Itil 2011 explained


Published on

ITIL Certification can be quite confusing. What is the difference between ITIL V3 and ITIL 2011? Which course can I take? How do I sit the exam?
This presentation gives clarity on the framework and associated certification.
For more information, please contact The Art of Service or check out our website:

Published in: Business, Technology
1 Like
  • Be the first to comment

No Downloads
Total views
On SlideShare
From Embeds
Number of Embeds
Embeds 0
No embeds

No notes for slide

Itil 2011 explained

  1. 1. ITIL ® 2011 <ul><li>The Art of Service helps you find your way to ITIL certification </li></ul>ITIL® is a Registered Trade Mark of the Cabinet Office in the United Kingdom and other countries.
  2. 2. ITIL V3 or ITIL 2011? <ul><li>ITIL is a framework </li></ul><ul><ul><li>series of books </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>Contains guidance on IT Service Management </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>Each book = one Lifecycle stage </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>Processes, procedures, activities, functions. </li></ul></ul>
  3. 3. ITIL V3 or 2011? <ul><li>Current edition of ITIL books = ITIL 2011 </li></ul><ul><li>Books published in July 2011 </li></ul><ul><li>ITIL 2011 Exams start from 1-1-2012 </li></ul>
  4. 4. ITIL evolution 1980’s 1990’s 2000 2007 ITIL (42 books) ITIL V2 (9 books) ITIL V3 (5 books) 2011 ITIL 2011 (5 books) Certification: Same principles mostly editorial changes improved consistency small # of content changes Foundation Practitioner Manager Foundation Practitioner Manager Foundation Intermediate MALC Expert Foundation Intermediate MALC Expert
  5. 5. Accredited courses Foundation: - Online eLearning - Classroom Intermediate: - Online eLearning - Classroom MALC: - Online eLearning - Classroom
  6. 6. Which course do I need? No Prior certification ITIL V1 or V2 certification ITIL V3 certification ITIL 2011 Foundation ITIL 2011 Foundation Start with:
  7. 7. I currently have: ITIL V3 Foundation ITIL V3 Intermediate ITIL 2011 Intermediate Continue with: ITIL V3 MALC * MALC 2011exam launch date: May 2012
  8. 8. Who is who in the ITIL Certification “zoo” ITIL Certification “zoo” APMG -the official accreditor Responsible for all ITIL exams and ITIL certification (they are supported by a qualification board). APMG -the accreditor- also approves Examination Institutes. There is only ONE APMG – the official accreditor -  Exam Institutes (EI for short) The organisations who are responsible for managing the examination process, including distribution of the exams and marking the results. The EI’s globally all use the same questions from the same question bank that is developed by APMG -the accreditor-. There are currently ten (10) EI’s globally. EI’s also approve (accredit) training organisations. Accredited Training Organisations (ATO for short) The organisations who create the course materials based on the exam syllabus (developed by APMG) and the ITIL core volumes. Only accredited training organisations are allowed to advertise, market and deliver ITIL certification courses to students.
  9. 9. APMG GCI / BCS CSME LCS Examination Institutes Successful students Accredited Training Organisations The Accreditor
  10. 10. What about the exams? Foundation exam option: 1. Testing Centre via your training company 2. Testing Centre - self managed 3. Online Testing at venue of your choice Intermediate exam option: 1. Testing Centre via your training company 2. Online Testing at venue of your choice Click the image for more information Complete Examination Kits = all in one We organise the course + exam for you
  11. 11. ITIL certification Passrates in 2011 Global Art of Service Students Foundation 88% 89% Intermediate (average) 81% 85% MALC 62.6% 100%
  12. 12. More information? <ul><li>Our website : </li></ul><ul><li>Our online store : </li></ul><ul><li>Our online learning Portal : </li></ul>