Successfully reported this slideshow.
We use your LinkedIn profile and activity data to personalize ads and to show you more relevant ads. You can change your ad preferences anytime.



Published on

Divyabodhanam Book 2 (The People of God) - Unit 3

Published in: Spiritual
  • Be the first to comment

  • Be the first to like this


  1. 1. The People of GodBelievers in the Indian Orthodox ChurchFr. C.C. Cherian(Book 2)
  2. 2. Purpose• To understand our calling as people of God• For an active participation of all members• To understand the mission of the people of God• To learn about the various stages of Malankara Church History
  3. 3. UNIT III -Participation of People of God in the Orthodox Church
  4. 4. Lesson 1 – Principles• Church is God’s People – Clergy-Lay versus Minister-Believer – Common mission of the church; no private mission• Royal Priesthood of all believers – Mission of Jesus continued (continued incarnation)• Holy Communion – pivotal function of Church – “we offer” on behalf of whole creation• Ordained ministry – Selected by the Church, ordained by Apostolic Authority and Accepted by the Church are appointed by God.• Infallibility of Church – Consensus fidelium (Ex. Arian heresy)• Autonomy & National character – Faith in manner suited for time and place – Autocephaly
  5. 5. Lesson 2 – Malankara Gen. Survey Mar Thoma Mar Dionysius Catholicose ArchdeaconJathikukarthavyan 1653 1912 1751 1. His Holiness 2. Baselios 3. Mar Thoma 4. Name
  6. 6. Lesson 3 – Upto 16th century• Pally Yogam• Ancient Malayalam Titles for Priests – Kathanar (Man of the Lord) – Vaidikan (Expert in vedas) – Kasseesa (Elder)• Jathiku Karthavian (Archdeacon)
  7. 7. Lesson 4 – Portugese Reforms• Birth of present day Syro-Malabar Rite
  8. 8. Lesson 5 – From 17th to 19thcenturies• Group remained independent of R.C.• British Missionaries• Antiochian Relations – 1876, 1912• Mar Ivanios – Syro Malankara
  9. 9. Lesson 6 – 20th century• Constitution 1934• Participation – Complete participation by all adults – Each Assembly can make decisions for itself – Faithful elected to leadership – Bishops selected by faithful – Mutual consent (Minister – faithful)