Successfully reported this slideshow.
We use your LinkedIn profile and activity data to personalize ads and to show you more relevant ads. You can change your ad preferences anytime.

Ilf fort wayneprecon

1,067 views

Published on

Published in: Education
  • Be the first to comment

  • Be the first to like this

Ilf fort wayneprecon

  1. 1. Top Library Strategies for Success in the 21st Century (not 1999) Stephen Abram, MLS Indiana Library Federation Fort Wayne, INThese slides are available at Stephen’s Lighthouse blog Nov. 14, 2011
  2. 2. Avoid the Climate of Poverty
  3. 3. Money is not the key.
  4. 4. Strategic ChoiceAre there too many choices?Will disagreements about thefuture freeze the process?
  5. 5. OCCUPY
  6. 6. Is there still life inlibraries in a web world? Yes, but . . .
  7. 7. Change: Are libraries Future Ready?
  8. 8. News Flash News FlashShift Happens
  9. 9. 7 Gifts to Libraries, Publishers & Booksellers1. The book isn’t dead or dying. It is evolving.2. Our users/customers are improving.3. Technology is going social and can support social acts.4. The PC isn’t dead, but, again, it’s evolving and more mobile.5. We know more about our customers than ever before.6. Talent, Insight, Community, have social value.7. Opportunities always exist more in times of change
  10. 10. Can You Stand Out in a Crowd?
  11. 11. Questions for Libraries & Publishers Today:1. Are our priorities right?2. Are learning, research, discovery changing materially and what is actually changing?3. Books. Meh.4. What is the role of information and recreational reading in the real future (that is not an extension of the past)?5. Are we for the 21st Century world that will be or the 20th Century one that was?
  12. 12. What Are Libraries Really For?• Community• Learning• Discovery• Progress• Research (Applied and Theoretical)• Cultural & Knowledge Custody / Conservation• Economic Impact
  13. 13. Challenge 1 Books
  14. 14. FictionNonFictionReading
  15. 15. Why do people read?
  16. 16. Why do people read?1. To learn2. To engage in hearing other’s opinions (to agree or disagree or understand)3. To develop more knowledge about myself and develop as a whole person4. To be entertained and laugh, to engage and interact5. To address boredom and the inexorable progress of time6. To research and keep up-to-date7. To participate well in civil society (everything from news to voting)8. To be informed (and maybe smarter)9. To understand others (individually and culturally)10. To escape our day-to-day lives11. To stimulate the imagination and be inspired or spiritual12. To write and communicate better through reading others13. To teach14. To have something to talk about15. To connect with like-minded people
  17. 17. Challenge 2DVD/CDRO
  18. 18. Challenge 3Positioning
  19. 19. Smelly OrYellow SexLiquid Appeal?
  20. 20. Challenge 4 Schools
  21. 21. Challenge 5Distance Ed
  22. 22. Challenge 6 Search
  23. 23. Content Spam
  24. 24. List of content farms and general spammy user generated content sites: All Experts (allexperts.com)  Experts Exchange (experts-exchange.com) Answers (answers.com)  eZine Articles (ezinearticles.com) Answer Bag (answerbag.com)  Find Articles (findarticles.com) Articles Base (articlesbase.com)  FixYa (fixya.com Helium (helium.com) Ask (ask.com)  Hub Pages (hubpages.com) Associated Content (associatedcontent.com)  InfoBarrel (infobarrel.com) BizRate (bizrate.com)  Livestrong (livestrong.com) Buzle (buzzle.com)  Mahalo (mahalo.com) Brothersoft (brothersoft.com)  Mail Archive (mail-archive.com) Bytes (bytes.com)  Question Hub (questionhub.com) ChaCha (chacha.com)  Squidoo (squidoo.com) eFreedom (efreedom.com)  Suite101 (suite101.com) eHow (ehow.com)  Twenga (twenga.com) Essortment (essortment.com)  WiseGeek (wisegeek.com) Examiner (examiner.com)  Wonder How To (wonderhowto.com) Expert Village (expertvillage.com)  Yahoo! Answers (answers.yahoo.com) )  Xomba (xomba.com)
  25. 25. Challenge 7Experiences
  26. 26. The Baker’s Dozen: LVA Top 131. Health and Wellness / Community Health / Nutrition / Diet / Recovery2. DIY Do It Yourself Activities and Car Repair3. Genealogy4. Test prep (SAT, ACT, occupational tests, etc. etc.)5. Legal Questions (including family law, divorce, adoption, etc)6. Hobbies, Games and Gardening7. Local History8. Consumer reviews (Choosing a car, appliance, etc.)9. Homework Help (grade school)10. Technology Skills (software, hardware, web)11. Government Programs, Services and Taxation12. Self-help/personal development13. Careers (jobs, counselling, etc.)14. Readers Advisory was 14th
  27. 27. The newbibliography and collection development KNOWLEDGE PORTALS KNOWLEDGE, LEARNING, INFORMATION & RESEARCH COMMONS
  28. 28. Challenge 8 Literacy
  29. 29. Trans-Literacy: Move beyond reading & PC skills  Reading literacy  News literacy  Numeracy  Technology literacy  Critical literacy  Information literacy  Social literacy  Media literacy  Computer literacy  Adaptive literacy  Web literacy  Research literacy  Content literacy  Academic literacy  Written literacy  Reputation, Etc.
  30. 30. Challenge 9 Economy
  31. 31. Challenge 11
  32. 32. The Evolution of Answers
  33. 33. Sensemaking: Too much choice
  34. 34. Grocery Stores
  35. 35. Grocery Stores
  36. 36. Grocery Stores
  37. 37. Cookbooks, Chefs . . .
  38. 38. Cookbooks, Chefs . . .
  39. 39. Meals
  40. 40. Why do people ask questions?
  41. 41. What are your top 10-20 questions?What is the service portfolio model that goes with those?
  42. 42. Challenge 12
  43. 43. Mobility: Wherethe Patron Is
  44. 44. Challenge 13
  45. 45. Challenge 14
  46. 46. Take back theStrategy:Rebalanc e
  47. 47. CafePress
  48. 48. Challenge 15
  49. 49. The Essential Definitions
  50. 50. Advocacy is Different Public Relations is getting your libraries message across – This is who we are and what we do, where and for whom. Marketing is understanding your customer and how to best deliver services and products Advocacy is marketing an ISSUE. Support and awareness are built incrementally. Advocacy is an agenda and not an event!
  51. 51. Ask Yourself . . . How do libraries differ as an issue?From the listeners point of view and experience.
  52. 52. Selling IdeasYou are engaging in an INFLUENCE agenda. Selling is not a dirty word! Politics is not a dirty word!
  53. 53. Essentials for Advocacy Someone who needs to care Courage Trustworthy Passion Belief Proofs Stories and Knowledge Respect for whom you need to influence Understanding beyond caricature (e.g. Politicians, the “Boss”, Teens, Seniors, The “Public”, Vendors...)
  54. 54. Speak Up!
  55. 55. Libraries Are SocialInstitutions
  56. 56. The Virtual Handout The Value of Public Libraries http://stephenslighthouse.com/2010/04/06/the-value-of- public-libraries/ The Value of School Libraries http://stephenslighthouse.com/2010/04/06/the-value-of- school-libraries/ The Value of Academic and College Libraries http://stephenslighthouse.com/2010/04/07/value-of- academic-and-college-libraries/ The Value of Special Libraries http://stephenslighthouse.com/2010/04/07/value-of- special-libraries/ Library Advocacy: Save the Library Campaigns http://stephenslighthouse.com/2010/04/01/save-the- library-campaigns/
  57. 57. Learn to tell a story forinfluence and not just Information andentertainment
  58. 58. Stephen Abram, MLS, FSLAVP strategic partnerships and markets Cengage Learning (Gale) Cel: 416-669-4855 stephen.abram@cengage.com Stephen’s Lighthouse Blog http://stephenslighthouse.comFacebook or Google+: Stephen Abram LinkedIn / Plaxo: Stephen Abram Twitter: sabram SlideShare: StephenAbram1

×