Digital Technologies Symposium

960 views

Published on

Presentation on software for learning to technology teachers in secondary schools at the Digital Techologies Symposium, Auckland, New Zealand, on 20 November 2008. I discussed young people's use of software outside school and how we can adopt these practices and technologies in the classroom, with special reference to web 2.0 or social software, and the website http://softwareforlearning.tki.org.nz

Published in: Education, Business
0 Comments
1 Like
Statistics
Notes
  • Be the first to comment

No Downloads
Views
Total views
960
On SlideShare
0
From Embeds
0
Number of Embeds
3
Actions
Shares
0
Downloads
8
Comments
0
Likes
1
Embeds 0
No embeds

No notes for slide
  • Digital Technologies Symposium

    1. 1. Software for Learning
    2. 2. http:// softwareforlearning.tki.org.nz
    3. 3. <ul><li>Technological practice </li></ul><ul><li>Undertaking technological practice has been shown to provide students with the opportunity to collaborate with others and make a difference to their own lives and developments in their immediate community. </li></ul><ul><li>This has resulted in high levels of student engagement and allowed students to take increasing ownership of their learning and feel empowered to make decisions regarding the nature of their outcomes. </li></ul><ul><li>p13 Technology Curriculum Support </li></ul><ul><li>http://www.techlink.org.nz/curriculum-support </li></ul>
    4. 4. <ul><li>1. What’s happening outside school? </li></ul><ul><li>2. How can we use software for learning? </li></ul>
    5. 5. http:// www.facebook.com/group.php?gid =21629585116
    6. 6. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Medieval_cuisine
    7. 7. http:// www.bebo.com/Profile.jsp?MemberId =4110727509
    8. 8. http:// www.youtube.com/watch?v =pUnsKd4cw_U
    9. 9. http:// www.sellaband.com
    10. 10. <ul><li>1. Take action </li></ul><ul><li>2. Access information </li></ul><ul><li>3. Connect with each other </li></ul><ul><li>4. Create and publish </li></ul><ul><li>5. Consume </li></ul>
    11. 11. <ul><li>While we use technology, </li></ul><ul><li>young people today live it. </li></ul><ul><li>Radio took 38 years to reach 50 million people. The telephone took 20 years. Television took 13 years to reach 50 million homes. Cell phones took 12 years. Cable TV took 7 years. The internet took 4 years. Blogging took 3 years. YouTube took 1 year. </li></ul><ul><li>(Larry Rosen, “Me, MySpace and I”) </li></ul>
    12. 12. <ul><li>2. How can we use software for learning? </li></ul>
    13. 13. Scratch Alice
    14. 14. Google Sketch Up Blender
    15. 15. Bubbl.us Gliffy
    16. 16. Wikispaces Ning http://communityrights.wikispaces.com/Group+Five
    17. 17. Audacity iMovie
    18. 18. http://whsdtm8.blogspot.com
    19. 19. Voicethread http://room18tis.wikispaces.com /]
    20. 20. <ul><li>Your professional practice … </li></ul>
    21. 21. http://delicious.com/willowdale
    22. 22. http://rosetown.wikispaces.com
    23. 23. Atomic Learning Common Craft http://www.commoncraft.com
    24. 24. <ul><li>Support </li></ul><ul><li>Faculties of education at the universities </li></ul><ul><li>Auckland: Fiona Grant, f.grant@auckland.ac.nz </li></ul><ul><li>Waikato: Rochelle Jensen, rjensen@waikato.ac.nz </li></ul><ul><li>Massey: Heather Bell, h.bell@massey.ac.nz </li></ul><ul><li>Wellington: Jan Coleman, jan.coleman@vuw.ac.nz </li></ul><ul><li>Christchurch: Jocelyn Mackay, jocelyn.mackay@xtra.co.nz </li></ul><ul><li>Otago: David Young, david.young@dce.ac.nz </li></ul><ul><li>Teacher blogs http://www.nz-interface.co.nz/teacherblogs/ </li></ul><ul><li>Netsafe http//www.netsafe.org.nz </li></ul><ul><li>Guidelines for Schools for the Online Publication of Student Images and School Work (on www.tki.org.nz) </li></ul>
    25. 25. Software for Learning http://softwareforlearning.tki.org.nz <ul><li>Sarah Jones </li></ul><ul><li>e-Learning Team </li></ul><ul><li>Ministry of Education </li></ul><ul><li>[email_address] </li></ul>http://www.lunchbox.org.nz http://delicious.com/StudentDigitalWork

    ×