Paid Ad Listings Paid AdOrganic ResultsLocal Listings 27
  28. 28. How Do Search Engines Create Rankings? 28
  29. 29. Three Optimization Areas for SEO 1. Content Optimization • New Content • Updated Content 2. HTML Code Optimization • Title tags • Meta tags • Header tags • Image ALT tags 3. Inbound Marketing • Influencing other channels • Increasing links back to site*IMPORTANT NOTE: All aspects of SEO are informed by Keyword Research. 29
  30. 30. Mobile30
  31. 31. What is Mobile Search? Local ListingsPaid Ads Paid Ads Organic Results 31
  32. 32. Mobile Search Facts» Google controls 93% of the mobile paid search market» 70% of desktop searches lead to an action within 1 month. 70% of mobile searches lead to an action within 1 hour.» Worldwide mobile advertising will reach $11.4 billion in 2013. Sources: Internet Retailer & SocialMediaToday.com 32
  33. 33. Q&A…Thank you for attending!• If you have follow-up questions or want more information, please contact us: Tim Metzner: http://linkedin.com/in/timmetzner Connie Ross: http: http://linkedin.com/pub/connie- ross/3/48a/448
  34. 34. Important Terms» Search Engine: A program or tool that helps users locate information or documents using keywords.» Search Engine Marketing (SEM): Paid advertising on a search engine.» Search Engine Optimization (SEO): Organic listings on a search engine.» Keyword: Specific word(s) provided as an index to identify specific records or documents, usually to facility search engines on the web.» Visit Duration: Length of time a visitor is exposed to a an advertisement during an online session.» Tracking Pixel (Beacon): A measure whether the ad, page or email was successfully viewed and other tracking purposes.» Click-Stream: The navigational path or sequence of activity a user initiates while online.» Cookie: A file transmitted to a user’s browser to uniquely identify the user’s browser. 34
  35. 35. Key Resources Inform Search Plans Industry-Leading Tools Campaign Industry Search SEO Keyword ResearchAutomation Trends Intelligence Analysis Strategic Partnerships Certified Agency Search Engines Local Listings Database Web Analytics Vendors Uncover Consumer Insights through Search Behavior 35

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