Figaro Jan 2010 Iwoot

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Simon LLoyd - Search Director, Jellyfish - presentation of a pure PPC case study for I Want One Of Those

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Figaro Jan 2010 Iwoot

  1. 1. Jellyfish Figaro Pure Performance PPC By Simon Lloyd
  2. 2. About Jellyfish  Est. 1999  Purely specialise in Paid Search Marketing  First large agency to offer self financing risk free charging model  Cost Per Acquisition: client only pays on results delivered
  3. 3. Case study
  4. 4. About IWOOT  Launched in Jan 2000  Now one of the UK's leading online e-tailers  Gadgets, toys & unusual gifts  650+ products, varied price brackets  Renowned for super speedy delivery
  5. 5. Stuff you don’t need...but you really, really want
  6. 6. Managing to a Fixed CPA
  7. 7. Having a fixed CPA ensures that the campaign can be self-financing and subsequently much more scalable. However, to achieve a fixed CPA, with a high volume of acquisitions, a deep understanding of the campaign metrics, how they relate to each other and how they can be positively affected is imperative.
  8. 8. The Technology
  9. 9. We use our proprietary platform JUMP...
  10. 10. Converting Keywords
  11. 11. Converting Keywords
  12. 12. % Sales Revenue Model
  13. 13. % Sales Revenue Model  Fixed CPA per transaction danger of rewarding a low value transactions the same as a high value transactions  Can result in low client ROI  £6.00 CPA for product valued £500 (low vol. of sales)  £6.00 CPA for a product valued £10 (high vol. sales)  Create a variable set of metrics by keyword - based on actual purchase behaviour
  14. 14. The Metrics  Peg CPA to target basket value  Create target CPA  Conversion Score (method of measuring performance) JUMP Metrics Avg. Basket Commission Avg. CPA £40 x 15% = £6.00 Conversion Score (based on scenario above) 1.0
  15. 15. In Practice  Assist keyword chain  Multiple products  JUMP tracks product & basket value Customers Basket gifts for her gadgets for her £200 i want one of those iwoot
  16. 16. Conversion Score  Take basket value = £200  Calculate a score based on the target “pegged value” £40  Allocate a score to the keyword chain Keyword Conversion Score = 5.0 / 4 keywords gifts for her = 1.25 Allocate Conversion Score = 5.0 Conversion Score gadgets for her = 1.25 i.e. £200 / £40 Avg. to keyword chain i want one of those = 1.25 iwoot = 1.25
  17. 17. To Recap... JUMP Metrics Avg. Basket Commission Avg. CPA £40 x 15% = £6.00 Conversion Score (based on scenario above) 1.0 Customers Basket gifts for her gadgets for her £200 i want one of those iwoot Keyword Conversion Score = 5.0 / 4 keywords gifts for her = 1.25 Allocate Conversion Score = 5.0 Conversion Score gadgets for her = 1.25 i.e. £200 / £40 Avg. to keyword chain i want one of those = 1.25 iwoot = 1.25
  18. 18. The Benefit of Conversion Scoring... Enables all keywords to be managed to a single set of target metrics without the need for complex reporting and analysis the keywords leading to the highest basket value.
  19. 19. Influencing basket value
  20. 20. Influencing the Avg. Basket  High Basket Value. Good for Jellyfish (high “CPA”) good for IWOOT (high ROI)  Product selection on key pages
  21. 21. Influencing the Avg. Basket  Product positioning (above the page fold)
  22. 22. Influencing the Avg. Basket  Google Site Links (Beta)
  23. 23. Influencing the Avg. Basket  Use dynamic search pages as landing pages
  24. 24. Influencing the Avg. Basket  Qualify ad copy...higher value product Decrease CTR % Increase Conversion  De-Qualify ad copy...lower value product Increase CTR % Lower barrier to purchase
  25. 25. Affiliate Monitoring
  26. 26. Affiliate Monitoring  Page scrape technology  Impossible to “police” without automated technology, all keywords, all networks 24/7!  Identify URL high-jacks  Affiliates sending traffic direct from an ad copy to the clients site on brand (where prohibited)  Check prohibited use of voucher discount codes
  27. 27. Affiliate Monitoring  Check where affiliates appearing on products esp. higher value products!
  28. 28. Campaign Structure
  29. 29. Managing Product Inventory
  30. 30. Seasonal Considerations
  31. 31. Messaging I Want One Of Those I Want One Of Those Quirky Gadgets, Gizmos & Gift Ideas Quirky Gadgets, Gizmos & Gift Ideas Buy Online, Very Quick Delivery. Order by 22 Dec for Xmas Delivery! www.iwantoneofthose.com www.iwantoneofthose.com Standard Countdown to Xmas I Want One Of Those I Want One Of Those Quirky Gadgets, Gizmos & Gift Ideas Quirky Gadgets, Gizmos & Gift Ideas Spend Over £30 & Get Free Delivery! Xmas Delivery Until 12 Noon 22 Dec! www.iwantoneofthose.com www.iwantoneofthose.com Offer Specific Last minute shoppers (males and females!)
  32. 32. Jellyfish & Fresh Egg
  33. 33. SEO / PPC Collaboration  Fresh Egg – SEO Specialists  Jellyfish – PPC Specialists  Strategic partners (separate companies)  Best of Breed – experts in own fields  Key reason for appointment by IWOOT  Two way exchange of search intelligence to benefit of IWOOT  Seamless, one-stop solution for IWOOT's search needs
  34. 34. SEO / PPC Collaboration Website Usability & Conversion Report  At outset a full report on the site: areas to increase site conversion and value of conversions. Maximise ROI on competitive keywords  Identify high cost, high vol. terms via PPC as most valuable for exploitation through longer term SEO strategy Long Tail Search Exchange  IWOOT's long-tail terms are identified through PPC and integrated into the Fresh Egg SEO campaigns
  35. 35. SEO / PPC Collaboration Quality Score Strategy  PPC campaign can reveal how relevant Google thinks your site is for any given keyword (SEO impact should be good). Quality Score
  36. 36. SEO / PPC Collaboration Adcopy and Page Meta Descriptions  PPC is a testing environment for SEO  Learn quickly  Optimise  Implement best performing aspects into SEO Meta Description
  37. 37. The Results
  38. 38. The Results  Jellyfish took over campaign mid. Aug 2009  Trend at point of Jellyfish taking over was -20% YoY (Sales Vol.)  Brought campaign back to 2008 levels in 10 weeks
  39. 39. The Results Key Christmas period Jellyfish achieved +11% in Transaction vol. +16% Sales Revenue -11% Reduction in CPA £ 2009 Revenue 2008 Revenue
  40. 40. The Results  Running IWOOT Germany.  11 languages inc. German, French, Spanish, Portuguese, Russian, Arabic, Mandarin, Japanese & Korean...85% of Worlds population
  41. 41. Finally – Converting Raw Searches
  42. 42. Thank You By Simon Lloyd Jellyfish

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